DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments, filed on 1/2/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 in the remarks, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Oerton et al., (US 2013/0028245), (hereinafter, Oerton) in view of Lloyd (US 11,356,909), (hereinafter, Lloyd) and further in view of Carreira (US 2019/0230525), (hereinafter, Carreira).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Oerton discloses a system/ non-transient computer-readable storage medium configured for adjusting attachment of a wireless gateway device, the system comprising: one or more hardware processors configured by machine-readable instructions to:
collect location coordinates for radio frequency telemetry data from a wireless gateway device (= AP 114 may send a request for its location data, see [0073-74]);
adjust a capability of the wireless gateway device to attach to a wireless network (= once radio frequency transmission requirements are identified for the determined location, AP 114 can format its transmission to conform to at least some of such requirements…once the transmission parameters are set, AP 114 functions as a typical AP, with its known location data, see [0085]).
Oerton explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“determine from the location coordinates the wireless gateway device is outside geofencing coordinates for a fixed location associated with the wireless gateway device; and
based on determining from the location coordinates the wireless gateway device is outside the geofencing coordinates for the fixed location” and
“wherein the location coordinates comprise at least a location most used by the wireless gateway device and a last location associated with the wireless gateway device;
determine a category for the wireless gateway device based on the location most used and the last location associated with the wireless gateway device”.
However, Lloyd, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“determine from the location coordinates the wireless gateway device is outside geofencing coordinates for a fixed location associated with the wireless gateway device; and
based on determining from the location coordinates the wireless gateway device is outside the geofencing coordinates for the fixed location”(= gateway device 110 may implement a scan based on the location of the gateway device 110 being outside or within a geofence or based on the location of the gateway device 110 corresponding to a particular geolocation, see col. 40, line 64- col. 41, line 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Lloyd with Oerton for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes gateway device that could identify one or more preferred networks.
The combination of Oerton and Lloyd explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“wherein the location coordinates comprise at least a location most used by the wireless gateway device and a last location associated with the wireless gateway device”; and
“determine a category for the wireless gateway device based on the location most used and the last location associated with the wireless gateway device”.
However, Carreira, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose the claimed limitation of:
“wherein the location coordinates comprise at least a location most used by the wireless gateway device and a last location associated with the wireless gateway device”; and “determine a category for the wireless gateway device based on the location most used and the last location associated with the wireless gateway device”
(= OBU/Mobile AP may also provide geo-location capabilities, see [0035, 0041, 0070 and 0195]; network may comprises Mobile AP and fixed AP, see [0192]; whereby the mobile and fixed characteristic of AP is being associated with the “category”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Carreira with Oerton and Lloyd for the benefit of achieving a communication system that include fixed and mobile access points that provides connectivity for the system.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, as mentioned in claims 1 and 15, Oerton further disclose the system/ non-transient computer-readable storage medium wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to determine a change in occupant for the fixed location (= if loss of connection to a particular device 110 is detected, see, [0089]).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, as mentioned in claims 2 and 16, Oerton further disclose the system/ non-transient computer-readable storage medium wherein adjusting the capability of the wireless gateway device to attach to the wireless network comprises preventing the wireless gateway device from attaching to the wireless network (= loss of connection, see [0089]).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, as mentioned in claims 2 and 16, Oerton further disclose the system/ non-transient computer-readable storage medium wherein adjusting the capability of the wireless gateway device to attach to the wireless network comprises changing the fixed location to a new fixed location for the wireless gateway device (see, [0089]).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, as mentioned in claims 2 and 19, Oerton explicitly fails to disclose the system/ non-transient computer-readable storage medium wherein adjusting the capability of the wireless gateway device to attach to the wireless network comprises changing a wireless network subscription for the wireless gateway device.
However, Lloyd, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the system/ non-transient computer-readable storage medium wherein adjusting the capability of the wireless gateway device to attach to the wireless network comprises changing a wireless network subscription for the wireless gateway device (see col. 37, lines 16-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Lloyd with Oerton and Carreira for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes gateway device that could identify one or more preferred networks.
Regarding claims 6 and 20, as mentioned in claims 1 and 15, Oerton further disclose the system/ non-transient computer-readable storage medium wherein the fixed location is a known subscriber physical address of the wireless gateway device (see, [0073]).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned in claim 6, Oerton further disclose the system wherein the fixed location for the wireless gateway device is maintained in a wireless gateway device profile (see, [0072]).
Regarding claim 8, Oerton discloses method for adjusting attachment of a wireless gateway device, the method comprising:
collecting location coordinates for radio frequency telemetry data from a wireless gateway device (= AP 114 may send a request for its location data, see [0073-74]);
adjusting a capability of the wireless gateway device to attach to a wireless network (= once radio frequency transmission requirements are identified for the determined location, AP 114 can format its transmission to conform to at least some of such requirements…once the transmission parameters are set, AP 114 functions as a typical AP, with its known location data, see [0085]).
Oerton explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“determining from the location coordinates the wireless gateway device satisfies a distance threshold for a fixed location associated with the wireless gateway device; and based on determining from the location coordinates the wireless gateway device satisfies a distance threshold from the fixed location”
“device, wherein the location coordinates comprise at least a location most used by the wireless gateway device and a last location associated with the wireless gateway device”; and
“determining a category for the wireless gateway device based on the location most used and the last location associated with the wireless gateway device”.
However, Lloyd, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“determining from the location coordinates the wireless gateway device satisfies a distance threshold for a fixed location associated with the wireless gateway device; and based on determining from the location coordinates the wireless gateway device satisfies a distance threshold from the fixed location ”(= gateway device 110 may implement a scan based on the location of the gateway device 110 being outside or within a geofence or based on the location of the gateway device 110 corresponding to a particular geolocation, see col. 40, line 64- col. 41, line 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Lloyd with Oerton for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes gateway device that could identify one or more preferred networks.
The combination of Oerton and Lloyd explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“device, wherein the location coordinates comprise at least a location most used by the wireless gateway device and a last location associated with the wireless gateway device”; and
“determining a category for the wireless gateway device based on the location most used and the last location associated with the wireless gateway device”.
However, Carreira, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose the claimed limitation of:
““device, wherein the location coordinates comprise at least a location most used by the wireless gateway device and a last location associated with the wireless gateway device”; and “determining a category for the wireless gateway device based on the location most used and the last location associated with the wireless gateway device”
(= OBU/Mobile AP may also provide geo-location capabilities, see [0035, 0041, 0070 and 0195]; network may comprises Mobile AP and fixed AP, see [0192]; whereby the mobile and fixed characteristic of AP is being associated with the “category”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Carreira with Oerton and Lloyd for the benefit of achieving a communication system that include fixed and mobile access points that provides connectivity for the system.
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned in claim 8, Oerton further disclose that the method further comprising determining a change in occupant for the fixed location(= if loss of connection to a particular device 110 is detected, see, [0089]).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned in claim 9, Oerton further disclose the method wherein adjusting the capability of the wireless gateway device to attach to the wireless network comprises preventing the wireless gateway device from attaching to the wireless network (= loss of connection, see [0089]).
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned in claim 9, Oerton further disclose the method wherein adjusting the capability of the wireless gateway device to attach to the wireless network comprises changing the fixed location to a new fixed location for the wireless gateway device (= loss of connection, see [0089]).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned in claim 9, Oerton explicitly fails to disclose the method wherein adjusting the capability of the wireless gateway device to attach to the wireless network comprises changing a wireless network subscription for the wireless gateway device.
However, Lloyd, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method wherein adjusting the capability of the wireless gateway device to attach to the wireless network comprises changing a wireless network subscription for the wireless gateway device (see col. 37, lines 16-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Lloyd with Oerton and Carreira for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes gateway device that could identify one or more preferred networks.
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned in claim 8, Oerton further disclose the method wherein the fixed location is a known subscriber physical address of the wireless gateway device (see, [0073]).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned in claim 13, Oerton further disclose the method wherein the fixed location for the wireless gateway device is maintained in a wireless gateway device profile (see, [0072]).
CONCLUSION
3. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
571-272-8566.The examiner can normally be reached on M-Sat (6am – 10pm).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8566.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.