DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received 03/24/2026 for 18487450. Claims 1-13 are presented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered but are not persuasive in view of the new and/or updated citations used in the current rejection of record under Hu in view of Ryu in response to the newly amended limitations, including at least displaying an enlarged display area at a camera hole position as disclosed in Ryu [Figs. 9E, 9H, para 0223-0225, 0242-0245].
Claim 11 recites similar limitations to those recited in claim 1 and is rejected upon a similar basis as claim 1 as stated above.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-13 are rejected at least based on their dependence from independent claims 1 and 11.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “system … adapted to execute []” and “monitoring element … to generate []” in claim 11.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure ("system 120 is a computer system, including software and hardware… [t]he hardware part includes a central processing unit and a memory" [0018], "the monitoring element 140 is a sensing element disposed on a main board" [0020]) described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 20190235575 A1) in view of Ryu et al. (US 20180017996 A1).
As to claim 1, Hu discloses a display control method, adapted to an electronic device, wherein the electronic device has a system, a monitoring element, and a display screen [Fig. 1, para 0020, 0029-0030, 0036, electronic device (read: system) includes processor executing auxiliary system (read: monitor element) providing operating system functions, and display screen], the system has a program list and is adapted to execute an application program [para 0028-0030, 0034, device stores list of names of applications executed by processor], the monitoring element monitors a status of the system to generate system information [Figs. 1, 4, para 0030-0031, 0036, 0038-0039, processor executes system module (read: monitoring element) storing settings (read: status) of auxiliary operating system functions], the display screen has a display region with a first side and a second side opposite to the first side [Figs. 2-3, para 0022-0024, display screen includes display screen area (read: display region) including a first side and opposite side as shown in Figures 2 and 3], and an opening is provided at a position adjacent to the first side [Figs. 2-3, para 0021-0024, display screen includes non-touch display area as shown adjacent to display screen side as shown in Figures 2 and 3], and the display control method comprises:
starting the application program [para 0040, execute application];
determining whether the application program is within the program list [para 0038, 0045-0046, determine whether current application is one of applications set as requiring auxiliary functions];
when the application program is within the program list, presenting an image generated by the application program corresponding to the second side [Fig. 6, para 0040-0041, 0043, 0045-0047, 0058, display application interface (read: generated image) in display screen after determining application is one requiring auxiliary functions, where application interface shares edge with (read: close) opposite side of display screen as shown in Figure 6], and generating an auxiliary display region at a position on the display screen corresponding to the opening [Fig. 9, para 0058, 0060-0062, 0064, generate second application interface (read: auxiliary display region) in display screen sharing edge (read: at position) with non-touch display area]; and
presenting all or a part of the system information in the auxiliary display region [Fig. 9, para 0036, 0060-0062, 0064, display list of auxiliary functions including operating system functions in second application interface].
However, Hu does not specifically disclose wherein the auxiliary display area is located at a position on the display screen not occupied by the image, and wherein the opening is totally surrounded by the auxiliary display area.
Ryu discloses
wherein the auxiliary display area is located at a position on the display screen not occupied by the image [Figs. 9E, 9H, para 0223-0225, 0242-0245, display alarm on enlarged display area (read: auxiliary display area) outside of application screen (read: image) displayed on main area of apparatus full screen], and
wherein the opening is totally surrounded by the auxiliary display area [para 0225, 0245, display enlarged area at hole position].
Hu and Ryu are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of user interface systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the defined auxiliary display region as disclosed by Hu with an auxiliary display located on a display screen not occupied by an image and surrounding an opening as disclosed by Ryu with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Hu as described above to provide natural screen usability [Ryu, para 0011].
As to claim 2, Hu discloses the display control method according to claim 1, wherein the system information comprises one of [Fig. 9, para 0036, display list of operating system functions including network acceleration, note strikethrough indicates non-selected alternatives],
As to claim 3, Hu discloses the display control method according to claim 1, wherein the auxiliary display region is [a shape] [Fig. 9, para 0023, 0060, 0061, display second application interface including trapezoidal area].
However, Hu does not specifically disclose wherein "[a shape]" is "rectangular".
Ryu discloses wherein the auxiliary display region is rectangular [Fig. 9H, para 0245-0246, enlarged display area includes two long and parallel sides and two short and parallel sides].
Hu and Ryu are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of user interface systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a shape of an auxiliary display region as disclosed by Hu with a rectangular shape as disclosed by Ryu with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Hu as described above to provide natural screen usability [Ryu, para 0011].
As to claim 4, Hu discloses the display control method according to claim 3, wherein the auxiliary display region corresponds to a side shorter than another side of the display screen [Fig. 9, para 0049-0050, 0060-0061, display second application interface sharing edge of non-touch display area].
As to claim 5, Hu discloses the display control method according to claim 1, wherein the opening is located at a [location] of the display range [Figs. 2-3, para 0021-0024, non-touch display area adjacent to display screen side as shown in Figures 2 and 3].
However, Hu does not specifically disclose wherein "a [location] of the display range" is "a corner of the display range".
Ryu discloses wherein the opening is located at a corner of the display range [Fig. 9H, para 0223-0225, 0245, apparatus screen includes camera hole arranged at end of display screen edge (read: corner)].
Hu and Ryu are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of user interface systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an opening adjacent to a display range as disclosed by Hu with an opening located at a corner of a display range as disclosed by Ryu with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Hu as described above to provide natural screen usability [Ryu, para 0011].
As to claim 6, Hu discloses the display control method according to claim 1, further comprising: defining [] the auxiliary display region according to the image [Fig. 9, para 0058, 0060-0061, generate second application interface including auxiliary functions set for first application interface].
However, Hu does not specifically disclose a background color of the auxiliary display region.
Ryu discloses defining a background color of the auxiliary display region according to the image [Figs. 9B-9C, para 0173-0176, determine background color of enlarged display area through analysis of main area].
Hu and Ryu are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of user interface systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the defined auxiliary display region as disclosed by Hu with defining a background color of an auxiliary display region as disclosed by Ryu with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Hu as described above to provide natural screen usability [Ryu, para 0011].
As to claim 8, Hu discloses the display control method according to claim 1, wherein the application program is a game program [para 0039-0040, game application].
As to claim 9, Hu discloses the display control method according to claim 1, wherein the electronic device has a memory, and the memory stores display setting data corresponding to the application program [Figs. 1, 4, para 0028, 0033-0034, device includes memory storing setting module (read: display setting data) to set application].
As to claim 10, Hu discloses the display control method according to claim 9, wherein the step of presenting all or a part of the system information in the auxiliary display region is: presenting all or a part of the system information in the auxiliary display region according to the display setting data [Fig. 9, para 0031, 0033-0036, 0038-0039, display list of auxiliary functions included in settings module].
As to claim 11, Hu and Ryu, combined at least for the reasons above, Hu discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a system, having a program list and adapted to execute an application program [Fig. 1, para 0028-0030, 0034, electronic device stores list of names of applications executed by processor];
a monitoring element, monitoring a status of the system to generate system information and transmit the system information back to the system [Figs. 1, 4, para 0030-0031, 0036, 0038-0039, processor (read: monitoring element) executes system module storing auxiliary function settings set by user of operating system functions and communicates auxiliary function settings to other device components];
a display screen, having a display range with a first side and a second side opposite to the first side, and an opening being provided at a position adjacent to the first side [Figs. 2-3, para 0021-0024, display screen includes display screen area (read: range) including a first side and opposite side with non-touch display area adjacent to display screen side as shown in Figures 2 and 3]; and
a display control unit, electrically connected to the system and the display screen [Fig. 1, para 0018, 0020-0022, electronic device including processor coupled to display screen], and configured to: perform limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
As to claim 12, Hu discloses the display control method according to claim 1, wherein … the widths of the image and the auxiliary display region corresponds to the width of the display region [Fig. 9, para 0060, 0064-0065, display application interface and second application interface with edges as displayed in display screen with edge as shown in Figure 9].
However, Hu does not specifically disclose wherein an addition of the widths of the image and the auxiliary display region corresponds to the width of the display region.
Ryu discloses an addition of the widths of the image and the auxiliary display region corresponds to the width of the display region [Figs. 9E, 9H, para 0223-0225, 0242-0245, total of enlarged display area including width and main area including width equal to apparatus full screen including width].
Hu and Ryu are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of user interface systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify widths of the image, auxiliary display region, and display region as disclosed by Hu with an addition of element widths corresponding to a width of another element as disclosed by Ryu with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Hu as described above to provide natural screen usability [Ryu, para 0011].
As to claim 13, Hu and Ryu, combined at least for the reasons above, disclose the electronic device according to claim 11 comprising limitations substantially similar to those recited in claim 12 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu and Ryu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US 20150205451 A1).
As to claim 7, Hu discloses the display control method according to claim 6.
However, Hu and Ryu do not specifically disclose wherein the step of defining the background color of the auxiliary display region according to the image comprises: detecting an average color value of a range of the image adjacent to the auxiliary display region, and using a color corresponding to the average color value as the background color.
Lee discloses wherein the step of defining the background color of the auxiliary display region according to the image [Fig. 2, para 0158, 0161, set background color of semi-transmissive area (read: auxiliary display region) calculated from image data] comprises:
detecting an average color value of a range of the image adjacent to the auxiliary display region [Fig. 2, para 0158, 0161, 0168-0169, compute average color from colors (read: range) of image data overlapped by semi-transmissive area], and
using a color corresponding to the average color value as the background color [Fig. 2, para 0158, 0161, set background color of semi-transmissive area as contrasting with average color obtained from image data].
Hu, Ryu, and Lee are analogous art to the claimed invention being from a similar field of endeavor of user interface systems. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the auxiliary display region as disclosed by Hu and Ryu with using a color corresponding to a detected average color value as a background color of the auxiliary display region as disclosed by Lee with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Hu and Ryu as described above to see data more easily and conveniently [Lee, para 0169].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Daioku et al. (US 20190107943 A1) and Ning et al. (US 20200310627 A1) generally disclose displaying system information at a side of a display screen including an opening for an installed camera.
Dixon et al. (US 11599599 B1) generally discloses utilizing an average pixel value in a transparency effect for user interface elements.
Wu et al. (US 20220269405 A1) generally disclose displaying menu information in relation to hole punch or notch areas of a display screen.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINDA HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172