DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I corresponding to figures 1-6 and claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 12/8/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that species I and II overlap in scope and the configuration of hardware and control flow are almost the same for Species I and Species II and the prior art searches conducted for these two species will be expected to show substantially overlapped results. This is not found persuasive because the two disclosed species are directed to different processes of fixing and canceling default emission settings of an imaging device through the use of different triggering operations. The two separately disclosed and claimed species include separate and distinct elements and processes and would result in a search and examination burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 9-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/8/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 8, please delete “accessary” and replace it with “accessory”.
In claim 1, line 13, please delete “accessary” and replace it with “accessory”.
In claim 8, line 6, please delete “accessary” and replace it with “accessory”.
In claim 8, line 12, please delete “accessary” and replace it with “accessory”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kojima et al. US 2016/0072995.
Re claim 1, Kojima discloses an accessory (flash device 300) configured to be attachable to and detachable from an image pickup apparatus (camera 100)(figures 1A-2; paragraph 48), the accessory (300) comprising: at least one processor configured to function as: an acquisition unit configured to acquire information about an image capturing mode of the image pickup apparatus (100) to which the accessory (300) is attached (terminal 130 transmits information regarding image capturing modes from camera microcomputer 101 to flash microcomputer 310)(figures 1B,2,34A-34B3; paragraph 384); a setting unit configured to set a setting value of a predetermined item (user input unit 112 can operated to perform settings of the flash device 300 and settings of control modes)(figures 1B,2,34A-34B3; paragraph 384); and a detection unit configured to detect an activation state of the image pickup apparatus (100) to which the accessory (300) is attached (flash device microcomputer 310 receives various pieces of information regarding activation states from the camera microcomputer 101)(figures 1B,2,34A-34B3; paragraph 384), wherein the setting unit sets a predetermined setting value as the setting value of the predetermined item in a case where the information acquired by the acquisition unit indicates a first image capturing mode (if camera microcomputer 101 determines that the distance measuring method is a preliminary light emission method, camera microcomputer 101 transmits to flash microcomputer 310 preliminary light emission permission) (figure 33A; paragraphs 389, 392-400), and the setting unit sets the setting value of the predetermined item to be changeable from the predetermined setting value in a case where the activation state of the image pickup apparatus (100) to which the accessory (300) is attached is detected by the detection unit as a non-activated state in a state where the predetermined setting value is set as the setting value of the predetermined item (if the camera microcomputer 101 determines that the distance measuring method is not a preliminary light emission method, control signals are not sent to the flash device 300 and camera microcomputer 101 determines the control mode)(figure 33A; paragraphs 388-391).
Re claim 3, Kojima further discloses a storage unit configured to store a value as the setting value of the predetermined item before the predetermined setting value is set, wherein the setting unit changes the setting value of the predetermined item to the value stored in the storage unit from the predetermined setting value (after a communication interrupt occurs the flash microcomputer 310 receives data transmitted from camera microcomputer 101 and stores the data in a built-in memory before instructing a swivel of movable portion 300b) (paragraphs 395-401).
Re claim 6, Kojima further discloses that the accessory (300) is a light emission device (flash device 300)(figures 1A-2; paragraph 48).
Re claim 7, Kojima further discloses that the predetermined item is at least one of a light emission mode, a light control correction amount, a wireless setting, a zoom position setting, and a flash synchronization setting (user can operate input unit 112 to perform various settings of the flash device 300 including light emission modes) (paragraphs 384, 389).
Re claim 8, claim 8 discloses a control method for an accessory configured to be attachable to and detachable from an image pickup apparatus and includes limitations nearly identical to the limitations disclosed in claim 1 above. Therefore, the rejection provided above in relation to claim 1 also applies to claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima et al. US 2016/0072995 in view of Bellessort et al. US 2022/0159172.
Re claim 2, Kojima discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 above and further discloses user input devices allowing a user to adjust settings of the camera (100) and the flash device (300) (paragraph 384). However, although the Kojima reference discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 above, it fails to specifically disclose that the first image capturing mode is an image capturing mode in which is a user is unable to change an image capturing parameter.
Bellessort discloses that it is well known in the imaging art for an imaging device to operate in a locked mode so that controllable parameters are not controllable (paragraph 63). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have been motivated to include the teaching of locking controllable parameters so that they cannot be changed as disclosed by the Bellessort reference in the accessory configured to be attachable to and detachable from an image pickup apparatus disclosed by the Kojima reference. Doing so would provide a means for locking specific camera parameter controls so that a user does not inadvertently change the specific camera parameters.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re claim 4, the prior art fails to teach or suggest an accessory configured to be attachable to and detachable from an image pickup apparatus having the specific configurations disclosed in claim 4, wherein the accessory comprises: at least one processor configured to function as: an acquisition unit configured to acquire information about an image capturing mode of the image pickup apparatus to which the accessory is attached; a setting unit configured to set a setting value of a predetermined item; and a detection unit configured to detect an activation state of the image pickup apparatus to which the accessory is attached, wherein the setting unit sets a predetermined setting value as the setting value of the predetermined item in a case where the information acquired by the acquisition unit indicates a first image capturing mode, and the setting unit sets the setting value of the predetermined item to be changeable from the predetermined setting value in a case where the activation state of the image pickup apparatus to which the accessory is attached is detected by the detection unit as a non-activated state in a state where the predetermined setting value is set as the setting value of the predetermined item, further comprising a display unit configured to display information about the setting value of the predetermined item, wherein the display unit displays information indicating that the setting value of the predetermined item is not changeable in a state where the predetermined setting value is set as the setting value of the predetermined item. The prior art fails to specifically disclose an accessory configured to be attachable to and detachable from an image pickup apparatus wherein the accessory includes a display for displaying information indicating that a setting value of a predetermined item is not changeable in a certain state in the exact configuration disclosed in the claims and specification.
Re claim 5, the prior art fails to teach or suggest an accessory configured to be attachable to and detachable from an image pickup apparatus having the specific configurations disclosed in claim 5, wherein the accessory comprises: at least one processor configured to function as: an acquisition unit configured to acquire information about an image capturing mode of the image pickup apparatus to which the accessory is attached; a setting unit configured to set a setting value of a predetermined item; and a detection unit configured to detect an activation state of the image pickup apparatus to which the accessory is attached, wherein the setting unit sets a predetermined setting value as the setting value of the predetermined item in a case where the information acquired by the acquisition unit indicates a first image capturing mode, and the setting unit sets the setting value of the predetermined item to be changeable from the predetermined setting value in a case where the activation state of the image pickup apparatus to which the accessory is attached is detected by the detection unit as a non-activated state in a state where the predetermined setting value is set as the setting value of the predetermined item, further comprising an operation unit configured to be used for changing the setting value of the predetermined item, wherein an operation on the operation unit to change the setting value of the predetermined item is not accepted in a state where the predetermined setting value is set as the setting value of the predetermined item. The prior art fails to specifically disclose an accessory configured to be attachable to and detachable from an image pickup apparatus wherein the accessory includes an operation unit that is not capable of changing a setting value of a predetermined item in a state where the predetermined setting value is set as the setting value of the predetermined item in the exact configuration disclosed in the claims and specification.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saito US 2017/0257541 discloses an imaging device including an attachable flash device capable of receiving control signals from the imaging device.
Yamamoto US 2017/0289423 discloses an imaging device including a detachable light emission section capable of receiving control signals from the imaging device.
Shu US 2019/0394382 discloses an imaging device including an exchangeable flash used to illuminate subjects for image capture.
Izaki US 2021/0185220 discloses an image capture device including a display configured to display a message indicating a lock status of certain camera inputs.
Contacts
/KELLY L JERABEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699