Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claims 2, 5, 10, 13, 16, 24, 27 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Choi does not teach obtaining information from a plurality of wireless devices in claim 13, 27. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Choi teaches that magnetic field acquisition devices may be installed on multiple moving bodies [0017]. Each device measures magnetic field information and associated location information. Accordingly, the system obtains a plurality of sets of information from a plurality of wireless devices.
Applicant further argues that Choi foes not disclose mapping magnetic field measurements to spatial positions and using them to determine device position of claims 2, 5 and 24.
Examiner respectfully disagrees a Choi explicitly teaches generating a magnetic field map by mapping acquired magnetic field information to the points where the magnetic field was obtained [0041] and using the magnetic field map for localization [0042].
Applicant further argues that Choi does not disclose outputting an indication instructing a device to provide magnetic field measurement as in claim 16.
Examiner respectfully disagrees as Choi teaches that processor outputs control signals to the magnetic sensor to initiate magnetic field measurements [0022] which corresponds to the claimed indication to obtain magnetic field measurements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 32 and 34 in part recites “wherein the mapping identifying the first region associated with the at least one magnetic field that is not consistent with the first known magnetic field further indicates that the first region is an indoor region”, the specification does not reasonably Convery to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had procession of the subject matter in which mapping identifying a region associated with an inconsistent magnetic field further indicates that the region is an indoor region. The specification describes deviations between expected magnetic field values and measured magnetic field values due to environmental magnetic disturbances [0029] fig. 5, also describes generating a mapping position in a space to magnetic field information based on magnetic field measurement [0030]. However, does not describe identifying such regions as an indoor region, nor does it discloses generating or providing a mapping that indicates a region associated with inconsistent magnetic field measurement corresponds to an indoor region. Accordingly, the specification does not reasonably convey possession of the claim subject matter in which the mapping further indicates that the region is an indoor region, as recited in claims 32 and 34.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-18, 21-30, 32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR20220101442A) in view of Gilberton (EP3184963A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a wireless device (fig. 1, 100 in communication with 200), comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor,
obtain an indication of a location of the wireless device ((“the processor (110) receives wheel rotation information” via the encoder fig. 1 transmission from vehicle 200 to 100 [0022]) the received wheel rotation information provides displacement information that indicates the location of the magnetic field map acquisition device);
measure a magnetic field at the location of the wireless device ((magnetic field via sensor 105 at 100 “magnetic field sensor (105) may measure a surrounding magnetic field in response to a signal transmitted to the processor (110) or the communication unit (101).” [0022]) thus Choi taches measuring a magnetic field at the location of the wireless device); and
transmit, to a network device, information regarding the location of the wireless device and the measured magnetic field at the location of the wireless device (the input/output unit 109 is provided to receive commands/instructions or data from users or passengers, and/or to output information acquired by the magnetic field map acquisition device 100 to the outside [0023], Accordingly, Choi teaches outputting information relating to the measured magnetic field and associated location information obtained by the magnetic field map acquisition device)
Choi does not explicitly teach and receive, from the network device, a mapping of magnetic field information to a set of spatial positions.
However, Gilberton teaching a collaborating magnetic field mapping architecture in which mobile devices transmit magnetic field measurements teaching receive, from the network device, a mapping of magnetic field information to a set of spatial positions (a mobile device obtains ambient magnetic field information associated with an indicated position and transmits the indicated and magnetic field information to a server [0006], the data received at the server side is used for updating a magnetic field map under construction [0021], additionally mobile devices maybe receive updated magnetic field map information from the server, include receiving and updated magnetic field map for localization from a server [0006] teaching receiving mapping information from a network device that associates magnetic field information with spatial positions).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic field measurement system of Choi with the centralized magnetic field mapping system of Gilberton to integrate magnetic field measurements collected by wireless devices with a server generated magnetic field map associated with spatial positions, thereby improving accuracy, scalability and reliability of magnetic based localization by allowing multiple devices to contribute measurements and receive updated mapping information generated from aggregated magnetic field data.
Regarding claims 2, 24, Choi as modified further discloses wherein the at least one processor, field map acquisition device (100) and/or the moving object (200) calculated using wheel rotation information” [0041,42] generating a magnetic field map by mapping magnetic field measurement to spatial positions and using the map for localization by matching measured magnetic field information with the magnetic field map).
However, Gilberton teaching a collaborating magnetic field mapping architecture in which mobile devices transmit magnetic field measurements teaching receiving magnetic field map information from a network device for localization (mobile devices may receive updated magnetic field map information from a server for localization [0006-7]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic field measurement system of Choi with the centralized magnetic field mapping system of Gilberton to integrate magnetic field measurements collected by wireless devices with a server generated magnetic field map associated with spatial positions, thereby improving accuracy, scalability and reliability of magnetic based localization by allowing multiple devices to contribute measurements and receive updated mapping information generated from aggregated magnetic field data.
Regarding claims 3, 14, 25, 28, Choi as modified further wherein the mapping of the magnetic field information to the set of spatial positions comprises a mapping that identifies magnetic field vector). The magnetic field vector may include at least one of three-axis magnetic field vectors measured with respect to a rectangular coordinate system (for example, a magnetic field vector in the x-axis direction, a magnetic field vector in the y-axis direction, and a magnetic field vector in the z-axis direction), but may also include at least one magnetic field vector measured with respect to a spherical coordinate system or a cylindrical coordinate system.” [0022, 0041]).
Regarding claim 4, Choi as modified further wherein to determine the position of the wireless device, the at least one processor is configured to: ignore, based on a location of the wireless device that indicates that identifies
Regarding claim 5, Choi as modified further wherein to determine the position of the wireless device, the at least one processor,
Regarding claims 8, 21, Choi as modified further wherein the information regarding the magnetic field measured at the wireless device comprises vector information on the surrounding magnetic field strength and magnetic field direction (hereinafter referred to as a magnetic field vector)” [0022]), and
Regarding claim 9, Choi as modified further wherein the at least one processor, is configured to output the information regarding the location of the wireless device and the measured magnetic field at the location of the wireless device based on
Regarding claim 10, Choi as modified further detect at least one of a first difference between the measured magnetic field and a first known magnetic field with a first magnitude larger than a first value or a second difference between a first orientation of the measured magnetic field based on at least one other sensor and a second orientation of the first known magnetic field with a second magnitude that is larger than a second value (“the processor (110) receives wheel rotation information, compares (since no threshold has been set comparison inherently includes comparing to another value and selecting one or another based on high low set points) the wheel rotation information with a value for initiating a predefined magnetic field measurement, and outputs a control signal for magnetic field measurement to the magnetic field sensor (105) based on the comparison result, and the magnetic field sensor (105) may be designed to measure a magnetic field in response to receiving such a control signal” [0022]).
Regarding claims 11, 22, Choi as modified further a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein transmit the information regarding the location of the wireless device and the measured magnetic field at the location of the wireless device, the at least one processor,
Regarding claims 12, 23, Choi as modified further wherein to obtain the indication of the location of the wireless device, the at least one processor, is configured to:sensor (105) in response to rotation of a wheel (220), manage at least one magnetic field information acquired by the magnetic field sensor (105), and/or combine and integrate the magnetic field information to generate at least one magnetic field map” [0025]).
Regarding claim 13, the structure recited is intrinsic to the method recited in claim 1, as disclosed by Choi (KR20220101442A) in view of Gilberton (EP3184963A1) as the recited structure will be used during the normal operation, as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Choi as modified further receive transmit of the plurality of wireless devices, mapping information based on the mapping of the positions (“the processor (110) can generate a magnetic field map, such as that illustrated in FIG. 6, by mapping and combining the acquired magnetic field information(s) to the point(s) where the magnetic field was acquired, whenever the magnetic field information is acquired (117) or when the measurement is terminated (119). Here, information about the point where the magnetic field is acquired can be determined based on the movement distance of the magnetic field map acquisition device (100) and/or the moving object (200) calculated using wheel rotation information” [0041]).
Regarding claim 15, Choi as modified further output an indication for a first wireless device of in the plurality of wireless devices to provide the second information regarding the magnetic field measurement at the first wireless device (as the encoder can be installed on each wheel the same magnetic field information can be utilized to detect position [0030]).
Regarding claim 16, Choi as modified further configured to output the indication based on obtaining at least one set of information regarding at least one magnetic field measurement in a region associated with the first wireless device that is inconsistent with a first known magnetic field (multiple field measurements in space 1 [0035]).
Regarding claims 17, 29, Choi as modified further wherein the indication for the first wireless device to provide the second information comprises an indication to provide the second information regarding a future time (measurement in multiple time instances [0037-0038]) associated with a detection of a difference between a measured magnetic field and a first known magnetic field that is larger than a first threshold value (“the processor (110) receives wheel rotation information, compares (since no threshold has been set comparison inherently includes comparing to another value and selecting one or another based on high low set points) the wheel rotation information with a value for initiating a predefined magnetic field measurement, and outputs a control signal for magnetic field measurement to the magnetic field sensor (105) based on the comparison result, and the magnetic field sensor (105) may be designed to measure a magnetic field in response to receiving such a control signal” [0022]).
Regarding claims 18, 30, Choi as modified further receive, from a first wireless device, a request for the mapping information for a region associated with the first wireless device, wherein the at least one processor,
Regarding claim 23, the method recited is intrinsic to the apparatus recited in claim 1, as disclosed by Choi (KR20220101442A) in view of Gilberton (EP3184963A1) as the recited method steps will be performed during the normal operation of the apparatus, as discussed above with regard to claim 1.
Regarding claim 26, Choi as modified further using the mapping and a plurality of measurements of the magnetic field at the wireless device associated with a corresponding plurality of times to determine a current position (“The process of acquiring and transmitting wheel rotation information (406, 408) on the first driving path and the process of acquiring magnetic field information (410) can be repeatedly performed until the position of the moving body or the magnetic field map acquisition device reaches” [0050]).
Regarding claim 27, the method recited is intrinsic to the apparatus recited in claim 13, as disclosed by Choi (KR20220101442A) in view of Gilberton (EP3184963A1) as the recited method steps will be performed during the normal operation of the apparatus, as discussed above with regard to claim 13.
Regarding claim 32, 34, Choi further teaches wherein the mapping identifying the first region associated with the at least one magnetic field that is not consistent with the first known magnetic field further indicates that the first region is an indoor region (“the magnetic field information may include, for example, vector information on the surrounding magnetic field strength and magnetic field direction (hereinafter referred to as a magnetic field vector). The magnetic field vector may include at least one of three-axis magnetic field vectors measured with respect to a rectangular coordinate system (for example, a magnetic field vector in the x-axis direction, a magnetic field vector in the y-axis direction, and a magnetic field vector in the z-axis direction), but may also include at least one magnetic field vector measured with respect to a spherical coordinate system or a cylindrical coordinate system.” [0022, 0041]), and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: output, to an application, an indication that the first region is the indoor region to allow the application to for indoor function (“the processor (110) can generate a magnetic field map, such as that illustrated in FIG. 6, by mapping and combining the acquired magnetic field information(s) to the point(s) where the magnetic field was acquired, whenever the magnetic field information is acquired (117) or when the measurement is terminated (119). Here, information about the point where the magnetic field is acquired can be determined based on the movement distance of the magnetic field map acquisition device (100) and/or the moving object (200) calculated using wheel rotation information.” [0023, 0041-42] estimating the indoor location of a specific device through mutual matching and comparison between the magnetic field intensity and the magnetic field map actually measured by the specific device, which directly aligns with conditional us vs ignore concept).
Gilberton further teaches using magnetic field based localization information within mobile devices for location based services and applications for executing on the device, the claimed feature of providing indoor region indication to an application so that the application may adjust its functionality does not require any particular applicant on specific implementation beyond providing location information to software executing on the device. It is well understood in the art that mobile applications utilize location information provided by localization systems in order to adjust operation of the application based on the detected environment (e.g. indoor navigation/positioning services or other location based services), once the localization system determines that the device is located withing an indoor region, providing that information to an application executing on the device for adjustment of application functionally represents a predictable use of known location information within a mobile computing environment.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic field measurement system of Choi with the centralized magnetic field mapping system of Gilberton to integrate magnetic field measurements collected by wireless devices with a server generated magnetic field map associated with spatial positions, thereby improving accuracy, scalability and reliability of magnetic based localization by allowing multiple devices to contribute measurements and receive updated mapping information generated from aggregated magnetic field data.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 31 and 33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art of record discloses or teaches the claimed combinations, or feature the following:
Re-claim 31, wherein to use the mapping and the plurality of measurements of the magnetic field at the wireless device to determine the current position, the at least one processor is configured to: identify, based on the plurality of measurements and the mapping, a plurality of candidate trajectories from a plurality of candidate initial locations associated with a first magnetic field strength measured at a first time in the plurality of times to a plurality of candidate current locations associated with a second magnetic field strength measured at a second time in the plurality of times, wherein each candidate trajectory is associated with a path between a first contour line having the first magnetic field strength and a second contour line having the second magnetic field strength; and determine the current position based on a most-likely candidate trajectory of the plurality of candidate trajectories.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fidler (U.S. Publication 20160178710) discloses METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR ANALYZING A SAMPLE VOLUME COMPRISING MAGNETIC PARTICLES.
/TAQI R NASIR/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858