DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-7) and Species I (embodiment of figures 2A-2C) in the reply filed on 4/24/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant has not identified the claims that correspond to the elected Species I in the embodiment of figures 2A-2C. The Examiner has determined that claims 1-4 and 7 correspond to the elected Species I. Accordingly, claims 5-6 and 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention and Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Askestad (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0169433).
As per claim 1, Askestad discloses an air duct interface, comprising: a first air duct including a first outer wall; a mating interface disposed circumferentially around the first outer wall, the mating interface including: a first angled portion extending away from the first outer wall in a first direction; and a second angled portion extending away from the first outer wall in a second direction that is opposite the first direction; a second air duct including a second outer wall; a gasket interface disposed circumferentially around the second outer wall, the gasket interface including: a first portion extending away from the second outer wall in the first direction, wherein the first portion is configured to engage the first angled portion; and a second portion extending away from the second outer wall in the second direction, wherein the second portion is configured to engage the second angled portion; and a first fastener configured to secure the second angled portion to the second portion (see annotated figure 7 below).
As per claim 2, Askestad discloses the air duct interface of claim 1, and further discloses a first clamp configured to be coupled to the first portion, the first clamp configured to receive the first angled portion when coupled to the first portion; and a second clamp configured to be coupled to the second portion, the second clamp engaging the second angled portion and securing the mating interface to the gasket interface (see annotated figure 7 above).
As per claim 3, Askestad discloses the air duct interface of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the first angled portion has a top surface having a first angle with respect to the first direction and the first clamp having a second angle with respect to the first direction, the first angle and the second angle being complementary (see annotated figure 7 above).
As per claim 4, Askestad discloses the air duct interface of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the second angled portion has a first top surface having a first angle with respect to the second direction and the second portion has a second top surface having the first angle, wherein the second clamp is configured to engage the first top surface and the second top surface (see annotated figure 7 above).
As per claim 7, Askestad discloses the air duct interface of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the first fastener is configured to be inserted through the second clamp and into the second portion (see annotated figure 7 above).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karram (U.S. Patent No. 10,612,418).
As per claim 1, Karram discloses an air duct interface, comprising: a first air duct including a first outer wall; a mating interface disposed circumferentially around the first outer wall, the mating interface including: a first angled portion extending away from the first outer wall in a first direction; and a second angled portion extending away from the first outer wall in a second direction that is opposite the first direction; a second air duct including a second outer wall; a gasket interface disposed circumferentially around the second outer wall, the gasket interface including: a first portion extending away from the second outer wall in the first direction, wherein the first portion is configured to engage the first angled portion; and a second portion extending away from the second outer wall in the second direction, wherein the second portion is configured to engage the second angled portion; and a first fastener configured to secure the second angled portion to the second portion (see annotated figure 6 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karram in view of Farabow (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0235673).
As per claim 2, Karram discloses the air duct interface of claim 1. Karram further discloses a first clamp configured to be coupled to the first portion, the first clamp configured to receive the first angled portion when coupled to the first portion (see annotated figure 6 above). Karram does not explicitly teach a second clamp configured to be coupled to the second portion, the second clamp engaging the second angled portion and securing the mating interface to the gasket interface.
Farabow (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0235673) is a related prior art in that it also deals with a high temperature flange joint for a gas turbine engine. Farrabow teaches a clamp (42; figure 3) that is disposed between the bolt head (46a) and the flange (34). Farrabow further teaches this clamp enhances bearing surface and thereby reduces flange thermal gradients, reduces crrep deformation, maintains preload and improves component fatigue life (paragraphs [0021], [0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Karram’s fastener to incorporate Farrabow’s clamp between the bolt head and the flange because as Farrow teaches, this clamp enhances bearing surface and thereby reduces flange thermal gradients, reduces crrep deformation, maintains preload and improves component fatigue life (paragraphs [0021], [0022]).
As per claim 3, Karram, in view of Farrabow, discloses the air duct interface of claim 2. Karram further discloses wherein the first angled portion has a top surface having a first angle with respect to the first direction and the first clamp having a second angle with respect to the first direction, the first angle and the second angle being complementary (as shown; figure 6).
As per claim 7, Karram, in view of Farrabow, discloses the air duct interface of claim 2. Karram further discloses wherein the first fastener is configured to be inserted into the second portion (see figure 6). Karram does not explicitly teach wherein the first fastener is inserted through the second clamp. However, by the combination of claim 2 above modifying Karram’s fastener to have a clamp wherein the fastener extends through the clamp, the modified structure would have all claimed features.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Blanton (U.S. Patent No. 8,079,773) teaches flange connection for a gas turbine engine component having a load spreader.
Jakobcic (U.S. Patent No. 10,570,778) teaches a coupling system for turbocharger conduits forming angled flanges.
/SANG K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745