Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group III, claims 14-20, in the reply filed on May 22nd, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that . This is not found persuasive because there would not be an increased search burden as the Groups of claims including overlapping classification in C12M with differentiation only in subclasses or secondary search classes.
Examiner maintains that a serious search and/or examination burden exists as outlined in MPEP 808.02.
-For a serious search burden list one or more of the following:
--the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
--the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter; and/or
--the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The claims remain to have different classification regardless of a commonality shown at the higher level of “C12M,” wherein the citation of “A61L” and “C12N” as being listed subsequent thereto the particular C12M [and particular class/sub] does not mean such different and distinct classification are secondary or of less importance/significance. Further, it is seen that the inventions would require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-13 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: The recitation “a nanofibers” is grammatically incorrect and it appears that Applicant intends to recite “a nanofiber” or “nanofibers”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the well surface". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 previously provides a plurality of wells, and does not delineate or specify a surface of one or more of those wells. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the hydrogel" in the first instance. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 14 previously recites “a natural hydrogel” wherein it appears that Applicant intends to recite “the natural hydrogel” (as likewise recited in the last recitation of claim 18).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the nanofiber". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 18 previously recites “a nanofibers…” wherein it appears that Applicant either intends to recite “a nanofiber” in claim 18 or “the nanofibers” in claim 19.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 19 recites “the nanofiber….” wherein choice of a nanofiber is not necessitated as claim 18 provides a recitation of “nanofibers and/or nanoparticles). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14, 15, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2009/0136583), hereafter Park.
With regard to claim 14, Park discloses a biomimetric composition comprising a natural hydrogel, in agarose as in cl. 15, micropatterned with a plurality of wells (abstract; pars.[0030,0031,0038. Examiner asserts that the recitation “formed using the microfluidic system…of claim 1” is drawn to a process recitation not afforded patentable weight in a device claim, and drawn to an intended use recitation not afforded patentable weight with a prospective element in that of the ‘microfluidic system of claim 1’ that is not positively claimed. With regard to claim 17, Park discloses that the modular, biomimetric composition is thin film (pars.[0010,0040]). With regard to claim 20, a cell well is not a positively claimed element of the composition as it is drawn to a process step to use of the microfluidic system of claim 1 wherien such system and its usage are not positively provided, nor is patentable weight attributed to such a process in the present device claims (and further noting that “cell well” is not necessitated by cl. 1 given the recitation to “…and/or removable window plate”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Park et al. (“Polydopamine-based interfacial engineering of extracellular matrix hydrogels…” ACS, 2019, 11(27), 273919-23925), hereafter Park-2.
Park has been discussed above.
Park does not specifically disclose wherein the well surface is functionalized with polydopamine.
Park-2 discloses polydopamine functionalization of the surface of the culture substrate or interface to which the hydrogel is attached (Abstract; Introduction pgs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park to functionalize the well surface with PDA such as suggested by the analogous art of Park-2 to that of engineered extracellular hydrogels for cell culturing in which it can be seen through Park-2 that functionalization of the well surface so as to provide a microwell hydrogel to Park that is a stable cell-culture platform in which PDA functionalization to the well surface removes hydrogel contraction and loss of surface anchorage.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Zhang et al. (“Hydrogels incorporating Au@Polydopamine Nanoparticles…” Analytical Chemistry 2019, 90, 11423-11430), hereafter Zhang.
Park has been discussed above.
Park does not specifically disclose the hydrogel comprises a nanofibers and/or nanoparticles embedded within the natural hydrogel.
Zhang discloses a natural hydrogel as in agarose in which Au@PDA nanoparticles are embedded therein to provide a stable, functional hydrogel composite that is useful for optical sensing functionality, improved stability, and anti-interference properties (Abstract; pgs. 11423-11424).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park to provide the natural hydrogel with nanoparticles embedded within such as suggested by the analogous prior art of Zhang to hydrogels utilized in biological applications and wherein such incorporation of Au@PDA nanoparticles within the hydrogel provides a predictable and beneficial functional benefit in providing a more stable hydrogel.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Saraswat et al. (“CellWell: A micropatterned biphasic nanocomposite…” bioRxiv; Oct. 2019, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology; and likewise seen as through Saraswat et al. “Micropatterned Biphasic Nanocomposite platform…” ACS, March 2020, cited by Applicant in IDS of 08/26/25), hereafter Saraswat.
Park has been discussed above.
Park does not specifically disclose the hydrogel comprises a nanofibers and/or nanoparticles embedded within the natural hydrogel, and wherein the nanofiber comprises a polyvinyl alcohol, collagen, chitin, or a combination thereof.
Saraswat discloses a micropatterned composition cell culture platform with a network of wells embedded with polyvinyl alcohol nanofibers (Abstract, for example).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Park to provide nanofibers, as in polyvinyl alcohol, embedded within the natural hydrogel such as suggested by the analogous prior art of Saraswat to a micropatterned hydrogel with a plurality of wells in order to reinforce the hydrogel of Park and provide a fibrous, extracellular matrix structure that affords suitable application with biological or cell culture applications with hydrogels being robust to withstand deformation and facture as similarly contemplated by Park (see pars.[0034,0037]).
Double Patenting
Claims 14-16 and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,098,354. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the designation of the wells being hemispherical in shape amounts to a routine and conventional shape to microwells and represents an obvious design choice afforded to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/NEIL N TURK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798