Priority
This application makes reference to or appears to claim subject matter disclosed in Application No. 63/381,307, filed on October 28, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on June 25, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informality:
¶[0028], line 2: based on the context and detailed descriptions of FIG. 11-12, the referenced flow diagram of FIG. 12 depicts the fourth application of the invention, not the second as recited.
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification is replete with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of some unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification are:
¶[0037], line 2: it is ambiguous how much “a lot of CSI data” is which the automated labeling architecture is intended to label.
Appropriate corrections are required.
The use of the term “Webcam”, which is no longer an active trade name or mark, has been noted in this application. The term’s status as a trade name or mark is DEAD/ABANDONED, hence use of the term to refer to any generic webcam is merely descriptive and therefore allowed; however, the term should be recited in all lowercase (e.g. “webcam”).
The use of the terms “Bluetooth” (¶[0011], ¶[0043], and ¶[0045]), “iBeacon” (¶[0043] and ¶[0045]), and “Echo Dot” (¶[0043]), in the specification, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The trade name or mark Bluetooth used in claim 12 should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears in the claim(s) or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
The status of the trade name or mark Webcam used in claim 17 is abandoned and hence has become commonplace to refer to any web camera. Use of this term in the claim to refer to a generic webcam is merely descriptive and therefore allowed; however, the term should be recited in all lowercase (e.g. “webcam”).
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. These claim limitations are as follows:
… an automated labeling module (ALM) configured to … (claim 1);
… a gesture recognition module configured to … (claim 8); and
… a gesture recognition module configured to … (claim 10).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation configured to interpret the captured image. However, insofar as claim 8 introduces multiple captured images, it is unclear which captured image the limitation refers to or whether applicant intended to refer to all captured images. For the purpose of examination, this claim will be interpreted as if it had read configured to interpret the captured images.
Claims 12 and 14 recite the limitation the beacon configured to broadcast its identifier. However, insofar as claims 12 and 14 each introduce at least one beacon, it is unclear which of the potentially multiple beacons the limitation refers to, or whether applicant intended to refer to all beacons. For the purpose of examination, this claim will be interpreted as if it had read each of the at least one beacon configured to broadcast its identifier.
It is applicant’s responsibility to amend these claims either consistent with the examiner’s suggestions or with applicant’s intended invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PGPUB 2022/0327360 A1 to Merlin et al. (hereinafter “Merlin”).
Per claim 1, Merlin discloses A automated labeling system (Merlin discloses a distributed sensing system configured to perform object detection and labeling, which constitutes an automated labeling system; Merlin, FIG. 8, ¶[0094]… FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating an example of a distributed sensing system 800 that can be configured to perform object detection and labeling, …), comprising:
an automated labeling module (ALM) configured to receive wireless signals and ground truth of learning object and label the wireless signals with the ground truth when receiving the ground truth to generate labeled training data (Merlin's distributed sensing system receives RF sensing data (wireless signals) from sensing devices and input labels (ground truth) from a labeling device and synchronizes each collected label with its corresponding RF sensing data, which constitutes an ALM that labels the wireless signals with the ground truth to generate labeled training data: Merlin, ¶[0033]…For example, the distributed sensing system can be configured to receive input labels [ground truth] from a labeling device (e.g., a mobile phone, a camera system, a tablet device, a computer, or other device of a user) and to also receive RF sensing data [receive wireless signals] received by one or more sensing devices of the distributed sensing system. … The distributed sensing system can synchronize the collected labels with the RF sensing data so that the RF sensing data is accurately associated with the labels [label wireless signals with ground truth]; the associated label-and-RF data forms the training data used to train the sensing model: Merlin, ¶[0124]…the distributed sensing system 1000 can be configured to perform a training procedure 1080, for example, using the training label data (e.g., manual labels 1076, and labels 1078) and the RF data, such as the data that is received by storage device 1035 as channel state information (CSI) data 1074); and
a training database coupled to the ALM, the training database configured to store the labeled training data (Merlin's storage device receives and stores the training labels together with their corresponding RF/CSI data, which constitutes a training database, coupled to the labeling system, that stores the labeled training data: Merlin, FIG. 10, ¶[0112]…the distributed sensing system 900 can be configured to store labels (e.g., training labels received from the labeling devices, such as the camera 814 and/or the mobile device 816 of FIG. 8 and/or the sensing devices 812, 818) in the storage device 912 [training database storing labeled training data] and/or provide the labels in real time to the processor 910 for machine learning model training.)
Per claim 2, Merlin discloses claim 1, further disclosing wherein the wireless signals include Wi-Fi signals (Merlin's system detects environmental changes using radio frequency signals such as Wi-Fi signals, which constitutes wireless signals that include Wi-Fi signals: Merlin, ¶[0082]…the distributed sensing system 400 can detect and characterize changes in an environment by utilizing radio frequency signals such as Wi-Fi signals. [wireless signals include Wi-Fi signals]).
Per claim 3, Merlin discloses claim 2, further disclosing wherein the Wi-Fi signals include channel state information (CSI) signals (Merlin's sensing devices transmit the RF/Wi-Fi data as Channel State Information, which constitutes Wi-Fi signals that include CSI signals: Merlin, ¶[0116]…the sensing devices 1050, 1060 of the distributed sensing system 1000 can transmit the RF frequency data as Channel State Information (CSI data 1074) to the storage device 1035. [Wi-Fi signals include CSI signals]).
Per claim 4, Merlin discloses claim 1, further disclosing an artificial intelligence (AI) model that is trained with the labeled training data, the trained AI model configured to make prediction on wireless signals that are newly received (Merlin trains a sensing model (a machine-learning model / CNN) on the RF data and training labels, and the trained model provides labeling inferences for novel or subsequent RF data inputs, which constitutes an AI model trained with the labeled training data and configured to make predictions on newly received wireless signals: Merlin, ¶[0110]…Once trained, the sensing model can be configured to provide labeling inferences for novel or subsequent RF data inputs… [AI model trained with the labeled training data making predictions on newly received signals]).
Per claim 5, Merlin discloses the automated labeling system of claim 4, further disclosing wherein the AI model is trained by a cloud server or a device that includes the automated labeling system (Merlin's computing device, which trains the machine-learning models and is integrated into (part of) the distributed sensing system, constitutes a device that includes the automated labeling system and trains the AI model: Merlin, FIG. 8, ¶[0095]…the computing device 810 can include a central processing unit (CPU) and/or a graphics processing unit (GPU) for training machine learning models and executing object detection algorithms as described herein. [device that includes the automated labeling system and trains the AI model]).
Per claim 6, Merlin discloses claim 4, further comprising: a ground truth providing device coupled to the ALM, the ground truth providing device configured to provide the ground truth to the ALM (Merlin's labeling devices (e.g., camera, mobile device) generate the training labels (ground truth) that are associated with the received RF data and provided to the distributed sensing system, which constitutes a ground truth providing device coupled to the ALM and configured to provide the ground truth to the ALM: Merlin, FIG. 8, ¶[0102]…the labeling devices (e.g., camera 814, mobile device 816, etc.) and/or the sensing devices 812, 818 can generate labels (e.g., training label data) that can be associated with the received RF data.).
Per claim 16, Merlin discloses claim 6, further disclosing wherein the ground truth providing device includes a camera and an object detection module coupled to the camera and the ALM, the camera configured to capture images of a surveillance zone, the object detection module configured to analyze the captured images and send a detection result to the ALM as the ground truth, the detection result indicating whether an object enters the surveillance zone (Merlin's static camera captures images of a location of interest and its object-detection algorithms analyze the images to detect objects and activities and generate corresponding training labels for the system, which constitutes a camera and an object detection module supplying a detection result as ground truth: Merlin, ¶[0120]…The static camera system of the distributed sensing system 1000 can then utilize algorithms described herein (e.g., such as those illustrated in FIGS. 6 and 7) to detect objects, persons, and/or activities of interest (e.g., movement by the objects) and generate corresponding training labels…; the detection result indicates whether an object enters the surveillance zone: Merlin, FIG. 4, ¶[0081]…when the intruder 420 enters the dwelling 402, the distributed sensing system 400 can detect an unidentified/unauthorized object (e.g., the intruder 420)…).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merlin in view of Fridental et al., PGPUB 2020/0057943 A1 (hereinafter “Fridental”).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Merlin discloses claim 6.
Merlin does not explicitly teach wherein the trained AI model is further configured to control an operation of the ground truth providing device.
Fridental teaches wherein the trained AI model is further configured to control an operation of the ground truth providing device (Fridental: FIG. 2, FIG. 4, and ¶[0054]…As indicated in block 430, AI decision module 16 may receive from the image sensor raw image data unprocessed by an image signal processor and may decide whether the raw image data implies suspicious activity, as described in more detail herein above. Optionally, processor 13 may receive from the AI decision module 16 information generated during a decision process of the decision module and control the image sensor 10 according to the received information. Optionally, processor 13 may instruct the image sensor 10, according to the received information, to zoom in to a region of interest and to capture a higher-resolution raw image data of the region of interest, …).
Merlin and Fridental are analogous art because both use an artificial intelligence (AI) model to control a ground truth providing device in a system. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) to so configure Merlin’s trained model before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The modification is no more than a combination of prior-art elements according to known methods, such as those demonstrated by Fridental, to yield the predictable result of using the AI model's decision-making to drive the ground truth providing device.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merlin in view of Ru et al., CN 103303224 A (hereinafter “Ru”).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Merlin teaches the system of claim 6. Merlin further teaches wherein the ground truth providing device includes a camera …, the camera configured to capture images that indicate a user's gestures (Merlin, ¶[0034]…As noted above, the distributed sensing system can include or be in communication with one or more labeling devices and/or the one or more sensing devices can provide labels. In some examples, the one or more labeling devices and/or sensing devices can include a static camera system, which can be used to generate and/or determine labels. For example, a camera [ground truth providing device includes a camera] can be configured to capture images (e.g., pictures or video) [camera captures images] of locations and objects of interest in an environment, such as a home or company building. In some aspects, the static camera system can utilize algorithms described herein (e.g., such as those illustrated in FIGS. 6 and 7) to detect objects, persons, and activities of interest (e.g., movement by the objects) and generate corresponding labels for the detected objects and activities of interest. [images indicate a user’s gestures]).
Merlin does not explicitly teach a gesture recognition module coupled to the camera and the ALM, … the gesture recognition module configured to interpret the captured image as commands and send gesture category of the interpreted gestures to the ALM as the ground truth.
Ru teaches a gesture recognition module coupled to the camera and the ALM, … the gesture recognition module configured to interpret the captured image as commands and send gesture category of the interpreted gestures to the ALM as the ground truth (Ru, Description, ¶[7]…In addition, the present invention realizes the system of a gesture control driving recorder of the above method, which is applied to a car and includes a driving recorder, a central processing device and a video camera; image; the central processing device is installed on the vehicle and electrically connected to the driving recorder [a gesture recognition module coupled to the camera and the ALM]; the camera is installed on the vehicle to capture images around the steering wheel in the vehicle at any time, and transmit the captured images to the central processing device; among them, the When the central processing device recognizes a first gesture on one side of the steering wheel in the image transmitted by the camera, and judges that the first gesture corresponds to a gear lock command [gesture recognition module interprets captured image as commands], the central processing device sends the gear lock command to the driving recorder; [sends gesture category to the ALM]…).
Merlin and Ru are both in the same field of endeavor (i.e. gesture recognition that utilizes a camera). In view of the teachings of Ru, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to apply the teachings of Ru to Merlin before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use gestures derived from an image as operational commands for equipment (Ru, Background Technology, ¶[5]…These solutions are to set a certain camera area, use different hand shapes or moving directions as recognition gestures, and control corresponding vehicle equipment. Gesture control allows the driver to extend his arms while maintaining his forward-facing driving posture, and input operational information to the control object with the help of gestures.).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Merlin and Ru in view of Lu et al., PGPUB 2007/0139370 A1 (hereinafter “Lu”). Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merlin in view of Lu.
Regarding dependent claim 9, Merlin combined with Ru discloses claim 8.
The combination of Merlin and Ru fails to explicitly teach the automated labeling system of claim 8, being included in a virtual reality device.
Lu teaches the automated labeling system of claim 8, being included in a virtual reality device (Lu, ¶[0054]… It is noted that the input gesture sequence also can be a time series of acceleration, a time series of angular velocity, or a time series of acceleration and angular velocity, etc. In the preferred embodiment of the invention, the electronic device 21 can be a household appliance of remote control, such as TV, air conditioner, juicer, etc., or an interactive multimedia device, such as virtue reality platform [virtual reality device], game platform, etc.).
A PHOSITA would reasonably find the teachings of Lu to be helpful in solving the problem of controlling a virtual reality device via gestures present in the combination of Merlin and Ru. In view of the teachings of Lu, it would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to modify the combined system of Merlin and Ru to be included in the virtual reality platform of Lu before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enhance the virtual reality experience by “enabling the user to interact with characters in the virtual reality ambient” (Lu, ¶[0002]).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Merlin discloses claim 6.
Murlin further teaches wherein the ground truth providing device includes an inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor …, the IMU sensor configured to measure and report a body's movements (Merlin, ¶[0035]…In some implementations, during a deployment training phase of a machine learning system of the distributed sensing system, the distributed sensing system can utilize one or more inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensors (e.g., accelerometers, gyroscopes, etc.) [ground truth providing device includes an IMU sensor] and/or simultaneous location and mapping (SLAM) techniques (e.g., where IMU data and image data can be used in combination) to determine a position of a device for sensing purposes, as described herein. In some aspects, the device can be carried by the user or by the object that is a target of sensing detection, thereby providing the location of the target to be used as a label for the training of machine learning models. [IMU sensor measures and reports a body’s movements]).
Merlin does not explicitly teach wherein the ground truth providing device includes … a gesture recognition module coupled to the IMU sensor and the ALM, the IMU sensor configured to … send IMU data to the gesture recognition module, the gesture recognition module configured to interpret the body's movements based on the IMU data and send gesture category of the body's movements to the ALM as the ground truth.
Lu teaches wherein the ground truth providing device includes … a gesture recognition module coupled to the IMU sensor and the ALM, the IMU sensor configured to … send IMU data to the gesture recognition module, the gesture recognition module configured to interpret the body's movements based on the IMU data and send gesture category of the body's movements to the ALM as the ground truth (Lu, FIG. 2 and ¶[0052-0053]…The motion recognition system 2 of FIG. 2 includes an inertial sensing module 20 [gesture recognition module] composed of at least an inertial sensor [coupled to IMU sensor and the ALM], which are respectively adapted to be arranged at different position of the user's body. In the preferred embodiment of FIG. 2, there are five inertial sensors 201.about.205, that are respectively being attached at the two wrists, the waist, and two knee joints of the user 8. … [0053] The inertial sensing module 20 is used to detect and measure a motion of the body so as to correspondently obtain a plurality of gesture parameters, such as angular velocity and acceleration, etc., [sensor relays IMU data to gesture recognition module] and generate gesture signals accordingly [gesture recognition module interprets gestures based on IMU data]. Thereafter, the gesture signals are transmitted to an operation control module 22 by a wireless communication means 23 [send gesture category to ALM as ground truth], whereas the operation control module 22 is comprised of a radio frequency receiver 24, a storage unit 221 and a control unit 222.).
Merlin and Lu are both in the same field of endeavor (motion/gesture recognition systems used for controlling an electronic device). In view of the teachings of Lu, it would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to apply the teachings of Lu to Merlin before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control a device by means of a gesture detection system that uses IMU/inertial sensors (Lu, ¶[0024-0026]…[0024] In addition, to achieve the above objects, the present invention provides a motion recognition system for controlling an electronic device to interact with a user, which comprises: [0025] at least an inertial sensor, adapted to be arranged on the user's body, for detecting a gesture parameter of the body and generating a gesture signal accordingly; and [0026] an operation control module, for receiving the gesture signal, …).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Merlin combined with Lu discloses claim 10.
Merlin does not explicitly teach the automated labeling system of claim 10, being included in a gesture-controllable TV.
Lu teaches the automated labeling system of claim 10, being included in a gesture-controllable TV (Lu, ¶[0054]…If the input gesture sequence matches the predefined motion information sequence, the control unit will issue a control signal for directing an electronic device 21 to operate accordingly or to interact with the user 8. It is noted that the input gesture sequence also can be a time series of acceleration, a time series of angular velocity, or a time series of acceleration and angular velocity, etc. In the preferred embodiment of the invention, the electronic device 21 can be a household appliance of remote control, such as TV [the system being included in a gesture-controllable TV], …).
Merlin and Lu are both in the same field of endeavor (motion/gesture recognition systems used for controlling an electronic device). In view of the teachings of Lu, it would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to modify the system of Merlin to be included in the TV of Lu before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow a user to control their everyday household appliances, including TVs, thereby utilizing the system to improve the functionality of the home environment.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merlin in view of Baker et al., PGPUB 2017/0026794 A1 (hereinafter “Baker”).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Merlin discloses claim 6.
Merlin further teaches:
wherein the ground truth providing device includes a Bluetooth (BT) signal source (Merlin, Fig. 2 and ¶[0047]…In some aspects, wireless device 200 can include one or more components for transmitting an RF signal. … The analog signal that is the output of DAC 204 can be provided to RF transmitter 206. The RF transmitter 206 can be a Wi-Fi transmitter, a 5G/NR transmitter, a Bluetooth™ transmitter [BT signal source], or any other transmitter capable of transmitting an RF signal.), and
the BT signal source configured to … send the range data to the ALM as the ground truth (Merlin, ¶[0036]…In some aspects, the wireless device associated with the user can be configured to transmit and receive RF sensing signals, determine RF sensing measurements based on the RF sensing signals (e.g., received signal strength indicator (RSSI) data, channel state information (CSI) data, and/or other RF sensing data such as round trip time measurements as described herein), and provide the RF sensing measurements and location labels to the distributed sensing system for sensing purposes as described herein [sends range data to ALM as ground truth]).
Merlin does not explicitly teach at least one beacon coupled to the BT signal source and the ALM, the beacon configured to broadcast its identifier, the BT signal source configured to determine range data based on BT received signal strength indicator (RSSI) signals…
Baker teaches at least one beacon coupled to the BT signal source and the ALM, the beacon configured to broadcast its identifier, the BT signal source configured to determine range data based on BT received signal strength indicator (RSSI) signals (Baker, ¶[0011-0015]…[0011] IBEACON, an indoor positioning system from Apple Inc., uses BLE to transmit a Universally Unique Identifier (UUID), [beacon broadcasts its identifier] which is picked up by a compatible smartphone app or operating system on a mobile device [beacon coupled to BT signal source (e.g. a smartphone) and the ALM]. The device can then look up the identifier over the internet to determine the device's physical location or trigger an action on the device such as a check-in on social media or a push notification. … [0015] Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) is a measurement of the power present in a received radio signal. RSSI measurements can be used by a smartphone or other BLE-enabled device to estimate the distance to the BLE beacon that transmitted the BLE signal. [range determined based on BT-received RSSI]).
Merlin and Baker are both in the same field of endeavor (positioning systems that use radio frequency-based hardware). In view of the teachings of Baker, it would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to apply the teachings of Baker to the system of Merlin before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to estimate the distance of a user carrying a smartphone from a BLUETOOTH beacon, thereby detecting the presence of the user in a given space, commercial or otherwise.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Merlin and Baker in view of Ozturk et al., PGPUB 2023/0090763 A1 (hereinafter “Ozturk”).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Merlin combined with Baker discloses claim 12.
The combination of Merlin and Baker does not explicitly teach the automated labeling system of claim 12, being applied to voice activity detection.
Ozturk teaches the automated labeling system of claim 12, being applied to voice activity detection (Ozturk, FIG. 22, FIG. 26, and ¶[0047-0048]…[0047] The present teaching generally relates to voice detection. More specifically, the present teaching relates to detecting voice activity based on radio signals. [0048] In one embodiment, a system for radio-based voice activity detection is described. The system comprises: a transmitter configured to transmit a radio signal through a wireless channel of a venue; a receiver configured to receive the radio signal through the wireless channel, wherein the wireless channel is impacted by a voice activity of a target voice source in the venue; and a processor. The processor is configured for: computing a time series of channel information (CI) of the wireless channel based on the radio signal, and detecting the voice activity of the target voice source based on the time series of CI (TSCI) of the wireless channel, without using any media signal.).
A PHOSITA would reasonably find the teachings of Ozturk to be helpful in solving the problem of detecting voice activity present in the combination of Merlin and Baker. In view of the teachings of Ozturk, it would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to modify the combined system of Merlin and Baker to be included in the voice activity detection system of Ozturk before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to detect the presence or absence of a user in a given environment (Ozturk, ¶[0223]…In the presentation, information may be displayed with a map (or environmental model) of the venue. The information may comprise: location, zone, region, … motion statistics, breathing rate, heart rate, presence/absence of motion, presence/absence of people or pets or object, presence/absence of vital sign, gesture, gesture control (control of devices using gesture), …).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merlin in view of Baker.
Regarding dependent claim 14, Merlin discloses claim 6.
Merlin further teaches wherein the ground truth providing device includes …, a BT chip, and an indoor positioning module coupled to the BT chip and the ALM, …, the BT chip configured to measure an amplitude of a BT RSSI signal of the identifier and generate and send location data to the ALM as the ground truth (Merlin’s distributed sensing system can detect the location of objects and/or people, and can be implemented in an indoor environment: Merlin, FIG. 4, ¶[0081]…The distributed sensing system 400 is illustrated in FIG. 4 as being positioned within the dwelling 402 … Based on the data received from the sensing devices (e.g., access points 410 and/or wireless devices 412), the distributed sensing system 400 can also determine when the object is an intruder, pet, authorized personnel, etc.; this system may also include a wireless device (comprising a BT chip), and is capable of receiving sensing data including but not limited to RSSI data: Merlin, FIG. 4, ¶[0084]…the distributed sensing system 400 can receive sensing data (e.g., RSSI/CSI data) from the sensing devices (e.g., access points 410 and/or wireless devices 412) and can determine whether a particular sensing device is at a location that optimizes sensing coverage of the distributed sensing system 400; the system can further send location data as training label data (ground truth): Merlin: ¶[0101]…training label data can be provided to computing device 810 from various wired and/or wireless devices of the distributed sensing system 800. … In some implementations, the label data can include location data such as a location indication. The location indication can be specified in terms of an area of the environment (e.g., a room)…).
Merlin does not explicitly teach wherein the ground truth providing device includes at least one beacon, … the beacon configured to broadcast its identifier…
Baker teaches wherein the ground truth providing device includes at least one beacon, … the beacon configured to broadcast its identifier (Baker, ¶[0011]…IBEACON, an indoor positioning system from Apple Inc., uses BLE to transmit a Universally Unique Identifier (UUID), [beacon broadcasts its identifier] which is picked up by a compatible smartphone app or operating system on a mobile device)…
Merlin and Baker are both in the same field of endeavor (positioning systems based on RF-sensing equipment). In view of the teachings of Baker, it would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to apply the teachings of Baker to Merlin before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate entities within a given space with increased efficacy, thereby utilizing the system to improve the security of an indoor space.
Regarding dependent claim 15, Merlin combined with Baker discloses claim 14.
Merlin further teaches the automated labeling system of claim 14, being included in a smart phone (Merlin, FIG. 4, ¶[0084]…the distributed sensing system 400 can further include providing a wireless device (e.g., mobile device 430) of a user with one or more messages or alerts (e.g., a motion alert 432) including motion detection and motion location information. In FIG. 4, the intruder 420 is detected by the distributed sensing system 400, which can then provide the motion alert 432 to the user's mobile device 430. … The distributed sensing system 400 can further provide sensing coverage output data including information (e.g., indications, instructions, descriptions, etc.) to the wireless device (e.g., the mobile device 430) of the user.).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merlin in view of Chen, PGPUB 2013/0050495 A1.
Regarding dependent claim 17, Merlin discloses claim 16.
Merlin does not explicitly teach the automated labeling system of claim 16, being included in a Webcam or a light bulb camera.
Chen teaches the automated labeling system of claim 16, being included in a Webcam or a light bulb camera (Chen’s improved bulb includes a camera that can be triggered to capture images when an object enters the sensing scope (surveillance zone) of the infrared sensor: Chen, ¶[0015]…When an infrared source (such as a human body) enters the sensing scope of the infrared sensor 23, the camera 3 can be triggered to take images and the light emitting elements 21 can be turned on to perform illumination. When the infrared sensor 23 does not detect an infrared source, the camera 3 will stay at a standby state. When the infrared sensor 23 detects an infrared source again, the camera 3 may be triggered again to take images and the light emitting elements 21 may be turned on again to perform illuminate.).
Merlin and Chen are both in the same field of endeavor (capturing images of objects detected in a zone of interest). In view of the teachings of Chen, it would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to apply the teachings of Chen to the system of Merlin before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to “provide a bulb with a sensing function and a camera, which can perform surveillance” (Chen, ¶[0005]) and ward off intruders more effectively.
Regarding dependent claim 18, Merlin discloses claim 6.
Merlin does not explicitly teach wherein the ground truth providing device includes an induction module coupled to the ALM, the induction module configured to detect an event and generate and send detection data to the ALM as the ground truth.
Chen teaches wherein the ground truth providing device includes an induction module coupled to the ALM, the induction module configured to detect an event and generate and send detection data to the ALM as the ground truth (Chen’s improved bulb includes emitting elements and an infrared sensor (capable of detecting infrared events), which constitute an induction module configured to detect an event: Chen, ¶[0014]…Although the camera 3, the light emitting elements 21, and the infrared sensor 23 are mounted on the same circuit board, they can be each mounted on an individual circuit board to conduct its respective functions; the bulb’s camera can be connected to a computer, where a PHOSITA would be able to send the event data (ground truth) to the ALM: Chen, ¶[0015]… Furthermore, the camera 3 can be connected to a computer to allow a remote control and monitoring of the site where the bulb is installed, so as to perform surveillance more effectively in addition to the occult feature of the bulb.).
A PHOSITA would reasonably find the teachings of Chen to be helpful in solving the problem of generating event detection data using an induction module present in Merlin. In view of the teachings of Chen it would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to apply the teachings of Chen to Merlin before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide and forward detection data as ground truth for training the ALM.
Regarding dependent claim 19, Merlin combined with Chen discloses claim 18.
Merlin does not explicitly teach wherein the induction module includes an infrared, a sound sensor and/or a photoresistor, and the event includes an object entering an induction range of the induction module and/or a sound being made in the induction range.
Chen teaches wherein the induction module includes an infrared, a sound sensor and/or a photoresistor, and the event includes an object entering an induction range of the induction module and/or a sound being made in the induction range (Chen’s improved bulb includes an infrared sensor that is triggered when an infrared-emitting body enters its sensing scope (induction range): Chen, ¶[0015]…When an infrared source (such as a human body) enters the sensing scope of the infrared sensor 23, the camera 3 can be triggered to take images and the light emitting elements 21 can be turned on to perform illumination. When the infrared sensor 23 does not detect an infrared source, the camera 3 will stay at a standby state. When the infrared sensor 23 detects an infrared source again, the camera 3 may be triggered again to take images and the light emitting elements 21 may be turned on again to perform illuminate.).
A PHOSITA would reasonably find the teachings of Chen to be helpful in solving the problem of applying a sensor to detect an induction-module event present in Merlin. In view of the teachings of Chen it would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to apply the teachings of Chen to Merlin before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to include an infrared sensor and/or another type of detection sensor (e.g. photoresistor, sound sensor, etc.) in the induction module to detect the respective type(s) of event(s).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Merlin combined with Chen discloses claim 18.
Merlin does not explicitly teach the automated labeling system of claim 18, being included in an induction lamp.
Chen teaches the automated labeling system of claim 18, being included in an induction lamp (Chen’s bulb performs illumination when an infrared body enters its sensing scope, which constitutes an induction lamp: Chen, Abstract…The camera is located adjacent to the infrared sensor. Thereby, when an infrared source enters the sensing scope of the infrared sensor, the camera can be triggered to take images and the light emitting elements can be turned on to perform illumination.).
Merlin and Chen are both in the same field of endeavor (event-driven illumination). In view of the teachings of Chen, it would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to modify the system of Merlin to be included in the improved bulb of Chen before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to illuminate a particular area using a bulb that includes light emitting elements (i.e. an induction lamp) following an event, such as an object or a person entering the area, thereby utilizing the system to increase the illumination of particularly neglected areas at night.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD ALI KAZEMIVARNAMKHASTI/Examiner, Art Unit 2144
/TAMARA T KYLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2144