DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 3/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 2-31 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on pages 7-9 with respect to claim 2 have been considered but are moot upon a further consideration and a new ground of rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haga (US PGPub 2023/0247038) in view of Nonaka (US PGPub 2007/0293232).
Applicant’s arguments on pages 7-9 with respect to claim 15 have been considered but are moot upon a further consideration and a new ground of rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haga (US PGPub 2023/0247038) in view of Nonaka (US PGPub 2007/0293232), and in further view of Kawauchi (US PGPub 2020/0148237).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haga (US PGPub 2023/0247038) in view of Nonaka (US PGPub 2007/0293232).
Regarding claim 2, Haga teaches a method of managing data transmission (Haga, see abstract, An anomaly detection server is provided. The anomaly detection server is a server for counteracting an anomalous frame transmitted on an on-board network of a single vehicle), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a mobile platform, transmission rule data that provides instructions for filtering system log data (Haga, see paragraphs 0114 and 0119, A rule is stored by the rule storage unit 904, the information indicating rules or an algorithm (such as a fraud detection program, for example) for determining whether or not a frame is fraudulent (for detecting a fraudulent frame). The update processing unit 940 updates the information indicating the rules or algorithm for detecting fraudulent frames (such as a whitelist and a blacklist) stored by the rule storage unit 904, on the basis of information acquired from the anomaly detection server 80);
receiving, from the mobile platform, system log data that has been filtered at the mobile platform in accordance with the transmission rule data (Haga, see paragraph 0118, in the case in which the fraudulent frame detection unit 903 detects a fraudulent frame, for example, the fraud detection notification unit 930 may also control a notification of log information or the like including information indicating the fraud detection and information about the fraudulent frame to the anomaly detection server 80);
identifying a cause of a fault represented in the filtered system log data (Haga, see paragraph 0133, In the case of determining that the frame is anomalous in step S202, the anomaly detection server 80 determines which stage of attack phase, such as a sign of attack or an attack, for example, the frame corresponds to, in accordance with the identification information (message ID) and the like of the frame determined to be anomalous, and uses the attack phase information (see FIG. 7 ) to decide an alert level (in other words, to decide the transmission mode, such as the content of the transmission information, the transmission time, and the range of vehicles set as recipients) (step S203));
transmitting, to the mobile platform, troubleshooting data related to the identified cause of the fault (Haga, see paragraph 0168, In step S402, in the case of determining that an anomaly has been detected in a key-related message (that is, in the case of determining that the anomalous frame is a key-related message), the anomaly detection server 80 transmits a key update request (that is, transmission information including control information for giving an instruction to update a key used in the application of cryptographic processing (encryption or MAC attachment) in a vehicle) to the vehicle 1010 a in which the frame is detected); and
updating the transmission rule data based on the filtered system log data, or the identified cause of the fault, or both (Haga, see paragraphs 0156-0157, The anomaly detection server 80 performs a verification test regarding whether or not a problem has occurred in using the generated new rule or algorithm for detecting the attack frame in the vehicle, and only in the case in which the verification test is successful (step S305), the anomaly detection server 80 delivers transmission information including fraud detection information indicating the rule or algorithm to vehicles in the vehicle family A that includes the vehicle 1010 a (step S306). the update processing unit 940 updates the fraud detection information indicating rules or an algorithm for fraud detection stored by the rule storage unit 904, on the basis of the fraud detection information acquired from the anomaly detection server 80 (step S307)).
Haga teaches the above yet fails to teach transmission rule data that provides instructions for filtering system log data associated with performance metrics for communications between passenger service devices onboard the mobile platform and a wireless network.
Then Nonaka teaches transmission rule data that provides instructions for filtering system log data associated with performance metrics for communications between passenger service devices onboard the mobile platform and a wireless network (Nonaka, see paragraph 0091, The log analyzing section 402 has a function of analyzing the log 500 and thereby determining the presence or absence of the occurrence of a communication failure within the communication range of the wireless transmitting and receiving device 20. In this determination, conditions stored in the condition storage section 403 are used. if it is determined that the occurrence of a communication failure is present, the log analyzing section 402 sends to the reporting section 404 a command to report the occurrence of a communication failure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Haga with Wireless communication failure monitoring system and monitoring device of Nonaka, because doing so would make Haga more efficient in recovering the system promptly from the communication failure, whereby the system can be prevented from being stopped as much as possible, and the reliability can be improved (Nonaka, see paragraph 0172).
Regarding claim 3, Haga in view of Nonaka teaches wherein the filtered system log data comprises indicators of faults, or types of faults, or both, detected at the mobile platform (Haga, see paragraph 0133, In the case of determining that the frame is anomalous in step S202, the anomaly detection server 80 determines which stage of attack phase, such as a sign of attack or an attack, for example, the frame corresponds to, in accordance with the identification information (message ID) and the like of the frame determined to be anomalous, and uses the attack phase information (see FIG. 7 ) to decide an alert level (in other words, to decide the transmission mode, such as the content of the transmission information, the transmission time, and the range of vehicles set as recipients) (step S203)).
Regarding claim 4, Haga in view of Nonaka teaches wherein identifying the cause of the fault is performed automatically by analysis of the filtered system log data (Haga, see paragraph 0133, In the case of determining that the frame is anomalous in step S202, the anomaly detection server 80 determines which stage of attack phase, such as a sign of attack or an attack, for example, the frame corresponds to, in accordance with the identification information (message ID) and the like of the frame determined to be anomalous, and uses the attack phase information (see FIG. 7 ) to decide an alert level (in other words, to decide the transmission mode, such as the content of the transmission information, the transmission time, and the range of vehicles set as recipients) (step S203)).
Regarding claim 5, Haga in view of Nonaka teaches wherein identifying the cause of the fault comprises:
comparing the filtered system log data to log data patterns having known causes to determine a match between the filtered system log data and the log data patterns (Haga, see paragraph 0133, In the case of determining that the frame is anomalous in step S202, the anomaly detection server 80 determines which stage of attack phase, such as a sign of attack or an attack, for example, the frame corresponds to, in accordance with the identification information (message ID) and the like of the frame determined to be anomalous, and uses the attack phase information (see FIG. 7 ) to decide an alert level (in other words, to decide the transmission mode, such as the content of the transmission information, the transmission time, and the range of vehicles set as recipients) (step S203)).
Regarding claim 6, Haga in view of Nonaka teaches wherein the troubleshooting data comprises association data that indicates associations between sets of troubleshooting data and known causes of faults (Haga, see paragraph 0168, In step S402, in the case of determining that an anomaly has been detected in a key-related message (that is, in the case of determining that the anomalous frame is a key-related message), the anomaly detection server 80 transmits a key update request (that is, transmission information including control information for giving an instruction to update a key used in the application of cryptographic processing (encryption or MAC attachment) in a vehicle) to the vehicle 1010 a in which the frame is detected).
Regarding claim 7, Haga in view of Nonaka teaches wherein the transmission rule data is refined over time to improve accuracy in diagnosing causes of faults (Haga, see paragraphs 0156-0157, The anomaly detection server 80 performs a verification test regarding whether or not a problem has occurred in using the generated new rule or algorithm for detecting the attack frame in the vehicle, and only in the case in which the verification test is successful (step S305), the anomaly detection server 80 delivers transmission information including fraud detection information indicating the rule or algorithm to vehicles in the vehicle family A that includes the vehicle 1010 a (step S306). the update processing unit 940 updates the fraud detection information indicating rules or an algorithm for fraud detection stored by the rule storage unit 904, on the basis of the fraud detection information acquired from the anomaly detection server 80 (step S307)).
Regarding claim 8, Haga in view of Nonaka teaches further comprising:
generating the transmission rule data that provides the instructions for filtering the system log data (Haga, see paragraphs 0156-0157, The anomaly detection server 80 performs a verification test regarding whether or not a problem has occurred in using the generated new rule or algorithm for detecting the attack frame in the vehicle, and only in the case in which the verification test is successful (step S305), the anomaly detection server 80 delivers transmission information including fraud detection information indicating the rule or algorithm to vehicles in the vehicle family A that includes the vehicle 1010 a (step S306). the update processing unit 940 updates the fraud detection information indicating rules or an algorithm for fraud detection stored by the rule storage unit 904, on the basis of the fraud detection information acquired from the anomaly detection server 80 (step S307)).
Regarding claim 9, Haga in view of Nonaka teaches wherein the transmission rule data is generated automatically using stored system log data, or obtained system log data, or both (Haga, see paragraphs 0156-0157, The anomaly detection server 80 performs a verification test regarding whether or not a problem has occurred in using the generated new rule or algorithm for detecting the attack frame in the vehicle, and only in the case in which the verification test is successful (step S305), the anomaly detection server 80 delivers transmission information including fraud detection information indicating the rule or algorithm to vehicles in the vehicle family A that includes the vehicle 1010 a (step S306). the update processing unit 940 updates the fraud detection information indicating rules or an algorithm for fraud detection stored by the rule storage unit 904, on the basis of the fraud detection information acquired from the anomaly detection server 80 (step S307)).
Regarding claim 10, Haga in view of Nonaka teaches wherein the transmission rule data is fault-specific and comprises one or more rules for filtering system log data associated with the fault (Haga, see paragraphs 0156-0157, The anomaly detection server 80 performs a verification test regarding whether or not a problem has occurred in using the generated new rule or algorithm for detecting the attack frame in the vehicle, and only in the case in which the verification test is successful (step S305), the anomaly detection server 80 delivers transmission information including fraud detection information indicating the rule or algorithm to vehicles in the vehicle family A that includes the vehicle 1010 a (step S306). the update processing unit 940 updates the fraud detection information indicating rules or an algorithm for fraud detection stored by the rule storage unit 904, on the basis of the fraud detection information acquired from the anomaly detection server 80 (step S307)).
Regarding claim 11, Haga in view of Nonaka teaches further comprising:
transmitting, to the mobile platform, a request for the system log data (Haga, see paragraph 0118, in the case in which the fraudulent frame detection unit 903 detects a fraudulent frame, for example, the fraud detection notification unit 930 may also control a notification of log information or the like including information indicating the fraud detection and information about the fraudulent frame to the anomaly detection server 80).
Regarding claim 12, Haga in view of Nonaka teaches wherein the request is transmitted in response to a failed transmission between the mobile platform and a remote device (Haga, see paragraph 0118, in the case in which the fraudulent frame detection unit 903 detects a fraudulent frame, for example, the fraud detection notification unit 930 may also control a notification of log information or the like including information indicating the fraud detection and information about the fraudulent frame to the anomaly detection server 80).
Regarding claim 13, Haga in view of Nonaka teaches wherein the system log data is associated with network service to the passenger service devices via wired or wireless access points onboard the mobile platform (Nonaka, see paragraph 0091, The log analyzing section 402 has a function of analyzing the log 500 and thereby determining the presence or absence of the occurrence of a communication failure within the communication range of the wireless transmitting and receiving device 20. In this determination, conditions stored in the condition storage section 403 are used. if it is determined that the occurrence of a communication failure is present, the log analyzing section 402 sends to the reporting section 404 a command to report the occurrence of a communication failure).
Regarding claim 14, Haga in view of Nonaka teaches wherein the transmission rule data comprises one or more thresholds associated with performance metrics for communications between the mobile platform and a network, wherein the one or more thresholds comprise values that are determined based at least in part on fault-associated data patterns (Nonaka, see paragraph 0091, The log analyzing section 402 has a function of analyzing the log 500 and thereby determining the presence or absence of the occurrence of a communication failure within the communication range of the wireless transmitting and receiving device 20. In this determination, conditions stored in the condition storage section 403 are used. if it is determined that the occurrence of a communication failure is present, the log analyzing section 402 sends to the reporting section 404 a command to report the occurrence of a communication failure).
Claims 15-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haga (US PGPub 2023/0247038) in view of Nonaka (US PGPub 2007/0293232), and in further view of Kawauchi (US PGPub 2020/0148237).
Regarding claim 15, Haga teaches a method of managing data transmission on a mobile platform (Haga, see abstract, An anomaly detection server is provided. The anomaly detection server is a server for counteracting an anomalous frame transmitted on an on-board network of a single vehicle), the method being performed at the mobile platform and comprising:
receiving system log data from one or more passenger service devices associated with the mobile platform (Haga, see paragraphs 0123-0124, One ECU (such as the engine ECU 100 or the transmission ECU 101, for example) connected to the bus 10 in the on-board network of the vehicle 1010 a starts to transmit a CAN frame on the bus 10 (step S101). The gateway 90 of the vehicle 1010 a receives the frame transmitted in step S101 from the bus 10 (step S102).));
detecting, based on the system log data, one or more faults related to the one or more passenger service devices (Haga, see paragraph 0085, in the case the on-board network system of each vehicle includes a fraud detection function that detects, on the basis of predetermined rules, a frame (fraudulent frame) that does not conform to the rules flowing on the CAN bus, information indicating a distinction of whether a frame is a fraudulent frame or not a fraudulent frame may be included in the log information);
filtering the system log data based on transmission rule data to generate a subset of the system log data (Haga, see paragraph 0114, Examples of the information indicating the rules or algorithm for detecting a fraudulent frame include a whitelist that lists conditions (information for specifying) CAN frames (messages) which are allowed to be received, a blacklist that lists conditions by which frames are not allowed to be received, and the like. A fraudulent frame is a frame that does not conform to the rules for detecting fraudulent frames);
transmitting the subset of the system log data to a remote computing device (Haga, see paragraph 0118, in the case in which the fraudulent frame detection unit 903 detects a fraudulent frame, for example, the fraud detection notification unit 930 may also control a notification of log information or the like including information indicating the fraud detection and information about the fraudulent frame to the anomaly detection server 80);
receiving troubleshooting data related to the one or more faults from the remote computing device in response to transmitting the subset of the system log data (Haga, see paragraph 0168, In step S402, in the case of determining that an anomaly has been detected in a key-related message (that is, in the case of determining that the anomalous frame is a key-related message), the anomaly detection server 80 transmits a key update request (that is, transmission information including control information for giving an instruction to update a key used in the application of cryptographic processing (encryption or MAC attachment) in a vehicle) to the vehicle 1010 a in which the frame is detected); and
generating event data to implement the troubleshooting data (Haga, see paragraph 0169, In response, the gateway 90 of the vehicle 1010 a receives the key update request (step S404), and following the key update request, updates the key stored by the key storage unit 921 (step S405)).
Haga teaches the above yet fails to teach system log data associated with performance metrics for communications between one or more passenger service devices associated with the mobile platform and a wireless network; and one or more faults related to the communications between the one or more passenger service devices and the wireless network.
Then Nonaka teaches system log data associated with performance metrics for communications between one or more passenger service devices associated with the mobile platform and a wireless network; and one or more faults related to the communications between the one or more passenger service devices and the wireless network (Nonaka, see paragraph 0091, The log analyzing section 402 has a function of analyzing the log 500 and thereby determining the presence or absence of the occurrence of a communication failure within the communication range of the wireless transmitting and receiving device 20. In this determination, conditions stored in the condition storage section 403 are used. if it is determined that the occurrence of a communication failure is present, the log analyzing section 402 sends to the reporting section 404 a command to report the occurrence of a communication failure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Haga with Wireless communication failure monitoring system and monitoring device of Nonaka, because doing so would make Haga more efficient in recovering the system promptly from the communication failure, whereby the system can be prevented from being stopped as much as possible, and the reliability can be improved (Nonaka, see paragraph 0172).
Haga in view of Nonaka teaches the above yet fails to teach wherein the transmission rule data comprises one or more thresholds for filtering the system log data based at least in part on fault-associated data patterns.
Then Kawauchi teaches wherein the transmission rule data comprises one or more thresholds for filtering the system log data based at least in part on fault-associated data patterns (Kawauchi, see paragraphs 0066 and 0069, The abnormality presence determination unit 192 determines whether an abnormality is present on the basis of comparison between the measurement data of the acceleration of the vehicle chassis 912 acquired by the acceleration data acquisition unit 191 with the threshold. When the abnormality presence determination unit 192 determines that an abnormality is present, the frequency analysis unit 193 analyzes the frequency of the acceleration, and the abnormality type identification unit 194 identifies the type of abnormality on the basis of the pattern of the frequency. when the type of abnormality cannot be identified from the pattern of the frequency, the abnormality type identification unit 194 identifies the type of abnormality on the basis of the pattern of the frequency and the measurement result of the acceleration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Haga in view of Nanoka with Abnormality monitoring device, abnormality monitoring method, and program of Kawauchi, because doing so would make Haga in view of Nanoka more efficient in obtaining information indicating the type of abnormality when an abnormality occurs in the vehicle (Kawauchi, see paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 16, Haga in view of Nonaka and Kawauchi teaches wherein the system log data is associated with a passenger service provided at the mobile platform (Haga, see figure 3 and paragraph 0064, an on-board network management system that includes multiple vehicles equipped with an on-board network (on-board network system) in which multiple electronic control units (ECUs) communicate on a CAN bus).
Regarding claim 17, Haga in view of Nonaka and Kawauchi teaches wherein the passenger service is associated with provision of media content items, or network service, or both, to service access devices (Haga, see figure 3 and paragraph 0064, an on-board network management system that includes multiple vehicles equipped with an on-board network (on-board network system) in which multiple electronic control units (ECUs) communicate on a CAN bus).
Regarding claim 18, Haga in view of Nonaka and Kawauchi teaches wherein detecting the one or more faults comprises:
comparing the system log data to fault signatures (Haga, see paragraph 0085, in the case the on-board network system of each vehicle includes a fraud detection function that detects, on the basis of predetermined rules, a frame (fraudulent frame) that does not conform to the rules flowing on the CAN bus, information indicating a distinction of whether a frame is a fraudulent frame or not a fraudulent frame may be included in the log information).
Regarding claim 19, Haga in view of Nonaka and Kawauchi teaches wherein the fault signatures comprise threshold values for the performance metrics included in the system log data (Haga, see paragraph 0085, in the case the on-board network system of each vehicle includes a fraud detection function that detects, on the basis of predetermined rules, a frame (fraudulent frame) that does not conform to the rules flowing on the CAN bus, information indicating a distinction of whether a frame is a fraudulent frame or not a fraudulent frame may be included in the log information).
Regarding claim 20, Haga in view of Nonaka and Kawauchi teaches wherein detecting the one or more faults comprises:
comparing the system log data to the threshold values for the performance metrics (Haga, see paragraph 0085, in the case the on-board network system of each vehicle includes a fraud detection function that detects, on the basis of predetermined rules, a frame (fraudulent frame) that does not conform to the rules flowing on the CAN bus, information indicating a distinction of whether a frame is a fraudulent frame or not a fraudulent frame may be included in the log information).
Regarding claim 21, Haga in view of Nonaka and Kawauchi teaches wherein the fault signatures are generated at the mobile platform (Haga, see paragraph 0085, in the case the on-board network system of each vehicle includes a fraud detection function that detects, on the basis of predetermined rules, a frame (fraudulent frame) that does not conform to the rules flowing on the CAN bus, information indicating a distinction of whether a frame is a fraudulent frame or not a fraudulent frame may be included in the log information).
Regarding claim 22, Haga in view of Nonaka and Kawauchi teaches wherein the filtering is performed in response to detecting the one or more faults (Haga, see paragraph 0114, Examples of the information indicating the rules or algorithm for detecting a fraudulent frame include a whitelist that lists conditions (information for specifying) CAN frames (messages) which are allowed to be received, a blacklist that lists conditions by which frames are not allowed to be received, and the like. A fraudulent frame is a frame that does not conform to the rules for detecting fraudulent frames).
Regarding claim 23, Haga in view of Nonaka and Kawauchi teaches wherein the transmission rule data comprises rules for excluding data unrelated to the one or more faults (Haga, see paragraph 0114, Examples of the information indicating the rules or algorithm for detecting a fraudulent frame include a whitelist that lists conditions (information for specifying) CAN frames (messages) which are allowed to be received, a blacklist that lists conditions by which frames are not allowed to be received, and the like. A fraudulent frame is a frame that does not conform to the rules for detecting fraudulent frames).
Regarding claim 24, Haga in view of Nonaka and Kawauchi teaches wherein the subset of the system log data comprises indicators for providing context relating to the detected one or more faults (Haga, see paragraph 0114, Examples of the information indicating the rules or algorithm for detecting a fraudulent frame include a whitelist that lists conditions (information for specifying) CAN frames (messages) which are allowed to be received, a blacklist that lists conditions by which frames are not allowed to be received, and the like. A fraudulent frame is a frame that does not conform to the rules for detecting fraudulent frames).
Regarding claim 25, Haga in view of Nonaka and Kawauchi teaches wherein the troubleshooting data comprises instructions for correcting the detected one or more faults related to the one or more passenger service devices (Haga, see paragraph 0168, In step S402, in the case of determining that an anomaly has been detected in a key-related message (that is, in the case of determining that the anomalous frame is a key-related message), the anomaly detection server 80 transmits a key update request (that is, transmission information including control information for giving an instruction to update a key used in the application of cryptographic processing (encryption or MAC attachment) in a vehicle) to the vehicle 1010 a in which the frame is detected).
Regarding claim 26, Haga in view of Nonaka and Kawauchi teaches wherein the event data comprises instructions for transmitting to the one or more passenger service devices, or service access devices, or both, for correcting the one or more faults related to the one or more passenger service devices (Haga, see figure 3 and paragraph 0064, an on-board network management system that includes multiple vehicles equipped with an on-board network (on-board network system) in which multiple electronic control units (ECUs) communicate on a CAN bus).
Regarding claim 27, Haga in view of Nonaka and Kawauchi teaches further comprising: transmitting the instructions to the one or more passenger service devices, or service access devices, or both (Haga, see figure 3 and paragraph 0064, an on-board network management system that includes multiple vehicles equipped with an on-board network (on-board network system) in which multiple electronic control units (ECUs) communicate on a CAN bus).
Regarding claim 28, Haga in view of Nonaka and Kawauchi teaches further comprising: providing a notification to a crew device requesting a restart of a passenger service device of the one or more passenger service devices (Haga, see paragraph 0168, In step S402, in the case of determining that an anomaly has been detected in a key-related message (that is, in the case of determining that the anomalous frame is a key-related message), the anomaly detection server 80 transmits a key update request (that is, transmission information including control information for giving an instruction to update a key used in the application of cryptographic processing (encryption or MAC attachment) in a vehicle) to the vehicle 1010 a in which the frame is detected).
Regarding claim 29, Haga in view of Nonaka and Kawauchi teaches further comprising: receiving the transmission rule data (Haga, see paragraph 0169, In response, the gateway 90 of the vehicle 1010 a receives the key update request (step S404), and following the key update request, updates the key stored by the key storage unit 921 (step S405)).
Regarding claim 30, Haga in view of Nonaka and Kawauchi teaches wherein receiving the transmission rule data comprises:
generating the transmission rule data at the mobile platform (Haga, see paragraph 0169, In response, the gateway 90 of the vehicle 1010 a receives the key update request (step S404), and following the key update request, updates the key stored by the key storage unit 921 (step S405)).
Regarding claim 31, Haga in view of Nonaka and Kawauchi teaches further comprising:
storing the transmission rule data in a data storage media before filtering the system log data (Haga, see paragraph 0169, In response, the gateway 90 of the vehicle 1010 a receives the key update request (step S404), and following the key update request, updates the key stored by the key storage unit 921 (step S405)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHONG G KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443