DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Livchak (US 2015/0136430), which shows all of the claimed limitations. Livchak shows:
1. A cooking exhaust hood system, comprising: an exhaust hood 105 adapted to be located over at least one cooking appliance 115; an exhaust fan connected to the exhaust hood, the exhaust fan having a controllable exhaust air flow volume (para. 0049); a camera that monitors a surface of the at least one cooking appliance and provides an image signal representing a visual status of the at least one cooking appliance (para. 0052); an image processing controller connected to an image database, the image processing controller being configured to receive the image signal, compare the visual status of the at least one cooking appliance based on the image signal to stored images in the image database, and output a cooking appliance status signal (para. 0053); an exhaust fan controller connected to the exhaust fan, the exhaust fan controller being configured to receive the cooking appliance status signal and adjust the controllable exhaust air flow volume of the exhaust fan based on the cooking appliance status signal (para. 0050,0059; fig. 2,3).
2. The cooking exhaust hood system of claim 1, further comprising a hood fire suppression system configured to be activated by the image processing controller upon the cooking appliance status signal indicating that there is a fire (Abstract; para. 0051,0052).
3. The cooking exhaust hood system of claim 1, wherein the image processing controller is trainable to recognize at least one of cooking appliance conditions or food items located on the cooking appliance (Abstract; para. 0051,0052).
4. The cooking exhaust hood system of claim 1, wherein the image processing controller is trainable to recognize cleaning equipment (para. 0086).
6. The cooking exhaust hood system of claim 1, wherein the exhaust fan controller adjusts the exhaust air flow volume based on a number and type of the at least one cooking appliance being used (inherent, as the number and type of cooking appliance in use would result in different air flow requirements of which Livchak is capable of accommodating).
7. The cooking exhaust hood system of claim 1, wherein the exhaust fan controller is configured to control duct or hood mounted dampers (para. 0020,0025,0026,0033,0035,0050,0057,0068-70,0074,0080).
8. A method of controlling a cooking exhaust hood system of claim 1, the method comprising: monitoring the at least one cooking appliance with the camera, and the camera signaling image data on captured images to the image processing controller; comparing the image data for the captured images against images in the database using the image processing controller, the image processing controller generating a cooking appliance status signal; the exhaust fan controller receiving the cooking appliance status signal and adjusting at least one of a fan speed of exhaust fan to increase or decrease the controllable exhaust air flow volume or a damper position based on the cooking appliance status signal (see previous claims).
9. The method of claim 8, further comprising activating a fire suppression system for the cooking exhaust hood upon the cooking appliance status signal indicating a fire on the at least one cooking appliance (see previous claims).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Livchak (US 2015/0136430) in view of Aalto (EP 0217802).
Livchak discloses substantially all of the claimed limitations, as described above, but fails to explicitly teach the exhaust fan configured to adjust a make-up air volume based on the exhaust air flow volume.
Aalto, in the same or related field of endeavor (specifically, exhaust hoods for cooking appliances) teaches that it is known in the art to provide an exhaust fan configured to adjust a make-up air volume based on the exhaust air flow volume (col. 3, line 55 – col. 4, line 24).
Aalto teaches that such an arrangement provides for inhibiting the effect of interference turbulence on the capture efficiency (col. 3, lines 5-30).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention incorporate the above arrangement as taught by Aalto into the invention disclosed by Livchak, so as to provide for increased efficiency.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Livchak (US 2015/0136430) in view of Melink (US 2005/0156053).
Livchak discloses substantially all of the claimed limitations, as described above, but fails to explicitly teach the exhaust fan controller configured to signal a make-up air unit to adjust a make-up air volume based on the exhaust air flow volume.
Melink, in the same or related field of endeavor (specifically, exhaust hoods for cooking appliances), teaches that it is known in the art to provide an exhaust fan controller configured to signal a make-up air unit to adjust a make-up air volume based on the exhaust air flow volume (para. 0099).
Melink teaches that such an arrangement provides for adequate performance (para. 0093)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention incorporate the above arrangement as taught by Melink into the invention disclosed by Livchak, so as to provide for adequate performance.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. These references disclose devices with many of the claimed components. Nevertheless, in order to avoid overburdening the applicant with redundant rejections, these references were not applied.
Conclusion
To contact the examiner’s supervisor please call MICHAEL HOANG whose telephone number is 571 272 6460.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Tech Center telephone number is 571 272 3700.
December 28, 2025
/ALFRED BASICHAS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762