DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-4 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1 and 17 of Co-pending Application No. 18/338,827. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because adding inherent and/or unnecessary limitations/step and rearranging the claims would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art. It is well settled that the insertion of an element, e.g. “determine a signal indicative of a position of a tongue of the user”, and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd. App. 1969). Insertion of a reference element or step whose function is not needed would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Instant Application No. 18/427,627
Co-pending Application No. 18/338,827
1. A wearable device comprising:
a plurality of sensors configured to measure signals at a face, head, or neck of a user, the signals being indicative of facial activity associated with an act performed by the user;
a signal analysis component configured to analyze the signals and generate an activation signal responsive to results of the analysis of the signals; and
a control component configured to activate the wearable device in response to the activation signal.
2. The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the signal analysis component is configured to generate the activation signal in response to determining the user is silently speaking.
3. The wearable device of claim 1, wherein the signal analysis component is configured to generate the activation signal in response to: determining the user is silently speaking or determining the user has performed a particular action.
4. The wearable device of claim 3, wherein the particular action includes the user clenching their teeth, tapping a cheek, or an action associated with the user preparing to speak.
18. A method for controlling a wearable device comprising: recording signals indicative of facial activity associated with an act performed by a user, at a face, head, or neck of the user; analyzing the recorded signals; and activating the wearable device based on the analyzing.
1. A wearable device, comprising:
a plurality of electrodes, wherein a subset of the plurality of electrodes are configured to measure electrical signals at a face, head, or neck of a user, the electrical signals being indicative of the user's speech activation patterns while the user is silently speaking or whispering;
one or more sensors configured to determine a signal indicative of a position of a tongue of the user, at least one of the one or more sensors being disposed adjacent a cheek of the user;
a processing module configured to receive the electrical signals from the plurality of electrodes and the signal indicative of the position of the tongue of the user and perform one or more processing operations of the electrical signals; and a communication module communicatively coupled to an external device.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “component” in claims 1-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kapur et al., (US Pub. 2019/0074012).
Regarding claim 18, Kapur discloses a wearable device comprising:
a plurality of sensors configured to measure signals at a face, head, or neck of a user, the signals being indicative of facial activity associated with an act performed by the user (Fig. 9, [0008][0079][0080] detecting internal articulation of a user by measuring electrical signals at electrodes positioned on a user's skin, face and neck);
a signal analysis component configured to analyze the signals and generate an activation signal responsive to results of the analysis of the signals (Fig. 9, [0079][0080] measuring low-voltage electrical signals and analyzing encoded data from measurement to perform natural language processing); and
a control component configured to [activate the wearable device] in response to the activation signal (Fig. 10, [0025][0197] “for each measurement frame … if the RMS voltage is less than or equal to the cutoff voltage, the measurement frame is retained and further processed” in order to recognize content of internally articulated speech by the user; [0163] “detecting neural activation of muscles that is caused by, triggered by, … the internal articulation”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 19-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kapur et al., (US Pub. 2019/0074012) in view of Maisels et al., (US Pub. 2023/0230574).
Regarding claim 1, Kapur discloses a wearable device comprising:
a plurality of sensors configured to measure signals at a face, head, or neck of a user, the signals being indicative of facial activity associated with an act performed by the user (Fig. 9, [0008][0079][0080] detecting internal articulation of a user by measuring electrical signals at electrodes positioned on a user's skin, face and neck);
a signal analysis component configured to analyze the signals and generate an activation signal responsive to results of the analysis of the signals (Fig. 9, [0079][0080] measuring low-voltage electrical signals and analyzing encoded data from measurement to perform natural language processing); and
a control component configured to [activate the wearable device] in response to the activation signal (Fig. 10, [0025][0197] “for each measurement frame … if the RMS voltage is less than or equal to the cutoff voltage, the measurement frame is retained and further processed” in order to recognize content of internally articulated speech by the user; [0163] “detecting neural activation of muscles that is caused by, triggered by, … the internal articulation”).
Kapur does not explicitly teach the bracketed limitation however Maisels does explicitly teach including the bracketed limitation:
a control component configured to [activate the wearable device] in response to the activation signal (Maisels, [0052] automatically switch from idle mode to high power consumption mode based on differing trigger types, such as mouth slightly open, or a pre-set sequence of motions like tongue movement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method and system of silent speech interface as taught by Kapur with the method of determining speech from facial skin movement as taught by Maizels to improve human-machine communication and audio quality of conversations made by mobile telephones in loud public spaces, by cleaning and removing background signals from audio (Maisels, [0045][0096]).
Regarding claim 2, Kapur in view of Maisels discloses the wearable device of claim 1, and Kapur further discloses:
wherein the signal analysis component is configured to generate the activation signal in response to determining the user is silently speaking (Kapur, Fig. 9 and [0008][0035][0079][0080] a silent speech interface (SSI) system detects silent, internal articulation of words by a human user; the SSI system facilitates private communication by a user wearing the SSI).
Regarding claim 3, Kapur in view of Maisels discloses the wearable device of claim 1, and Kapur further discloses:
wherein the signal analysis component is configured to generate the activation signal in response to: determining the user is silently speaking or determining the user has performed a particular action (Kapur, [0011]-[0013] determining user’s internal articulation based on silently forming the word or movement of the Articulator Muscles).
Regarding claim 4, Kapur in view of Maisels discloses the wearable device of claim 1, and Maisels further discloses:
wherein the particular action includes the user clenching their teeth, tapping a cheek, or an action associated with the user preparing to speak (Maisels, [0052] automatically switch from idle mode to high power consumption mode based on differing trigger types, such as mouth slightly open, or a pre-set sequence of motions like tongue movement).
Regarding claim 5, Kapur in view of Maisels discloses the wearable device of claim 1, and Maisels further discloses:
wherein the control component is configured to activate the wearable device by activating a communication component of the device and transmitting the signals to a connected device (Maisels, [0046][0050][0051] transmitting the encoded signals over the communication link to smartphone and server 38).
Regarding claim 6, Kapur in view of Maisels discloses the wearable device of claim 1, and Maisels further discloses:
wherein the control component is configured to activate the wearable device by activating a processor of the device to determine one or more words or phrases from the measured signals (Maisels, [0092][0096] ASR and NLP algorithms are used for determining on e or more words from the encoded signals).
Regarding claim 7, Kapur in view of Maisels discloses the wearable device of claim 1, and Kapur further discloses:
wherein the signal analysis component is configured to generate the activation signal in response to determining a signal of the measured signals is above a respective threshold (Kapur, Fig. 10, [0076][0077] measuring a signal at the measurement electrodes may have an RMS voltage that is greater than or equal to 8 microvolts; [0090]-[0100] calculating one or more features of the 1D vector of voltage measurements).
Regarding claim 8, Kapur in view of Maisels discloses the wearable device of claim 7, and Kapur further discloses:
wherein the plurality of sensors comprises: a plurality of [EMG electrodes configured to record signals at a cheek of the user associated with movement of facial muscles of the user]; and wherein the signal analysis component is configured to generate the activation signal in response to determining a signal from the [EMG] electrodes is above a respective threshold (Kapur, Fig. 10, [0076][0077] measuring a low voltage signal, which is produced during internal articulation, at the measurement electrodes may have an RMS voltage that is greater than or equal to 8 microvolts).
Kapur does not explicitly teach the bracketed limitation however Maisels does explicitly teach including the bracketed limitation:
a plurality of [EMG electrodes configured to record signals at a cheek of the user associated with movement of facial muscles of the user] (Maisels, [0021][0054] receiving EMG signals, which provide additional information regarding the activation of the user's facial muscles around user’s cheek).
Regarding claim 19, Kapur discloses the method of claim 18, and Kapur further discloses:
wherein the analyzing comprises determining a probability the user is silently speaking and the [activating] is performed in response to determining the probability is greater than a threshold probability (Fig. 10, [0025][0197] “for each measurement frame … if the RMS voltage is less than or equal to the cutoff voltage, the measurement frame is retained and further processed” in order to recognize content of internally articulated speech by the user; [0163] “detecting neural activation of muscles that is caused by, triggered by, … the internal articulation”).
Kapur does not explicitly teach the bracketed limitation however Maisels does explicitly teach including the bracketed limitation:
[activating] is performed in response to determining the probability is greater than a threshold probability (Maisels, [0052] automatically switch from idle mode to high power consumption mode based on differing trigger types, such as mouth slightly open, or a pre-set sequence of motions like tongue movement).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method and system of silent speech interface as taught by Kapur with the method of determining speech from facial skin movement as taught by Maizels to improve human-machine communication and audio quality of conversations made by mobile telephones in loud public spaces, by cleaning and removing background signals from audio (Maisels, [0045][0096]).
Regarding claim 20, Kapur discloses the method of claim 18, and Kapur further discloses:
wherein the analyzing comprises determining a [probability] the user is silently speaking and determining a [probability] the user has performed a particular action and the activating is performed in response to determining the [probability] the user is silently speaking or the [probability the user has performed a particular action is greater than a respective threshold probability] (Kapur, Fig. 9 and [0008][0035][0079][0080] a silent speech interface (SSI) system detects silent, internal articulation of words by a human user; the SSI system facilitates private communication by a user wearing the SSI); [0011]-[0013] determining user’s internal articulation based on silently forming the word or movement of the Articulator Muscles).
Kapur does not explicitly teach the bracketed limitation however Maisels does explicitly teach the bracketed limitation:
determining a [probability] the user has performed a particular action and the activating is performed in response to determining the [probability] the user is silently speaking or the [probability the user has performed a particular action is greater than a respective threshold probability (Maisels, [0052] automatically switch from idle mode to high power consumption mode based on differing trigger types, such as mouth slightly open, or a pre-set sequence of motions like tongue movement).
Claims 11, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kapur et al., (US Pub. 2019/0074012) in view of Maisels et al., (US Pub. 2023/0230574) and further in view of Li et al., (US Pub. 2024/0203408, priority date: 2021-08-30).
Regarding claim 11, Kapur in view of Maisels discloses the wearable device of claim 7. Kapur in view of Maisels does not explicitly however Li does explicitly teach:
in response to determining the signal is above the respective threshold, perform template matching of parts of the signal to parts of a known speech signal; and in response to determining, based on the template matching, a measure of similarity between the signal and the known signal is above a threshold level of similarity, generate the activation signal (Li, [0003] The sensor collects a vibration signal of a vocal cord generated when a user speaks, and converts the vibration signal into an electrical signal, where the electrical signal is referred to as a bone conduction signal; [0017] “when the confidence exceeds a confidence threshold, and the plurality of posterior probability vectors and a plurality of template vectors meet a distance condition…when the confidence condition is met and templates match, it is determined that it is detected that the command word includes the wakeup word”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method and system of silent speech interface as taught by Kapur in view of Maisels with the method of speech recognition using template and a bone conduction signal as taught by Li to improve accuracy of wakeup word detection, and further reduce false wakeup (Li, [0019]).
Regarding claim 12, Kapur in view of Maisels and further in view of Li discloses the wearable device of claim 11, and Li further discloses:
wherein the signal analysis component is further configured to: in response to determining the signal is above the respective threshold, perform template matching of parts of the signal to parts of a known action signal (Li, [0017] when the confidence condition is met and templates match, it is determined that it is detected that the command word”).
Regarding claim 14, Kapur in view of Maisels discloses the wearable device of claim 1, and Maisels further discloses:
wherein the plurality of sensors comprises: a plurality of EMG electrodes configured to record signals at a cheek of the user associated with movement of facial muscles of the user (Maisels, [0021][0054] receiving EMG signals, which provide information regarding the activation of the user's facial muscles around user’s cheek); and
wherein the signal analysis component is further configured to: [determine a whether the wearable device has proper placement on the user by analyzing an impedance] of a subset of EMG electrodes of the plurality of EMG electrodes (Maisels, [0036] “builds on a system for sensing neural activity, the detection focused on the facial region, which allows the readout of residual of muscular activation of the facial region”).
Kapur in view of Maisels does not explicitly however Li does explicitly teach:
[determine a whether the wearable device has proper placement on the user by analyzing an impedance]; and in response to determining the wearable device has proper placement on the user, analyze the signals (Li, [0019] “obtaining a bone conduction registration signal, where the bone conduction registration signal includes the complete information of the wakeup word; and determining the confidence threshold and the plurality of template vectors based on the bone conduction registration signal and the phoneme sequence corresponding to the wakeup word”).
Regarding claim 15, Kapur in view of Maisels discloses the wearable device of claim 7, and Kapur further discloses:
wherein the signal analysis component is further configured to: in response to determining the signal is above the respective threshold, perform analog to digital conversion of the signals at a first sampling frequency to generate first digital signals (Kapur, [0079] converting this amplified analog signal to a digital signal; [0086] “The amplified signals from multiple electrodes may be concatenated into a signal vector 1011 for each temporal window of a real-time signal”).
Kapur in view of Maisels does not explicitly teach however Li does explicitly teach:
analyze the first digital signals to determine a probability of whether the user is speaking; and generate the activation signal in response to determining the probability is above a first threshold probability ([0017] “when the confidence exceeds a confidence threshold, and the plurality of posterior probability vectors and a plurality of template vectors meet a distance condition…when the confidence condition is met and templates match, it is determined that it is detected that the command word includes the wakeup word”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 13, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached form PTO-892.
Seong-ah A. Shin
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2659
/SEONG-AH A SHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659