DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payette et al (US 20130042276 A1) in view of Leung et al (US20200153972A1), and further in view of Li et al (US20200187186A1).
Regarding claim 1, Payette’276 discloses a method (see, Fig. 1, mobile devices, RAN, WPN, PN, servers and Wireless Uplink Controller in wireless communication system with Wireless Uplink Controller including scheduler and manager configured to provide a wireless uplink control capability, par 0024-0025, 0041), comprising:
identifying, by a first scheduling function (Fig. 1, manager in Wireless Uplink Controller can be equated to first scheduling function, par 0041) of a radio access network (Fig. 1, RAN can be equated to radio access network, par 0026), a User Equipment (UE) device (video sender (MD-- mobile device) of uplink video sessions can be equated to UE, par 0030, 0146) that has a first active wireless session (established uplink video sessions with transmission bit rate can be equated to first and second active wireless session, par 0146) over the radio access network and a second active wireless session over the radio access network (see, Fig. 1, manager in Wireless Uplink Controller monitor and manage transmission bit rates of established uplink video sessions of video sender over RAN and determines new bit rates for video sender, par 0026, 0146).
Payette’276 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
determining, by the first scheduling function and based on a signal from a second scheduling function, that expanded coverage is needed for an uplink transmission for the second active wireless session; and
coordinating, by the first scheduling function and based on the determining, uplink scheduling for the first and second active wireless sessions to prioritize uplink signals for the second active wireless session at overlapping uplink time intervals for the first and second active wireless sessions.
However Leung’972 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 3 and 4C, end-to-end communication flow between two terminals engaged in a voice-based multimedia session, par 0019) discloses: determining, by the first scheduling function (Fig. 4C, network entity (such as CSCF (call session control function)/PCRFs (policy and charging rules function)) can be equated to first scheduling function and second scheduling function, par 0084) and based on a signal (Fig. 4C, codec configuration negotiation between first and second UE and thus between network entities (BSs or CSCF/PCRFs), par 0293-0294) from a second scheduling function (Fig. 4C, BSs or CSCF/PCRFs can be equated to first scheduling function and second scheduling function, par 0293) , that expanded coverage (increasing network coverage can be equated to expanded coverage, par 0293) is needed for an uplink transmission for the second (sessions and thus second session, par 0006) active wireless session (see, Fig. 4C and 8, network entity (CSCF/PCRF or BS) serving the first UE determines to increase network coverage for VoIP session of sessions with respective uplinks and downlinks between first and second UE based on codec configuration negotiation between UEs (and thus between CSCF/PCRFs), par 0006, 0293-0295. Noted, UE negotiates to use more robust codec when detecting increase in packet loss for voice session due to poor network coverage, and thus active session, par 0259).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Leung’972 into that of Payette’276. The motivation would have been to increase network coverage for VoIP sessions and/or other voice-based multimedia services (par 0002).
The combination of Payette’276 and Leung’972 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
coordinating, by the first scheduling function and based on the determining, uplink scheduling for the first and second active wireless sessions to prioritize uplink signals for the second active wireless session at overlapping uplink time intervals for the first and second active wireless sessions.
However Li’186 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 5, negotiating cooperation configuration information between APs, par 0056) discloses:
coordinating (cooperation can be equated to coordinating, par 0058), by the first scheduling function (Fig. 21, processor in first AP performs the function, par 0058, 0181) and based on the determining, uplink scheduling for the first and second active wireless (wireless communications can be equated to wireless, abstract) sessions (spatial streams allocated by the second AP to the cooperation STA can be equated to uplink scheduling for the first and second active wireless sessions, par 0061) to prioritize (first AP preferably considers meeting quantity of spatial streams allocated by the second AP to the cooperation STA can be equated to prioritize uplink signals for the second active wireless session, par 0061) uplink signals for the second active wireless session at overlapping uplink time intervals (transmission time length for parallel uplink data transmission of both first AP and second AP can be equated to overlapping uplink time intervals, par 0112) for the first and second active wireless sessions (see, Fig. 5, first AP allocates a quantity of remaining spatial streams to cooperation STA associated with the first AP with preferably considering to meet quantity of spatial streams allocated by the second AP to the cooperation STA after receiving the cooperation configuration information from second AP during transmission time length for parallel uplink data transmission, par 0060-0061, 0112. Noted, allocated spatial streams and thus active streams in one-way negotiation can be equated to first and second active sessions (since second AP assigned quantity of spatial streams of the cooperation STA without negotiation with first AP and thus active streams), par 0060, 0063, 0065).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Li’186 into that of Payette’276 modified by Leung’972. The motivation would have been to negotiate the cooperation configuration information between the first AP and the second AP (par 0056).
Regarding claim 10, Claim 10 recites a device encompass limitations that are similar to limitations of claim 1, except
a processor configured to execute a first scheduling function to.
Payette’276 discloses
a processor (Fig. 8, processor of Wireless Uplink Controller can be equated to processor, par 0188-0189) configured to execute a first scheduling function (Fig. 1, manager in Wireless Uplink Controller can be equated to first scheduling function, par 0041) to (see, Fig. 8, processor of Wireless Uplink Controller performs functions with computer instructions, par 0188-0189).
Thus, it is rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 17, Claim 17 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium encompass limitations that are similar to limitations of claim 1, except
a non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions executable by at least one processor of an access station in a radio access network, the instructions configured for.
Payette’276 discloses
a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig. 8, storage devices can be equated to non-transitory computer-readable medium, par 0184) containing instructions (computer instructions can be equated to instructions, par 0189) executable by at least one processor (Fig. 8, processor, par 0189) of an access station (BS, par 0188) in a radio access network, the instructions configured for (see, Fig. 1 and 8, storage devices storing computer instructions to be executable by processor of BS to operate as Wireless Uplink Controller, par 0188-0189. Noted, Fig. 1, scheduler of Wireless Uplink Controller can be implemented on existing elements of exemplary wireless communication system in a distributed fashion (and thus on BS), par 0067, 0122).
Thus, it is rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 1 above.
Claims 2-4, 6-8, 11-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payette’276 in view of Leung’972, and further in view of Li’186 as applied to claims 1 and 10 respectively above, and further in view of Seidel et al (US20230180301A1, PCT Priority Date: May 27, 2021).
Regarding claim 2, Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, mobile devices, RAN, WPN, PN, servers and Wireless Uplink Controller in wireless communication system with Wireless Uplink Controller including scheduler and manager configured to provide a wireless uplink control capability, par 0024-0025, 0041).
The combination of Payette’276, Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the coordinating causes the UE device to not share transmit power for the first active wireless session and the second active wireless session during the overlapping uplink time intervals.
However Seidel’301 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, network slices to provide specific services to users, par 0003) discloses:
wherein the coordinating (coordination among DUs can be equated to coordinating, par 0622) causes the UE device to not share transmit power (avoiding power slit can be equated to not to share transmit power, par 0452) for the first active wireless session and the second active wireless session (parallel slices (sessions) with RACH for pending uplink data transmission (and thus active slice/session), par 0452, 0566. Noted, each slice corresponding to a PDU session, par 0279) during the overlapping (overlapping time window including resources for parallel slices can be equated to overlapping uplink time intervals, par 0075) uplink time intervals (see, DUs coordinates to avoid parallel transmission for slices (with RACH for pending uplink data transmission (and thus active slice/session)) and thus avoid power split among the slices during overlapping time window, par 0075, 0452, 0566, 0622).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Seidel’301 into that of Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186. The motivation would have been to improve radio efficiency and power efficiency when operating the UE. (par 0079).
Regarding claim 3, Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, mobile devices, RAN, WPN, PN, servers and Wireless Uplink Controller in wireless communication system with Wireless Uplink Controller including scheduler and manager configured to provide a wireless uplink control capability, par 0024-0025, 0041).
The combination of Payette’276, Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the coordinating causes the UE device to reduce transmit power for the first active wireless session, relative to the second active wireless session, during the overlapping uplink time intervals.
However Seidel’301 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, network slices to provide specific services to users, par 0003) discloses:
wherein the coordinating (inter-gNB coordinating a slice-specific RACH resource configuration can be equated to coordinating, par 0626) causes the UE device to reduce transmit power for the first active wireless session (split overall transmit power for parallel uplink transmissions for different slices for pending uplink data (and thus active slice), par 0470), relative to the second active wireless session, during the overlapping (overlapping time window including resources for parallel slices can be equated to overlapping uplink time intervals, par 0075) uplink time intervals (see, inter-gNB coordinating a slice-specific RACH resource configuration by allowing parallel RACH procedures for different slices with ongoing RACH procedure, and thus original transmission power for ongoing slice being splitted during overlapping time window (but no split before the overlapping window), par 0075, 0470, 0626. Noted, each slice corresponding to a PDU session, par 0279).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Seidel’301 into that of Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186. The motivation would have been to improve radio efficiency and power efficiency when operating the UE. (par 0079).
Regarding claim 4, Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, mobile devices, RAN, WPN, PN, servers and Wireless Uplink Controller in wireless communication system with Wireless Uplink Controller including scheduler and manager configured to provide a wireless uplink control capability, par 0024-0025, 0041).
The combination of Payette’276, Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the first scheduling function and the second scheduling function are included within a same access station.
However Seidel’301 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, network slices to provide specific services to users, par 0003) discloses: wherein the first scheduling function (Fig. 30, CU or DU can be equated to first scheduling function, par 0627) and the second scheduling function (Fig. 30, DUs can be equated to second scheduling function, par 0627) are included within a same access station (see, Fig. 30, coordinating resources across slice-specific DUs in same gNB, par 0627, 0643).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Seidel’301 into that of Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186. The motivation would have been to improve radio efficiency and power efficiency when operating the UE. (par 0079).
Regarding claim 6, Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, mobile devices, RAN, WPN, PN, servers and Wireless Uplink Controller in wireless communication system with Wireless Uplink Controller including scheduler and manager configured to provide a wireless uplink control capability, par 0024-0025, 0041).
The combination of Payette’276, Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the coordinating includes:
retrieving, by the first scheduling function, scheduling patterns used by the second scheduling function for the second active wireless session.
However Seidel’301 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, network slices to provide specific services to users, par 0003) discloses:
wherein the coordinating (see, coordination among DUs through CU, par 0643) includes:
retrieving, by the first scheduling function (Fig. 33, CU for resource scheduling can be equated to first scheduling function, par 0646), scheduling patterns (slice-specific RACH resource configurations with different preamble formats can be equated to scheduling patterns scheduling patterns, par 0645. Noted, Different preamble formats use different lengths and CPs (short vs. long) and thus different pattern) used by the second scheduling function (Fig. 33, DU for resource scheduling can be equated to second scheduling function, par 0643-0644) for the second active wireless session (see, Fig. 33, CU sends gNB-DU resource coordination request to the DU and DU responds with slice-specific RACH resource configurations update (including different preamble formats) is received and used at the DU, par 0645-0646. Noted, each slice corresponding to a PDU session, par 0279).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Seidel’301 into that of Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186. The motivation would have been to improve radio efficiency and power efficiency when operating the UE. (par 0079).
Regarding claim 7, Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, mobile devices, RAN, WPN, PN, servers and Wireless Uplink Controller in wireless communication system with Wireless Uplink Controller including scheduler and manager configured to provide a wireless uplink control capability, par 0024-0025, 0041).
The combination of Payette’276, Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the determining includes:
receiving, from the second scheduling function, a signal quality measurement for the second active wireless session.
However Seidel’301 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, network slices to provide specific services to users, par 0003) discloses:
wherein the determining (see, avoid simultaneous uplinks by the UE to avoid split power, par 0452. Noted, power split causing cell coverage reduced, par 0449. Noted further, allowing/disabling parallel ongoing RACH procedures when it comes to the reliability of the RACH procedure and thus corresponding to reducing or expanding coverage, par 0470) includes:
receiving, from the second scheduling function (DU can be equated to second scheduling function, par 0647), a signal quality measurement (cell level measurements for slice-specific resource configurations can be equated to signal quality measurement for the second active wireless session, par 0647) for the second active wireless session (see, DU provides cell level measurements to CU to support CU make decision on updates of slice-specific RACH resource configurations of the DUs, par 0647. Noted, actual slice to be used based on signal quality in the slice when dynamically mapping slice-specific RACH resource configuration to the network slices, par 0065).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Seidel’301 into that of Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186. The motivation would have been to improve radio efficiency and power efficiency when operating the UE. (par 0079).
Regarding claim 8, Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, mobile devices, RAN, WPN, PN, servers and Wireless Uplink Controller in wireless communication system with Wireless Uplink Controller including scheduler and manager configured to provide a wireless uplink control capability, par 0024-0025, 0041).
The combination of Payette’276, Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the first active wireless session uses a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) connection on a first frequency band and wherein the second active wireless session uses a New Radio (NR) connection on a second frequency band that is different than the first frequency band.
However Seidel’301 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, network slices to provide specific services to users, par 0003) discloses:
wherein the first active wireless session (parallel slices (sessions) with RACH for pending uplink data transmission (and thus active slice/session), par 0452, 0566. Noted, each slice corresponding to a PDU session, par 0279) uses a Long-Term Evolution (LTE) connection on a first frequency band and wherein the second active wireless session uses a New Radio (NR) connection on a second frequency band that is different than the first frequency band (see, Fig. 2, heterogeneous network comprises LTE macro cell (macro base station) and NR small cell base station, each base station associated with one different slice, par 0008, 0060. Noted, small cell and macro cell can be equated to second frequency band that is different than the first frequency band, par 0008. Noted further, different cells with different carrier frequencies, different slices mapped to different carrier frequency, par 0058, 0377).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Seidel’301 into that of Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186. The motivation would have been to improve radio efficiency and power efficiency when operating the UE. (par 0079).
Regarding claim 11, Claim 11 recites a device performing the steps recited in claim 7 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 7.
Regarding claim 12, Claim 12 recites a device performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, Claim 13 recites a device performing the steps recited in claim 3 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses the device of claim 10 (see, Fig. 1, mobile devices, RAN, WPN, PN, servers and Wireless Uplink Controller in wireless communication system with Wireless Uplink Controller including scheduler and manager configured to provide a wireless uplink control capability, par 0024-0025, 0041).
The combination of Payette’276, Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the device further includes another processor configured to execute the second scheduling function.
However Seidel’301 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, network slices to provide specific services to users, par 0003) discloses: wherein the device (Fig. 30, gNB, par 0627) further includes another processor (Fig. 34, processor, par 0657) configured to execute the second scheduling function (see, Fig. 30 and 34, gNB comprises slice-specific DUs (with processors) for coordinating resources across slice-specific DUs, par 0627, 0643, 0657).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the device as taught by Seidel’301 into that of Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186. The motivation would have been to improve radio efficiency and power efficiency when operating the UE. (par 0079).
Regarding claim 16, Claim 16 recites a device performing the steps recited in claim 6 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Claims 5, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payette’276 in view of Leung’972, and further in view of Li’186 as applied to claims 1, 10 and 17 respectively above, and further in view of Yang et al (US 20200413290 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, mobile devices, RAN, WPN, PN, servers and Wireless Uplink Controller in wireless communication system with Wireless Uplink Controller including scheduler and manager configured to provide a wireless uplink control capability, par 0024-0025, 0041).
The combination of Payette’276, Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the coordinating includes:
exchanging scheduling information for the first and second active wireless sessions via a dedicated UE schedule coordination link.
However Yang’290 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 3, information cooperation between the RAN slices for a master service and a secondary service, par 0081) discloses:
wherein the coordinating (see, Fig. 3 step S104, information cooperation between the RAN slices for a master service and a secondary service, par 0081) includes:
exchanging scheduling information for the first and second active wireless sessions (information and state cooperation of the RAN slices can be equated to exchanging scheduling information for the first and second active wireless sessions, par 0116) via a dedicated UE schedule coordination link (see, Fig. 6 step 4, information and state cooperation of RAN slices for master and secondary service configuration for slice reconstruction (and thus active slice) performed between master base station and secondary base station through a dedicated Xnew interface between base station nodes (with granularity of a single UE), par 0116. Noted, Fig. 4, Xnew interface for configuration cooperation per UE can be equated to dedicated UE schedule coordination link, par 0116. Noted further, slice can be equated to session, par 0116).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Yang’290 into that of Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186. The motivation would have been to perform a multi-connection data transmission from UE to BSs (par 0111).
Regarding claim 15, Claim 15 recites a device performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, Claim 19 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium performing the steps recited in claim 6 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payette’276 in view of Leung’972, and further in view of Li’186 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bhatoolaul et al (US20220167457A1, Priority Date: Feb 11, 2020).
Regarding claim 9, Payette’276 discloses the method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, mobile devices, RAN, WPN, PN, servers and Wireless Uplink Controller in wireless communication system with Wireless Uplink Controller including scheduler and manager configured to provide a wireless uplink control capability, par 0024-0025, 0041), wherein the coordinating (see, cooperating by scheduler and manager in wireless uplink controller, par 0041) includes.
The combination of Payette’276, Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: eliminating physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) scheduling on time intervals for the first active wireless session that are coincident with New Radio uplink time intervals for the second active wireless session.
However Bhatoolaul’457 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, UE wirelessly communicates with wireless network including UE, RAN node and network element(s), par 0103) discloses:
eliminating (no PUSCH scheduled can be equated to eliminating PUSCH scheduling, par 0136) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) scheduling on time intervals (PUR opportunities overlapped can be equated to time intervals, par 0013) for the first active wireless session (active PUSCH session can be equated to first active wireless session, par 0147-0148, 0172. Noted, Fig. 3, D-PUR within dedicated RRC connection (for PUSCH), and thus PUSCH session for the radio resource control connection is active during overlapping period, par 0147-0148, 0172) that are coincident (overlap can be equated to coincident, par 0128) with New Radio (NG RAN node, par 0109) uplink time intervals for the second active wireless session (see, Fig. 3, UE combines resources over the PUSCH and PUR sessions and uses both PUR and PUSCH resources for transfer of uplink data intended for the PUR session (thus no PUSCH scheduling) when overlapping between PUSCH and PUR sessions during PUR opportunities in NG system, par 0013, 0109, 0128, 0136. Noted, ongoing PUR (preconfigured uplink resources) session and thus active PUR session, par 0139).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Bhatoolaul’457 into that of Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186. The motivation would have been to improve radio efficiency and power efficiency when operating the UE. (par 0079).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payette’276 in view of Leung’972, and further in view of Li’186 as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Karaki et al (US20240214926A1, PCT Priority Date: Apr 30, 2021).
Regarding claim 18, Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17 (see, Fig. 1 and 8, mobile devices, RAN, WPN, PN, servers and Wireless Uplink Controller in wireless communication system with Wireless Uplink Controller including scheduler and manager configured to provide a wireless uplink control capability, par 0024-0025, 0041).
The combination of Payette’276, Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the uplink scheduling includes a schedule for Time Division Duplex (TDD) time intervals of the second active wireless session.
However Karaki’926 from the same field of endeavor (see, Figs. 4A-4C, coordination between source and target nodes by exchanging/updating of energy efficiency policies , par 0088) discloses:
wherein the uplink scheduling (uplink scheduling, par 0105) includes a schedule for Time Division Duplex (TDD) (TDD configuration in coordination message can be equated to TDD, par 0211) time intervals (time window (duration of periods) in coordination message can be equated to time intervals, par 0017, 0247. Noted, duration of periods to offload traffic from source node, par 0017) of the second active wireless session (see, coordination for uplink scheduling including TDD time window (duration of periods) specified on a per network slice basis, par 0017, 0075, 0105, 0211, 0247).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the non-transitory computer-readable medium as taught by Karaki’926 into that of Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186. The motivation would have been to reduce the operational cost of the RAN through energy saving (par 0006).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Payette’276 in view of Leung’972, and further in view of Li’186 as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Yao et al (US 20210258894 A1, Priority Date: Apr 30 , 2021).
Regarding claim 20, Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17 (see, Fig. 1 and 8, mobile devices, RAN, WPN, PN, servers and Wireless Uplink Controller in wireless communication system with Wireless Uplink Controller including scheduler and manager configured to provide a wireless uplink control capability, par 0024-0025, 0041).
The combination of Payette’276, Leung’972 and Li’186 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the instructions for coordinating the uplink scheduling are further configured for:
altering a transmit power split ratio to favor an uplink transmit power for the second active wireless session over an uplink transmit power for the first active wireless session.
However Yao’894 from the same field of endeavor (see, Figs. 2-3, UE communicates with two TRPs using beams, par 0041-0043) discloses:
wherein the instructions (instructions to configure UE, par 0200) for coordinating the uplink scheduling (see, multi-cell interference coordination using power beam allocation ratio for uplink transmission, par 0050) are further configured for :
altering (reduce ratio can be equated to altering a transmit power split ratio, par 0126) a transmit power split ratio (power allocation ratio (ratio of total transmit power of a plurality of simultaneously transmitted beam links) can be equated to transmit power split ratio, par 0047-0048) to favor an uplink transmit power for the second active wireless session (upstream (beam) can be equated to session, par 0040-0041) over an uplink transmit power for the first active wireless session (see, reduce power allocation ratio for two beam links (upstreams) by given priority to beam link with relatively low transmission power requirements, par 0040-0041, 0047, 0126. Noted, BS adjust UE uplink transmission power based on measurement of historical uplink transmission and thus each beam is active beam (upstream) by closed loop, par 0040).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the non-transitory computer-readable medium as taught by Yao’894 into that of Payette’276 modified by Leung’972 and Li’186. The motivation would have been to support flexible power allocation between multiple beams (par 0024).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Manolakos et al (US 20230031065 A1, Priority Date: Nov 03, 2020) discloses: Fig. 9, different preamble formats corresponds to different preamble lengths (long or short) and different cyclic prefix lengths and different lengths of guard period(par 0129). This applied to claim limitation of scheduling patterns in claims 6 and 16.
Raleigh et al (US 20220360608 A1, Cont Priority Date: Dec 14, 2020) discloses: classifying the network service usage activity further includes classifying the network service usage activity based on one or more of the following:… network communication function (e.g., network discovery or signaling, EtherType messages, connection flow/stream/session set up or tear down, network authentication or authorization sequences, IP address acquisition, and DNS services) (par 0480). And thus connection flow/stream/session are equivalent. This concept applied to every claim.
/XUAN LU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473