Response to Request for Continued Examination (RCE)
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's submission of Request for Continued Examination (RCE), dated on 03/12/2026.This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below:
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's submission of amendment, dated on 02/03/2026. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1,9,24,28, 32 and 34 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over He et al US20240236745A1 in view of Manolakos et al US 2022/0078654 A1 in view of HUANG et al. US 2023/0231687 Al
Claims 2-3,5,7-8,11-12,14-16,18-23 and 26 are cancelled
Regarding claims 1 and 32, He et al US20240236745A1 discloses
1.A method for wireless communication, comprising:
32.An apparatus comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the instructions [0120]-[0125] FIG. 7 is a simplified block diagram of a device 700 that is suitable for implementing embodiments of the present disclosure. The device 700 may be provided to implement the communication device, for example the UE 110 and the gNB 120 as shown in FIG. 1. As shown, the device 700 includes one or more processors 710, one or more memories 740 coupled to the processor 710. one or more memories 740 stores a computer program 730 which includes computer executable instructions that are executed by the associated processor 710, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to perform
configuring, by a radio access network (RAN) node, a user equipment (UE) with priority information for a measurement by: sending, by the RAN node, a configuration message to the UE, the configuration message comprising the priority information, so that the UE performs a measurement task and reports at least one measurement result according to the priority information; and receiving, by the RAN node, the at least one measurement result from the UE [0052]-[0054] As shown in FIG. 2 , the gNB 120 may generate 202 an indication for the UE 110 to report the at least one QoE measurement based on the obtained information about respective priorities of at least one QoE measurement. Then the gNB 120 may transmit 204 the indication to the UE 110. The indication can be transmitted to the UE 110 when the gNB 120 forwards the configuration parameters configured for the at least one QoE measurement to the UE 110. Based on the indication, the UE 110 may obtain the information about respective priorities of at least one QoE measurement. The UE 110 may store the respective priorities of at least one QoE measurement.; the UE 110 performs the at least one QoE measurement based on the configured measurement parameters and report the at least one QoE measurement to the gNB 120.
He does not disclose wherein the priority information comprises at least one of a priority parameter or a mapping rule.
Manolakos et al US 2022/0078654 A1discloses wherein the priority information comprises at least one of a priority parameter or a mapping rule [0173]-[178] the UE is configured to report measurements, to the network using a specified one or another SRB, where the measurements are mapped into a specific SRB. the UE may determine that a specific report is a high-priority, then the corresponding measurements may be associated with a high priority SRB (e.g., SRB1),where [0259] the positioning report is associated to one of a plurality of SRBs having different priorities comprises associating a positioning report with a high QoS to a SRB with a first priority and associating a positioning report with a low QoS to a SRB with a second priority lower than the first priority, wherein [0181] the UE 302 performs a positioning measurement, the UE 302 determines a priority of the positioning report, the UE 302 associates the positioning report to an SRB, UE selects SRB (for higher level reporting) is based at least in part on a priority associated with the positioning report the UE 302 sends the positioning report to the network entity 306 via SRB that was associated to the positioning report.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He by including wherein the priority information comprises at least one of a priority parameter or a mapping rule, as taught by Manolakos, in order to determine whether it is high or low priority the UE report (see Manolako [0173]- [0178]).
The combination of He and Manolakos does not disclose the priority information comprises a delay parameter for indicating a reporting timing of the at least one measurement result.
HUANG et al. US 2023/0231687 Al discloses the priority information comprises a delay parameter for indicating a reporting timing of the at least one measurement result [0248]-[0249] the management device may determine a reporting delay of the measurement result, and indicate, at proper time, based on the reporting delay of the measurement result, the terminal device to report the measurement result. For example, the positioning management device determines that the reporting delay of the measurement result is 320 ms.
The management device may indicate the terminal device to report the measurement result after 320 ms (i.e., reporting timing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of He and Manolakos by including the priority information comprises a delay parameter for indicating a reporting timing of the at least one measurement result, as taught by HUANG, in order to indicating a reporting timing of the measurement result (see HUANG [0248]-[0249]).
Regarding claims 24 and 34, He et al US20240236745A1 discloses
24. (New) A method for wireless communication, comprising:
34. (New) An apparatus comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the processor executes the instructions [0120]-[0125] FIG. 7 is a simplified block diagram of a device 700 that is suitable for implementing embodiments of the present disclosure. The device 700 may be provided to implement the communication device, for example the UE 110 and the gNB 120 as shown in FIG. 1. As shown, the device 700 includes one or more processors 710, one or more memories 740 coupled to the processor 710. one or more memories 740 stores a computer program 730 which includes computer executable instructions that are executed by the associated processor 710, the processor is configured to cause the apparatus to perform: configuring a user equipment (UE) with priority information for a measurement by: receiving, by the UE, a configuration message from a radio access network (RAN) node, the configuration message comprising the priority information; and performing, by the UE, a measurement task and reporting at least one measurement result according to the priority information[0052]-[0054] As shown in FIG. 2 , the gNB 120 may generate 202 an indication for the UE 110 to report the at least one QoE measurement based on the obtained information about respective priorities of at least one QoE measurement. Then the gNB 120 may transmit 204 the indication to the UE 110. The indication can be transmitted to the UE 110 when the gNB 120 forwards the configuration parameters configured for the at least one QoE measurement to the UE 110. Based on the indication, the UE 110 may obtain the information about respective priorities of at least one QoE measurement. The UE 110 may store the respective priorities of at least one QoE measurement.; the UE 110 performs the at least one QoE measurement based on the configured measurement parameters and report the at least one QoE measurement to the gNB 120.
He does not disclose wherein the priority information comprises at least one of a priority parameter or a mapping rule.
Manolakos et al US 2022/0078654 A1discloses wherein the priority information comprises at least one of a priority parameter or a mapping rule [0173]-[178] the UE is configured to report measurements, to the network using a specified one or another SRB, where the measurements are mapped into a specific SRB. the UE may determine that a specific report is a high-priority, then the corresponding measurements may be associated with a high priority SRB (e.g., SRB1),where [0259] the positioning report is associated to one of a plurality of SRBs having different priorities comprises associating a positioning report with a high QoS to a SRB with a first priority and associating a positioning report with a low QoS to a SRB with a second priority lower than the first priority, wherein [0181] the UE 302 performs a positioning measurement, the UE 302 determines a priority of the positioning report, the UE 302 associates the positioning report to an SRB, UE selects SRB (for higher level reporting) is based at least in part on a priority associated with the positioning report the UE 302 sends the positioning report to the network entity 306 via SRB that was associated to the positioning report.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He by including wherein the priority information comprises at least one of a priority parameter or a mapping rule, as taught by Manolakos, in order to determine whether it is high or low priority the UE report (see Manolako [0173]- [0178]).
The combination of He and Manolakos does not disclose the priority information comprises a delay parameter for indicating a reporting timing of the at least one measurement result. HUANG et al. US 2023/0231687 Al discloses the priority information comprises a delay parameter for indicating a reporting timing of the at least one measurement result [0248]-[0249] the management device may determine a reporting delay of the measurement result, and indicate, at proper time, based on the reporting delay of the measurement result, the terminal device to report the measurement result. For example, the positioning management device determines that the reporting delay of the measurement result is 320 ms.
The management device may indicate the terminal device to report the measurement result after 320 ms (i.e., reporting timing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of He and Manolakos by including the priority information comprises a delay parameter for indicating a reporting timing of the at least one measurement result, as taught by HUANG, in order to indicating a reporting timing of the measurement result (see HUANG [0248]-[0249]).
Regarding claims 9 and 28, the combination of He, Manolakos and HUANG disclose all features with respect to claims 1, and 24, respectively
He further discloses wherein: the RAN node compiles and sends a radio resource control (RRC) message to the UE, the RRC message comprising the configuration message for the UE [0043] the base station further forwards the QoE measurement configuration towards the specific UE via RRC signalling.
Claims 4, 25,33 and 35 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over He in view of Manolakos in view of HUANG in view of Chen et al US 20210044999 A1
Regarding claims 4, 25,33 and 35, the combination of He, Manolakos and HUANG disclose all features with respect to claims 1,24,32 and 34, respectively
The combination of He, Manolakos and HUANG do not disclose wherein: the measurement comprises a minimization of drive test (MDT); and the measurement task comprises an MDT task.
Chen et al US 20210044999 A1 discloses wherein: the measurement comprises a minimization of drive test (MDT); and the measurement task comprises an MDT task [0132] the NW configure UEs to perform the MDT measurements with high priority tasks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of He, Manolakos and HUANG, by including wherein: the measurement comprises a minimization of drive test (MDT); and the measurement task comprises an MDT task, as taught by Chen , in order to perform the MDT measurements with high priority tasks (see Chen[0132]).
Claims 13 and 30 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over He in view of Manolakos in view of HUANG in view of Hu et al US 20230030697 A1
Regarding claims 13 and 30, the combination of He, Manolakos and HUANG disclose all features with respect to claims 1 and 15, respectively
The combination of He, Manolakos and HUANG do not disclose wherein: the priority information comprises a delay parameter; and
the delay parameter indicates at least one of the following:
reporting the at least one measurement result without delay,
reporting the at least one measurement result within a time duration, or
reporting the at least one measurement result at a specific time.
Hu et al US 20230030697 A1discloses wherein: the priority information comprises a delay parameter (fig. 5, step 504, [0148] The access network device sends a delay measurement message); and
wherein: the priority information comprises a delay parameter; and
the delay parameter indicates at least one of the following:
reporting the at least one measurement result without delay,
reporting the at least one measurement result within a time duration (fig. 5, steps 504,505, and 506 [ 0208] The SN configures MDT measurement for a terminal device, the MDT measurement is delay measurement ;the terminal device performs MDT measurement, wherein The SN obtains an MDT measurement result of the terminal device and [0152] the access network device notifies the terminal device to periodically measure the terminal side delay, and periodically report a corresponding periodic value of the terminal side delay. Duration of one periodicity may be 200 milliseconds, 500 milliseconds, or
reporting the at least one measurement result at a specific time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of He, Manolakos and HUANG by including wherein: the priority information comprises a delay parameter; and the delay parameter indicates at least one of the following: reporting the at least one measurement result without delay, reporting the at least one measurement result within a time duration, or reporting the at least one measurement result at a specific time, as taught by Hu ,in order to perform and report the MDT measurement (see Hu [0208]-[0210]).
Claims 6,10 ,17,27 ,29 and 31 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over He in view of Manolakos in view of HUANG in view of Iwamura et al US20130109423A1
Regarding claims 6and 27, the combination of He, Manolakos and HUANG disclose all features with respect to claims 1 and 24, respectively
The combination of He, Manolakos and HUANG do not disclose wherein : the configuration message comprises non-access stratum (NAS) information.
Iwamura et al US20130109423A1discloses wherein:the configuration message comprises non-access stratum (NAS) information (Fig. 5 [0079]-[0082], , the radio base station eNB transmits to the mobile station UE (MDT MeasConfig)”using using the SRB1, , when a condition designated by the “ReportConfig” is satisfied, the mobile station UE transmits, by using the SRB3 designated by the “ReportConfig”, the “MDT MeasReport” in which the measurement result in the measurement target designated by the “MeasObject” is included, wherein [0022] The SRB1 is used for transmission of RRC (Radio Resource Control) signaling, and some NAS (Non Access Stratum) message transmitted after being connected to an RRC message at the time of initial connection, and the SRB2 is used for transmission of remaining all NAS signaling, wherein [0024] The priority of the SRB1 is set to be the highest, and the priority of the SRB2 is set to be the next highest.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of He, Manolakos and HUANG by including wherein: the priority information is used for UE to determine a radio bearer to transmit the at least one measurement result, as taught by Iwamura, in order to transmit the “MDT MeasReport”, by using the SRB3 (see Iwamura [0074]).
Regarding claims 10 and 29, the combination of He, Manolakos and HUANG discloses all features with respect to claims 1 and 24, respectively
The combination of He, Manolakos and HUANG do not disclose wherein: the priority information is used for UE to determine a radio bearer to transmit the at least one measurement result.
Iwamura et al US20130109423A1discloses wherein: the priority information is used for UE to determine a radio bearer to transmit the at least one measurement result [0074] “ReportConfig”, for example, an “event trigger” for MDT is set, the SRB3 function 24C may be configured to transmit the “MDT MeasReport”, by using the SRB3) (see also (Fig. 5 [0079]-[0082], , the radio base station eNB transmits to the mobile station UE (MDT MeasConfig)”using using the SRB1, , when a condition designated by the “ReportConfig” is satisfied, the mobile station UE transmits, by using the SRB3 designated by the “ReportConfig”, the “MDT MeasReport” in which the measurement result in the measurement target designated by the “MeasObject” is included, wherein[0096] SRB3 is lower than the priority of the SRB1 and the priority of the SRB2 ,wherein [0024] The priority of the SRB1 is set to be the highest, and the priority of the SRB2 is set to be the next highest.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of He, Manolakos and HUANG by including wherein: the priority information is used for UE to determine a radio bearer to transmit the at least one measurement result, as taught by Iwamura, in order to transmit the “MDT MeasReport”, by using the SRB3 (see Iwamura [0074]).
Regarding claims 17 and 31, the combination of He, Manolakos and HUANG disclose all features with respect to claims 1 and 24, respectively
The combination of He, Manolakos and HUANG do not disclose wherein: the priority information comprises the mapping rule; and
the mapping rule indicates at least one of the following:
a lowest-priority radio bearer to be used for transmitting the at least one measurement result, a highest-priority radio bearer to be used for transmitting the at least one measurement result, a specific radio bearer to be used for transmitting the at least one measurement result, or a range of a plurality of radio bearers to be used for transmitting the at least one measurement result.
Iwamura et al US20130109423A1discloses wherein: the priority information comprises a mapping rule; and the mapping rule indicates at least one of the following:
a lowest-priority radio bearer to be used for transmitting the at least one measurement result [0074] “ReportConfig”, for example, an “event trigger” for MDT is set, the SRB3 function 24C may be configured to transmit the “MDT MeasReport”, by using the SRB3) (see also (Fig. 5 [0079]-[0082], , the radio base station eNB transmits to the mobile station UE (MDT MeasConfig)”using using the SRB1, , when a condition designated by the “ReportConfig” is satisfied, the mobile station UE transmits, by using the SRB3 designated by the “ReportConfig”, the “MDT MeasReport” in which the measurement result in the measurement target designated by the “MeasObject” is included, wherein[0096] SRB3 is lower than the priority of the SRB1 and the priority of the SRB2 ,wherein [0024] The priority of the SRB1 is set to be the highest, and the priority of the SRB2 is set to be the next highest , a highest-priority radio bearer to be used for transmitting the at least one measurement result, a specific radio bearer to be used for transmitting the at least one measurement result, or a range of a plurality of radio bearers to be used for transmitting the at least one measurement result.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of He, Manolakos and HUANG by including wherein: the priority information comprises a mapping rule; and the mapping rule indicates at least one of the following: a lowest-priority radio bearer to be used for transmitting the at least one measurement result, a highest-priority radio bearer to be used for transmitting the at least one measurement result, a specific radio bearer to be used for transmitting the at least one measurement result, or a range of a plurality of radio bearers to be used for transmitting the at least one measurement result, as taught by Iwamura, in order to transmit the “MDT MeasReport”, by using the SRB3 (see Iwamura [0074]).
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s argument with respect to the pending claims have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons. Applicant’s amendment to claims necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Therefore, Applicant's arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478