DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on January 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
The inventions of Groups I and III, original claims 1-7 and 14-18 have been canceled without traverse. But in addition, applicant also canceled original claims 8-13 of the elected Group II, directed to the elected treatment apparatus invention, and adds new claims 19-32 directed to the same elected invention.
An action on the merits of the new claims 19-32 follows,
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The listing of references in the specification (see pages 3-4) is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Hungary on April 15, 2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Hungarian Application No. P2100153 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drawing of “a press device (claim 20, line 1)” and “a perforated plate or a grating (claim 27)” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Therefore, the abstract is objected to because it has multiple paragraphs, and it includes legal phrases, “comprising (line 1)” and “comprises (line 5)”.
Claim Interpretation
If claim limitations in this application that use the word "means" (or "step"), they are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, if claim limitations in this application that do not use the word "means" (or "step"), they are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-20 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (hereinafter “Sato”) (JP H054203 A).
Regarding claim 19, Sato discloses a treatment apparatus for treating wood material (see “wooden” in the abstract), comprising: (a) a hermetically sealable reaction space (fig. 1, a space inside the container (1)) configured to receive wood material (a) (fig. 1) to be treated; and (b) at least one heating panel (14a-c) disposed in the reaction space (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, the treatment apparatus of claim 19, further comprising a press device (11-13) configured to press together the wood material (a) arranged in the reaction space and the at least one heating panel (fig. 1) (see para 39, lines 22-30 of the English translation).
Regarding claim 22, the treatment apparatus of claim 19, further comprising a heating member (6 or 14) configured to heat the reaction space (fig. 1), wherein the heating member (6 or 14) is arranged along a wall.
- For the heating member 6, it is arranged along a wall of a carriage (2) in fig. 1), which is located inside the container (1) and within the reaction space (fig. 1)
-For the heating member 14, a bottom heating member 14c is arranged along a bottom wall of the container (1) and within the reaction space (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 23, the treatment apparatus of claim 22, wherein the heating member (6) is arranged on a floor (5) of the reaction space (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, the treatment apparatus of claim 22, wherein the heating member (14c) comprises the at least one heating panel (14a-c) (fig. 1).
Claims 19-20 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sundholm et al. (hereinafter “Sundholm”) (WO 2005/049291 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Sundholm discloses a treatment apparatus for treating wood material (see “wood or wood products” in abstract), comprising:
(a) a hermetically sealable reaction space (see D in fig. 3) configured to receive wood material (1) to be treated; and
(b) at least one heating panel (2) disposed in the reaction space (fig. 1 and page 6, lines 18-19).
Regarding claim 20, the treatment apparatus of claim 19, further comprising a press device (4)) configured to press together the wood material 1a) arranged in the reaction space and the at least one heating panel (2) (see page 6, lines 18-19).
Regarding claim 22, the treatment apparatus of claim 19, further comprising a heating member (2) configured to heat the reaction space (fig. 2), wherein the heating member (2) is arranged along a wall (see fig. 2, which shows a bottom heating member (2) is arranged along a top wall of a base (7) of the reaction space).
Regarding claim 23, the treatment apparatus of claim 22, wherein the heating member (2) is arranged on a floor (7) of the reaction space (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 24, the treatment apparatus of claim 22, wherein the heating member (2) comprises the at least one heating panel (2) (fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Bodrov (EP 1696193 A1).
Regarding claim 21, the treatment apparatus of claim 19, Sato discloses the reaction space is surrounded by chamber walls of the container (1). Sato does not expressly disclose the chamber walls are made of a thermal insulation member.
Bodrov can be applied to teach a treatment apparatus for wood material comprising a hermetically sealable reaction space (2), wherein in chamber walls of the reaction space are made of a thermal insulation member (see “the chamber walls can be made of heat-insulating material” on page 5, last paragraph of the English translation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made chamber wall of the reaction space of Sato, with a thermal insulation member, as taught by Bodrov, in order to reduce heat transfer between the inside and outside of the chamber, and help maintaining a stable internal environment and improving energy efficiency.
Claims 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundholm in view of Li (CN 110861342 A).
Regrading claim 25, the treatment apparatus of claim 19, Sundholm discloses the at least one heating panel using a heating medium for drying the wood material (see page 7, lines12-15). Sundholm does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one heating panel is the type comprises first and second boundary members arranged parallel to each other, and a heating wire arranged between the first and second boundary members.
Li can be applied to teach a drying press comprising a electrical heating system including a plurality of heating panels (2), each of the heating panels comprising first and second boundary members (see the top and bottom lines of element 2 in fig. 1) arranged parallel to each other (fig. 1), and a heating wire (4) arranged between the first and second boundary members (fig. 1), wherein at least one of the first and second boundary members comprises a perforated plate (5) or a grating.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating system of Sundholm to an electrical heating system that includes a type of heating panel comprising first and second boundary members arranged parallel to each other, and a heating wire arranged between the first and second boundary members, as taught by Li, for energy efficiency and safety issue (It is noted that electric heating elements convert nearly all electric energy into heat, so they are typically more energy efficient than fluid heating systems, which loose heat to the surrounding environment and require continuous circulation to maintain temperature. Also wired heater plates avoid the risks of associated with hot fluids (such as spills, leaks or burns)).
Regarding claim 26, the treatment apparatus of claim 25, modify Sundholm discloses the at least one heating panel for treating wood material as set forth above, and thus a treatment composition arranged between the first and second boundary members and surrounding the heating wire is a solidified “wood” treatment composition, and the first and second boundary members are configured to allow the solidified wood treatment composition to contact the wood material to be treated. (It is noted that the claim does not define the material of the composition).
Regarding claim 27, the treatment apparatus of claim 26, modified Sundholm discloses wherein at least one of the first and second boundary members comprises a perforated plate or a grating (see a perforated element 5 of Li).
Regarding claim 28, the treatment apparatus of claim 26, modified Sundholm discloses wherein the panel is a heating panel including the first and second boundary members as set forth above, and thus one of the first and second boundary members is made of a heat conducting material in order to dry the wood material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29-32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 29, the claim would be allowable because the prior art of record, considered alone or combination, neither anticipated nor renders obvious “wherein the solidified wood treatment composition comprises a basic material selected from the group consisting of LiOH, NaOH, KOH, RbOH, CsOH, Mg(OH)2, Ca(OH)2, Sr(OH)2, Ba(OH)2, Na2S, and tetramethylammonium hydroxide”, in combination with the rest of the claimed limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 30, the claim would be allowable because the prior art of record, considered alone or combination, neither anticipated nor renders obvious “wherein the solidified wood treatment composition comprises (i) a heat conducting and heat retaining material and (ii) at least 10 wt% of a binder”, in combination with the rest of the claimed limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 31-32 would be allowable in virtue of their dependence upon claim 30.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed on the attached PTO 892 are cited to show various treatment apparatuses for wood.
JIMMY T. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/JIMMY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725