1.The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-17,31,47 and 49 are pending in this application. Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-17 and 31 in the reply filed on 06/11/26 is acknowledged. Claims 47 and 49 are withdrawn from consideration.
2. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
laim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1-7,10 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woessner (WO 01/22080 A2).
With regard to claim 1, Woessner teaches a system for detecting a colony growing on an agar plate (see figs. 1-2 and page 7 of ‘702), the system comprising: (a) a photoelectric array detector having associated optics to detect a detection field of a surface of the agar plate (reads on figs. 1-2 which depicts how a camera having optic to detect the surface of the plate); (b) one or more illumination sources for illuminating the detection field, the illumination sources positioned to illuminate the agar plate (reads on fig. 1, item 4, illuminate the plate 6); (c) a collection lens (10a and/or 12) system positioned between the photoelectric array detector (10) and the agar plate (6),(see fig. 1); (d) a computer (14) programmed to receive data collected by the photoelectric array detector (see page 5), wherein the data is a digital representation of the detection field, the colony growing on an agar within the plate is detected through a bottom surface of the agar plate and the agar, and the computer analyzes (or interpreting data, see page 6, lines 1-14) the data to quantify a number of colonies in the detection field (see Example 2, page 8).
With regard to claim 2, Woessner further teaches wherein two illumination sources are used for illuminating the detection field, and wherein a first illumination source illuminates a side of the agar plate and the agar, optionally wherein a second illumination source illuminates a top surface of the agar (reads on fig. 1, which suggest the camera can have an illumination and the second illumination 4).
With regard to claim 3, Woessner further teaches wherein a second illumination source illuminates a top surface of the agar (inherent reads on fig. 1, which the light can be placed in different direccion(s)).
With regard to claim 4, Woessner further teaches a light diffuser positioned between
the second illumination source and the agar plate (inherent reads on fig. 1, which the light can be placed in different direction(s) and reflect in different direction(s)).
.
With regard to claim 5, Woessner further teaches wherein the first illumination source comprises a plurality of illumination sources encircling the side of the agar plate (inherent reads on fig. 1, which the light can be placed in different direction(s) and encircle toward different direction(s)).
With regard to claim 6, Woessner further teaches wherein the plurality of illumination sources encircles the side of the agar plate at a position between the top cover of the agar plate and the top of the agar (inherent reads on fig. 1, which the light can be placed in different direction(s) and toward different direction(s)).
.
With regard to claim 7, Woessner further teaches wherein the colony is growing on an absorption pad or a membrane surface (8) on the agar within the agar plate (see fig. 1).
With regard to claim 10, Woessner further teaches wherein the photoelectric array detector comprises a charge-coupled device (CCD) detector, a photomultiplier tube detector, a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) detector, or a photodiode detector (reads on the camera of fig. 1).
With regard to claim 12, Woessner further suggests a stage for positioning the agar plate relative to the illumination source and the photoelectric array detector and optionally a robotic arm for placing and removing the agar plate on the stage (see fig. 1 and page 7, lines 15-20).
With regard to claim 13, Woessner further teaches a robotic arm for placing and
removing the agar plate on the stage (see fig. 1 and page 7, lines 15-20) .
With regard to claim 14, Woessner further teaches wherein the colony is a colony of bacteria cells or a colony of fungal cells (see page 6).
With regard to claim 15, Woessner further teaches wherein a top cover of the agar plate is present during the illuminating and detecting (see fig. 1).
With regard to claim 16, Woessner further teaches wherein the detection field is a bottom surface of the agar plate (see fig. 1, clearly the plaque is placed or stored in the bottom of the plate).
With regard to claim 17, the limitations of claim 17 are covered by the limitations of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 8-9,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woessner (WO 01/22080 A2)..
With regard to claims 8-9 and 11, Woessner teaches illumination sources (see claim 1 above), but does not explicitly using a camera having lasers, LEDs or CMOS. Examiner asserts that cameras having lasers, LEDs or CMOS are well known in the art at the time of the invention to be used for detecting (taking or acquiring) images . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to switch the camera of Woessner with a different camera, since it would have been a design choice to use the different types of cameras.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ozcan et al. (2023/0060037) teaches a systems and methods for the early detection and classification of live microorganisms using time-lapse coherent imaging and deep learning.
Larimer et al. (2020/0024634) teaches methods and systems of characterizing and counting microbiological colonies.
FONT SANTAFE (2018/0258383) teaches a device for obtaining images of bacterial cultures in a dish.
/Gabriel I Garcia/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682
July 08, 2026