DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 10, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3, 10, and 16 should read "[[a]] the trailing end portion of the body"
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ricketts (US-20190231997-A1, as cited in the IDS dated 09/05/2024).
In regards to claim 1, Ricketts directed to a lighting unit for aerosol-generating systems, discloses the aerosol-generating system (i.e., apparatus) comprising a cartridge ([0006]-[0007] and [0107]) for vaporizing e-liquid (i.e., dispensing vapor) ([0095]-[0096]) comprising:
An atomizer 16 configured to atomize the e-liquid (i.e., fluid) ([0107] and [0111]);
Housing 36 (i.e., monolithic body) with a sidewall 44 (Figure 4 and [0133]), including a mouthpiece facing end portion 32 (i.e., leading end portion) ([0110]), and a battery facing end portion 30 (i.e., trailing end portion) in fluid communication with the atomizer (since the battery is connected to power the atomizer) (Figure 1 and [0110] -[0111]),
Wherein the body comprises at least a portion of a transparent material ([0062]); and
A mouthpiece 18 (i.e., mouth cap) coupled to the cartridge ([0053]) and in communication with the leading end portion of the body (Figure 1).
In regards to claim 2, Ricketts discloses a light source fixed to a sidewall of the cartridge for providing a backlight on the cartridge to efficiently illuminate the contents of the cartridge (i.e., backlight for the fluid) ([0046]).
In regards to claim 3, Ricketts discloses a power unit 12 (i.e., power terminal) comprising a battery for providing energy to the atomizer ([0083] and [0110]) comprising a cartridge engagement portion 28 configured to mate with the battery facing end portion 30 (i.e., the trailing end portion of the body) (Figure 1 and [0110]).
In regards to claim 4, Ricketts discloses a vapor outlet end 34 (i.e., outlet port) of the atomizer that engages with the mouthpiece which transports the aerosolized e-liquid to exit the mouthpiece (i.e., enable release of fluid from the body) ([0112]).
In regards to claim 5, Ricketts discloses the e-liquid is extracted from the cartridge to the heating unit to be vaporized and the atomizer extracts the liquid in small amounts in response to actuation (i.e., inlet port configured to enable an ingress of fluid into the body) ([0095]-[0096] and [0111]).
In regards to claim 7, Ricketts discloses the housing/body comprising at least one of a polymer, a glass, and a metal ([0058]).
In regards to claim 8, Ricketts directed to a lighting unit for aerosol-generating systems, discloses the aerosol-generating system (i.e., apparatus) comprising a cartridge ([0006]-[0007] and [0107]) for vaporizing e-liquid (i.e., dispensing vapor) ([0095]-[0096]) comprising:
An atomizer 16 configured to atomize the e-liquid (i.e., fluid) ([0107] and [0111]);
Housing 36 with a sidewall 44 (i.e., monolithic body) (Figure 4 and [0133]), wherein the sidewall extends from a mouthpiece end to a power supply end ([0032]), including a mouthpiece facing end portion 32 (i.e., leading end portion) ([0110]), and a battery facing end portion 30 (i.e., trailing end portion) in fluid communication with the atomizer (since the battery is connected to power the atomizer) (Figure 1 and [0110] -[0111]),
Wherein the sidewall body comprises a transparent region that may form the entire cartridge sidewall, or 100% of the surface area of the housing sidewall (i.e., body is entirely comprised of at least one of a translucent or transparent material) ([0062]); and
A mouthpiece 18 (i.e., mouth cap) coupled to the cartridge ([0053]) and in communication with the leading end portion of the body (Figure 1).
In regards to claim 9, Ricketts discloses a light source fixed to a sidewall of the cartridge for providing a backlight on the cartridge to efficiently illuminate the contents of the cartridge (i.e., backlight for the fluid) ([0046]).
In regards to claim 10, Ricketts discloses a power unit 12 (i.e., power terminal) comprising a battery for providing energy to the atomizer ([0083] and [0110]) comprising a cartridge engagement portion 28 configured to mate with the battery facing end portion 30 (i.e., the trailing end portion of the body) (Figure 1 and [0110]).
In regards to claim 11, Ricketts discloses a vapor outlet end 34 (i.e., outlet port) of the atomizer that engages with the mouthpiece which transports the aerosolized e-liquid to exit the mouthpiece (i.e., enable release of fluid from the body) ([0112]).
In regards to claim 12, Ricketts discloses the e-liquid is extracted from the cartridge to the heating unit to be vaporized and the atomizer extracts the liquid in small amounts in response to actuation (i.e., inlet port configured to enable an ingress of fluid into the body) ([0095]-[0096] and [0111]).
In regards to claim 13, Ricketts discloses the housing/body comprising at least one of a polymer, a glass, and a metal ([0058]).
In regards to claim 14, Ricketts directed to a lighting unit for aerosol-generating systems, discloses the aerosol-generating system (i.e., apparatus) comprising a cartridge ([0006]-[0007] and [0107]) for vaporizing e-liquid (i.e., dispensing vapor) ([0095]-[0096]) comprising:
An atomizer 16 configured to atomize the e-liquid (i.e., fluid) ([0107] and [0111]);
Housing 36 (i.e., monolithic body) with a sidewall 44 (Figure 4 and [0133]), including a mouthpiece facing end portion 32 (i.e., leading end portion) ([0110]), and a battery facing end portion 30 (i.e., trailing end portion) in fluid communication with the atomizer (since the battery is connected to power the atomizer) (Figure 1 and [0110] -[0111]),
Wherein the body comprises at least a portion of a transparent material ([0062]),
The transparent portion may be a unitary piece and provide a visual window into the cartridge (i.e., free of seams and joints) [0061]-[0062]); and
A mouthpiece 18 (i.e., mouth cap) coupled to the cartridge ([0053]) and in communication with the leading end portion of the body (Figure 1).
In regards to claim 15, Ricketts discloses a light source fixed to a sidewall of the cartridge for providing a backlight on the cartridge to efficiently illuminate the contents of the cartridge (i.e., backlight for the fluid) ([0046]).
In regards to claim 16, Ricketts discloses a power unit 12 (i.e., power terminal) comprising a battery for providing energy to the atomizer ([0083] and [0110]) comprising a cartridge engagement portion 28 configured to mate with the battery facing end portion 30 (i.e., the trailing end portion of the body) (Figure 1 and [0110]).
In regards to claim 17, Ricketts discloses a vapor outlet end 34 (i.e., outlet port) of the atomizer that engages with the mouthpiece which transports the aerosolized e-liquid to exit the mouthpiece (i.e., enable release of fluid from the body) ([0112]).
In regards to claim 18, Ricketts discloses the e-liquid is extracted from the cartridge to the heating unit to be vaporized and the atomizer extracts the liquid in small amounts in response to actuation (i.e., inlet port configured to enable an ingress of fluid into the body) ([0095]-[0096] and [0111]).
In regards to claim 20, Ricketts discloses the housing/body comprising at least one of a polymer, a glass, and a metal ([0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricketts (US-20190231997-A1, as cited in the IDS dated 09/05/2024) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Aller et al. (US-20220304378-A1, as cited in the IDS dated 09/05/2024).
In regards to claims 6 and 19, Ricketts discloses the transparent region may be transparent to visible light and may be surrounded or bounded by non-transparent portions (i.e., opaque) of the housing sidewall ([0061]), but does not explicitly disclose the body fades from the translucent material or transparent material to an opaque material at a predetermined location.
Aller directed to an aerosol delivery device, discloses a cartridge for use in the aerosol delivery device, the cartridge comprising an outer housing (i.e., body) which defines a front face portion and a rear portion interconnected with sidewalls ([0006]).
Aller further discloses the housing can at least be partially transparent or translucent so that the tank comprising the e-liquid can be visible externally ([0075]).
Aller further discloses the sidewalls of the body can be treated to be darker, opaque, and/or less transparent/translucent than at least a portion of the front face portion 360 (i.e., fades from the transparent/translucent material to an opaque material at a predetermined location) ([0077]).
Aller further discloses that while the entire outer housing can be translucent or transparent, it is better that the viewing window is configured such that the viewing window is distinguishable from the rest of the outer housing either in the fact that it is more transparent/translucent that the rest of the outer housing, or in the fact that it is frosted a different shade than the remaining outer housing portions (i.e., fades). As such, the viewing window is distinct from the remaining portions of the outer housing of the cartridge ([0077]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Ricketts by making the non-transparent parts of Ricketts fade from transparent to opaque, as taught by Ricketts because both are directed to aerosol delivery devices comprising transparent portions for viewing e-liquid, Ricketts teaches the transition in shading makes the viewing window distinct from the remaining portions of the outer housing of the cartridge ([0077]), and this merely involves applying a known technique of fading from a transparent/translucent material to an opaque material of a similar device to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/MADELEINE P DELACRUZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755