Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Examiner’s Notes
Regarding claims 8, 9, and 14-17, no prior art rejection is given, however, no indication of allowable subject matter is made herein due to the rejections under 112.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the color matching grid and the transparent supporting body is provided with a groove must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the recitation of “wherein the at least one penetration window comprises a plurality of penetration windows, and the plurality of penetration windows are randomly or regularly distributed between the conductive grid” is unclear if the applicant intends to that one of the at least one penetration windows has a plurality of penetration windows inside it or if the applicant is trying to disclose that there is a plurality of penetration windows that are randomly or regularly distributed between the conductive grid. In light of the disclosure of the specification and the drawings, the examiner is interpreting this to mean that there is a plurality of penetration windows that are randomly or regularly distributed between the conductive grid.
Regarding claims 7, 8, 9, 14, and 18 the recitation of a “color matching grid” is unclear because one skilled in the art would not be apprised of what specific structure meets the claimed structure/elements to be color matching. That is to what structure is the color “matching.”
Claims 3, 4, 5, 15, 16, and 17 are also rejected due to their dependence to one or more of the above rejected independent claims.
Regarding claim 8, the recitation of “and a grid line of the color matching grid is disconnected to form an open circuit” is unclear what the color matching grid is disconnected from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20140216804A1 Yang.
Regarding claim 1,
Yang teaches,
A transparent heating film (conductive film 100 and 100’), comprising:
a transparent supporting body (substrate 101 par. 40 teaches transparency), wherein a side of the transparent supporting body is provided with a plurality of trenches (fig. 1b mesh shaped grooves 103) interconnected to each other in a grid shape (par. 41 teaches grids of various shapes);
a conductive grid (formed by conducive layer 102 fig. 1b), wherein the conductive grid is formed by filling the plurality of trenches with a conductive material (par. 40 teaches conductive layer 102 being formed by filling mesh shaped groove 103 with a conductive material, silver);
and at least one penetration window, located between and partitioned with the conductive grid (par. 40 teaches that conductive film 100’ is similar to conductive film 100 with the distinction that conductive film 100’ includes a substrate 101 vs having a plurality of layers as with conducive film 100, therefore, the rejection herein combines the embodiments of 100’ and 100 for the physical aspects of the trenches and application of the conductive layers from the embodiment of 100 into the embodiment of 100 therefore, mesh cells 21, 21’, 31, 31’, 41, and 41’ are penetration windows).
Regarding claim 2,
Yang teaches,
The transparent heating film according to claim 1 (as discussed above),
wherein the at least one penetration window comprises a plurality of penetration windows, and the plurality of penetration windows are randomly or regularly distributed between the conductive grid (figs. 2a, 2b, 3a, 3b, 4a, and 4c).
Regarding claim 3,
Yang teaches,
The transparent heating film according to claim 2 (as discussed above),
wherein the plurality of penetration windows are in one or more shapes of a triangle, a polygon, an S shape, and a circle (figs. 2a, 2b, 3a, 3b, 4a, and 4c).
Regarding claim 6,
Yang teaches,
The transparent heating film according to claim 1 (as discussed above),
wherein the penetration window is configured to be blank inside (substrate 101 par. 40 teaches transparency therefore, the transparent material of mesh cells 21, 21’, 31, 31’, 41, and 41’ which are penetration windows are anticipated to be blank inside).
Regarding claim 11,
Yang teaches,
The transparent heating film according to claim 1 (as discussed above),
wherein a width of the trench ranges from 500 nm to 10 μm, and a depth of the trench ranges from 1 μm to 20 μm (par. 38).
Regarding claim 13,
Yang teaches,
The transparent heating film according to claim 1 (as discussed above), wherein the transparent supporting body is a substrate layer (second embodiment of fig. 1b and par. 40);
or the transparent heating film further comprises the substrate layer, and the transparent supporting body is stacked on the substrate layer (first embodiment of fig. 1A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 10, 12, 18, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20140216804A1 Yang in view of US20180070411A1 Wei.
Regarding claim 4,
Yang teaches, The transparent heating film according to claim 3 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Yang does not teach: wherein a minimum side length and/or a minimum width of the penetration window is greater than or equal to 1 mm.
Wei teaches a photocurable layer 145 with channels 125 filled with microwires 115 and is analogous art, Wei further teaches wherein a minimum side length and/or a minimum width of the penetration window (spacing s between microwires 115) is greater than or equal to 1 mm (par. 42 teaches at least 100um which encompasses the range of equal to or greater than 1mm and is maintained by Wei to ensure transparency of photo layer 145).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sizes of mesh cells 21, 21’, 31, 31’, 41, and 41’ of Yang per the teachings of Wei for the purpose to ensure transparency of photo layer 145 (Wei par. 42).
Regarding claim 5,
Yang teaches, The transparent heating film according to claim 3 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Yang does not teach: wherein a width of the penetration window ranges from 1 mm to 10 cm.
Wei teaches a photocurable layer 145 with channels 125 filled with microwires 115 and is analogous art, Wei further teaches wherein a width of the penetration window (spacing s between microwires 115) ranges from 1 mm to 10 cm (par. 42 teaches at least 100um which encompasses the range of equal to or greater than 1mm and is maintained by Wei to ensure transparency of photo layer 145).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sizes of mesh cells 21, 21’, 31, 31’, 41, and 41’ of Yang per the teachings of Wei for the purpose to ensure transparency of photo layer 145 (Wei par. 42).
Regarding claim 10,
Yang teaches, The transparent heating film according to claim 1 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Yang does not teach: wherein a depth-to-width ratio of the trench is greater than or equal to 2.
Wei teaches a photocurable layer 145 with channels 125 filled with microwires 115 and is analogous art, Wei further teaches wherein a depth-to-width ratio of the trench is greater than or equal to 2 (par. 42 teaches the width W of the micro-wires should be less than about 10 μm, and preferably are in the range 4 μm≦W≦9 μm…and… the thickness of the micro-wires is in the range 6 μm≦H≦30 μm, with the thickness of the micro-wires being at least 1.5 times their width, which encompasses the range disclosed in the instant application).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the grooves 130 of Yang per the teachings of Wei for the purpose to maintain aspect ratios and proper cross sectional areas for proper wire design for signal carrying capacity (Wei par. 42).
Regarding claim 12,
Yang teaches, The transparent heating film according to claim 1 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Yang does not teach: wherein a part of the conductive grid is configured as an electrode;
or the transparent supporting body further comprises a line-shaped trench, and the line-shaped trench is filled with the conductive material to form the electrode electrically connected to the conductive grid;
or the transparent heating film further comprises the electrode stacked on the transparent supporting body and electrically connected to the conductive grid.
Wei teaches a photocurable layer 145 with channels 125 filled with microwires 115 and is analogous art, Wei further teaches wherein a part of the conductive grid (heater region 105) is configured as an electrode (electrodes 120);
or the transparent supporting body further comprises a line-shaped trench, and the line-shaped trench is filled with the conductive material to form the electrode electrically connected to the conductive grid;
or the transparent heating film further comprises the electrode stacked on the transparent supporting body and electrically connected to the conductive grid.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conductive layer 102 of Yang for use as an electrode or power source connection per the teachings of Wei for the purpose to connect to a power source to provide current to the apparatus (Wei par. 40).
Regarding claim 18,
Yang teaches, except where struck through, A transparent heating film (conductive film 100 and 100’), comprising a transparent supporting body (substrate 101 par. 40 teaches transparency), wherein a side of the transparent supporting body is provided with a trench in a grid shape (fig. 1b mesh shaped grooves 103 par. 41 teaches grids of various shapes);
a conductive grid (formed by conducive layer 102 fig. 1b), wherein the trench is filled with a conductive material to form the conductive grid (par. 40 teaches conductive layer 102 being formed by filling mesh shaped groove 103 with a conductive material, silver);
and a penetration window, wherein at least one of the penetration window is distributed between the conductive grid (par. 40 teaches that conductive film 100’ is similar to conductive film 100 with the distinction that conductive film 100’ includes a substrate 101 vs having a plurality of layers as with conducive film 100, therefore, the rejection herein combines the embodiments of 100’ and 100 for the physical aspects of the trenches and application of the conductive layers from the embodiment of 100 into the embodiment of 100 therefore, mesh cells 21, 21’, 31, 31’, 41, and 41’ are penetration windows), the penetration window is configured to be blank inside or configured with a color matching grid disconnected to the conductive grid (substrate 101 par. 40 teaches transparency therefore, the transparent material of mesh cells 21, 21’, 31, 31’, 41, and 41’ which are penetration windows are anticipated to be blank inside), and a minimum side length/a minimum width of the penetration window is greater than or equal to 1 mm.
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Yang does not teach: an electrode, electrically connected to the conductive grid…nor… and a minimum side length/a minimum width of the penetration window is greater than or equal to 1 mm
Wei teaches a photocurable layer 145 with channels 125 filled with microwires 115 and is analogous art, Wei further teaches an electrode (electrodes 120), electrically connected to the conductive grid (par. 40 teaches heater region 105 and electrodes 120 connected)…and… and a minimum side length/a minimum width of the penetration window (spacing s between microwires 115) is greater than or equal to 1 mm (par. 42 teaches at least 100um which encompasses the range of equal to or greater than 1mm and is maintained by Wei to ensure transparency of photo layer 145).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conductive layer 102 of Yang for use as an electrode or power source connection per the teachings of Wei for the purpose to connect to a power source to provide current to the apparatus (Wei par. 40) and to modify the sizes of mesh cells 21, 21’, 31, 31’, 41, and 41’ of Yang per the teachings of Wei for the purpose to ensure transparency of photo layer 145 (Wei par. 42)
Regarding claim 19,
Yang teaches, a configuration of an embodiment where adhesive layer 130 stacked with substrate 110 where substrate 110 is taught to be PET or transparent plastic per par. 36.
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Yang does not teach: A heating glass, comprising a glass and the transparent heating film according to claim 1 stacked with the glass.
Wei teaches a configurating where photocurable layer 145 is stacked with substrate 140 where par. 78 of Wei teaches substrate 140 being made of any appropriate material such as glass or polymer including glass, PET, Kapton, PC, PE, PVC, PP, PS and PMMA. Therefore, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that glass and polymer such as PET are interchangeable as substrate bases.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to exchange the substrate 110 of Yang with the glass substrate 140 of Wei for the purpose to provide a transparent substrate material to be heated.
Regarding claim 20,
Yang in combination with Wei teaches, The heating glass according to claim 19 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Yang does not teach: wherein the glass is configured to be a layer of glass and the transparent heating film is disposed on either side of the glass, or the glass is configured to be two layers of glass and the transparent heating film is disposed between the two layers of the glass.
Wei teaches wherein the glass is configured to be a layer of glass and the transparent heating film is disposed on either side of the glass, or the glass is configured to be two layers of glass and the transparent heating film is disposed between the two layers of the glass (par. 77 to 79).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose a the adhesive layer 130 of Yang on a piece of glass per the teachings of Wei for the purpose to provide a transparent substrate material to be heated.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20140216804A1 Yang in view of US5724176A Nishikitani
Regarding claim 7,
Yang teaches, The transparent heating film according to claim 1 (as discussed above).
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Yang does not teach: wherein the penetration window is provided with a color matching grid, and the color matching grid is not connected to the conductive grid.
Nishikitani teaches a glass which is transparent substrates 10a, 20a, 30a, 40a, 50a, and 60a with conductive traces 10b, 20b, 30b, 40b, 50b, and 60b laid out in a grid shape per figs. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 and teaches the penetration window (areas of transparent substrates 10a, 20a, 30a, 40a, 50a, and 60a not covered by conductive traces 10b, 20b, 30b, 40b, 50b, and 60b) is provided with a color matching grid (electrochromic material 82), and the color matching grid is not connected to the conductive grid (fig.8, conductive traces 10b, 20b, 30b, 40b, 50b, and 60b are not connected via insulating layers 84).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an electrochromic material to the mesh cells 21, 21’, 31, 31’, 41, and 41’ of Yang per the teachings of Nishikitani for the purpose to create a device which changes a color of the transparent window (Nishikitani column 1 lines 16 to 30).
Conclusion
ADAM MICHAEL. ECKARDT
Assistant Examiner
Art Unit 3761
/ADAM M ECKARDT/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761