DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Status of the Claims
Applicant’s election of Group I, comprising claims 1-15 in the response filed on December 16th 2025 is acknowledged. Applicant’s election of
as the single specific compound in the response filed on December 16th 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 6-8 are withdrawn from further consideration as being directed towards nonelected species until a generic claim has been found allowable (note that claim 8 requires that R2 and R3 form a cycloalkyl group). Claims 1-5 and 9-15 are examined on their merits.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 120 is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with all conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 based on the date of the provisional application 63/416,243 filed on October 14th 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on December 16th 2025, May 28th 2025, and January 26th 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered in full. A signed copy of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13-15 are indefinite for the phrase “a disease associated with pain,” because one of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably determine the metes and bounds of the claim. The phrase is not defined in the specification, and one of ordinary skill in the art would therefore interpret it as any disease in which pain is a factor and/or symptom. Such conditions are as varied as migraines, cancers, amputations, arthritis, and even allergies. As one of ordinary skill in the art could not reasonably determine the entire scope of “diseases associated with pain,” claims 13-15 are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hagel (WO 2023/173227 published on September 21st 2023, effectively filed on March 18th 2022).
The claims are directed towards a compound of Formula (I):
.
Hagel teaches compound D(IV),
(Hagel, pg. 180).
Compound D(IV) is anticipatory of claims 1-4.
Claim 10 is directed to pharmaceutical compositions comprising the compound of claim 1. Hagel teaches pharmaceutical compositions (Hagel, paragraph [00403]), anticipating claim 10.
Claim 11 is directed to the treatment of conditions that are responsive to serotonin receptor activation. Hagel teaches treatment of depressive disorders (Hagel, paragraph [00408]) and that such disorders are responsive to serotonin activation (Hagel, paragraph [00152]). Hagel therefore anticipates claim 11.
Claims 12-14 are directed to the treatment of psychiatric disorders, such as borderline personality disorder, via administration of the compound of claim 1. Hagel teaches the treatment of psychiatric disorders including borderline personality disorder (Hagel, paragraph [00408]), anticipating claims 12-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagel (WO 2023/173227 published on September 21st 2023, effectively filed on March 18th 2022).
Claim 15 requires that the neurological disease treated in the method of claim 13 is pain or associated with pain. Hagel teaches modulation of the 5-HT2A receptor (Hagel, claim 61) and that the modulation of such a receptor is a treatment for migraines (Hagel, paragraph [00156]). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have a reasonable expectation of success in treating migraines with Hagel’s compounds, and claim 15 is prima facie obvious.
Claims 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagel in view of Brown (Brown, Bioisosteres in Medicinal Chemistry (2012)).
Claims 5 and 9 are directed towards applicant’s elected species of:
.
Hagel teaches the substantially similar compound D(I):
(Hagel, pg. 180).
Applicant has provided a proviso in claim 1, that the compound is not compound D(I). Therefore, compound D(I) is not anticipatory of applicant’s claims. However, compound D(I) differs from applicant’s elected species only in the replacement of a single hydrogen atom with a methyl group. This replacement is one of the most common bioisosteric substitutions performed in the field of drug discovery (Brown, pg. 17). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have a reasonable expectation of success in developing applicant’s elected species from Hagel’s compound D(I), and claims 5 and 9 are prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629