Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 16 October 2023 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the IDS does not list any U.S. Patents, U.S. Patent Application Publications, Foreign Patents, or Non-Patent Literature. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the facial cleansing brush recited in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a self-cleaning mechanism” in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 9-14, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shalah-Abboud (US 2025/0214250) in view of Lee (KR 20210083109 A).
Regarding claim 1, Shalah-Abboud teaches a system (100) to apply facial makeup, the system comprising: a base compartment (150) having a base compartment proximal end and a base compartment distal end, wherein the base compartment is configured to store a makeup cartridge (160); an application station disposed at the base compartment distal end, wherein the application station is configured to apply airbrush makeup on the user face (via airbrush 120).
Shalah-Abboud does not teach a preparation station disposed at the base compartment proximal end, wherein the preparation station is configured to clean a user face.
Lee teaches a preparation station (10) that is configured to clean a user face (Abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Shalah-Abboud with a preparation station disposed at the base compartment proximal end, wherein the preparation station is configured to clean a user face, as taught by Lee, for the purpose of enabling a user to easily remove makeup (Lee, pg. 3, last two lines).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Shalah-Abboud and Lee teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the preparation station and the application station are disposed on a base compartment top portion (Shalah-Lee teaches the application station on top of base 150 and Lee teaches the preparation station on top of base 10).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Shalah-Abboud and Lee teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the preparation station comprises a compartment (Lee 11) configured to receive the user face.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Shalah-Abboud and Lee teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the preparation station further comprises a facial cleansing brush (Lee 20) configured to oscillate and remove debris from the user face.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Shalah-Abboud teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the preparation station is connected to the base compartment, and wherein the preparation station is configured to receive (via 30) water and hydration mist stored in a base compartment interior portion.
It is noted that claim 7 does not positively recite that the base compartment stores water and hydration mist, merely that the preparation station is configured to “receive” water and hydration mist.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Shalah-Abboud and Lee teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the application station comprises a face mask (Shalah-Abboud 102a, 102b) configured to receive the user face (Shalah-Abboud Fig. 1B), and wherein the face mask comprises cut-outs aligned with one or more face features of the user face (Shalah-Abboud, Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Shalah-Abboud and Lee teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the face mask is connected with the makeup cartridge, and wherein the face mask is configured to apply airbrush makeup on the user face using the makeup cartridge (as shown in Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Shalah-Abboud and Lee teaches the system of claim 1 further comprising a transceiver (Shalah-Abboud discloses connecting a user device via Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, which requires a transceiver) configured to receive images of the user face from a user device (195).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Shalah-Abboud and Lee teaches the system of claim 11 further comprising a controller (Shalah-Abboud 607) communicatively coupled to the transceiver, wherein the controller is configured to: obtain the images of the user face from the transceiver (Shalah-Abboud 310); identify skin tone and face structure of a user based on the images (Shalah-Abboud ¶0124); determine a makeup type based on the identification of the skin tone and the face structure (Shalah-Abboud ¶0126); and transmit a makeup recommendation to the user device based on the makeup type (Shalah-Abboud 330).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Shalah-Abboud and Lee teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the controller is further configured to: obtain inputs from the user device responsive to transmitting the makeup recommendation (Shalah-Abboud 320); and transmit a command signal to the application station to apply the airbrush makeup based on the inputs (Shalah-Abboud 346).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Shalah-Abboud teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the application station is configured to apply the airbrush makeup in one or more steps responsive to receiving the command signal (Shalah-Abboud ¶0175), and wherein the one or more steps comprises applying airbrush foundation, applying contour, applying eye makeup, applying lipstick, applying powder, and applying setting spray (Shalah-Abboud ¶0075).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Shalah-Abboud and Lee teaches the system of claim 2 further comprising an inlet (Lee, see pg. 3, ll. 8-9) on the base compartment top portion, wherein the inlet is configured to receive water.
Regarding claim 20, Shalah-Abboud teaches a system (100) to apply facial makeup, the system comprising: a base compartment (150) having a base compartment proximal end and a base compartment distal end, wherein the base compartment is configured to store a makeup cartridge (160); an application station (180) disposed at the base compartment distal end, wherein the application station is configured to apply air brush makeup (via airbrush 120) on the user face, wherein the application station comprises a face mask (1021, 102b, 103b) configured to receive the user face, and wherein the face mask comprises cut-outs aligned with one or more face features of the user face (Fig. 1B).
Shalah-Abboud does not teach a preparation station disposed at the base compartment proximal end, wherein the preparation station is configured to clean a user face.
Lee teaches a preparation station (10) that is configured to clean a user face (Abstract).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Shalah-Abboud with a preparation station disposed at the base compartment proximal end, wherein the preparation station is configured to clean a user face, as taught by Lee, for the purpose of enabling a user to easily remove makeup (Lee, pg. 3, last two lines).
Claim(s) 3-4 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shalah-Abboud and Lee as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Donohue (US 2023/0148425).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Shalah-Abboud and Lee teaches the system of claim 2 but does not teach a mirror disposed between the preparation station and the application station, wherein the mirror is disposed on the base compartment top portion.
Donohue teaches a mirror (170, see ¶0078) disposed on a base portion (110).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Shalah-Abboud with a mirror disposed between the preparation station and the application station, wherein the mirror is disposed on the base compartment top portion, as taught by Donohue for the purpose of enabling a user to see the applied makeup.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Shalah-Abboud, Lee and Donohue teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the mirror comprises light emitting devices at mirror edges (Donohue, ¶0078).
Regarding claim 19, Shalah-Abboud teaches a system (100) to apply facial makeup, the system comprising: a base compartment (150) having a base compartment proximal end and a base compartment distal end, wherein the base compartment is configured to store a makeup cartridge (160); an application station (180) disposed at the base compartment distal end, wherein the application station is configured to apply air brush makeup on the user face (via 120).
Shalah-Abboud does not teach a preparation station disposed at the base compartment proximal end, wherein the preparation station is configured to clean a user face or a mirror disposed between the preparation station and the application station.
Lee teaches a preparation station (10) that is configured to clean a user face (Abstract).
Donohue teaches a mirror (170, see ¶0078) disposed on a base portion (110).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Shalah-Abboud with a preparation station disposed at the base compartment proximal end, wherein the preparation station is configured to clean a user face, as taught by Lee, for the purpose of enabling a user to easily remove makeup (Lee, pg. 3, last two lines).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Shalah-Abboud with a mirror disposed between the preparation station and the application station, wherein the mirror is disposed on the base compartment top portion, as taught by Donohue for the purpose of enabling a user to see the applied makeup.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Shalah-Abboud and Lee teaches the system of claim 1 but does not teach a speaker configured to output instructions to a user.
Donohue teaches a speaker configured to output instructions to a user (¶0081).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Shalah-Abboud with a speaker configured to output instructions to a user as taught by Donohue for the purpose of communicating audio commands, suggestions and warnings to the user (Donohue ¶0081).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shalah-Abboud and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Whitelaw (US 11568675).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Shalah-Abboud and Lee teaches the system of claim 1 but does not teach a self-cleaning mechanism configured to clean the system automatically.
Whitelaw teaches a self-cleaning mechanism (col. 6, ll. 39-58) configured to clean a system automatically.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Shalah-Abboud with a self-cleaning mechanism configured to clean the system automatically as taught by Whitelaw for the purpose of making the device more hygienic (Whitelaw, col. 2, ll. 63-67).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Wong, Abraham, Chang, Wong, Staton, and Wong references are cited as being directed to the state of the art of systems for washing a face and/or applying makeup automatically.
/BRADLEY S OLIVER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3754