DETAILED ACTION
This is a final rejection in response to amendments filed 7/17/26. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the inner surface of the introducer tube and outer surface of the stylet". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Subsequent dependent claims 2-17 are further rejected.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the inner surface of the introducer tube and outer surface of the stylet". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Subsequent dependent claims 19-20 are further rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murphy (US 2013/0226210).
Regarding independent claim 18, Murphy teaches a needle assembly comprising: an introducer tube 116 extending along an axis and providing a central lumen 132 and sized for percutaneous introduction through the skin of a patient [0052]; a stylet 112 having a tip 136 and being slidably receivable coaxially within the introducer tube to extend therethrough to expose the tip from a distal end of the introducer tube [0054]; and wherein a material of the stylet has an x-ray absorption measured along the axis equivalent to a material with an atomic number measured along the axis of less than 20 [0054].
Regarding dependent claim 20, Murphy teaches wherein the stylet has an average effective atomic number of greater than 6 [0054].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy.
Regarding dependent claim 19, Murphy teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. Murphy is silent to wherein a distal portion of the stylet has a higher effective atomic number than a proximal portion of the stylet.
However, Murphy discloses the stylet’s tip is complementary to the tip of the cannula and that the solid shaft is preferably made from substantially the same material as shaft 132, such that shaft 148 is hard enough and/or rigid to pierce a target area [0053], evidencing that harder relatively higher atomic number materials are desirable at the piercing tip for mechanical performance. Murphy separately discloses in Table 1, a range of lower atomic number materials suitable for the remainder of the stylet shaft to reduce imaging artifact, and states that the stylet’s material is selected from a group including aluminum, carbon fiber, plastic, nitinol, and iconel [0056], expressly contemplating multiple, functionally distinct materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to construct Murphy’s stylet with a distal tip portion of a relatively higher atomic number material (such as aluminum) and a proximal shaft portion of a relatively lower atomic number material (such as carbon fiber) because Murphy already teaches the tip benefits from a harder more rigid material to pierce tissue and the shaft benefits from a lower density material to minimize CT imaging artifacts as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures to achieve predictable results. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CRAIG KIM/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3741