DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishide et al. (WO 2020/031424 A1, English Equivalent US 11,804,638 B2) in view of Shigematsu et al. (US 2013/0280598).
Regarding claim 1, Nishide et al. discloses a solid-state battery package (200) comprising: a substrate (10); and a solid-state battery (100) on the substrate (10), wherein the solid-state battery has: a battery element having a positive electrode layer (110), a negative electrode layer (120), and a solid electrolyte (130) interposed between the positive electrode layer (110) and the negative electrode layer (120); and an end-face electrode (150A, 150B) on an end face of the battery element and connected to one of the positive electrode layer (110) or the negative electrode layer (120), wherein the substrate (10) has, on a main surface thereof on a side opposite to the solid-state battery (100) (see Abstract; figures 1-16; and column 3, line 50 through column 24, line 19).
Nishide et al. fails to discloses a substrate electrode layer, and at least a first side surface of the substrate electrode layer and a first end face of the end-face electrode are substantially on an identical line in a sectional view of the solid-state battery package, a distance between the first side surface and a second side surface of the substrate electrode layer opposite to the first side surface is equal to or more than a minimum distance between the first end face of the end-face electrode and an end surface of the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected.
Shigematsu et al. discloses a mounting type solid state battery (1) comprises a battery laminate body formed by laminating a positive electrode layer (11), a solid electrolyte layer (13) and a negative electrode layer (12) in order, and a case main body housing the battery laminate body; the case main body is composed of a base part (20) and a lid portion (30); the battery laminate body is placed on the surface of the base part 20 so as to be supported by the base part (20); a positive electrode connecting part (21) and a negative electrode connecting part (22) are formed at the base part (20) as an electrode connecting part for bringing an inner side surface of the case main body into conduction with an outer side surface of the case main body. The battery laminate body is disposed on the surface of the base part 20 so that the positive electrode connecting part (21) is connected to the positive electrode layer (11) and the negative electrode connecting part (22) is connected to the negative electrode layer (12); the lid portion (30) is arranged so as to cover the battery laminate body; the base part (20) is joined to the lid portion (30) by seam welding or the like; and the positive electrode layer (11), the solid electrolyte layer (13) and the negative electrode layer (12) are laminated in a direction in which the base part (20) of the case main body extends (see figure 1 and paragraph 0036) resulting in a substrate electrode layer (21, 22), and at least a first side surface of the substrate electrode layer (21, 22) and a first end face of the end-face electrode (11, 12) are substantially on an identical line in a sectional view of the solid-state battery package (1), a distance between the first side surface and a second side surface of the substrate electrode layer opposite to the first side surface is equal to or more than a minimum distance between the first end face of the end-face electrode and an end surface of the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nishide et al. with the teachings of Shigematsu et al. resulting in a substrate electrode layer, and at least a first side surface of the substrate electrode layer and a first end face of the end-face electrode are substantially on an identical line in a sectional view of the solid-state battery package, a distance between the first side surface and a second side surface of the substrate electrode layer opposite to the first side surface is equal to or more than a minimum distance between the first end face of the end-face electrode and an end surface of the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected in order to downsize the mounting type solid state battery (see Shigematsu et al. paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 2, Nishide et al. fails to disclose a solid-state battery package wherein the second side surface of the substrate electrode layer and the end surface of the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected are substantially on an identical line in the sectional view.
Shigematsu et al. discloses a mounting type solid state battery (1) comprises a battery laminate body formed by laminating a positive electrode layer (11), a solid electrolyte layer (13) and a negative electrode layer (12) in order, and a case main body housing the battery laminate body; the case main body is composed of a base part (20) and a lid portion (30); the battery laminate body is placed on the surface of the base part 20 so as to be supported by the base part (20); a positive electrode connecting part (21) and a negative electrode connecting part (22) are formed at the base part (20) as an electrode connecting part for bringing an inner side surface of the case main body into conduction with an outer side surface of the case main body. The battery laminate body is disposed on the surface of the base part 20 so that the positive electrode connecting part (21) is connected to the positive electrode layer (11) and the negative electrode connecting part (22) is connected to the negative electrode layer (12); the lid portion (30) is arranged so as to cover the battery laminate body; the base part (20) is joined to the lid portion (30) by seam welding or the like; and the positive electrode layer (11), the solid electrolyte layer (13) and the negative electrode layer (12) are laminated in a direction in which the base part (20) of the case main body extends (see figure 1 and paragraph 0036) resulting in a solid-state battery package wherein the second side surface of the substrate electrode layer and the end surface of the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected are substantially on an identical line in the sectional view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nishide et al. with the teachings of Shigematsu et al. resulting in the second side surface of the substrate electrode layer and the end surface of the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected are substantially on an identical line in the sectional view in order to downsize the mounting type solid state battery (see Shigematsu et al. paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 3, Nishide et al. fails to disclose a solid-state battery package wherein the second side surface of the substrate electrode layer is positioned more inward from an interface region of the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected and the end-face electrode in the sectional view.
Shigematsu et al. discloses a mounting type solid state battery (1) comprises a battery laminate body formed by laminating a positive electrode layer (11), a solid electrolyte layer (13) and a negative electrode layer (12) in order, and a case main body housing the battery laminate body; the case main body is composed of a base part (20) and a lid portion (30); the battery laminate body is placed on the surface of the base part 20 so as to be supported by the base part (20); a positive electrode connecting part (21) and a negative electrode connecting part (22) are formed at the base part (20) as an electrode connecting part for bringing an inner side surface of the case main body into conduction with an outer side surface of the case main body. The battery laminate body is disposed on the surface of the base part 20 so that the positive electrode connecting part (21) is connected to the positive electrode layer (11) and the negative electrode connecting part (22) is connected to the negative electrode layer (12); the lid portion (30) is arranged so as to cover the battery laminate body; the base part (20) is joined to the lid portion (30) by seam welding or the like; and the positive electrode layer (11), the solid electrolyte layer (13) and the negative electrode layer (12) are laminated in a direction in which the base part (20) of the case main body extends (see figure 1 and paragraph 0036) resulting in a solid-state battery package wherein the second side surface of the substrate electrode layer is positioned more inward from an interface region of the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected and the end-face electrode in the sectional view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nishide et al. with the teachings of Shigematsu et al. resulting in a solid-state battery package wherein the second side surface of the substrate electrode layer is positioned more inward from an interface region of the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected and the end-face electrode in the sectional view in order to downsize the mounting type solid state battery (see Shigematsu et al. paragraph 0010).
Regarding claims 4-5, Nishide et al. fails to discloses a solid-state battery package wherein the substrate electrode layer is a metal layer; and wherein the substrate electrode layer is a stress-receiving layer.
Shigematsu et al. discloses a mounting type solid state battery (1) comprises a battery laminate body formed by laminating a positive electrode layer (11), a solid electrolyte layer (13) and a negative electrode layer (12) in order, and a case main body housing the battery laminate body; the case main body is composed of a base part (20) and a lid portion (30); the battery laminate body is placed on the surface of the base part 20 so as to be supported by the base part (20); a positive electrode connecting part (21) and a negative electrode connecting part (22) are formed at the base part (20) as an electrode connecting part for bringing an inner side surface of the case main body into conduction with an outer side surface of the case main body. The battery laminate body is disposed on the surface of the base part 20 so that the positive electrode connecting part (21) is connected to the positive electrode layer (11) and the negative electrode connecting part (22) is connected to the negative electrode layer (12); the lid portion (30) is arranged so as to cover the battery laminate body; the base part (20) is joined to the lid portion (30) by seam welding or the like; and the positive electrode layer (11), the solid electrolyte layer (13) and the negative electrode layer (12) are laminated in a direction in which the base part (20) of the case main body extends (see figure 1 and paragraph 0036) resulting in a solid-state battery package wherein the substrate electrode layer is a metal layer; and wherein the substrate electrode layer is a stress-receiving layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nishide et al. with the teachings of Shigematsu et al. resulting in a solid-state battery package wherein the substrate electrode layer is a metal layer; and wherein the substrate electrode layer is a stress-receiving layer in order to downsize the mounting type solid state battery (see Shigematsu et al. paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 6, Nishide et al. fails to discloses a solid-state battery package wherein the second side surface of the substrate electrode layer is positioned more inward from the end surface of the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected in the sectional view.
Shigematsu et al. discloses a mounting type solid state battery (1) comprises a battery laminate body formed by laminating a positive electrode layer (11), a solid electrolyte layer (13) and a negative electrode layer (12) in order, and a case main body housing the battery laminate body; the case main body is composed of a base part (20) and a lid portion (30); the battery laminate body is placed on the surface of the base part 20 so as to be supported by the base part (20); a positive electrode connecting part (21) and a negative electrode connecting part (22) are formed at the base part (20) as an electrode connecting part for bringing an inner side surface of the case main body into conduction with an outer side surface of the case main body. The battery laminate body is disposed on the surface of the base part 20 so that the positive electrode connecting part (21) is connected to the positive electrode layer (11) and the negative electrode connecting part (22) is connected to the negative electrode layer (12); the lid portion (30) is arranged so as to cover the battery laminate body; the base part (20) is joined to the lid portion (30) by seam welding or the like; and the positive electrode layer (11), the solid electrolyte layer (13) and the negative electrode layer (12) are laminated in a direction in which the base part (20) of the case main body extends (see figure 1 and paragraph 0036) resulting in a solid-state battery package wherein the second side surface of the substrate electrode layer is positioned more inward from the end surface of the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected in the sectional view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nishide et al. with the teachings of Shigematsu et al. resulting in a solid-state battery package wherein the second side surface of the substrate electrode layer is positioned more inward from the end surface of the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected in the sectional view in order to downsize the mounting type solid state battery (see Shigematsu et al. paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 7, Nishide et al. fails to discloses a solid-state battery package wherein the substrate electrode layer extends to a position where the substrate electrode layer is opposed to the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected in the sectional view.
Shigematsu et al. discloses a mounting type solid state battery (1) comprises a battery laminate body formed by laminating a positive electrode layer (11), a solid electrolyte layer (13) and a negative electrode layer (12) in order, and a case main body housing the battery laminate body; the case main body is composed of a base part (20) and a lid portion (30); the battery laminate body is placed on the surface of the base part 20 so as to be supported by the base part (20); a positive electrode connecting part (21) and a negative electrode connecting part (22) are formed at the base part (20) as an electrode connecting part for bringing an inner side surface of the case main body into conduction with an outer side surface of the case main body. The battery laminate body is disposed on the surface of the base part 20 so that the positive electrode connecting part (21) is connected to the positive electrode layer (11) and the negative electrode connecting part (22) is connected to the negative electrode layer (12); the lid portion (30) is arranged so as to cover the battery laminate body; the base part (20) is joined to the lid portion (30) by seam welding or the like; and the positive electrode layer (11), the solid electrolyte layer (13) and the negative electrode layer (12) are laminated in a direction in which the base part (20) of the case main body extends (see figure 1 and paragraph 0036) resulting in a solid-state battery package wherein the substrate electrode layer extends to a position where the substrate electrode layer is opposed to the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected in the sectional view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nishide et al. with the teachings of Shigematsu et al. resulting in a solid-state battery package wherein the substrate electrode layer extends to a position where the substrate electrode layer is opposed to the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected in the sectional view in order to downsize the mounting type solid state battery (see Shigematsu et al. paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 8, Nishide et al. fails to discloses a solid-state battery package wherein a distance between the first side surface and the second side surface of the substrate electrode layer is 1.5 times or more of the minimum distance in the sectional view.
Shigematsu et al. discloses a mounting type solid state battery (1) comprises a battery laminate body formed by laminating a positive electrode layer (11), a solid electrolyte layer (13) and a negative electrode layer (12) in order, and a case main body housing the battery laminate body; the case main body is composed of a base part (20) and a lid portion (30); the battery laminate body is placed on the surface of the base part 20 so as to be supported by the base part (20); a positive electrode connecting part (21) and a negative electrode connecting part (22) are formed at the base part (20) as an electrode connecting part for bringing an inner side surface of the case main body into conduction with an outer side surface of the case main body. The battery laminate body is disposed on the surface of the base part 20 so that the positive electrode connecting part (21) is connected to the positive electrode layer (11) and the negative electrode connecting part (22) is connected to the negative electrode layer (12); the lid portion (30) is arranged so as to cover the battery laminate body; the base part (20) is joined to the lid portion (30) by seam welding or the like; and the positive electrode layer (11), the solid electrolyte layer (13) and the negative electrode layer (12) are laminated in a direction in which the base part (20) of the case main body extends (see figure 1 and paragraph 0036) resulting in a substrate electrode layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nishide et al. with the teachings of Shigematsu et al. resulting in a substrate electrode layer in order to downsize the mounting type solid state battery (see Shigematsu et al. paragraph 0010).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a distance between the first side surface and the second side surface of the substrate electrode layer is 1.5 times or more of the minimum distance in the sectional view, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C)).
Regarding claim 9, Nishide et al. fails to discloses a solid-state battery package wherein the distance between the first side surface and the second side surface of the substrate electrode layer is 2.0 times or more of the minimum distance in the sectional view.
Shigematsu et al. discloses a mounting type solid state battery (1) comprises a battery laminate body formed by laminating a positive electrode layer (11), a solid electrolyte layer (13) and a negative electrode layer (12) in order, and a case main body housing the battery laminate body; the case main body is composed of a base part (20) and a lid portion (30); the battery laminate body is placed on the surface of the base part 20 so as to be supported by the base part (20); a positive electrode connecting part (21) and a negative electrode connecting part (22) are formed at the base part (20) as an electrode connecting part for bringing an inner side surface of the case main body into conduction with an outer side surface of the case main body. The battery laminate body is disposed on the surface of the base part 20 so that the positive electrode connecting part (21) is connected to the positive electrode layer (11) and the negative electrode connecting part (22) is connected to the negative electrode layer (12); the lid portion (30) is arranged so as to cover the battery laminate body; the base part (20) is joined to the lid portion (30) by seam welding or the like; and the positive electrode layer (11), the solid electrolyte layer (13) and the negative electrode layer (12) are laminated in a direction in which the base part (20) of the case main body extends (see figure 1 and paragraph 0036) resulting in a substrate electrode layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nishide et al. with the teachings of Shigematsu et al. resulting in a substrate electrode layer in order to downsize the mounting type solid state battery (see Shigematsu et al. paragraph 0010).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the distance between the first side surface and the second side surface of the substrate electrode layer is 2.0 times or more of the minimum distance in the sectional view, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C)).
Regarding claim 11, Nishide et al. fails to disclose a solid-state battery package further comprising a water vapor barrier layer between the substrate and the solid-state battery.
However, Nishide disclose a water-vapor barrier and that the supporting substrate is preferably a water-vapor barrier substrate (see column 11, lines 17-52).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a water vapor barrier layer between the substrate and the solid-state battery, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C)).
Regarding claim 12, Nishide et al. fails to disclose a solid-state battery package wherein the water vapor barrier layer extends along an extending direction of the main surface of the substrate.
However, Nishide disclose a water-vapor barrier and that the supporting substrate is preferably a water-vapor barrier substrate (see column 11, lines 17-52).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the water vapor barrier layer extends along an extending direction of the main surface of the substrate, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C)).
Regarding claim 13, Nishide et al. fails to disclose a solid-state battery package further comprising a covering insulating layer covering a main surface and a side surface of the solid-state battery on the substrate, wherein the water vapor barrier layer extends to an outer surface of the covering insulating layer which covers the side surface of the solid-state battery.
However, Nishide disclose the inorganic cover film is a water-vapor barrier film; a water-vapor barrier; and that the supporting substrate is preferably a water-vapor barrier substrate (see column 10, line 64 through column 11, line 52).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a covering insulating layer covering a main surface and a side surface of the solid-state battery on the substrate, wherein the water vapor barrier layer extends to an outer surface of the covering insulating layer which covers the side surface of the solid-state battery, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C)).
Regarding claim 14, Nishide et al. fails to disclose a solid-state battery package wherein the water vapor barrier layer is an insulating layer having an electrical insulation property.
However, Nishide et al. discloses that the inorganic cover film is, together with the insulating cover layer, a water-vapor barrier for the solid-state battery (see column 11, lines 17-24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the water vapor barrier layer is an insulating layer having an electrical insulation property, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 15, Nishide et al. fails to disclose a solid-state battery package wherein the water vapor barrier layer has both an Si-O bond and an Si-N bond.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the water vapor barrier layer has both an Si-O bond and an Si-N bond, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 17, Nishide et al. discloses a solid-state battery package wherein the substrate is a resin substrate (See column 12, line 66 through column 13, line 7).
Regarding claim 18, Nishide et al. discloses a solid-state battery package (200) comprising: a substrate (10); and a solid-state battery (100) on the substrate (10), wherein the solid-state battery has: a battery element having a positive electrode layer (110), a negative electrode layer (120), and a solid electrolyte (130) interposed between the positive electrode layer (110) and the negative electrode layer (120); and an end-face electrode (150A, 150B) on an end face of the battery element and connected to one of the positive electrode layer (110) or the negative electrode layer (120), wherein the substrate (10) has, on a main surface thereof on a side opposite to the solid-state battery (100) (see Abstract; figures 1-16; and column 3, line 50 through column 24, line 19).
Nishide et al. fails to disclose a substrate electrode layer, and at least a first side surface of the substrate electrode layer is positioned more outward from an end face of the end-face electrode and positioned more inward from an end of the main surface of the substrate in a sectional view of the solid-state battery package, and a distance between the first side surface and a second side surface of the substrate electrode layer opposite to the first side surface is equal to or more than a minimum distance between the first end face of the end-face electrode and an end surface of the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected.
Shigematsu et al. discloses a mounting type solid state battery (1) comprises a battery laminate body formed by laminating a positive electrode layer (11), a solid electrolyte layer (13) and a negative electrode layer (12) in order, and a case main body housing the battery laminate body; the case main body is composed of a base part (20) and a lid portion (30); the battery laminate body is placed on the surface of the base part 20 so as to be supported by the base part (20); a positive electrode connecting part (21) and a negative electrode connecting part (22) are formed at the base part (20) as an electrode connecting part for bringing an inner side surface of the case main body into conduction with an outer side surface of the case main body. The battery laminate body is disposed on the surface of the base part 20 so that the positive electrode connecting part (21) is connected to the positive electrode layer (11) and the negative electrode connecting part (22) is connected to the negative electrode layer (12); the lid portion (30) is arranged so as to cover the battery laminate body; the base part (20) is joined to the lid portion (30) by seam welding or the like; and the positive electrode layer (11), the solid electrolyte layer (13) and the negative electrode layer (12) are laminated in a direction in which the base part (20) of the case main body extends (see figure 1 and paragraph 0036) resulting in a substrate electrode layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Nishide et al. with the teachings of Shigematsu et al. resulting in a substrate electrode layer in order to downsize the mounting type solid state battery (see Shigematsu et al. paragraph 0010).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least a first side surface of the substrate electrode layer is positioned more outward from an end face of the end-face electrode and positioned more inward from an end of the main surface of the substrate in a sectional view of the solid-state battery package, and a distance between the first side surface and a second side surface of the substrate electrode layer opposite to the first side surface is equal to or more than a minimum distance between the first end face of the end-face electrode and an end surface of the one of the positive electrode layer or the negative electrode layer that the end-face electrode is not connected, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C)).
Regarding claim 19, Nishide et al. fails to disclose a solid-state battery package further comprising a water vapor barrier layer between the substrate and the solid-state battery.
However, Nishide disclose a water-vapor barrier and that the supporting substrate is preferably a water-vapor barrier substrate (see column 11, lines 17-52).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a water vapor barrier layer between the substrate and the solid-state battery, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 16, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 10, 16, and 20, the prior art references fail to disclose or suggest a solid-state battery package wherein the substrate further has, on the main surface of the substrate, a dummy substrate electrode layer that is separately opposed to the substrate electrode layer and is not electrically connected to the solid-state battery; and further comprising a resist layer between the substrate and the water vapor barrier layer.
Conclusion
NATASHA E. YOUNG
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/NATASHA E YOUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774