DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendment filed 12/16/2025 in which Claims 1-11, 15-23 are pending of which Claims 22-23 are new and Claims 12-13 are canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, with respect to Claim 19, that Zhang and Jiang do not expressly disclose “the metal loop is configured to slide relative to the dielectric bumper between an open position and a closed position; and…the metal loop being interposed between the antenna resonating element and the metal tube while the cap is in the closed position, the metal loop is electrically coupled to the metal tube while the cap is in the closed position, and the metal loop is electrically decoupled from the metal tube while the cap is in the open position. Examiner disagrees and points to Jiang’s teaching that metal tube 220 may be mounted within housing 232. In region 20A, metal tube 220 (or most of metal tube 220) may be absent and antenna 40 may be mounted under housing 232. Housing 232 may be a plastic tube that is radio-transparent. By removing metal tube 220 from region 20A (e.g., by forming an opening in tube 220), portion 222 [metal loop] of housing 232 may form an antenna window for antenna 40. Metal tube 220 may be absent from region 20B or portions 220′ of metal tube 220 may be located in region 20B [the metal loop electrically coupled to the metal tube while the cap is in the closed position and electrically decoupled from the metal tube while the cap is in the open position] (see ¶ 0089); antenna 40 of FIG. 25 may be formed from metal traces on a dielectric support structure such as support structure 234. Support structure 234 may be a plastic tube or other dielectric support structure (e.g., an inner tube in a multi-tube arrangement) (see ¶ 0090). Zhang teaches metal layer 190 may be interposed between metal tube 158 and antenna carrier 178. In particular, metal layer 190 may electrically connect the antenna ground portions of conductive traces 180 on antenna carrier 178 to metal tube 158. Metal tube 158 may span the length of shaft portion 16 in stylus 10, as an example (see ¶ 0075); Antenna carrier 178 and conducive traces 180 may protrude from the end of metal tube 158 and from metal plate 190. As such, a portion of antenna carrier 178 (e.g., portion 178-1 in FIG. 11) may extend from metal plate 190 and a portion of antenna carrier 178 (e.g., portion 178-2 in FIG. 11) may be aligned with opening 200 [metal loop interposed between antenna resonating element and metal tube while cap is closed] (see ¶ 0076).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0010697 to Jiang et al (“Jiang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0373679 to Shin et al (“Shin”).
As to Claim 1, Jiang teaches a computer stylus comprising: a shaft (shaft portion 16 of stylus 10 may couple tip 14 of stylus 10 to opposing end 22 of stylus 10, see ¶ 0046); a cap coupled to the shaft by a metal hook (End 22 may have a removable cap, see ¶ 0048); and an antenna resonating element in the shaft (Stylus 10 may include a metal tube or other conductive components in shaft portion 16. The metal tube or other structures in stylus 10 may serve as an antenna ground for an antenna. An antenna resonating element for the antenna may be formed from metal traces on a printed circuit or other dielectric support structure and/or from other conductive structures…If desired, antennas for stylus 10 may be located elsewhere along body 16 [shaft], in tip region 14, or in other suitable portions of device 10, see ¶ 0050); a connector port (Stylus 10 may have a connector such as connector 214. Connector 214 may have contacts (pins) 216 that mate with a corresponding connector (e.g., a connector on a companion electronic device). Connector 214 may be used to recharge a battery in stylus 10, to convey settings and other information to stylus 10 from external equipment, and/or to convey data or power from stylus 10 to external equipment, see ¶ 0086).
wherein the cap is movable relative to the shaft between an open position and a closed position (stylus 10 may have outer housing 232 to which cap 218 may be attached (e.g., by friction) or detached (e.g., by pulling cap 218 away to expose connector 214), see ¶ 0087),
the metal hook is coupled to a ground of the antenna resonating element while the cap is in the closed position (Main resonating element arm 108 [metal hook] may be coupled to ground 104 by return path 110. Antenna feed 112 may include positive antenna feed terminal 98 and ground antenna feed terminal 100 and may run parallel to return path 110 between arm 108 and ground 104, see ¶ 0062; The antenna traces formed on support 234 may include antenna resonating element arm 108, metal structures for feed 112, a metal trace forming return path 110, and metal traces that couple antenna 40 to ground 104…Metal tube 220 may be used in forming antenna ground 104 and may be shorted to a ground trace in the antenna traces on support 234, see ¶ 0090. Figure 26 illustrates when the metal hook is coupled to ground antenna terminal 100 when the cap is in a closed position, e.g. support structure 234 is attached to metal tube 220), and
the metal hook is decoupled from the ground while the cap is in the open position (Main resonating element arm 108 [metal hook] may be coupled to ground 104 by return path 110. Antenna feed 112 may include positive antenna feed terminal 98 and ground antenna feed terminal 100 and may run parallel to return path 110 between arm 108 and ground 104, see ¶ 0062; The antenna traces formed on support 234 may include antenna resonating element arm 108, metal structures for feed 112, a metal trace forming return path 110, and metal traces that couple antenna 40 to ground 104…Metal tube 220 may be used in forming antenna ground 104 and may be shorted to a ground trace in the antenna traces on support 234, see ¶ 0090. Figure 29 illustrates resonating element arm 108 decoupled from ground 100 while the cap is in open position).
Jiang does not explicitly disclose an antenna resonating element overlapping the metal hook; the antenna resonating element overlaps the metal hook when the cap is in the closed position.
Shin teaches an antenna resonating element overlapping the metal hook; the antenna resonating element overlaps the metal hook when the cap is in the closed position (the circuit board part 430 may include: a printed circuit board 432; and a base 431 surrounding at least one surface of the printed circuit board 432, see ¶ 0070; the antenna may be an antenna embedded in the printed circuit board 432, see ¶ 0072; The support member 600 may have a top surface 600a and a bottom surface 600b facing a direction opposite to that faced by the top surface 600a, and may be assembled to the base 431 in the state in which the bottom surface 600b is aligned so as to come into contact with the antenna structure 500, see ¶ 0090; at least one fastening structure (e.g., hooks 601 and 603) may be formed on the support member 600, and at least one of the fastening structures 601 and 603 of the support member 600 may be fastened to the fastening part (e.g., reference numeral 431d or 4313e in FIG. 5A) formed at the base 431 so that a stable fixing structure is achieved. Thereby, it is possible to maintain contact force between an antenna structure (e.g., reference numeral 500 in FIG. 4C), see ¶ 0107; Figure 6 illustrates hook 603 overlapping the printed circuit board 432 on which the antenna structure 500 is embedded; Figure 5G illustrates antenna 500 overlapping fastening structures 601 and 603 of the support member 600 when the ejection member 410 is closed).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jiang with Shin to teach an antenna resonating element overlapping the metal hook; the antenna resonating element overlaps the metal hook when the cap is in the closed position. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for a first structure configured to make contact with at least a portion of the inner surface of the pen body and to change in length in the direction of the axis in response to pressure applied to the cap (see ¶ 0008).
As to Claim 22, Jiang and Shin depending on Claim 1, Jiang teaches wherein the antenna resonating element does not overlap the metal hook when the cap is in the open position (Opening 200 in metal tube 158 may serve as a window that exposes the antenna ground portion of conductive traces 180 (e.g., along antenna carrier portion 178-2). In other words, metal tube 158 may be non-overlapping with respective to any part of the antenna ground portion of conductive traces 180, see ¶ 0076. Figure 29 illustrates resonating element arm 108 decoupled from and does not overlap ground 100 while the cap is in open position).
As to Claim 23, Jiang and Shin depending on Claim 1, Jiang teaches wherein the cap comprises: a conductive wall coupled to the metal hook, wherein the metal hook is coupled to the ground through the conductive wall while the cap is in the closed position (Main resonating element arm 108 [metal hook] may be coupled to ground 104 by return path 110. Antenna feed 112 may include positive antenna feed terminal 98 and ground antenna feed terminal 100 and may run parallel to return path 110 between arm 108 and ground 104, see ¶ 0062; Return path 110 may be formed from a planar metal wall [conductive wall] extends between planar arm 108 and ground 104 in parallel with feed 112, see ¶ 0063. Figure 26 illustrates when the cap is in a closed position, e.g. support structure 234 is attached to metal tube 220), the metal hook comprises a loop of conductive material, and coupling the metal hook to the ground is configured to prevent the loop of conductive material from forming a parasitic antenna resonating element while the cap is in the closed position (The antenna traces formed on support 234 may include antenna resonating element arm 108, metal structures for feed 112, a metal trace forming return path 110, and metal traces that couple antenna 40 to ground 104…Metal tube 220 may be used in forming antenna ground 104 and may be shorted to a ground trace in the antenna traces on support 234, see ¶ 0090; the metal trace for antenna resonating element arm (ring) 108 extends entirely around support 234, see ¶ 0091. Figure 26 illustrates when the cap is in a closed position, e.g. support structure 234 is attached to metal tube 220).
Claim(s) 2, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0010697 to Jiang et al (“Jiang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0373679 to Shin in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0405776 to Justin et al (“Justin”).
As to Claim 2, Jiang and Shin depending on Claim 1, Shin teaches wherein the cap is configured to slide, relative to the shaft, between the open position and the closed position (A flexible cap couples to the end cap with an attachment member that slidingly engages to provide in and out movement of the flexible cap, see ¶ 0008),
Jiang and Shin do not expressly disclose the connector port is covered by the cap while the cap is in the closed position, and connector contacts of the connector port is exposed while the cap is in the open position.
Justin teaches the connector port is covered by the cap while the cap is in the closed position, and connector contacts of the connector port is exposed while the cap is in the open position (a flexible cap removably couples over the opening to cover the port [connector port] and accept pushes in the covered position that translate to the push button, see ¶ 0007; An end cap 36 couples to cylindrical housing 34 at the opening and holds a flexible cap 38 that exposes and covers the opening of cylindrical housing 34 [metal sleeve] as needed to support charging by charging plug 42, such as through a USB cable interfaced with charging plug 42. In the example embodiment, flexible cap 38 rotates about an attachment member that slidingly engages in end cap 36 to expose the port for charging, see ¶ 0021. Examiner construes that the flexible cap exposes the opening for the charging plug port and slides away from the cylindrical housing).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jiang and Shin with Justin to teach the connector port is covered by the cap while the cap is in the closed position, and connector contacts of the connector port is exposed while the cap is in the open position. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to removably couple an opening to cover the port and accept pushes in the covered position that translate to a push button (see ¶ 0007).
As to Claim 4, Jiang, Shin and Justin depending on Claim 2, Shin teaches wherein the cap comprises: a conductive wall coupled to the metal hook, the metal hook extending from the conductive wall and into the shaft (at least one fastening structure (e.g., hooks 601 and 603) may be formed on the support member 600, and at least one of the fastening structures 601 and 603 of the support member 600 may be fastened to the fastening part (e.g., reference numeral 431d or 4313e in FIG. 5A) formed at the base 431 [conductive wall] so that a stable fixing structure is achieved, see ¶ 0107. Figure 5G illustrates hooks 601, 603 extending from the shaft to the printed circuit board 431).
Claim(s) 3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0010697 to Jiang et al (“Jiang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0373679 to Shin in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0405776 to Justin et al (“Justin”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0217687 to Yoo et al (“Yoo”).
As to Claim 3, Jiang, Shin and Justin depending on Claim 2, Shin teaches wherein the antenna resonating element is non-overlapping with respect to the metal hook when the cap is in the open position (Figure 5D illustrates the components B1 and B2 mounted on printed circuit board 432 not overlapping the hooks 601, 603 when the ejection member is in an open position opposed to the closed ejection member configuration in Figure 5G, see ¶ 0076) and
Jiang, Shin and Justin do not expressly disclose wherein the metal hook is configured to prevent the cap from falling off the computer stylus while the cap is in the open position.
Yoo teaches wherein the metal hook is configured to prevent the cap from falling off the computer stylus while the cap is in the open position (a cap arranged on the other end portion of the pen body…a first structure for changing the length of the stylus pen by moving the cap along the axial line; and a second structure coming in contact with at least a part of the first structure, and restricting movement of the cap and/or the first structure, see Abstract; the hook 163 of the coupling protrusion 161 may be coupled to a coupling hole 319 of the first moving member 310 by a snap-fit connection after the coupling protrusion 161 of the mounting member 160 is inserted into the first moving member 310, and thus the mounting member 160 may be very firmly coupled to the opposite end portion of the first moving member 310…since the opposite end portion of the shaft 250 is inserted into the first moving member 310, the opposite end portion of the shaft 250 may be connected to the first moving member 310. Accordingly, the shaft 250 may be connected to the cap 150 through the first moving member 310, the mounting member 160, and the cap holder 153, see ¶ 0087. Figure 6 illustrates a cap 150 connected to the shaft 250 by way of hook 163).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jiang, Shin and Justin with Yoo to teach wherein the metal hook is configured to prevent the cap from falling off the computer stylus while the cap is in the open position. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for a first structure to make contact with at least a portion of the inner surface of the pen body and to change in length in the direction of the axis in response to pressure applied to the cap (see ¶ 0008).
As to Claim 5, Jiang, Shin and Justin depending on Claim 4, Jiang, Shin and Justin do not expressly disclose a metal sleeve; and a conductive bumper that is disposed on the conductive wall, wherein the conductive bumper contacts the metal sleeve while the cap is in the closed position and the conductive bumper does not contact the metal sleeve while the cap is in the open position. Yoo teaches a metal sleeve; and a conductive bumper that is disposed on the conductive wall, wherein the conductive bumper contacts the metal sleeve while the cap is in the closed position (The coupling part 135 may have an insertion recess 136 [metal sleeve] formed therein. One end portion of the elastic member 260 may be inserted into and supported by the insertion recess 136 of the coupling part 135, and an opposite end portion of the elastic member 260 may be supported on the fixing ring 258 of the shaft 250. The elastic member 260 may be configured to apply an elastic force to the second moving member 320 and the shaft 250 in the direction toward the outside from the second body 132 [conductive wall], see ¶ 0089; The second moving member 320 may have one or more second cam surfaces 325 that are complementary to and mate with the first cam surface 315 of the first moving member 310, and the second cam surfaces 325 [conductive bumper] may have ridge portions and valley portions, see ¶ 0090; As the cap 150 is pressed [cap in closed position], the first moving member 310 may move downward, and the first cam surface 315 of the first moving member 310 and the second cam surfaces 325 of the second moving member 320 may make contact with each other, see ¶ 0091. Figure 6 illustrates second body 132 [conductive wall] contacting the insertion recess 136 [metal sleeve]) and the conductive bumper does not contact the metal sleeve while the cap is in the open position (The coupling part 135 may have an insertion recess 136 [metal sleeve] formed therein. One end portion of the elastic member 260 may be inserted into and supported by the insertion recess 136 of the coupling part 135, and an opposite end portion of the elastic member 260 may be supported on the fixing ring 258 of the shaft 250. The elastic member 260 may be configured to apply an elastic force to the second moving member 320 and the shaft 250 in the direction toward the outside from the second body 132 [conductive wall], see ¶ 0089; The second moving member 320 may have one or more second cam surfaces 325 that are complementary to and mate with the first cam surface 315 of the first moving member 310, and the second cam surfaces 325 [conductive bumper] may have ridge portions and valley portions, see ¶ 0090; As the cap 150 is pressed [cap in closed position], the first moving member 310 may move downward, and the first cam surface 315 of the first moving member 310 and the second cam surfaces 325 of the second moving member 320 may make contact with each other, see ¶ 0091. Figure 6 illustrates second body 132 [conductive wall] contacting the insertion recess 136 [metal sleeve]. Figure 6 illustrates second body 132 [conductive wall] not contacting the insertion recess 136 [metal sleeve] when in open position).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jiang, Shin and Justin with Yoo to teach a metal sleeve; and a conductive bumper that is disposed on the conductive wall, wherein the conductive bumper contacts the metal sleeve while the cap is in the closed position and the conductive bumper does not contact the metal sleeve while the cap is in the open position. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for a first structure to make contact with at least a portion of the inner surface of the pen body and to change in length in the direction of the axis in response to pressure applied to the cap (see ¶ 0008).
Claim(s) 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0010697 to Jiang et al (“Jiang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0373679 to Shin in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0405776 to Justin et al (“Justin”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0217687 to Yoo et al (“Yoo”) and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0097102 to Zhang et al (“Zhang”).
As to Claim 6, Jiang, Shin, Justin and Yoo depending on Claim 5, Yoo teaches wherein the metal sleeve remains in a fixed position while the cap moves between the closed position and the open position (The coupling part 135 may have an insertion recess 136 [metal sleeve] formed therein. One end portion of the elastic member 260 may be inserted into and supported by the insertion recess 136 of the coupling part 135, and an opposite end portion of the elastic member 260 may be supported on the fixing ring 258 of the shaft 250. The elastic member 260 may be configured to apply an elastic force to the second moving member 320 and the shaft 250 in the direction toward the outside from the second body 132 [conductive wall], see ¶ 0089; The second moving member 320 may have one or more second cam surfaces 325 that are complementary to and mate with the first cam surface 315 of the first moving member 310, and the second cam surfaces 325 [conductive bumper] may have ridge portions and valley portions, see ¶ 0090; As the cap 150 is pressed [cap in closed position], the first moving member 310 may move downward, and the first cam surface 315 of the first moving member 310 and the second cam surfaces 325 of the second moving member 320 may make contact with each other, see ¶ 0091. Figure 6 illustrates the insertion recess 136 [metal sleeve] in a fixed position as the cap is opened or closed).
Jiang, Shin, Yoo and Justin do not expressly disclose wherein the shaft comprises: a metal tube welded to the metal sleeve and having a window aligned with the antenna resonating element.
Zhang teaches wherein the shaft comprises: a metal tube welded to the metal sleeve and having a window aligned with the antenna resonating element (The antenna ground portion of the conductive traces may be coupled to the metal tube using a metal plate…The metal tube may have an opening aligned with the antenna ground portion, see ¶ 0007; Metal layer 190 [metal sleeve] may be attached to metal tube 158 at attachment points 198, see ¶ 0073; Opening 200 [window] in metal tube 158 may serve as a window that exposes the antenna ground portion of conductive traces 180 (e.g., along antenna carrier portion 178-2). In other words, metal tube 158 may be non-overlapping with respective to any part of the antenna ground portion of conductive traces 180. As an example, opening 200 may be formed at an end of metal tube 158, see ¶ 0076).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jiang, Shin, Justin and Yoo with Zhang to teach wherein the shaft comprises: a metal tube welded to the metal sleeve and having a window aligned with the antenna resonating element. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the conductive traces that form antenna ground to be coupled to a tubular metal structure and an interposing metal layer (see ¶ 0072).
As to Claim 7, Jiang, Shin, Justin, Yoo and Zhang depending on Claim 6, Jiang teaches wherein the metal tube, the metal sleeve, and the conductive bumper, form at least part of the ground while the cap is in both the closed position and the open position (Main resonating element arm 108 [metal hook] may be coupled to ground 104 by return path 110. Antenna feed 112 may include positive antenna feed terminal 98 and ground antenna feed terminal 12900 and may run parallel to return path 110 between arm 108 and ground 104, see ¶ 0062; The antenna traces formed on support 234 may include antenna resonating element arm 108, metal structures for feed 112, a metal trace forming return path 110, and metal traces that couple antenna 40 to ground 104…Metal tube 220 may be used in forming antenna ground 104 and may be shorted to a ground trace in the antenna traces on support 234, see ¶ 0090. Figure 26 illustrates when the metal hook is coupled to ground antenna terminal 100 when the cap is in a closed position, e.g. support structure 234 is attached to metal tube 220. Figure 29 illustrates resonating element arm 108 decoupled from ground 100 while the cap is in open position).
As to Claim 8, Jiang, Shin, Justin, Yoo and Zhang depending on Claim 6, Justin teaches a connector port is mounted to the metal sleeve and wherein the connector port protrudes through an aperture in the metal sleeve (A flexible cap removably couples over the opening to cover the port [connector port] and accept pushes in the covered position that translate to the push button, see ¶ 0007; An end cap 36 couples to cylindrical housing 34 at the opening and holds a flexible cap 38 that exposes and covers the opening of cylindrical housing 34 [connector port protrudes through an aperture in the metal sleeve] as needed to support charging by charging plug 42, such as through a USB cable interfaced with charging plug 42. In the example embodiment, flexible cap 38 rotates about an attachment member that slidingly engages in end cap 36 to expose the port for charging, see ¶ 0021).
As to Claim 9, Jiang, Shin, Justin, Yoo and Zhang depending on Claim 8, Zhang teaches wherein the metal sleeve is interposed between the metal tube and the conductive wall of the cap (In particular, metal layer 190 [metal sleeve] (sometimes referred to herein as a metal plate or a flange) may have openings 192 and 194, which align with hole 184 and alignment pin 186, respectively. Metal layer 190 may have a shape that mates with surface 181 [conductive wall], see ¶ 0072; Metal layer 190 may be attached to metal tube 158 at attachment points 198. As an example, metal layer 190 may be welded to metal tube 158 at welding points along the circular outline of metal layer 190 and metal tube 158, see ¶ 0073).
As to Claim 10, Jiang, Shin, Justin, Yoo and Zhang depending on Claim 8, Yoo teaches the cap housing is separated from the dielectric tube while the cap is in the open position (The coupling part 135 may have an insertion recess 136 [metal sleeve] formed therein. One end portion of the elastic member 260 may be inserted into and supported by the insertion recess 136 of the coupling part 135, and an opposite end portion of the elastic member 260 may be supported on the fixing ring 258 of the shaft 250. The elastic member 260 may be configured to apply an elastic force to the second moving member 320 and the shaft 250 in the direction toward the outside from the second body 132 [conductive wall], see ¶ 0089; The second moving member 320 may have one or more second cam surfaces 325 that are complementary to and mate with the first cam surface 315 of the first moving member 310, and the second cam surfaces 325 [conductive bumper] may have ridge portions and valley portions, see ¶ 0090; As the cap 150 is pressed [cap in closed position], the first moving member 310 may move downward, and the first cam surface 315 of the first moving member 310 and the second cam surfaces 325 of the second moving member 320 may make contact with each other, see ¶ 0091).
Zhang teaches wherein the shaft includes a dielectric tube surrounding the metal tube (The antenna ground formed from the conductive traces may be coupled to the metal tube using an intermediate metal layer, Abstract; The shaft may include a metal tube and an outer tube that covers the metal tube, see ¶ 0004; outer layer 156 may form a plastic tube that serves as a cosmetic exterior for stylus 10, intermediate layer 158 may form a metal tube that provides stylus 10 with structural support, and inner layer 160 may form a plastic tub [dielectric tube] that serves as a support structure. In general, layer 156 may be formed from metal, plastic, carbon fiber, ceramic, or other materials, layer 158 may be formed from metal, plastic, carbon fiber, ceramic, or other materials, and layer 160 may be formed from metal, plastic, carbon fiber, ceramic, or other materials, see ¶ 0060), the cap has a dielectric cap housing that lies flush with the dielectric tube while the cap is in the closed position (Cap structure 170 may include a metal structure such as metal structure 170-2. Metal structure 170-2 may be formed along a top surface of cap structure 170. Metal structure 170-2 may be a circular metal layer formed as part of the exterior surface of stylus 10. In another suitable arrangement, a dielectric coating or other layer may be placed over metal structure 170-2, see ¶ 0078).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0010697 to Jiang et al (“Jiang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0373679 to Shin in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0097102 to Zhang et al (“Zhang”).
As to Claim 11, Jiang and Shin depending on Claim 1, Jiang teaches a printed circuit board in the shaft, the antenna resonating element comprising conductive traces on the printed circuit board (an antenna resonating element for the antenna may be formed from metal traces on a printed circuit or other dielectric support structure and/or from other conductive structures, see ¶ 0050), wherein the shaft comprises: a metal tube surrounding the printed circuit board (Antenna structures may be formed from portions of metal housings (e.g., metal tubes that form structures for the elongated body of stylus 10), see ¶ 0073; Antenna structures may be formed from patterned traces on a plastic support, from metal traces on a printed circuit that is wrapped around a plastic support, from metal foil structures that are attached to a plastic support, metal housing structures, or other suitable metal structures, see ¶ 0091), and a window in the metal tube and aligned with antenna resonating element (Metal tube 220 may be mounted within housing 232…portion 222 of housing 232 may form an antenna window for antenna 40, see ¶ 0089); ground traces on the printed circuit board and coupled to the antenna resonating element (Antenna 40 may be an inverted-F antenna and the metal traces may include a portion that forms antenna resonating arm 108 (e.g., arm 108 of FIG. 4), return path 110 (e.g., return path 110 of FIG. 4), and antenna ground 104 (e.g., ground 104 of FIG. 4). Screw 206 and/or other conductive coupling structures may be used to couple ground trace portion 104 to a metal tube in stylus 10 or other antenna ground structures, see ¶ 0082);
Jiang and Shin do not expressly disclose a first conductive screw that attaches the metal tube to the printed circuit board at a first side of the antenna resonating element and that electrically couples the metal tube to the ground traces; and a second conductive screw that attaches the metal tube to the printed circuit board at a second side of the antenna resonating element opposite the first side of the antenna resonating element; and a plastic block on the printed circuit board, wherein the antenna resonating element, the first conductive screw, and the second conductive screw are embedded within the plastic block.
Zhang teaches a first conductive screw that attaches the metal tube to the printed circuit board at a first side of the antenna resonating element and that electrically couples the metal tube to the ground traces; and a second conductive screw that attaches the metal tube to the printed circuit board at a second side of the antenna resonating element opposite the first side of the antenna resonating element (Antenna carrier 178 may have a protrusion on surface 181 (e.g. alignment pin 186) and a depression on surface 181 (e.g., hole 184). Alignment pin 186 may align antenna carrier 178 to other structures (e.g., additional grounding structures connected to antenna ground 104 form from conductive traces 180). Hole 184 may accommodate a screw used to connect the other structures to antenna carrier 178 at the end where antenna ground conductive traces are formed, see ¶ 0071; antenna ground 104 includes a portion of conductive traces 180 on an antenna carrier 178. The conductive traces 180 that form antenna ground 104 may be coupled to a tubular metal structure such as metal tube 158 [coupling the metal tube to the ground traces] and an interposing metal layer such as metal plate 190. In particular, metal layer 190 (sometimes referred to herein as a metal plate or a flange) [printed substrate] may have openings 192 and 194, which align with hole 184 and alignment pin 186, respectively. Metal layer 190 may have a shape that mates with surface 181 and may have an outline that follows a cross-sectional footprint of antenna carrier 178. An attachment structure such as a fastener (e.g., screw 196) may extend through opening 192 to hole 184. The fastener may bias metal layer 190 against surface 181 of antenna carrier 178. In this configuration, metal layer 190 may lie on top of surface 185 of antenna carrier 178, see ¶ 0072. Examiner construes that the screw 196 passes through opening 192 to hole 184 of surface 181 of the antenna carrier creating a conductive screw 196 on the first side to couple to the metal tube to the ground traces and conductive screw 196 on the second side passes through opening 192 to hole 184 of surface 185 to couple metal tube to the printed circuit); and a plastic block on the printed circuit board, wherein the antenna resonating element, the first conductive screw, and the second conductive screw are embedded within the plastic block (Metal layer 190 [printed circuit board] may have a shape that mates with surface 181 [plastic block on the printed circuit board] and may have an outline that follows a cross-sectional footprint of antenna carrier 178. An attachment structure such as a fastener (e.g., screw 196) may extend through opening 192 to hole 184. The fastener may bias metal layer 190 against surface 181 of antenna carrier 178. In this configuration, metal layer 190 may lie on top of surface 185 of antenna carrier 178 [antenna resonating element], see ¶ 0072. Examiner construes that the screw 196 passes through opening 192 to hole 184 of surface 181 of the antenna carrier creating a conductive screw 196 on the first side to couple to the metal tube to the ground traces and conductive screw 196 on the second side passes through opening 192 to hole 184 of surface 185 to couple metal tube to the printed circuit).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jiang and Shin with Zhang to teach a first conductive screw that attaches the metal tube to the printed circuit board at a first side of the antenna resonating element and that electrically couples the metal tube to the ground traces; and a second conductive screw that attaches the metal tube to the printed circuit board at a second side of the antenna resonating element opposite the first side of the antenna resonating element; and a plastic block on the printed circuit board, wherein the antenna resonating element, the first conductive screw, and the second conductive screw are embedded within the plastic block. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the conductive traces that form antenna ground to be coupled to a tubular metal structure and an interposing metal layer (see ¶ 0072).
Claim(s) 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0097102 to Zhang et al (“Zhang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0068342 to Zimmerman et al (“Zimmerman”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0010697 to Jiang et al (“Jiang”).
As to Claim 15, Zhang teaches a computer stylus comprising: a shaft having a metal tube (Stylus 10 may include a metal tube or other conductive components in shaft 16, see ¶ 0034); a printed circuit board in the shaft and including ground traces (An antenna resonating element for the antenna may be formed from metal traces on a printed circuit or other dielectric support structure and/or from other conductive structures, see ¶ 0034; The conductive traces on the substrate may form an antenna ground, see Abstract); an antenna having an antenna resonating element on the printed circuit board and aligned with a window in the metal tube (An antenna resonating element for the antenna may be formed from metal traces on a printed circuit or other dielectric support structure and/or from other conductive structures, see ¶ 0034; Opening 200 [window] in metal tube 158 may serve as a window that exposes the antenna ground portion of conductive traces 180 (e.g., along antenna carrier portion 178-2). In other words, metal tube 158 may be non-overlapping with respective to any part of the antenna ground portion of conductive traces 180. As an example, opening 200 may be formed at an end of metal tube 158, see ¶ 0076);
Zhang does not expressly disclose a first conductive screw that couples the metal tube to the ground traces at a first side of the window; and a second conductive screw that couples the metal tube to the ground traces at a second side of the window opposite the first side of the window.
Zimmerman teaches a first conductive screw that couples the metal tube to the ground traces at a first side of the window; and a second conductive screw that couples the metal tube to the ground traces board at a second side of the window opposite the first side of the window (The tray portion of the tubular shield 340, together with the control board 342, is mechanically fastened to the lateral bed 332 of the force-sensitive structure 310b. In one example, the tray portion of the tubular shield 340 is fastened to the lateral bed 332 via one or more screws or other mechanical fastening technique, see ¶ 0399; The first standoff 366 and the second standoff 368 can be fastened to the boards via one or more mechanical fasteners, such as screws… In some cases, the first standoff 366 and/or the second standoff 368 can be electrically connected to a circuit ground of either or both boards, see ¶ 0430).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang with Zimmerman to teach a first conductive screw that couples the metal tube to the ground traces at a first side of the window; and a second conductive screw that couples the metal tube to the ground traces at a second side of the window opposite the first side of the window. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to electrically connect to a circuit ground of either or both boards (see ¶ 0430).
Zhang and Zimmerman do not expressly disclose a cap configured to slide relative to the metal tube between an open position and a closed position; and a metal hook coupled to the cap and that extends from the cap into the metal tube, wherein the metal hook is electrically coupled to the ground traces through the metal tube and the first and second conductive screws while the cap is in the closed position, and the metal hook is electrically decoupled from the ground traces while the cap is in the open position.
Jiang teaches a cap configured to slide relative to the metal tube between an open position and a closed position (stylus 10 may have outer housing 232 to which cap 218 may be attached (e.g., by friction) or detached (e.g., by pulling cap 218 away to expose connector 214), see ¶ 0087); and
a metal hook coupled to the cap and that extends from the cap into the metal tube (The antenna traces formed on support 234 may include antenna resonating element arm 108, metal structures for feed 112, a metal trace forming return path 110, and metal traces that couple antenna 40 to ground 104…Metal tube 220 may be used in forming antenna ground 104 and may be shorted to a ground trace in the antenna traces on support 234, see ¶ 0090. Figure 26 illustrates when the metal hook is coupled to ground antenna terminal 100 when the cap is in a closed position, e.g. support structure 234 is attached to metal tube 220),
wherein the metal hook is electrically coupled to the ground traces through the metal tube and the first and second conductive screws while the cap is in the closed position (the metal traces may include a portion that forms antenna resonating arm 108 (e.g., arm 108 of FIG. 4), return path 110 (e.g., return path 110 of FIG. 4), and antenna ground 104 (e.g., ground 104 of FIG. 4). Screw 206 and/or other conductive coupling structures may be used to couple ground trace portion 104 to a metal tube in stylus 10 or other antenna ground structures, see ¶ 0082), and
the metal hook is electrically decoupled from the ground traces while the cap is in the open position (Main resonating element arm 108 [metal hook] may be coupled to ground 104 by return path 110. Antenna feed 112 may include positive antenna feed terminal 98 and ground antenna feed terminal 12900 and may run parallel to return path 110 between arm 108 and ground 104, see ¶ 0062; The antenna traces formed on support 234 may include antenna resonating element arm 108, metal structures for feed 112, a metal trace forming return path 110, and metal traces that couple antenna 40 to ground 104…Metal tube 220 may be used in forming antenna ground 104 and may be shorted to a ground trace in the antenna traces on support 234, see ¶ 0090. Figure 29 illustrates resonating element arm 108 decoupled from ground 100 while the cap is in open position).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang and Zimmerman with Jiang to teach a cap configured to slide relative to the metal tube between an open position and a closed position; and a metal hook coupled to the cap and that extends from the cap into the metal tube, wherein the metal hook is electrically coupled to the ground traces through the metal tube and the first and second conductive screws while the cap is in the closed position, and the metal hook is electrically decoupled from the ground traces while the cap is in the open position. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to attach metal tube to support and form an electrical connection between tube and ground trace (see ¶ 0094).
As to Claim 16, Zhang, Zimmerman and Jiang depending on Claim 15, Jiang teaches a ground trace on the printed circuit board, wherein the first conductive screw electrically couples the metal tube to the ground trace, the antenna comprises an antenna ground that includes the ground trace, the first conductive screw, and the metal tube (Screw 206 and/or other conductive coupling structures may be used to couple ground trace portion 104 to a metal tube in stylus 10 or other antenna ground structures, see ¶ 0082), and the antenna resonating element comprises an inverted-F antenna arm that follows a spiral path on the printed circuit board (Antenna structures may be formed on flexible printed circuits or may be formed from metal traces on plastic support structures, see ¶ 0005; antennas for stylus 10 may include antennas with resonating elements that are formed from loop antenna structures, patch antenna structures, inverted-F antenna structures, slot antenna structures, planar inverted-F antenna structures, helical antenna structures, ring antennas, monopole antennas, hybrids of these designs, etc, see ¶ 0055).
As to Claim 17, Zhang, Zimmerman and Jiang depending on Claim 15, Jiang teaches a plastic block on the printed circuit board and overlapping the antenna resonating element, wherein the first conductive screw and the second conductive screw extend through the plastic block (Antenna structures may be formed on flexible printed circuits or may be formed from metal traces on plastic support structures. If desired, metal structures for an antenna may be supported using a molded plastic support that forms a three-dimensional antenna, see ¶ 0005; antenna 40 may have metal traces formed on a three-dimensional support structure such as molded plastic support 200…Screw 206 and/or other conductive coupling structures may be used to couple ground trace portion 104 to a metal tube in stylus 10 or other antenna ground structures, see ¶ 0082; Antenna structures may be formed from patterned traces on a plastic support, from metal traces on a printed circuit that is wrapped around a plastic support, from metal foil structures that are attached to a plastic support, metal housing structures, or other suitable metal structures, see ¶ 0091; Screw 250 [second conductive screw] may be used to attach metal tube 220 to support 234 and may help form an electrical connection between tube 220 (which can serve as antenna ground) and ground trace 104′. Plastic housing tube 232 may cover antenna 40 and may serve as the outermost layer of stylus 10, see ¶ 0094).
As to Claim 18, Zhang, Zimmerman and Jiang depending on Claim 15, Zhang teaches wherein the window is interposed between the first and second conductive screws (an attachment structure such as a fastener (e.g., screw 196) may extend through opening 192 [window] to hole 184. The fastener may bias metal layer 190 against surface 181 of antenna carrier 178. In this configuration, metal layer 190 may lie on top of surface 185 of antenna carrier 178 [antenna resonating element], see ¶ 0072). Examiner construes that the screw 196 passes through opening 192 to hole 184 of surface 181 of the antenna carrier creating a conductive screw 196 on the first side to couple to the metal tube to the ground traces and conductive screw 196 on the second side passes through opening 192 to hole 184 of surface 185 to couple metal tube to the printed circuit), the computer stylus further comprising: a cap having a metal sleeve (metal portion of the cap structure may serve as an antenna signal reflector, see Abstract) and a connector port on the metal sleeve (Components such as components 8 may be formed on stylus 10 (e.g., on shaft 16 or elsewhere). Components 8 may include buttons, touch sensors, and other components for gathering input, light-emitting diodes or other components for producing output, etc. Components 8 may, for example, include input-output components such as a data port connector that receives a cable or other wire-based connectors (e.g., a connector that supplies power signals for charging a battery in stylus 10 and/or that supplies digital data), see ¶ 0033; The stylus may have an elongated body with a tip and an opposing end coupled together by a shaft. The shaft may include a metal tube and an outer tube that covers the metal tube, see ¶ 0004),
wherein the stylus has a longitudinal axis (Stylus 10 may have a cylindrical shape or other elongated body that extends along longitudinal axis 12, see ¶ 0028; When installed in stylus 10, flexible substrate 132 may wrapped around the elongated body of stylus 10 (e.g., around longitudinal axis 12 of FIG. 1), see ¶ 0055) and the connector port extends radially away from the longitudinal axis (Figure 1 illustrates components 8 (connector) extending radially away from the longitudinal axis 12).
Jiang teaches a cap coupled to the metal tube at the second side of the window (stylus 10 may have outer housing 232 to which cap 218 may be attached (e.g., by friction) or detached (e.g., by pulling cap 218 away to expose connector 214), see ¶ 0087; Metal tube 220 may be mounted within housing 232. In region 20A, metal tube 220 (or most of metal tube 220) may be absent and antenna 40 may be mounted under housing 232…By removing metal tube 220 from region 20A (e.g., by forming an opening in tube 220), portion 222 of housing 232 may form an antenna window for antenna 40. Metal tube 220 may be absent from region 20B [second side of the window] or portions 220′ of metal tube 220 may be located in region 20B, see ¶ 0089).
Claim(s) 19, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0097102 to Zhang et al (“Zhang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0010697 to Jiang et al (“Jiang”).
As to Claim 19, Zhang teaches a computer stylus comprising: a shaft having a dielectric bumper and a metal tube (Stylus 10 may include a metal tube or other conductive components in shaft 16. The metal tube or other structures in stylus 10 may serve as an antenna ground for an antenna…An antenna resonating element for the antenna may be formed from metal traces on a printed circuit or other dielectric support structure and/or from other conductive structures, see ¶ 0034; Transmission line structures such as transmission line path 64 may extend from wireless transceiver circuits 38, along metal tube 158, and to conductive traces 180 on antenna carrier 178. Transmission line path 64 may extend along and within groove 182 [dielectric bumper] in antenna carrier 178, see ¶ 0075);
a cap having a metal loop with an opening, wherein the metal loop extends into the metal tube (cap structure 170 may be integrated with antenna 40 (e.g., integrated with an antenna carrier on which antenna traces for antenna 40 are formed). In other words, portions of cap structure 170 may overlap portions of antenna 40, see ¶ 0062; antennas for stylus 10 may include antennas with resonating elements that are formed from loop antenna structures, see ¶ 0040),
an antenna resonating element in the shaft and overlapping a window in the metal tube, wherein the antenna resonating element is different from the metal loop (An antenna resonating element for the antenna may be formed from metal traces on a printed circuit or other dielectric support structure and/or from other conductive structures, see ¶ 0034; metal layer 190 may be interposed between metal tube 158 and antenna carrier 178. In particular, metal layer 190 [metal loop] may electrically connect the antenna ground portions of conductive traces 180 on antenna carrier 178 to metal tube 158. Metal tube 158 may span the length of shaft portion 16 in stylus 10, as an example, see ¶ 0075; Opening 200 [window] in metal tube 158 may serve as a window that exposes the antenna ground portion of conductive traces 180 (e.g., along antenna carrier portion 178-2). In other words, metal tube 158 may be non-overlapping with respective to any part of the antenna ground portion of conductive traces 180. As an example, opening 200 may be formed at an end of metal tube 158, see ¶ 0076), wherein the metal loop being interposed between the antenna resonating element and the metal tube while the cap is in the closed position (metal layer 190 may be interposed between metal tube 158 and antenna carrier 178. In particular, metal layer 190 may electrically connect the antenna ground portions of conductive traces 180 on antenna carrier 178 to metal tube 158. Metal tube 158 may span the length of shaft portion 16 in stylus 10, as an example, see ¶ 0075; Antenna carrier 178 and conducive traces 180 may protrude from the end of metal tube 158 and from metal plate 190. As such, a portion of antenna carrier 178 (e.g., portion 178-1 in FIG. 11) may extend from metal plate 190 and a portion of antenna carrier 178 (e.g., portion 178-2 in FIG. 11) may be aligned with opening 200 [metal loop interposed between antenna resonating element and metal tube while cap is closed], see ¶ 0076).
Zhang does not expressly disclose the dielectric bumper is disposed within the opening of the metal loop, and the metal loop is configured to slide relative to the dielectric bumper between an open position and a closed position; the metal loop is electrically coupled to the metal tube while the cap is in the closed position, and the metal loop is electrically decoupled from the metal tube while the cap is in the open position.
Jiang teaches the dielectric bumper is disposed within the opening of the metal loop (A plastic tube may serve as an outer housing for the stylus and may cover the metal tube and the opening in which the antenna is mounted. An inner plastic tube may serve as a support structure for antenna traces, see ¶ 0006; portion 222 [metal loop] of housing 232 may form an antenna window for antenna 40, see ¶ 0089; antenna 40 of FIG. 25 may be formed from metal traces on a dielectric support structure such as support structure 234. Support structure 234 [dielectric bumper] may be a plastic tube or other dielectric support structure (e.g., an inner tube in a multi-tube arrangement), see ¶ 0090), and
the metal loop is configured to slide relative to the dielectric bumper between an open position and a closed position (metal tube 220 may be mounted within housing 232. In region 20A, metal tube 220 (or most of metal tube 220) may be absent and antenna 40 may be mounted under housing 232. Housing 232 may be a plastic tube that is radio-transparent. By removing metal tube 220 from region 20A (e.g., by forming an opening in tube 220), portion 222 [metal loop] of housing 232 may form an antenna window for antenna 40. Metal tube 220 may be absent from region 20B or portions 220′ of metal tube 220 may be located in region 20B [the metal loop electrically coupled to the metal tube while the cap is in the closed position and electrically decoupled from the metal tube while the cap is in the open position], see ¶ 0089; antenna 40 of FIG. 25 may be formed from metal traces on a dielectric support structure such as support structure 234. Support structure 234 may be a plastic tube or other dielectric support structure (e.g., an inner tube in a multi-tube arrangement, see ¶ 0090).
the metal loop is electrically coupled to the metal tube while the cap is in the closed position, and the metal loop is electrically decoupled from the metal tube while the cap is in the open position (metal tube 220 may be mounted within housing 232. In region 20A, metal tube 220 (or most of metal tube 220) may be absent and antenna 40 may be mounted under housing 232. Housing 232 may be a plastic tube that is radio-transparent. By removing metal tube 220 from region 20A (e.g., by forming an opening in tube 220), portion 222 [metal loop] of housing 232 may form an antenna window for antenna 40. Metal tube 220 may be absent from region 20B or portions 220′ of metal tube 220 may be located in region 20B [the metal loop electrically coupled to the metal tube while the cap is in the closed position and electrically decoupled from the metal tube while the cap is in the open position], see ¶ 0089).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang with Jiang to teach the dielectric bumper is disposed within the opening of the metal loop, and the metal loop is configured to slide relative to the dielectric bumper between an open position and a closed position; the metal loop is electrically coupled to the metal tube while the cap is in the closed position, and the metal loop is electrically decoupled from the metal tube while the cap is in the open position.
The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for opening in metal tube to serve as a window that exposes the antenna ground portion of conductive traces (see ¶ 0076).
As to Claim 21, Zhang and Jiang depending on Claim 19, Zhang teaches wherein: the shaft has a longitudinal axis extending from a tip of the computer stylus to the cap, the cap has a first wall (The stylus may have an elongated body with a tip and an opposing end coupled together by a shaft. The shaft may include a metal tube and an outer tube that covers the metal tube, see ¶ 0004; Metal structure 170-2 may be formed along a top surface of cap structure 170. Metal structure 170-2 may be a circular metal layer formed as part of the exterior surface of stylus 10, see ¶ 0078)
the metal loop comprises a second wall that extends from the first wall and parallel to the longitudinal axis (Antenna structures may be formed from portions of metal housings (e.g., metal tubes that form structures for the elongated body of stylus 10), see ¶ 0058; Antenna carrier 178 may have a cylindrical shape, a rectangular shape, an elongated shape, an irregular shape that is a combination of two or more shapes, or may have any other desired shapes, see ¶ 0064),
a third wall that extends from the first wall and parallel to the longitudinal axis, and a fourth wall that couples an end of the second wall to an end of the third wall, the fourth wall extends orthogonal to the longitudinal axis, the first wall, the second wall, the third wall, and the fourth wall laterally surround an opening (Interior cavity 152 may be surrounded by one or more layers of material such as layers 156, 158, and 160. These layers of material may form concentric cylindrical tubes and may be formed from metal, plastic, glass, ceramic, other materials, and/or two or more of these materials. As an example, outer layer 156 may form a plastic tube that serves as a cosmetic exterior for stylus 10, intermediate layer 158 may form a metal tube that provides stylus 10 with structural support, and inner layer 160 may form a plastic tube that serves as a support structure. In general, layer 156 may be formed from metal, plastic, carbon fiber, ceramic, or other materials, layer 158 may be formed from metal, plastic, carbon fiber, ceramic, or other materials, and layer 160 may be formed from metal, plastic, carbon fiber, ceramic, or other materials. With another illustrative arrangement, inner layer 160 may be omitted, layer 156 may be formed from metal, plastic, or other materials and layer 158 may be formed from metal, plastic, or other materials. Configurations in which shaft 16 includes a single tube or includes solid portions without significant interior cavity portions may also be used. If desired, layers 156, 158, and 160 may be tubular but not completely concentric. As an example, layer 158 may have a shape that accommodates for other components in stylus 10, such as a cylindrical shape with a flattened surface extending along the longitudinal axis, a cylindrical shape having windows or cavity portions extending along the longitudinal axis [the first wall, the second wall, the third wall, and the fourth wall laterally surround an opening], etc, see ¶ 0060), and
Jiang teaches the dielectric bumper is inserted into the opening (Metal tube 220 may be mounted within housing 232. In region 20A, metal tube 220 (or most of metal tube 220) may be absent and antenna 40 may be mounted under housing 232. Housing 232 may be a plastic tube that is radio-transparent. By removing metal tube 220 from region 20A (e.g., by forming an opening in tube 220), portion 222 of housing 232 may form an antenna window for antenna 40. Metal tube 220 may be absent from region 20B or portions 220′ of metal tube 220 may be located in region 20B, see ¶ 0089).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0097102 to Zhang et al (“Zhang”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0010697 to Jiang et al (“Jiang”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0217687 to Yoo et al (“Yoo”).
As to Claim 20, Zhang and Jiang and Shin depending on Claim 19, Zhang teaches a connector port on the metal sleeve (Components such as components 8 may be formed on stylus 10 (e.g., on shaft 16 or elsewhere). Components 8 may include buttons, touch sensors, and other components for gathering input, light-emitting diodes or other components for producing output, etc. Components 8 may, for example, include input-output components such as a data port connector that receives a cable or other wire-based connectors (e.g., a connector that supplies power signals for charging a battery in stylus 10 and/or that supplies digital data), see ¶ 0033; The stylus may have an elongated body with a tip and an opposing end coupled together by a shaft. The shaft may include a metal tube and an outer tube that covers the metal tube, see ¶ 0004); and
Zhang and Jiang do not expressly disclose wherein the cap comprises: a metal sleeve coupled to the metal tube; a conductive wall coupled to the metal loop, the metal loop and the conductive wall being configured to slide relative to the metal sleeve and the dielectric bumper; a compressive conductive bumper on the conductive wall, wherein the compressive conductive bumper contacts the metal sleeve in the at least one position of the metal loop relative to the dielectric bumper.
Yoo teaches wherein the cap comprises: a metal sleeve coupled to the metal tube (the housing 14 is formed of a metal material, the cap 150 may also be formed of a metal material, see ¶ 0063); a conductive wall coupled to the metal loop, the metal loop and the conductive wall being configured to slide relative to the metal sleeve and the dielectric bumper; a compressive conductive bumper on the conductive wall, wherein the compressive conductive bumper contacts the metal sleeve in the at least one position of the metal loop relative to the dielectric bumper (The shaft 250 may be installed such that the shaft 250 is linearly moved in the second body 132 by the elastic member 260 and a cam mechanism 300. The cam mechanism 300 [metal loop] may move the shaft 250 in cooperation with the elastic member 260, see ¶ 0084; the cam mechanism 300 may include a first moving member 310 configured to linearly move in the second body 132 when an external force is applied to the cap 150 in the direction of the axis 103, a second moving member 320 configured to linearly move and rotate in conjunction with the linear motion of the first moving member 310, and a guide structure 330 provided in the second body 132 to guide the movement of the first moving member 310 and the second moving member 320, see ¶ 0085; The coupling part 135 may have an insertion recess 136 [metal sleeve] formed therein. One end portion of the elastic member 260 may be inserted into and supported by the insertion recess 136 of the coupling part 135, and an opposite end portion of the elastic member 260 may be supported on the fixing ring 258 of the shaft 250. The elastic member 260 [dielectric bumper] may be configured to apply an elastic force to the second moving member 320 and the shaft 250 in the direction toward the outside from the second body 132 [conductive wall], see ¶ 0089; The second moving member 320 may have one or more second cam surfaces 325 that are complementary to and mate with the first cam surface 315 of the first moving member 310, and the second cam surfaces 325 [conductive bumper] may have ridge portions and valley portions, see ¶ 0090; As the cap 150 is pressed, the first moving member 310 may move downward, and the first cam surface 315 of the first moving member 310 and the second cam surfaces 325 of the second moving member 320 may make contact with each other, see ¶ 0091. Figure 6 illustrates second body 132 [conductive wall] contacting the insertion recess 136 [metal sleeve]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang and Jiang with Yoo to teach wherein the cap comprises: a metal sleeve coupled to the metal tube; a conductive wall coupled to the metal loop, the metal loop and the conductive wall being configured to slide relative to the metal sleeve and the dielectric bumper; a compressive conductive bumper on the conductive wall, wherein the compressive conductive bumper contacts the metal sleeve in the at least one position of the metal loop relative to the dielectric bumper. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to change the length of the stylus pen by moving the cap along the axial line (see Abstract).
Conclusion
/EBONI N GILES/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622