DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final rejection in response to RCE filed 4/2/26. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-13 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moriyama (WO2021/117105) in view of Manning et al. (US 5233842) and further in view of Hodes et al. (WO2009/154663).
Regarding independent claim 1 and 19, Moriyama teaches a closed-loop thermal management system, comprising:
a thermal transport bus 100 including a plurality of fluid conduits configured to circulate a thermal working fluid therethrough;
an accumulator 83 including a shell defining a multiphase fluid volume therein configured to contain a multiphase fluid, the shell defining an opening, wherein the accumulator is fluidly coupled to the thermal transport bus in a closed-loop fluid circuit [0023-0024]; and
a temperature regulator 2.
It should be noted the invention of Moriyama is directed towards a thermal management system for an aircraft [0150].
Moriyama is silent to the temperature regulator disposed along the accumulator.
Manning teaches it was known to have a temperature regulator disposed along the accumulator (as seen in figures 1 and 2).
It is noted that the use of a known prior art structure (in this case the use of a temperature regulator disposed along the accumulator as taught by Manning), to obtain predictable results (in this case to ensure precise control of heating and cooling of the fluid within the accumulator) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Moriyama teaches the temperature regulator (Peltier element) thermally coupled to the accumulator/refrigerant line and thus configured to provide heating to the multiphase fluid inside the multiphase fluid volume [0026-0028]. However, Moriyama in view of Manning is silent to the temperature regulator being configured to provide heating and provide cooling to the multiphase fluid inside the multiphase fluid volume.
Hodes teaches bidirectional heating and cooling with thermoelectric modules is known to provide both heating and cooling by reversing electric polarity (pg. 10, line 29 – pg. 11, line 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to further modify Moriyama in view of Manning with heating and cooling with the temperature regulator, as taught by Hodes. Hodes teaches increased efficiency of the TEM in temperature control, and power generation applications (pg. 5, ll.15-23).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Moriyama in view of Manning and further in view of Hodes teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. Moriyama further teaches wherein the thermal working fluid comprises the multiphase fluid [0023-0024].
Regarding dependent claim 3 and 20, Moriyama in view of Manning and further in view of Hodes teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. Moriyama further teaches further comprising a heat source heat exchanger 5 in thermal communication with the thermal working fluid.
Regarding dependent claim 4, Moriyama in view of Manning and further in view of Hodes teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. Moriyama further teaches further comprising a heat sink heat exchanger 51,52 in thermal communication with the thermal working fluid.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Moriyama in view of Manning and further in view of Hodes teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. Moriyama further teaches wherein the multiphase fluid includes a liquid portion in a saturated liquid state and a gas portion in a saturated vapor state within the multiphase fluid volume [0023-0024].
Regarding dependent claim 6, Moriyama in view of Manning and further in view of Hodes teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. Moriyama further teaches further comprising a pump 3 having an inlet and an outlet fluidly coupled to the thermal transport bus, wherein the closed-loop fluid circuit includes the thermal transport bus, the pump, and the accumulator.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Moriyama in view of Manning and further in view of Hodes teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. Manning teaches wherein the shell of the accumulator comprises a wall defining an inner wall surface and an outer wall surface, wherein the temperature regulator comprises at least one electric resistance heater 64 disposed along at least one of the outer wall surface and the inner wall surface.
Regarding dependent claim 12-13, Moriyama in view of Manning and further in view of Hodes teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. Moriyama further teaches wherein the shell of the accumulator comprises a wall defining an outer wall surface, wherein the temperature regulator comprises a thermoelectric module in thermal contact with the outer wall surface and wherein thermoelectric module is in thermal contact with the thermal transport bus. [0020].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moriyama in view of Manning and Hodes and further in view of Thayer (US 2017/0016782).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Moriyama in view of Manning and Hodes teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above. Moriyama teaches wherein the shell of the accumulator comprises a wall defining an inner wall surface and an outer wall surface, but is silent to wherein the temperature regulator comprises a thermal fluid jacket at least partially disposed along the inner wall surface.
Thayer teaches it was known to have an accumulator with an inner and outer shell and having a thermal fluid jacket disposed along the inner wall surface (see figure 2, annular space 48).
It is noted that the use of a known prior art structure (in this case the use of a thermal fluid jacket as taught by Thayer), to obtain predictable results (in this case to improve insulation and efficiency) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CRAIG KIM/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3741