DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, a system, in the reply filed on 6/24/26 is acknowledged. Claims 1-9, 12, and 27-29 are pending. Claims 10-11 and 13-26 are cancelled. Claims 1-9, 12, and 27-29 are currently under examination.
Priority
The instant application 18/487,416 filed on 10/16/23 is a CON of 17/139,127 (US 11,827,925) filed 12/31/20, which is a CON of 15/597,313 (US 10,907,200) filed 5/17/17, which is a CON of PCT/US2015/061312 filed 11/18/15, which claims domestic priority to provisional application 62/082,534 filed 11/20/14, and claims domestic priority to provisional applications 62/082,538 filed on 11/20/14 and 62/082,541 filed on 11/20/14. The priority date is determined to be 11/20/14.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10/26/23 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). Sequence identifiers for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Replacement and annotated drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “(c) an optical detection device that is configured to detect amplified products” in claim 1; “primer are configured to perform a reverse transcription polymerase chain reaction” in claim 9; “system is configured to detect a single nucleotide polymorphism detection” in claim 27; and “optical detection device is configured to measure the melting curve” in claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nazarenko et al. (2013; US 8,394,609 B2).
Relevant to claim 1, Nazarenko et al. column 12 lines 4-24 teach “More specifically, the invention is directed to a method for amplifying a double-stranded nucleic acid target molecule comprising: (a) providing a first and second primer, wherein said first primers complementary to a sequence within or at or near the 3'-termini of the first strand of said nucleic acid molecule and said second primer is complementary to a sequence within or at or near the 3'-termini of the second strand of said nucleic acid molecule: (b) hybridizing said first primer to said first strand and said second primer to said second strand in the presence of one or more polymerases or reverse transcriptases, under conditions such that a third nucleic acid molecule complementary to all or a portion of said first strand and a fourth nucleic acid molecule complementary to all or a portion of said second strand are synthesized; (c) denaturing said first and third strands, and said second and first strands; and (d) repeating steps (a) to (c) one or more times, wherein one or more of said primers are oligonucleotides of the present invention.”
Further relevant to claim 1, Nazarenko et al. teaches “Polymerases used in accordance with the invention may be any enzyme that can synthesize a nucleic acid molecule from a nucleic acid template, typically in the 5' to 3’ direction. ‘3' to 5’ exonuclease activity’ is an enzymatic activity well known to the art. This activity is often associated with DNA polymerases, and is thought to be involved in a DNA replication ‘editing’ or correction mechanism” (column 29, lines 59-65).
Further relevant to claim 1, Nazarenko et al. teaches “The present invention provides oligonucleotides that may comprise one or more modifications internally, and/or, at or near the 3'- and/or 5'-termini” (column 6, lines 31-33).
Further relevant to claim 1, Nazarenko et al. Examples 2-3 employ the ABI Prism® 7700 Sequence Detector for thermal cycling and detection of amplified products.
Further relevant to claim 1, Nazarenko et al. teaches “In some preferred embodiments, the oligonucleotides of the present invention may be used for the detection and/or discrimination of target or template nucleic acid molecules by methods involving primer extension including, but not limited to, nucleic acid synthesis and amplification (e.g. PCR) as well as by other methods involving hybridization of a probe and/or primer” (column 6, lines 49-56).
Further relevant to claim 1, Nazarenko et al. teaches “In this aspect of the invention, multiple different oligonucleotides may be used to detect multiple different target sequences in the same sample (e.g. multiplexing) and such different oligonucleotides may be differentially labeled to allow simultaneous and/or sequential detection of the multiple target sequences” (column 7, lines 29-34).
Relevant to claim 2, Nazarenko et al. column 38 lines 55-67 and column 39 lines 1-28 teach embodiments of molecular moieties.
Relevant to claim 3, Nazarenko et al. column 41 lines 57-67 teach embodiments wherein the molecular moiety comprises one to ten nucleotides.
Relevant to claim 4, Nazarenko et al. column 18 lines 37-51 teach an embodiment wherein only one primer of the set comprises the 3’ molecular moiety.
Relevant to claim 5, Nazarenko et al. column 18 lines 5-26 teach an embodiment wherein both primers of a set comprise 3’ molecular moieties. Relevant to claim 6, within the same teaching, the first and second molecular moieties are non-complementary and not associating with each other.
Relevant to claim 7, Nazarenko et al. column 38 lines 55-67 and column 39 lines 1-28 teach embodiments of molecular moieties comprising unnatural bases.
Relevant to claim 8, Nazarenko et al. Example 2 includes thermal cycling amplification.
Relevant to claim 9, Nazarenko et al. column 12 lines 45-50 teach that the invention oligonucleotides can be used in RT-PCR.
Relevant to claim 12, Nazarenko et al. Example 3 “Detection of Nucleic Acids” teaches that the PCR product may be detected via agarose gel electrophoresis.
Relevant to claim 27, Nazarenko et al. column 51 lines 48-50 teach single nucleotide polymorphism detection.
Relevant to claims 28-29, Nazarenko et al. Example 27 teaches melting curve-based measurement of amplified products via ABI PRISM 7700.
Nazarenko et al. does not teach a specific embodiment having all the claimed elements. That being said, however, it must be remembered that "[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. AG. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). "[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious," the relevant question is "whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions." (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that "[a] person of ordinary skill is... a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." Id. At 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been prima facie obvious to have selected various combinations of various disclosed elements — including reaction mixtures, detection devices, primer configurations, molecular moieties, and amplification — for a system, to arrive at compositions "yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement."
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, and 27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 7, 9-10, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,907,200 (hereafter patent ‘200). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are obvious over claims of the ‘200 patent.
Instant claim 1 and patent ‘200 claims 1 and 5 are both drawn to a reaction mixture comprising target nucleic acid molecules, forward and reverse primer oligonucleotides, and a polymerase with 3’-5’ exonuclease activity; primers with molecular moieties; a device suitable to amplify the target nucleic acid molecules. Although instant claim 1 is directed to a system, patent ‘200 claims 1 and 5 methods teach the instantly claimed system through the active method steps.
Instant claim 2 and patent ‘200 claims 1 and 5 all recite shared molecular moiety identities.
Instant claim 3 and patent ‘200 claim 16 both recite molecular moieties with one to ten nucleotides.
Instant claim 5 and patent ‘200 claims 1 and 5 both recite first and second molecular moieties that are non-complementary to each other (instant claim 6).
Instant claim 7 and patent ‘200 claim 9 both recite molecular moieties with an unnatural base.
Instant claim 9 and patent ‘200 claim 7 both recite RT-PCR.
Instant claim 27 and patent ‘200 claim 10 both recite single nucleotide polymorphism detection.
Patent ‘200 claims are reproduced below:
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12, and 27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,827,925 (hereafter patent ‘925). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are obvious over claims of the ‘925 patent.
Instant claim 1 and patent ‘925 claim 1 are both drawn to a system comprising a reaction mixture comprising target nucleic acid molecules, forward and reverse primer oligonucleotides, and a polymerase with 3’-5’ exonuclease activity; primers with molecular moieties; a device suitable to amplify the target nucleic acid molecules. Instant claim 1 and patent ‘925 claim 5 are both directed to multiplex PCR.
Instant claim 2 and patent ‘925 claim 1 both recite shared molecular moiety identities.
Instant claim 5 and patent ‘925 claim 1 both recite first and second molecular moieties that are non-complementary to each other (instant claim 6).
Instant claim 8 and patent ‘925 claim 2 both recite shared amplification methods.
Instant claim 9 and patent ‘925 claim 3 both recite RT-PCR.
Instant claim 12 and patent ‘925 claim 5 both recite shared optical detection methods.
Instant claim 27 and patent ‘925 claim 4 both recite single nucleotide polymorphism detection.
Patent ‘925 claims are reproduced below:
Conclusion
/SARAH JANE KENNEDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1682
/WU CHENG W SHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1682