DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2, 5, 7, 9 and 11-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:.
Claim 2 recites an improper Markush grouping. In the last line, the word “or’ should be amended to read “and.”
Claim 5 recites the limitation “further comprising an atomizer and a motor are operably controlled by the signal of a flow sensor.” The limitation makes no sense as written. It is suggested that the limitation be amended to read ”further comprising an atomizer and a motor, which are operably controlled by the signal of a flow sensor.”
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the air-flow sensor including a logical output and connected to a buffer.” The limitation makes no sense as written. An appropriate amendment is not clear due to indefiniteness caused by the recitation. See further explanation in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the operational amplifier including an output that is same as an input with higher driving capability.” It is suggested that the text “an output that is same” should be amended to read “an output that is the same.”
Claim 11 recites the limitation “when the transistor is turn on, the voltage applies on the DC motor.” It is suggested that the limitation be amended to read “when the transistor is turned on, the voltage is applied to the DC motor” or similar language. Also see further discussion of the limitation in the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below.
In claim 12, line 1, a hyphen should be inserted between the words “air” and “flow”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the signal of a flow sensor” in Claim 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the haptic motor” in Claim 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the air-flow sensor including a logical output and connected to a buffer.” It is not clear if the air-flow sensor is connected to a buffer or if the logical output is connected to a buffer.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the transistor” in Claim 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the voltage” in Claim 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “an NPN transistor.” It is not clear if the NPN transistor is intended to be the transistor recited earlier in the claim, or a different transistor
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the battery charger is operably coupled to a battery protection.” It is not clear what a battery protection is intended to mean.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the received samples” in Claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is also not clear what the term “samples” is intended to mean.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “since the battery charger and the battery protection remain the same”. It is not clear what is intended by tis limitation.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the motor operably coupled to a MOSFET control including a first MOFSET and a second MOFSET; the atomizer is operably coupled to a first switch and the motor is operably coupled to a second switch; the atomizer and the motor share an input control of the first MOSFET and the second MOSFET.” It is not clear if the first switch and second switch that the atomizer is operatively coupled to are the same as the first MOSFET and the second MOSFET or if they are additional switches.
Claims 6, 8-10 and 15-16 depend from and inherit the indefiniteness of a rejected claim and are also rejected.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
reference character “230” has been used to designate both a battery protection system and a battery protection chip.
reference character “316” has been used to designate both a battery protection and a battery protection device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al (US 2021/0401061).
Claim 1: Davis discloses a vape or vaporizing device (reads on a dispensing device) (Abs, [0002], [0015], [0155]) comprising a common housing suitable for grasping by a user [0155], which corresponds to a shell; and output display devices, such as indicator lights, alphanumeric display screens, audio speakers, surface heaters, vibration devices, and any other forms of tactile feedback devices as well known to those skilled in the art [0164], which correspond to electromechanical feedback devices and provide the means to relay information relating to the operation of vape device to a user [0426].
In disclosed embodiments, the device comprises a draw sensor that can be used as a simple “switch” to produce an electrical signal in response to when a user inhales or draws on mouthpiece, wherein the electrical signal can cause electric current from battery to flow through the atomizer. Therefore the switch is obviously connected to a battery, accepts an input (ser inhales or draws) and opens a power gateway allowing power to flow from the battery to the device and the electromechanical feedback devices [0159], such as lights within the shell that may illuminate when the device is activated and display feedback to a user during use of the device [0426].
The features of the claim are disclosed in embodiments of Davis et al or, at least, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a dispensing device configured as claimed from the disclosure.
Claim 2: The output display devices, such as indicator lights, alphanumeric display screens, audio speakers, surface heaters, vibration devices, and any other forms of tactile (electromechanical) feedback devices are well known to those skilled in the art [0164], preferably LED lights [0426].
Claim 3: a draw sensor, considered to read on a puff sensor, is disclosed as a suitable switch [0159].
.
Claim(s) 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al in view of Xiang (US 2016/0226286).
As discussed above, Davis et al discloses LED lights as preferred electromechanical feedback devices, but fails to disclose a battery charger operably coupled to the first LED light, a second LED light, and a battery protection system; the first LED light turns on when a power source is plugged into the battery charger; and the second LED light turns on when the battery charging is finished.
Xiang discloses an electronic cigarette case is used for charging an electronic cigarette battery rod. The case comprises: a microprocessor, a Hall sensor module, a battery rod charging interface and a charging circuit. The Hall sensor module is connected to the microprocessor. The charging circuit is connected to and controlled by the microprocessor. The battery rod charging interface is connected to the charging circuit (Abs, [0006]-[0008], [0010]). Preferably, the charging circuit further includes a charging management and over-voltage protection circuit, an overcurrent and full-charge detection circuit, and a boosting circuit [0011], all of which read on a battery protection circuit. The microprocessor is also connected to and controls four LEDs in the charging circuit [0110], which include a first LED light and a second LED light. Various working states or abnormal state of the charging can be indicated by LEDs ([0071], [0106]). The device therefore comprises a circuit including a battery charger (battery charging circuit) operably coupled to the first LED light, a second LED light, and a battery protection system.
The LEDs can be used to indicate a variety of working state and abnormal state, and the display mode can be set [0106]. An LED can be used for indicating a signal representing charging the battery, or one of more LEDs can indicate the power level of the battery, and provide a signal representing that the battery is full charged [0106]. Since the display mode can be set, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to set one LED to indicate when the battery is being charged (when a power source is plugged into the battery charger, or battery charging circuit) and a second LED to indicate that the battery is full charged.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the vaporizing device of Davis et al with the charging circuit of Xiang to do so in order to adequately indicate to the user of the device as to the battery status of the device.
Regarding Claim 13, the charging circuit of Xiang constitutes an electrochemical feedback device circuit including a first LED light operably coupled to a battery charger; the battery charger is operably coupled to a power source to show the charging status through the first LED light; the battery charger is operably coupled to a battery protection and the battery, and provides the claimed battery protection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-8 and 13-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 9-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,016,400. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent recite overlapping limitations to those of the instant claims, although with slightly different language.
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Upon filing and acceptance of a terminal disclaimer as required in this Office Action, Claims 5-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of potentially allowable subject matter: Davis et al and Xiang are the nearest prior art. The prior art fails to disclose or reasonably suggest a dispensing device comprising the claimed configurations.
Conclusion
/DENNIS R CORDRAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748