DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10 and 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cappiello et al. (US 2019/0384759 A1) in view of Heck et al. (US 2014/0236570 A1) and McCauley et al. (US 2006/0041558 A1).
For claim 1, Cappiello et al. teaches a method comprising:
receiving a natural language query [query is a natural language query, 0006: Cappiello] and data identifying documents determined to be responsive to the natural language query [identifying search results that are responsive to the query with structured data to supplement the results, 0005: Cappiello], the natural language query being determined to be a question query [query in natural language question form, 0033: Cappiello], but does not teach a question query that seeks an answer response; identifying a structured content set from the documents by processing mark-up language tags defining an arrangement of rendered content, the structured content set including a first attribute having a first value that matches a first query term of the natural language query and a second attribute that matches a second query term of the natural language query; and using a portion of the structured content set to generate a response to the natural language query.
Heck et al. teaches a question query that seeks an answer response [question response in natural language form, Figure 5 and 0034-0040: Heck]; identifying a structured content set from the documents [identification of structured content that includes structured web pages from the web for outputting response for a query response system, 0021: Heck] that includes a first attribute having a first value that matches a first query term of the natural language query [use of natural language term in query with entity type to mine and enrich structured content, 0028-0031: Heck] and a second attribute that matches a second query term of the natural language query [pairing of terms with a secondary term from the natural language query to find pattern and relay appropriate result from structured content, 0024-0031: Heck]; and using a portion of the structured content set to generate a response to the natural language query [structured content is mined with relationships using criteria and matching, to obtain a resulting enriched subset structured content which is shown as a result in natural language, Figure 5 and 0034-0040: Heck].
McCauley et al. teaches identifying a structured content set from the documents by processing mark-up language tags defining an arrangement of rendered content [natural language processing of queries from structured query language, 0162; mark-up language identification of structured language with tags, 0047, 0051 and 0075: McCauley].
Cappiello et al. (US 2019/0384759 A1), Heck et al. (US 2014/0236570 A1) and McCauley et al. (US 2006/0041558 A1) are analogous art because they are from the same field natural language querying.
Before the filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the natural language processing as described by Cappiello et al. with structured content set generation as taught by Heck et al. and processing of mark-up language tags as taught by McCauley et al.
The motivation for doing so would be for ”adapting spoken dialog systems for new domains and/or changes in the distribution and nature of user request” [0001: Heck].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Cappiello et al. (US 2019/0384759 A1), Heck et al. (US 2014/0236570 A1) and McCauley et al. (US 2006/0041558 A1) for answering natural language queries with proper structured content.
For claim 3, Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the structured content set is a table having columns and rows, and wherein the first value corresponds to a cell in a row and the structured content set includes a second value that corresponds to a cell in the row and a column corresponding to the second attribute [values included in row and column for structured data matching multiple attributes, 0033-0034: Cappiello].
For claim 4, Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the structured content set is a table having columns and rows, and wherein the first value corresponds to a cell in a column and the structured content set includes a second value that corresponds to a cell in the column and a row corresponding to the second attribute table [values included in row and column for structured data matching multiple attributes, 0033-0034: Cappiello].
For claim 5, Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the portion of the structured content set includes all values included in a column or a row of a table [values included in row and column for structured data, 0033-0034: Cappiello].
For claim 6, Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first attribute is a subject attribute having unique values within the structured content set [attribute involving name, description and transaction id, 0055-0057: Cappiello].
For claim 7, Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first attribute is a title of the structured content set [attribute involving name and description, 0057: Cappiello].
For claim 8, Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches:
The method of claim 7, wherein the first query term matches the first attribute when the first query term matches a portion of the title [facet of a field with segments top return as result, 0031: Cappiello].
For claim 9, Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining remaining query terms of the natural language query, the remaining query terms excluding stop words, interrogatives, the first query term, and the second query term [parsing of terms in the query, 0032: Cappiello]; determining whether a portion of the remaining query terms match a portion of a title of the structured content set or a portion of a title of a document of the documents from which the structured set is identified [facet of a field with segments top return as result, 0031: Cappiello]; and in response to determining that the remaining query terms match, generating the structured content set [generating structured data results, 0006: Cappiello].
Claim 10 is a system of the method taught by claim 1. Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons stated above.
Claim 12 is a system of the method taught by claim 3. Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches the limitations of claim 3 for the reasons stated above.
Claim 13 is a system of the method taught by claim 4. Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches the limitations of claim 4 for the reasons stated above.
Claim 14 is a system of the method taught by claim 5. Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches the limitations of claim 5 for the reasons stated above.
Claim 15 is a system of the method taught by claim 6. Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches the limitations of claim 6 for the reasons stated above.
Claim 16 is a system of the method taught by claim 7. Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches the limitations of claim 7 for the reasons stated above.
Claim 17 is a system of the method taught by claim 8. Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches the limitations of claim 8 for the reasons stated above.
Claim 18 is a system of the method taught by claim 9. Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches the limitations of claim 9 for the reasons stated above.
Claim 19 is a system of the method taught by claim 1. Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons stated above.
Claim 20 is a system of the method taught by claim 3. Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches the limitations of claim 3 for the reasons stated above.
Claim 21 is a system of the method taught by claim 4. Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches the limitations of claim 4 for the reasons stated above.
Claim 22 is a system of the method taught by claim 7. Cappiello et al. and Heck et al. teaches the limitations of claim 7 for the reasons stated above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed June 22, 2026 have been fully considered and a new reference has been brought in to address the new limitations. The rejection is addressed in detail above in the 35 U.S.C. 103 Rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
9/5/2026
/AJITH JACOB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161