DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 9-26, and 28-31 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9, 13, 15, 17, 23, and 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2019/0215828) in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880), and further in view of Hathiramani US (2026/0025868).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 130 & Para’s [0052-0055], [0057], & [0164] i.e., terminal 620), comprising: one or more memories (see Fig. 2 i.e., memory 220) storing processor-executable code (see Para’s [0054] i.e., the processor may execute a program stored in the memory 220 & [0230-0231]); and one or more processors (see Fig. 2 i.e., processor 210 & Para [0054]) coupled with the one or more memories (see Fig. 2 i.e., memory 220 & Para’s [0053-0054]) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE (see Para’s [0053-0054] & [0230-0231]) to: receive a broadcast system information message from a first serving cell, (see Fig. 13 & Para’s [0161-0162] i.e., common information message (S1301) transmitted from the first base station 610-1 to the terminal 620…the common information may include system information, & [0164] i.e., When the terminal 620 moves from the cell coverage of the first base station 610-1 to the cell coverage of the second base station 610-2, the terminal 620 may perform communications (e.g., random access procedure) with the second base station 610-2 by using the common information (e.g., the broadcast information) acquired from the first base station 610-1, & [0226] i.e., the common information may include system information transmitted in a broadcast manner)
wherein the broadcast system information message comprises system information for connecting to a second serving cell (see Para’s [0161-0162] i.e., The first base station 610-1 may transmit common information (S1301)…The common information may include system information, [0164] i.e., the terminal 620 may perform communications (e.g., random access procedure) with the second base station 610-2 by using the common information (e.g., the broadcast information) acquired from the first base station 610-1, [0165] i.e., The terminal 620 may transmit to the second base station 610-2, a random access preamble by using a resource indicated by the common information acquired from the first base station 610-1 (S1302) & [0226] i.e., the common information may include system information transmitted in a broadcast manner) associated with a second radio access technology, (see Fig. 13 i.e., second base station 610-2 may be associated with a second radio access technology (e.g., 4G or 5G)), (see Para’s [0050-0051] i.e., the plurality of communication nodes (i.e., the base stations) may support 4G communication, 5G communication, [0064-0066] i.e., The macro base station provides communication services to the terminals based on 4G or 5G communication protocols. The small base station 330 may provide communication services to the terminals based on 4G or 5G communication protocols, [0081] i.e., The communication system of Fig. 6 may belong to the communication system of Fig. 3 (i.e., includes micro base station & macro base station)…For example, the embodiments described below may be applied to a macro base station, the small base station, the TRP or the like, [0159-0160] i.e., the second station 610-2 of Fig. 13 may be the second base station 610-2 of Fig. 6)
and wherein the broadcast system information message comprises a synchronization signal block message (see Para [0226] i.e., The common information may include system information transmitted in a broadcast manner, synchronization signal (e.g., synchronization signal block (i.e., SSB)), a system information block message, a master information block message (see Para [0176] i.e., system information may be transmitted in MIB), or any combination thereof;
transmit a random access channel message to the second serving cell based at least in part on receiving the system information included within the broadcast system information message; (see Para’s [0161] i.e., the common information may include system information, [0164] i.e., the terminal 620 may perform communications (e.g., random access procedure) with the second base station 610-2 by using the common information (e.g., the broadcast information) acquired from the first base station 610-1 [0165] i.e., The terminal 620 may transmit to the second base station 610-2, a random access preamble (i.e., “random access channel message”) by using a resource indicated by the common information acquired from the first base station 610-1 (S1302)).
perform a random access procedure with the second serving cell to establish a wireless connection with the second serving cell based at least in part on transmitting the random access channel message; (see Fig. 13 & Para’s [0164] i.e., the terminal 620 may perform communications (e.g., random access procedure) with the second base station 610-2 by using the common information (e.g., the broadcast information) acquired from the first base station 610-1, [0165] i.e., The terminal 620 may transmit to the second base station 610-2, a random access preamble (i.e., “random access channel message”) by using a resource indicated by the common information acquired from the first base station 610-1 (S1302)…The terminal 620 may receive the response message to the random access preamble from the second base station 610-2)
and communicate one or more messages with the second serving cell based at least in part on the random access procedure, (see Fig. 13 i.e., S1304 & Para [0169] i.e., When the response message is received from the second base station 610-2, the terminal 620 may transmit a signaling message including information on the terminal 620 to the second base station 610-2 (S1304))
Kim does not disclose the claim features of transmitting, to the first serving cell, the random access channel message for relaying by the first serving cell to the second serving cell. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880).
Ohara discloses transmitting, to the first serving cell (see Fig. 1 i.e., relay node 20 cell), a random access channel message (see Fig. 4, S103 & Para [0046] i.e., RA preambles transmitted by the user equipment 10 may be received by the relay base station 20) for relaying by the first serving cell to the second serving cell (see Fig. 1 i.e., donor base station cell 30), (see Para [0050] i.e., In the second example, when the donor base station 30 receives a RA preamble from the relay base station 20 (i.e., relay BS 20 relays the RA preamble to Donor BS 30)…the donor base station 30 preferentially transmits Msg2)
(Ohara suggests the donor base station 30 receives the RA preamble from the relay base station 20 in order to transmit Msg2 for successfully performing a random access procedure and establishing a connection with the UE 10, (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0046] & [0050])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the random access channel message transmitted from the UE to the second serving cell based on receiving the system information for accessing the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim to be relayed by the first serving cell to the second serving cell as disclosed in the teachings of Ohara who discloses transmitting, to a first serving cell of a relay node base station, a random access channel message for relaying by the first serving cell to a second serving cell of a donor base station, because the motivation lies in Ohara that the donor base station receives the RA preamble from the relay base station in order to transmit Msg2 for successfully performing a random access procedure and establishing a connection with the UE.
While Kim discloses the first serving cell and the second serving cell are each respectively associated with a first radio access technology and a second radio access technology (see Fig. 13 i.e., first base station 610-1 may be associated with a second radio access technology (e.g., 4G or 5G) and second base station 610-2 may be associated with a second radio access technology (e.g., 4G or 5G)), (see Para’s [0050-0051] i.e., the plurality of communication nodes (i.e., the base stations) may support 4G communication, 5G communication, [0064-0066] i.e., The macro base station provides communication services to the terminals based on 4G or 5G communication protocols. The small base station 330 may provide communication services to the terminals based on 4G or 5G communication protocols, [0081] i.e., The communication system of Fig. 6 may belong to the communication system of Fig. 3 (i.e., includes micro base station & macro base station)…For example, the embodiments described below may be applied to a macro base station, the small base station, the TRP or the like, [0159-0160] i.e., the second station 610-2 of Fig. 13 may be the second base station 610-2 of Fig. 6), the combination of Kim in view of Ohara does not disclose wherein the broadcast system information message is associated with a first radio access technology and comprises system information for connecting to a second serving cell associated with a second radio access technology. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hathiramani US (2026/0025868).
Hathiramani discloses wherein the broadcast system information message is associated with a first radio access technology and comprises system information for connecting to a second serving cell associated with a second radio access technology (see Para [0100] i.e., Otherwise, the 5G DSS cell advertises the existence of a 6G DSS cell and provides the UE, e.g. via the 5G system information message (i.e., “broadcast system information message associated with 5G RAT”), with minimum system information needed to camp on the 6G cell…6G-capable UEs are redirected to the 6G DSS cell (i.e., UE connects to the second 6G serving cell) & [0103] i.e., The 5G DSS cell provides broadcast information to UEs, which comprise at least minimum information required to establish an RRC connection with the 6G DSS cell))
(Hathiramani suggests the 5G cell provides the 5G system information related to the 6G cell in order for the UE to connect to the 6G cell which results in reduced overhead and energy by the 6G cell not transmitting DL signaling and MIB to UEs that are not connected to the 6G cell and power consumption is reduced at the UE based on receiving 6G cell MIB via the 5G system information message, (see Para’s [0100] & [0103])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the firsts serving cell associated with a first radio access technology which broadcasts system information to the UE for connecting to a second serving cell associated with a second radio access technology as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara to be implemented as the 5G serving cell which broadcasts system information associated with a first radio access technology (i.e., “5G”) comprising system information for connecting to a second serving cell associated with a second radio access technology (i.e., “6G”) to the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Hathiramani, because the motivation lies in Hathiramani that the 5G cell provides the 5G system information related to the 6G cell in order for the UE to connect to the 6G cell which results in reduced overhead and energy by the 6G cell not transmitting DL signaling and MIB to UEs that are not connected to the 6G cell and power consumption is reduced at the UE based on receiving 6G cell MIB via the 5G system information message.
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the system information for connecting to the second serving cell comprises one or more random access channel sequences for transmitting the random access channel message, resources associated with random access channel occasions (see Para’s [0162] i.e., The terminal 620 may receive the common information from the first base station 610-1, and identify the resource allocation information for the random access procedure included in the common information. The resource allocation information for the random access procedure may include a parameter indicating a frequency resource, a parameter indicating a time resource, a resource hopping pattern & [0165] i.e., the terminal 620 may transmit to the second base station 610-2 a random access preamble by using a resource indicated by the common information acquired from the first base station 610-1), one or more random access response search space configurations, one or more bandwidth parts for communicating with the second serving cell, a control resource set associated with the second serving cell, or any combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 5, Kim discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the random access channel message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the random access channel message to the second serving cell in accordance with the system information included within the broadcast system information message, (see Para’s [0164] & [0165] i.e., the terminal 620 may transmit to the second base station 610-2 a random access preamble by using a resource indicated by the common information acquired from the first base station 610-1)
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a second broadcast system information message from the second serving cell based at least in part on transmitting the random access channel message (see Fig. 13 & Para’s [0164] i.e., the terminal 620 may perform communications (e.g., random access procedure) with the second base station 610-2 by using the common information acquired from the first base station 610-1. In this case, the terminal 620 may perform communications with the second base station 610-2 without performing a procedure of acquiring common information from the second base station 610-2. Alternatively, the terminal 620 may communicate with the second base station 610-2 (i.e., communication may be after the random access preamble of S1302 in Fig. 13 is transmitted) after acquiring partial system information (e.g., remaining system information, other system information) (i.e., “second broadcast system information message”) from the second base station 610-2 & [0189] i.e., system information may be transmitted via SIB (i.e., “broadcast system information message”)…Alternatively the second broadcast system information message may be the system information (i.e., SIB) included in the random access response in Fig. 13 i.e., S1303, see Para’s [0166] & [0168]),
wherein the second broadcast system information message comprises additional system information for connecting to the second serving cell, (see Para’s [0164] i.e., Alternatively, the terminal 620 may communicate with the second base station 610-2 after acquiring partial system information (e.g., remaining system information, other system information) (i.e., “second broadcast system information message”) from the second base station 610-2, [0183] i.e., other system information may be referred to as additional system information, & [0168] i.e., the essential system information message in the random response message in S1303 may also be “additional system information”).
wherein the random access procedure is performed with the second serving cell in accordance with the system information and the additional system information. (see Para [0164] i.e., the terminal 620 may perform communications (e.g., random access procedure) with the second base station 610-2 by using the common information (i.e., “system information”) acquired from the first base station 610-1. In this case, the terminal 620 may perform communications with the second base station 610-2 without performing a procedure of acquiring common information from the second base station 610-2. Alternatively, the terminal 620 may communicate with the second base station 610-2 after acquiring partial system information (e.g., remaining system information, other system information) (i.e., “second broadcast system information message”) from the second base station 610-2, [0168-0169], & [0183] i.e., other system information may be referred to as additional system information),
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses the UE of claim 6, wherein the second broadcast system information message comprises a system information block message, (see Para’s [0164], [0168] i.e., SIB2 & [0189] i.e., system information may be transmitted via SIB (i.e., “broadcast system information message”)
Regarding Claims 13 and 23, the combination of Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani discloses the UE and network entity of claims 1 and 15, wherein the first serving cell is associated with the first radio access technology (Kim, see Para’s [0051] & [0064])
Regarding Claim 15, Kim discloses a network entity (see Fig. 1 i.e., base station 110, Fig. 2 i.e., communication node 200, & Fig. 6 i.e., base station 610-1) associated with a first serving cell (see Fig. 6 & Fig. 13, Para’s [0055] & [0080-0082]), the network entity comprising: one or more memories (see Fig. 2 i.e., memory 220) storing processor-executable code (see Para’s [0054] i.e., the processor may execute a program stored in the memory 220 & [0230-0231]); and one or more processors (see Fig. 2 i.e., processor 210 & Para [0054]) coupled with the one or more memories (see Fig. 2 i.e., memory 220 & Para’s [0053-0054]) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity (see Para’s [0053-0054] & [0230-0231]) to, via the first serving cell: transmit a broadcast system information message to a user equipment (UE), (see Fig. 13 & Para’s [0161-0162] i.e., common information message (S1301) transmitted from the first base station 610-1 to the terminal 620…the common information may include system information, & [0164] i.e., When the terminal 620 moves from the cell coverage of the first base station 610-1 to the cell coverage of the second base station 610-2, the terminal 620 may perform communications (e.g., random access procedure) with the second base station 610-2 by using the common information (e.g., the broadcast information) acquired from the first base station 610-1, & [0226] i.e., the common information may include system information transmitted in a broadcast manner)
wherein the broadcast system information message comprises system information usable by the UE for connecting to a second serving cell, (see Para’s [0161-0162] i.e., The first base station 610-1 may transmit common information (S1301)…The common information may include system information, [0164] i.e., the terminal 620 may perform communications (e.g., random access procedure) with the second base station 610-2 by using the common information (e.g., the broadcast information) acquired from the first base station 610-1, [0165] i.e., The terminal 620 may transmit to the second base station 610-2, a random access preamble by using a resource indicated by the common information acquired from the first base station 610-1 (S1302) & [0226] i.e., the common information may include system information transmitted in a broadcast manner) associated with a second radio access technology, (see Fig. 13 i.e., second base station 610-2 may be associated with a second radio access technology (e.g., 4G or 5G)), (see Para’s [0050-0051] i.e., the plurality of communication nodes (i.e., the base stations) may support 4G communication, 5G communication, [0064-0066] i.e., The macro base station provides communication services to the terminals based on 4G or 5G communication protocols. The small base station 330 may provide communication services to the terminals based on 4G or 5G communication protocols, [0081] i.e., The communication system of Fig. 6 may belong to the communication system of Fig. 3 (i.e., includes micro base station & macro base station)…For example, the embodiments described below may be applied to a macro base station, the small base station, the TRP or the like, [0159-0160] i.e., the second station 610-2 of Fig. 13 may be the second base station 610-2 of Fig. 6)
and wherein the broadcast system information message comprises a synchronization signal block message (see Para [0226] i.e., The common information may include system information transmitted in a broadcast manner, synchronization signal (e.g., synchronization signal block (i.e., SSB)), a system information block message, a master information block message (see Para [0176] i.e., system information may be transmitted in MIB), or any combination thereof;
receive, by the second serving cell (see Fig. 13 i.e., S1302), a random access channel message from the UE based at least in part on transmitting the system information included within the broadcast system information message; (see Para’s [0161] i.e., the common information may include system information, [0164] i.e., the terminal 620 may perform communications (e.g., random access procedure) with the second base station 610-2 by using the common information (e.g., the broadcast information) acquired from the first base station 610-1 [0165] i.e., The terminal 620 may transmit to the second base station 610-2, a random access preamble (i.e., “random access channel message”) by using a resource indicated by the common information acquired from the first base station 610-1 (S1302)).
Kim does not disclose the claim features of the network entity associated with the first serving cell receiving the random access channel message from the UE and relay the random access channel message to the second serving cell to facilitate a random access procedure between the UE and the second serving cell. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880).
Ohara discloses a network entity associated with a first serving cell (see Fig.’s 1 & 4 i.e., relay BS 20) receives a random access channel message from the UE (see Fig. 1 i.e., relay base station 20 cell (i.e., “first serving cell”) & Fig. 4 i.e., S103 i.e., Msg1 RA preamble is transmitted to Relay BS 20 & Para [0046] & [0050] i.e., when the donor base station 30 receives a RA preamble from the relay base station 20),
And relays the random access channel message to a second serving cell (see Fig.’s 1 & 4 i.e., Donor BS 30) to facilitate a random access procedure between the UE and the second serving cell (see Fig. 1 i.e., donor base station 30 cell (i.e., “second serving cell”) Fig. 4 & Para [0050] i.e., when the donor base station 30 receives (i.e., “relay the random access channel message”) a RA preamble from the relay base station 20…the donor base station 30 preferentially transmits Msg2)
(Ohara suggests the donor base station 30 receives the RA preamble from the relay base station 20 in order to transmit Msg2 for successfully performing a random access procedure and establishing a connection with the UE 10, (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0046] & [0050])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the random access channel message transmitted by the UE to the second serving cell based at least in part on the system information included within the broadcast system information message received by the UE as disclosed in Kim to be alternatively transmitted to the first serving cell and for the first serving cell to relay the random access channel message to the second serving cell for connecting to the second serving cell as disclosed in the teachings of Ohara, because the motivation lies in Ohara that the donor base station 30 receives the RA preamble from the relay base station 20 in order to transmit Msg2 for successfully performing a random access procedure and establishing a connection with the UE.
While Kim discloses the first serving cell and the second serving cell are each respectively associated with a first radio access technology and a second radio access technology (see Fig. 13 i.e., first base station 610-1 may be associated with a second radio access technology (e.g., 4G or 5G) and second base station 610-2 may be associated with a second radio access technology (e.g., 4G or 5G)), (see Para’s [0050-0051] i.e., the plurality of communication nodes (i.e., the base stations) may support 4G communication, 5G communication, [0064-0066] i.e., The macro base station provides communication services to the terminals based on 4G or 5G communication protocols. The small base station 330 may provide communication services to the terminals based on 4G or 5G communication protocols, [0081] i.e., The communication system of Fig. 6 may belong to the communication system of Fig. 3 (i.e., includes micro base station & macro base station)…For example, the embodiments described below may be applied to a macro base station, the small base station, the TRP or the like, [0159-0160] i.e., the second station 610-2 of Fig. 13 may be the second base station 610-2 of Fig. 6), the combination of Kim in view of Ohara does not disclose wherein the broadcast system information message is associated with a first radio access technology and comprises system information for connecting to a second serving cell associated with a second radio access technology. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hathiramani US (2026/0025868).
Hathiramani discloses wherein the broadcast system information message is associated with a first radio access technology and comprises system information for connecting to a second serving cell associated with a second radio access technology (see Para [0100] i.e., Otherwise, the 5G DSS cell advertises the existence of a 6G DSS cell and provides the UE, e.g. via the 5G system information message (i.e., “broadcast system information message associated with 5G RAT”), with minimum system information needed to camp on the 6G cell…6G-capable UEs are redirected to the 6G DSS cell (i.e., UE connects to the second 6G serving cell) & [0103] i.e., The 5G DSS cell provides broadcast information to UEs, which comprise at least minimum information required to establish an RRC connection with the 6G DSS cell))
(Hathiramani suggests the 5G cell provides the 5G system information related to the 6G cell in order for the UE to connect to the 6G cell which results in reduced overhead and energy by the 6G cell not transmitting DL signaling and MIB to UEs that are not connected to the 6G cell and power consumption is reduced at the UE based on receiving 6G cell MIB via the 5G system information message, (see Para’s [0100] & [0103])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the firsts serving cell associated with a first radio access technology which broadcasts system information to the UE for connecting to a second serving cell associated with a second radio access technology as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara to be implemented as the 5G serving cell which broadcasts system information associated with a first radio access technology (i.e., “5G”) comprising system information for connecting to a second serving cell associated with a second radio access technology (i.e., “6G”) to the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Hathiramani, because the motivation lies in Hathiramani that the 5G cell provides the 5G system information related to the 6G cell in order for the UE to connect to the 6G cell which results in reduced overhead and energy by the 6G cell not transmitting DL signaling and MIB to UEs that are not connected to the 6G cell and power consumption is reduced at the UE based on receiving 6G cell MIB via the 5G system information message.
Regarding Claim 17, Kim discloses the network entity of claim 15, wherein the system information for connecting to the second serving cell comprises one or more random access channel sequences for transmitting the random access channel message, resources associated with random access channel occasions (Kim, see Para’s [0162] i.e., The terminal 620 may receive the common information from the first base station 610-1, and identify the resource allocation information for the random access procedure included in the common information. The resource allocation information for the random access procedure may include a parameter indicating a frequency resource, a parameter indicating a time resource, a resource hopping pattern & [0165] i.e., the terminal 620 may transmit to the second base station 610-2 a random access preamble by using a resource indicated by the common information acquired from the first base station 610-1), one or more random access response search space configurations, one or more bandwidth parts for communicating with the second serving cell, a control resource set associated with the second serving cell, or any combination thereof.
Regarding Claim 29, Kim discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 130 & Para’s [0052-0055], [0057], & [0164] i.e., terminal 620), comprising: receiving a broadcast system information message from a first serving cell, (see Fig. 13 & Para’s [0161-0162] i.e., common information message (S1301) transmitted from the first base station 610-1 to the terminal 620…the common information may include system information, & [0164] i.e., When the terminal 620 moves from the cell coverage of the first base station 610-1 to the cell coverage of the second base station 610-2, the terminal 620 may perform communications (e.g., random access procedure) with the second base station 610-2 by using the common information (e.g., the broadcast information) acquired from the first base station 610-1, & [0226] i.e., the common information may include system information transmitted in a broadcast manner)
wherein the broadcast system information message comprises system information for connecting to a second serving cell, (see Para’s [0161-0162] i.e., The first base station 610-1 may transmit common information (S1301)…The common information may include system information, [0164] i.e., the terminal 620 may perform communications (e.g., random access procedure) with the second base station 610-2 by using the common information (e.g., the broadcast information) acquired from the first base station 610-1, [0165] i.e., The terminal 620 may transmit to the second base station 610-2, a random access preamble by using a resource indicated by the common information acquired from the first base station 610-1 (S1302) & [0226] i.e., the common information may include system information transmitted in a broadcast manner) associated with a second radio access technology, (see Fig. 13 i.e., second base station 610-2 may be associated with a second radio access technology (e.g., 4G or 5G)), (see Para’s [0050-0051] i.e., the plurality of communication nodes (i.e., the base stations) may support 4G communication, 5G communication, [0064-0066] i.e., The macro base station provides communication services to the terminals based on 4G or 5G communication protocols. The small base station 330 may provide communication services to the terminals based on 4G or 5G communication protocols, [0081] i.e., The communication system of Fig. 6 may belong to the communication system of Fig. 3 (i.e., includes micro base station & macro base station)…For example, the embodiments described below may be applied to a macro base station, the small base station, the TRP or the like, [0159-0160] i.e., the second station 610-2 of Fig. 13 may be the second base station 610-2 of Fig. 6)
and wherein the broadcast system information message comprises a synchronization signal block message (see Para [0226] i.e., The common information may include system information transmitted in a broadcast manner, synchronization signal (e.g., synchronization signal block (i.e., SSB)), a system information block message, a master information block message (see Para [0176] i.e., system information may be transmitted in MIB), or any combination thereof;
transmit a random access channel message to the second serving cell based at least in part on receiving the system information included within the broadcast system information message; (see Para’s [0161] i.e., the common information may include system information, [0164] i.e., the terminal 620 may perform communications (e.g., random access procedure) with the second base station 610-2 by using the common information (e.g., the broadcast information) acquired from the first base station 610-1 [0165] i.e., The terminal 620 may transmit to the second base station 610-2, a random access preamble (i.e., “random access channel message”) by using a resource indicated by the common information acquired from the first base station 610-1 (S1302)).
perform a random access procedure with the second serving cell to establish a wireless connection with the second serving cell based at least in part on transmitting the random access channel message; (see Fig. 13 & Para’s [0164] i.e., the terminal 620 may perform communications (e.g., random access procedure) with the second base station 610-2 by using the common information (e.g., the broadcast information) acquired from the first base station 610-1, [0165] i.e., The terminal 620 may transmit to the second base station 610-2, a random access preamble (i.e., “random access channel message”) by using a resource indicated by the common information acquired from the first base station 610-1 (S1302)…The terminal 620 may receive the response message to the random access preamble from the second base station 610-2)
and communicate one or more messages with the second serving cell based at least in part on the random access procedure, (see Fig. 13 i.e., S1304 & Para [0169] i.e., When the response message is received from the second base station 610-2, the terminal 620 may transmit a signaling message including information on the terminal 620 to the second base station 610-2 (S1304))
Kim does not disclose the claim features of transmitting, to the first serving cell, the random access channel message for relaying by the first serving cell to the second serving cell. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880).
Ohara discloses transmitting, to the first serving cell (see Fig. 1 i.e., relay node 20 cell), a random access channel message (see Fig. 4, S103 & Para [0046] i.e., RA preambles transmitted by the user equipment 10 may be received by the relay base station 20) for relaying by the first serving cell to the second serving cell (see Fig. 1 i.e., donor base station cell 30), (see Para [0050] i.e., In the second example, when the donor base station 30 receives a RA preamble from the relay base station 20 (i.e., relay BS 20 relays the RA preamble to Donor BS 30)…the donor base station 30 preferentially transmits Msg2)
(Ohara suggests the donor base station 30 receives the RA preamble from the relay base station 20 in order to transmit Msg2 for successfully performing a random access procedure and establishing a connection with the UE 10, (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0046] & [0050])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the random access channel message transmitted from the UE to the second serving cell based on receiving the system information for accessing the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim to be relayed by the first serving cell to the second serving cell as disclosed in the teachings of Ohara who discloses transmitting, to a first serving cell of a relay node base station, a random access channel message for relaying by the first serving cell to a second serving cell of a donor base station, because the motivation lies in Ohara that the donor base station receives the RA preamble from the relay base station in order to transmit Msg2 for successfully performing a random access procedure and establishing a connection with the UE.
While Kim discloses the first serving cell and the second serving cell are each respectively associated with a first radio access technology and a second radio access technology (see Fig. 13 i.e., first base station 610-1 may be associated with a second radio access technology (e.g., 4G or 5G) and second base station 610-2 may be associated with a second radio access technology (e.g., 4G or 5G)), (see Para’s [0050-0051] i.e., the plurality of communication nodes (i.e., the base stations) may support 4G communication, 5G communication, [0064-0066] i.e., The macro base station provides communication services to the terminals based on 4G or 5G communication protocols. The small base station 330 may provide communication services to the terminals based on 4G or 5G communication protocols, [0081] i.e., The communication system of Fig. 6 may belong to the communication system of Fig. 3 (i.e., includes micro base station & macro base station)…For example, the embodiments described below may be applied to a macro base station, the small base station, the TRP or the like, [0159-0160] i.e., the second station 610-2 of Fig. 13 may be the second base station 610-2 of Fig. 6), the combination of Kim in view of Ohara does not disclose wherein the broadcast system information message is associated with a first radio access technology and comprises system information for connecting to a second serving cell associated with a second radio access technology. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hathiramani US (2026/0025868).
Hathiramani discloses wherein the broadcast system information message is associated with a first radio access technology and comprises system information for connecting to a second serving cell associated with a second radio access technology (see Para [0100] i.e., Otherwise, the 5G DSS cell advertises the existence of a 6G DSS cell and provides the UE, e.g. via the 5G system information message (i.e., “broadcast system information message associated with 5G RAT”), with minimum system information needed to camp on the 6G cell…6G-capable UEs are redirected to the 6G DSS cell (i.e., UE connects to the second 6G serving cell) & [0103] i.e., The 5G DSS cell provides broadcast information to UEs, which comprise at least minimum information required to establish an RRC connection with the 6G DSS cell))
(Hathiramani suggests the 5G cell provides the 5G system information related to the 6G cell in order for the UE to connect to the 6G cell which results in reduced overhead and energy by the 6G cell not transmitting DL signaling and MIB to UEs that are not connected to the 6G cell and power consumption is reduced at the UE based on receiving 6G cell MIB via the 5G system information message, (see Para’s [0100] & [0103])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the firsts serving cell associated with a first radio access technology which broadcasts system information to the UE for connecting to a second serving cell associated with a second radio access technology as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara to be implemented as the 5G serving cell which broadcasts system information associated with a first radio access technology (i.e., “5G”) comprising system information for connecting to a second serving cell associated with a second radio access technology (i.e., “6G”) to the UE as disclosed in the teachings of Hathiramani, because the motivation lies in Hathiramani that the 5G cell provides the 5G system information related to the 6G cell in order for the UE to connect to the 6G cell which results in reduced overhead and energy by the 6G cell not transmitting DL signaling and MIB to UEs that are not connected to the 6G cell and power consumption is reduced at the UE based on receiving 6G cell MIB via the 5G system information message.
Claims 25-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2019/0215828) in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880), and further in view of Li et al. US (2024/0137849).
Regarding Claim 25, Li discloses a network entity associated with a second serving cell (see Fig. 13 i.e., second base station 610-2 (i.e., “second serving cell”)), the network entity comprising: one or more memories (see Fig. 2 i.e., memory 220 & Para’s [0053-0054]) storing processor-executable code (see Para’s [0054] & [0230-0231]); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (see Fig. 2 i.e., processor 210 & Para’s [0053-0054]) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (see Para’s [0054] & [0230-0231]) to cause the network entity (see Fig. 13, 610-2) to, via the second serving cell:
A first serving cell associated with a first radio access technology (see Fig. 13 i.e., first base station 610-1 (i.e., “first serving cell”) may be associated with a first radio access technology (e.g., 4G or 5G) & Para’s [0050-0051] i.e., the plurality of communication nodes (i.e., the base stations) may support 4G communication, 5G communication, [0064-0066] i.e., The macro base station provides communication services to the terminals based on 4G or 5G communication protocols. The small base station 330 may provide communication services to the terminals based on 4G or 5G communication protocols, [0081] i.e., The communication system of Fig. 6 may belong to the communication system of Fig. 3 (i.e., includes micro base station & macro base station)…For example, the embodiments described below may be applied to a macro base station, the small base station, the TRP or the like, [0159-0160] i.e., the first base station 610-1 of Fig. 13 may be the first base station 610-1 of Fig. 6)
receive a random access channel message associated with the UE (see Fig. 13 i.e., S1302 & Para [0165] i.e., the terminal 620 may transmit to the second base station 610-2 a random access preamble by using a resource indicated by the common information acquired from the first base station 610-1 (S1302))
wherein the second serving cell is associated with a second radio access technology (see Fig. 13 i.e., second base station 610-2 may be associated with a second radio access technology (e.g., 4G or 5G)), (see Para’s [0050-0051] i.e., the plurality of communication nodes (i.e., the base stations) may support 4G communication, 5G communication, [0064-0066] i.e., The macro base station provides communication services to the terminals based on 4G or 5G communication protocols. The small base station 330 may provide communication services to the terminals based on 4G or 5G communication protocols, [0081] i.e., The communication system of Fig. 6 may belong to the communication system of Fig. 3 (i.e., includes micro base station & macro base station)…For example, the embodiments described below may be applied to a macro base station, the small base station, the TRP or the like, [0159-0160] i.e., the second station 610-2 of Fig. 13 may be the second base station 610-2 of Fig. 6)
perform a random access procedure with the UE based at least in part on receiving the random access channel message (see Fig. 13 & Para’s [0164] i.e., the terminal 620 may perform communications (e.g., random access procedure) with the second base station 610-2 by using the common information (e.g., the broadcast information) acquired from the first base station 610-1, [0165] i.e., The terminal 620 may transmit to the second base station 610-2, a random access preamble (i.e., “random access channel message”) by using a resource indicated by the common information acquired from the first base station 610-1 (S1302)…The terminal 620 may receive the response message to the random access preamble from the second base station 610-2)
and communicate one or more messages with the UE based at least in part on the random access procedure, (see Fig. 13 i.e., S1304 & Para [0169] i.e., When the response message is received from the second base station 610-2, the terminal 620 may transmit a signaling message including information on the terminal 620 to the second base station 610-2 (S1304))
While Kim discloses the second serving cell receiving a random access channel message associated with the UE (see Fig. 13 i.e., S1302 & Para [0165]), Kim does not disclose the claim feature of receiving, from the first serving cell, a relayed random access channel message associated with the UE and perform a random access procedure with the UE based at least in part on receiving the relayed random access channel message. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880).
Ohara discloses transmitting, to a first serving cell (see Fig. 1 i.e., relay node 20 cell), a random access channel message (see Fig. 4, S103 & Para [0046] i.e., RA preambles transmitted by the user equipment 10 may be received by the relay base station 20) for relaying by the first serving cell to a network entity associated with a second serving cell (see Fig. 1 i.e., donor base station cell 30), (see Para [0050] i.e., In the second example, when the donor base station 30 receives a RA preamble from the relay base station 20 (i.e., relay BS 20 relays the RA preamble to Donor BS 30)…the donor base station 30 preferentially transmits Msg2)
perform a random access procedure with the UE based at least in part on receiving the relayed random access channel message(see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0046] & [0050])).
(Ohara suggests the donor base station 30 receives the RA preamble from the relay base station 20 in order to transmit Msg2 for successfully performing a random access procedure and establishing a connection with the UE 10, (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0046] & [0050])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the random access channel message transmitted from the UE to the network entity such as the second base station for accessing the network entity as disclosed in Kim to be relayed by the first serving cell to the second serving cell of the network entity based on the teachings of Ohara who discloses transmitting, to a first serving cell of a relay node base station, a random access channel message for relaying by the first serving cell to a second serving cell of a donor base station, resulting in the second serving cell receiving from the first serving cell, a relayed random access channel message associated with the UE, because the motivation lies in Ohara that the donor base station receives the RA preamble from the relay base station in order to transmit Msg2 for successfully performing a random access procedure and establishing a connection with the UE.
The combination of Kim in view of Ohara does not disclose the claim feature of receiving, from the first serving cell or a user equipment (UE), a wake-up signal that indicates the second serving cell to wake-up from a sleep state to an active state and perform the random access procedure with the UE based at least in part on receiving the wake-up signal. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Li et al. US (2024/0137849).
Li discloses a network entity associated with a second serving cell (see Para [0191] i.e., the second base station is a base station that manages the first dormant cell) receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a wake-up signal that indicates the second serving cell to wake-up from a sleep state to an active state (see Para [0190] i.e., the UE sends the wake-up signal to the second base station through the first dormant cell, [0192-0193] i.e., the second base station will be in an active state when sending the downlink common signal and the SSB after receiving the wake-up signal to wake-up the dormant cell, [0197] i.e., the UE may obtain the configuration information of the dormant cell, to directly access the dormant cell or wake up the dormant cell by using the wake-up signal (i.e., waking up the dormant cell based on the wake-up signal will be from a sleep state to an active state) & [0208] i.e., the UE may send a wake-up signal corresponding to the first reference signal to the second base station, to indicate the second base station to wake up the first dormant cell & [0238] i.e., dormant cell does not send a downlink common signal when the dormant cell is in a cell idle state)
and perform a random access procedure with the UE based at least in part on receiving the wake-up signal and on receiving a random access channel message (see Para’s [0192-0194] i.e., the wake-up signal indicates the second base station to send the downlink common signal to the UE in the first dormant cell, for example, send an SSB. The wake-up signal and the SSB #2 satisfy the association relationship #2, so that the UE may perform random access based on the SSB of the first dormant cell)
and communicate one or more messages with the UE based at least in part on the random access procedure, (see Para’s [0076] i.e., the terminal may access the network device through the cell, to obtain a communication service, [0119] i.e., the random access may be initiated to complete cell access, [0146] i.e., The base station and the UE use a same spatial domain parameter when sending and receiving a signal (i.e., one or more signals or messages will be communicated with the UE based on the random access procedure performed by the UE for accessing the cell), so that the signal received quality may be improved, & [0192])
(Li suggests the UE may obtain the configuration information of the dormant cell, to directly access the dormant cell or wake up the dormant cell by using the wake-up signal, avoid first accessing the basic cell and then being handed over to the dormant cell, and reduce the delay of accessing the dormant cell, (see Para’s [0182] & [0197-0198])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the network entity associated with the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara to receive, from the user equipment (UE), a wake-up signal that indicates the second serving cell to wake-up from a sleep state to an active state and perform the random access procedure with the UE based at least in part on receiving the wake-up signal as disclosed in the teachings of Li, because the motivation lies in Li that the UE may obtain the configuration information of the dormant cell, to directly access the dormant cell or wake up the dormant cell by using the wake-up signal, avoid first accessing the basic cell and then being handed over to the dormant cell, and reduce the delay of accessing the dormant cell.
Regarding Claim 26, Kim in view of Ohara discloses the network entity of claim 25, but does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to, via the second serving cell: transmit a system information message to the UE based at least in part on receiving the wake-up signal, wherein the system information message comprises system information usable by the UE for connecting with the second serving cell. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Li et al. US (2024/0137849).
Li discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to, via the second serving cell: transmit a system information message to the UE based at least in part on receiving the wake-up signal (see Para’s [0190-0193] i.e., The wake-up signal indicates the second base station to send the downlink common signal to the UE in the first dormant cell, for example, an SSB (i.e., “system information message”)…the UE may perform random access based on the SSB of the first dormant cell), wherein the system information message comprises system information usable by the UE for connecting with the second serving cell, (see Para’s [0193-0195] i.e., the UE receives the SSB#2 from the first dormant cell…the UE may determine to initiate the random access to the first dormant cell through one PRACH (i.e., system information such as configured PRACH for the random access procedure) corresponding to the SSB#2. The association relationship between the SSB#2 and the PRACH may include the configuration information (i.e., “system information”), of the dormant cell, that is obtained by the UE).
(Li suggests the UE may obtain the configuration information of the dormant cell, to directly access the dormant cell or wake up the dormant cell by using the wake-up signal, avoid first accessing the basic cell and then being handed over to the dormant cell, and reduce the delay of accessing the dormant cell, (see Para’s [0182] & [0197-0198])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the network entity associated with the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara to transmit a system information message to the UE based at least in part on receiving the wake-up signal, wherein the system information message comprises system information usable by the UE for connecting with the second serving cell as disclosed in the teachings of Li, because the motivation lies in Li that the UE may obtain the configuration information of the dormant cell, to directly access the dormant cell or wake up the dormant cell by using the wake-up signal, avoid first accessing the basic cell and then being handed over to the dormant cell, and reduce the delay of accessing the dormant cell.
Regarding Claim 28, Kim in view of Ohara discloses the network entity of claim 25 including the relayed random access channel message, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the wakeup signal is received via the relayed random access channel message. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Li et al. US (2024/0137849).
Li discloses wherein the wakeup signal is received via a random access channel message (Li, see Para [0123] i.e., For example, if the wake-up signal is a preamble of a PRACH).
(Li suggests the UE may obtain the configuration information of the dormant cell, to directly access the dormant cell or wake up the dormant cell by using the wake-up signal, avoid first accessing the basic cell and then being handed over to the dormant cell, and reduce the delay of accessing the dormant cell, (see Para’s [0182] & [0197-0198])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the relayed random access channel message received by the network entity as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara to include the wakeup signal based on the teachings of Li who discloses the wake-up signal is a preamble of a PRACH, which results in the wakeup signal received via the relayed random access channel message, because the motivation lies in Li that the UE may obtain the configuration information of the dormant cell, to directly access the dormant cell or wake up the dormant cell by using the wake-up signal, avoid first accessing the basic cell and then being handed over to the dormant cell, and reduce the delay of accessing the dormant cell.
Claims 2, 10, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2019/0215828) in view of in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880), and further in view of Hathiramani US (2026/0025868) as applied to claims 1 and 29 above, and further in view of Shi et al. US (2023/0080717).
Regarding Claims 2 and 30, Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani discloses the UE and method of claims 1 and 29 including the broadcast system information message comprising the system information for connecting to the second serving cell (see Para’s [0164-0165]), but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the broadcast system information message comprises one or more bit fields that indicate whether the broadcast system information message comprises the system information. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Shi et al. US (2023/0080717).
Shi discloses wherein the broadcast system information message comprises one or more bit fields that indicate whether the broadcast system information message comprises the system information, (see Para’s [0059-0061] i.e., the network equipment may indicate the system information blocks to which a system information related index corresponds to the UE via an SIB-Mappinginfo field included in a broadcast message, [0064-0065] i.e., the network equipment may indicate the system information blocks to which the system information related index corresponds to the UE in a bitmap manner, [0066-0067] i.e., For example, the network equipment may configure a bitmap field for each area related ID or system information related index in a broadcast message transmitted by a network side, and indicates all system information blocks to which the system information related index corresponds via the bitmap field & [0109]).
(Shi suggests the SIB-mappinginfo field in a broadcast message is transmitted by the network side for indicating by using a bitmap field, whether a system information block corresponding to the system information related index corresponding to the UE is present in order for the UE to receive configuration of one or more pieces of system information broadcast by the current cell, (see Para’s [0059-0068]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the broadcast system information message comprising the system information (i.e., SIB) for connecting to the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani to comprise one or more bit fields that indicate whether the broadcast system information message comprises the system information, such as the SIB-Mappinginfo field included in the broadcast message sent to the UE as disclosed in Shi, because the motivation lies in Shi that the SIB-mappinginfo field in the broadcast message is transmitted by the network side for indicating by using a bitmap field, whether a system information block corresponding to the system information related index corresponding to the UE is present in order for the UE to receive configuration of one or more pieces of system information broadcast by the current cell.
Regarding Claim 10, Kim discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the system information included within the broadcast system information message is associated with a system information block configuration, (see Para’s [0123], [0159-0161], [0164] & [0189] i.e., system information may be indicated by SIB)
wherein the system information is associated with a first interpretation if the system information block configuration is applied to the first serving cell, (see Fig. 10 i.e., S1002 & Para [0123] i.e., The first base station 610-1 may inform the terminal 620 of the configuration information of the common resource through a system information transmission procedure (i.e., “system information block configuration”). The terminal may acquire the configuration information of the common resource from the first base station 610-1, and identify the downlink beam resource and the uplink beam resource based on the configuration information of the common resource (i.e., first interpretation associated with system information of the first base station 610-1) & [0189] i.e., system information may be indicated by SIB)
and wherein system information is associated with a second interpretation if the system information block configuration is applied to the second serving cell, (see Fig. 13 i.e., S1301 & Para’s [0159-0161] & [0164] i.e., When the terminal 620 moves from the cell coverage of the first base station 610-1 to the cell coverage of the second base station 610-2, the terminal 620 may perform communications with the second base station 610-2 by using the common information (e.g., broadcast information) acquired from the first base station (i.e., second interpretation associated with system information of the second base station 610-1) …Alternatively, the terminal 620 may communicate with the second base station 610-2 after acquiring partial system information e.g., remaining system information, other system information) from the second base station 610-2 (i.e., second interpretation associated with system information of the second base station 610-1) & [0189] i.e., system information may be indicated by SIB).
Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani does not disclose wherein the system information included within the broadcast system information message comprises one or more bit fields associated with a system information block configuration, wherein the one or more bit fields are associated with an interpretation for the system information block configuration if the system information block configuration is applied to the serving cell. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Shi et al. US (2023/0080717).
Shi wherein the system information included within the broadcast system information message comprises one or more bit fields associated with a system information block configuration, (see Para’s [0059-0061] i.e., the network equipment may indicate the system information blocks to which a system information related index corresponds to the UE via an SIB-Mappinginfo field included in a broadcast message, [0064-0065] i.e., the network equipment may indicate the system information blocks to which the system information related index corresponds to the UE in a bitmap manner, [0066-0067] i.e., For example, the network equipment may configure a bitmap field for each area related ID or system information related index in a broadcast message transmitted by a network side, and indicates all system information blocks to which the system information related index corresponds via the bitmap field & [0109]).
wherein the one or more bit fields are associated with an interpretation for the system information block configuration if the system information block configuration is applied to the serving cell (see Para’s [0059], [0064-0065] i.e., the network equipment may notify the UE of the system information via the SIB-MappingInfofield (i.e., UE will interpret the one or more bit fields for the SIB configuration applied to the current cell) & [0066-0067] i.e., For example, the network equipment may configure a bitmap field for each area related ID or system information related index in a broadcast message transmitted by a network side, and indicates all system information blocks to which the area related ID or the system information related index corresponds via the bitmap field)
(Shi suggests the SIB-mappinginfo field in a broadcast message is transmitted by the network side for indicating by using a bitmap field, whether a system information block corresponding to the system information related index corresponding to the UE is present in order for the UE to receive configuration of one or more pieces of system information broadcast by the current cell, (see Para’s [0059-0068]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the system information included within the broadcast system information message associated with a SIB configuration which is associated with a first interpretation if the system information block configuration is applied to the first serving cell or a second interpretation if the system information block configuration is applied to the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani to comprise one or more bitfields associated with the SIB configuration such as the SIB-Mappinginfo field included in the broadcast message sent to the UE as disclosed in Shi, which results in the one or more bit fields associated with the first interpretation or second interpretation based on whether the SIB configuration is applied to the first serving cell or the second serving cell, because the motivation lies in Shi that the SIB-mappinginfo field in the broadcast message is transmitted by the network side for indicating to the UE by using a bitmap field, whether a system information block corresponding to the system information related index corresponding to the UE is present in order for the UE to receive configuration of one or more pieces of system information broadcast by the current cell.
Claims 4, 7, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2019/0215828) in view of in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880), and further in view of Hathiramani US (2026/0025868) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. US (2024/0137849).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the system information included within the broadcast system information message indicates whether a first set of resources for communicating with the first serving cell are located on a separate component carrier relative to a second set of resources for communicating with the second serving cell (Kim, see Para [0163] i.e., For example, the first base station 610-1 may configure broadcast information (e.g., a mapping relation between resources for transmission of downlink control information and resources for the random access procedure) for each virtual sector)), or whether the first set of resources for communicating with the first serving cell are within a same component carrier as the second set of resources for communicating with the second serving cell, but does not disclose the claim feature of indicating the communication with the first serving cell is located on a separate component carrier relative to the communication with the second serving cell. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Li et al. US (2024/0137849).
Li discloses indicating the communication with a first serving cell is located on a separate component carrier relative to the communication with a second serving cell, (see Para’s [0086] i.e., In the multi-carrier deployment scenario, a plurality of data carriers of one or more network devices may provide a communication service for the terminal. The network device may set one of the data carriers as a basic component carrier (BCC), normally send the downlink common signal, and broadcast system information of another data carrier. The another data carrier may be referred to as a dormant component carrier (DCC). The basic component carrier may also be referred to as a basic cell (i.e., “first serving cell”), and the dormant component carrier may also be referred to as a dormant cell (i.e., “second serving cell”) & [0087] i.e., the terminal may directly access the DCC based on system information of the DCC broadcast by the BCC).
(Li suggests the UE may access the dormant cell based on system information of the DCC broadcast by the BCC, and does not need to first access the BCC which results in reduced signaling overhead associated with accessing the basic cell, (see Para’s [0086-0087])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the broadcast system information message indicating the resources for communicating with the first serving cell and the second set of resources for communicating with the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani to be located on sperate carriers based on the teachings of Li who discloses the communication with a first serving cell is located on a separate component carrier relative to the communication with a second serving cell which is indicated in broadcast system information to the UE from the first serving cell, because the motivation lies in Li that the UE may access the dormant cell based on system information of the DCC broadcast by the BCC, and does not need to first access the BCC which results in reduced signaling overhead associated with accessing the basic cell.
Regarding Claim 7, Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani discloses the UE of claim 6, wherein the second broadcast system information message is received based at least in part on the random access channel message (see Fig. 13 i.e., S1303 & Para’s [0166] & [0168]), but does not disclose wherein the random access channel message comprises a wake-up indication for the second serving cell. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Li et al. US (2024/0137849).
Li discloses wherein a random access channel message comprises a wake-up indication for a second serving cell (see Para’s [0123] i.e., wake-up signal may be a preamble of a physical random access channel (PRACH), [0190] i.e., The UE sends the wake-up signal to the second base station through the first dormant cell, & [0192] i.e., the wake-up signal sent to the second base station is for performing random access)
(Li suggests the UE sends the wake-up indication to the second serving cell for waking up the cell in order to perform random access for accessing the second serving cell, (see Para’s [0054], [0125], & [0190-0192])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the random access channel message used for accessing the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani to comprise the wake-up indication for the second serving cell as disclosed in the teachings of Li, because the motivation lies in Li that the UE sends the wake-up indication to the second serving cell for waking up the cell in order to perform random access for accessing the second serving cell.
Regarding Claim 11, Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani discloses the UE of claim 1, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive one or more synchronization signal block messages from the second serving cell based at least in part on transmitting the random access channel message, wherein performing the random access procedure is based at least in part on receiving the one or more synchronization signal block messages. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Li et al. US (2024/0137849).
Li discloses the UE to: receive one or more synchronization signal block messages from the second serving cell based at least in part on transmitting the random access channel message (see Para’s [0123] i.e., wake-up signal may be a preamble of a physical random access channel (PRACH) & [0190-0192] i.e., The wake-up signal indicates the second base station to send the downlink common signal to the UE in the first dormant cell, for example, send an SSB), wherein performing the random access procedure is based at least in part on receiving the one or more synchronization signal block messages, (see Para [0192] i.e., the UE may perform random access based on the SSB of the first dormant cell)
(Li suggests the UE sends the wake-up indication to second serving cell for waking up the cell in order to receive the SSB for perform random access for accessing the second serving cell, (see Para’s [0054], [0125], & [0190-0192])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the random access channel message used for accessing the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani to comprise the wake-up indication for a second serving cell as disclosed in the teachings of Li who discloses receive one or more synchronization signal block messages from the second serving cell based at least in part on transmitting the random access channel message, because the motivation lies in Li that the UE sends the wake-up indication to second serving cell for waking up the cell in order to receive the SSB for perform random access for accessing the second serving cell.
Regarding Claim 12, Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani discloses the UE of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first serving cell and the second serving cell are supported by a same network entity. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Li et al. US (2024/0137849).
Li discloses wherein a first serving cell and a second serving cell are supported by a same network entity (see Para [0191] i.e., The second base station and the first base station that manages the basic cell may be a same base station).
(Li suggests the UE may access the dormant cell based on system information of the DCC broadcast by the BCC, and does not need to first access the BCC which results in reduced signaling overhead associated with accessing the basic cell, (see Para’s [0086-0087])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first serving cell and the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani to be supported by a same network entity as disclosed in the teachings of Li who discloses wherein a first serving cell and a second serving cell are supported by a same base station, because the motivation lies in Li that the UE may access the dormant cell based on system information of the DCC broadcast by the BCC, and does not need to first access the BCC which results in reduced signaling overhead associated with accessing the basic cell.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2019/0215828) in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880), and further in view of Hathiramani US (2026/0025868) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Qiang et al. US (2022/0353771).
Regarding Claim 13, Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani discloses the UE of claim 1, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the first serving cell is associated with a first radio access technology, and wherein the second serving cell is associated with a second radio access technology. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Qiang et al. US (2022/0353771).
Qiang discloses wherein a first serving cell is associated with a first radio access technology, and wherein the second serving cell is associated with a second radio access technology (see Para’s [0005], [0012] i.e., the access stratum of the terminal device may receive system information of the second cell including identification information of the second cell…or information about the radio access technology of the second cell. The access stratum perceives, based on the system information, that the radio access technologies of the first cell and the second cell are different & [0020] i.e., radio access technologies of the first cell and the second cell are different…The radio access technology of the first cell may be new radio, and the radio access technology of the second cell may be evolved universal terrestrial radio access).
(Qiang suggests the UE receives system information of the second cell in order for the UE to efficiently access the second cell by performing inter-RAT cell selection or re-selection, (see Para’s [0005], [0012], [0020], & [0142])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first serving cell and the second serving cell which the UE accesses as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani to be associated with a first radio access technology and a second radio access technology according to the first serving cell and the second serving cell as disclosed in Qiang who discloses wherein a first serving cell is associated with a first radio access technology which is different from the second serving cell which is associated with a second radio access technology, because the motivation lies in Qiang that the UE receives system information of the second cell in order for the UE to efficiently access the second cell by performing inter-RAT cell selection or re-selection.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2019/0215828) in view of in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880), further in view of Hathiramani US (2026/0025868), further in view of Qiang et al. US (2022/0353771) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Satpathy et al. USP (11,838,813).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination Kim in view of Ohara, further in view of Hathiramani, and further in view of Qiang discloses the UE of claim 13, but does not disclose wherein the first radio access technology comprises a Fifth Generation radio access technology, a New Radio access technology, or both, and wherein the second radio access technology comprises a Sixth Generation radio access technology. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Satpathy et al. USP (11,838,813).
Satpathy discloses wherein a UE can move or handover between a first radio access technology comprising a Fifth Generation radio access technology, a New Radio access technology, or both, and a second radio access technology comprising a Sixth Generation radio access technology (see Col. 9 lines 19-30 i.e., transmitting from the node of a wireless network, a second message instructing the UE to move to the cell of the second wireless technology generation; performing a handover of the UE from the serving cell to the cell of the second wireless technology generation; the first wireless technology generation comprises 6G and the second wireless access technology generation comprises 5G)
(Satpathy suggests the UE may move or handover between the 5G and 6G radio access technologies based on a received signal strength measurement for the serving cell meeting a threshold level for handover in order to connect to a cell with better communication quality, (see Col. 8 line 56 – Col. 9 lines 1-30)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first radio access technology of the first serving cell and the second radio access technology of the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, further in view of Hathiramani, and further in view of Qiang to comprise a 5G cell and a 6G cell as disclosed in the teachings of Satpathy who discloses wherein a UE can move or handover between a first radio access technology comprising a Fifth Generation radio access technology cell and a second radio access technology comprising a Sixth Generation radio access technology cell, because the motivation lies in Satpathy that the UE may move or handover between the 5G and 6G radio access technologies based on a received signal strength measurement for the serving cell meeting a threshold level for handover in order to connect to a cell with better communication quality.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2019/0215828) in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880), and further in view of Hathiramani US (2026/0025868) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Shi et al. US (2023/0080717).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani discloses the network entity of claim 15 including the broadcast system information message comprising the system information for connecting to the second serving cell (Kim, see Para’s [0164-0165]), but does not disclose wherein the broadcast system information message comprises one or more bit fields that indicate whether the broadcast system information message comprises the system information. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Shi et al. US (2023/0080717).
Shi discloses wherein the broadcast system information message comprises one or more bit fields that indicate whether the broadcast system information message comprises the system information, (see Para’s [0059-0061] i.e., the network equipment may indicate the system information blocks to which a system information related index corresponds to the UE via an SIB-Mappinginfo field included in a broadcast message, [0064-0065] i.e., the network equipment may indicate the system information blocks to which the system information related index corresponds to the UE in a bitmap manner, [0066-0067] i.e., For example, the network equipment may configure a bitmap field for each area related ID or system information related index in a broadcast message transmitted by a network side, and indicates all system information blocks to which the system information related index corresponds via the bitmap field & [0109]).
(Shi suggests the SIB-mappinginfo field in a broadcast message is transmitted by the network side for indicating by using a bitmap field, whether a system information block corresponding to the system information related index corresponding to the UE is present in order for the UE to receive configuration of one or more pieces of system information broadcast by the current cell, (see Para’s [0059-0068]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the broadcast system information message comprising the system information (i.e., SIB) for connecting to the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani to comprise one or more bit fields that indicate whether the broadcast system information message comprises the system information, such as the SIB-Mappinginfo field included in the broadcast message sent to the UE as disclosed in Shi, because the motivation lies in Shi that the SIB-mappinginfo field in the broadcast message is transmitted by the network side for indicating by using a bitmap field, whether a system information block corresponding to the system information related index corresponding to the UE is present in order for the UE to receive configuration of one or more pieces of system information broadcast by the current cell.
Claims 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2019/0215828) in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880), and further in view of Hathiramani US (2026/0025868) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Li et al. US (2024/0137849).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the system information included within the broadcast system information message indicates whether a first set of resources for communicating with the first serving cell are located on a separate component carrier relative to a second set of resources for communicating with the second serving cell (Kim, see Para [0163] i.e., For example, the first base station 610-1 may configure broadcast information (e.g., a mapping relation between resources for transmission of downlink control information and resources for the random access procedure) for each virtual sector)), or whether the first set of resources for communicating with the first serving cell are within a same component carrier as the second set of resources for communicating with the second serving cell, but does not disclose the claim feature of indicating the communication with the first serving cell is located on a separate component carrier relative to the communication with the second serving cell. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Li et al. US (2024/0137849).
Li discloses indicating the communication with a first serving cell is located on a separate component carrier relative to the communication with a second serving cell, (see Para’s [0086] i.e., In the multi-carrier deployment scenario, a plurality of data carriers of one or more network devices may provide a communication service for the terminal. The network device may set one of the data carriers as a basic component carrier (BCC), normally send the downlink common signal, and broadcast system information of another data carrier. The another data carrier may be referred to as a dormant component carrier (DCC). The basic component carrier may also be referred to as a basic cell (i.e., “first serving cell”), and the dormant component carrier may also be referred to as a dormant cell (i.e., “second serving cell”) & [0087] i.e., the terminal may directly access the DCC based on system information of the DCC broadcast by the BCC).
(Li suggests the UE may access the dormant cell based on system information of the DCC broadcast by the BCC, and does not need to first access the BCC which results in reduced signaling overhead associated with accessing the basic cell, (see Para’s [0086-0087])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the broadcast system information message indicating the resources for communicating with the first serving cell and the second set of resources for communicating with the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani to be located on sperate carriers based on the teachings of Li who discloses the communication with a first serving cell is located on a separate component carrier relative to the communication with a second serving cell which is indicated in broadcast system information to the UE from the first serving cell, because the motivation lies in Li that the UE may access the dormant cell based on system information of the DCC broadcast by the BCC, and does not need to first access the BCC which results in reduced signaling overhead associated with accessing the basic cell.
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani discloses the network entity of claim 15, but does not disclose wherein the first serving cell and the second serving cell are supported by a same network entity. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Li et al. US (2024/0137849).
Li discloses wherein a first serving cell and a second serving cell are supported by a same network entity (see Para [0191] i.e., The second base station and the first base station that manages the basic cell may be a same base station).
(Li suggests the UE may access the dormant cell based on system information of the DCC broadcast by the BCC, and does not need to first access the BCC which results in reduced signaling overhead associated with accessing the basic cell, (see Para’s [0086-0087])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first serving cell and the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani to be supported by a same network entity as disclosed in the teachings of Li who discloses wherein a first serving cell and a second serving cell are supported by a same base station, because the motivation lies in Li that the UE may access the dormant cell based on system information of the DCC broadcast by the BCC, and does not need to first access the BCC which results in reduced signaling overhead associated with accessing the basic cell.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2019/0215828) in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880), and further in view of Hathiramani US (2026/0025868) as applied to claim 15 above, further in view of Li et al. US (2024/0137849), and further in view of Bienas et al. US (2014/0126460).
Regarding Claim 19, Kim discloses the UE of claim 6, wherein, to transmit the random access channel message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the random access channel message (see Fig. 13 i.e., S1302 & Para [0165]) and wherein the second broadcast system information message received based at least in part on random access channel message (see Fig. 13 i.e., S1303, see Para’s [0166] & [0168]), but does not disclose the claim feature of transmitting the random access channel message to the first serving cell, and the first serving cell to relay the random access channel message and a wake-up indication to the second serving cell, and wherein relaying the random access channel message is based at least in part on receiving the random access channel message. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880).
Ohara discloses transmitting the random access channel message to the first serving cell (see Fig. 1 i.e., relay base station 20 cell (i.e., “first serving cell”) & Fig. 4 i.e., S103 i.e., Msg1 RA preamble is transmitted to Relay BS 20 & Para [0046] & [0050] i.e., when the donor base station 30 receives a RA preamble from the relay base station 20),
and the first serving cell to relay the random access channel message to the second serving cell (see Fig. 1 i.e., donor base station 30 cell (i.e., “second serving cell”) Fig. 4 & Para [0050] i.e., when the donor base station 30 receives (i.e., “relay the random access channel message”) a RA preamble from the relay base station 20…the donor base station 30 preferentially transmits Msg2 )
and wherein relaying the random access channel message is based at least in part on receiving the random access channel message (see Para [0050] i.e., when the donor base station 30 receives (i.e., “relay the random access channel message”) a RA preamble from the relay base station 20…the donor base station 30 preferentially transmits Msg2)
(Ohara suggests the donor base station 30 receives the RA preamble from the relay base station 20 in order to transmit Msg2 for successfully performing a random access procedure and establishing a connection with the UE 10, (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0046] & [0050])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the random access channel message for the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim to be transmitted to the first serving cell and the first serving cell to relay the random access channel message to the second serving cell based on receiving the random access channel message as disclosed in the teachings of Ohara, because the motivation lies in Ohara that the donor base station 30 receives the RA preamble from the relay base station 20 in order to transmit Msg2 for successfully performing a random access procedure and establishing a connection with the UE 10.
The combination of Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani does not disclose the claim features of wherein the random access channel message comprises a wake-up indication for the second serving cell and wherein relaying the random access channel message is based at least in part on receiving the wake-up indication. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Li et al. US (2024/0137849).
Li discloses wherein a random access channel message comprises a wake-up indication for a second serving cell (see Para’s [0123] i.e., wake-up signal may be a preamble of a physical random access channel (PRACH), [0190] i.e., The UE sends the wake-up signal to the second base station through the first dormant cell, & [0192] i.e., the wake-up signal sent to the second base station is for performing random access)
and wherein random access is performed between the UE and the second serving cell based at least in part on the wake-up indication (see Para’s [0123] & [0190-0193] i.e., The wake-up signal indicates the second base station to send the downlink common signal to the UE in the first dormant cell, for example, send an SSB…the UE may perform random access based on the SSB)
(Li suggests the UE sends the wake-up indication to the second serving cell for waking up the cell in order to perform random access for accessing the second serving cell, (see Para’s [0054], [0125], & [0190-0192])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the random access channel message relayed to the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani to comprise the wake-up indication for the second serving cell as disclosed in the teachings of Li, which results in wherein relaying the random access channel message is based at least in part on receiving the wake-up indication, because the motivation lies in Li that the UE sends the wake-up indication to the second serving cell for waking up the cell in order to perform random access for accessing the second serving cell.
The combination of Kim in view of Ohara, further in view of Hathiramani, and further in view of Li does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the random access channel message comprises a request for the first serving cell to relay the random access channel message and the wake-up indication to the second serving cell. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Bienas et al. US (2014/0126460).
Bienas discloses wherein a random access channel message comprises a request for a serving cell to relay the random access channel message (see Fig. 6 & Para’s [0144-0147] i.e., The RACH resource request 602 (e.g., dedicated preamble request) may include a C-RNTI of the terminal 404…The RACH resource request 602 may include a forwarding flag (i.e., “request”). The forwarding flag (i.e., “request”) of the RACH resource request 602 may be configured to indicate to the relay device 402 that the RACH resource request 602 is to be forwarded (i.e., “relay”) to the cellular network indicated in the RACH resource request 602)
(Bienas suggests the RACH resource request includes the forwarding flag (i.e., “request”) to indicate to the relay device 402 that the RACH resource request 602 is to be forwarded (i.e., “relay”) to the cellular network in order for the UE to properly establish a cellular connection with the cellular base station according to a random access procedure, (see Fig. 6 & Para’s [0144-0147] & [0151-0152])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the random access channel message including the wake-up indication which is relayed from the first serving cell to the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani to comprises a request for a serving cell to relay the random access channel message and the wake-up indication such as the random access channel message disclosed in the teachings of Bienas, because the motivation lies in Bienas that the RACH resource request message includes a forwarding flag to indicate to a relay device that the RACH resource request message is to be forwarded to the cellular network in order for the UE to properly establish a cellular connection with the cellular base station according to a random access procedure.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2019/0215828) in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880), and further in view of Hathiramani US (2026/0025868) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Shi et al. US (2023/0080717).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani discloses the network entity of claim 15, wherein the system information included within the broadcast system information message is associated with a system information block configuration, (Kim, see Para’s [0123], [0159-0161], [0164] & [0189] i.e., system information may be indicated by SIB)
wherein the system information is associated with a first interpretation if the system information block configuration is applied to the first serving cell, (Kim, see Fig. 10 i.e., S1002 & Para [0123] i.e., The first base station 610-1 may inform the terminal 620 of the configuration information of the common resource through a system information transmission procedure (i.e., “system information block configuration”). The terminal may acquire the configuration information of the common resource from the first base station 610-1, and identify the downlink beam resource and the uplink beam resource based on the configuration information of the common resource (i.e., first interpretation associated with system information of the first base station 610-1) & [0189] i.e., system information may be indicated by SIB)
and wherein system information is associated with a second interpretation if the system information block configuration is applied to the second serving cell, (Kim, see Fig. 13 i.e., S1301 & Para’s [0159-0161] & [0164] i.e., When the terminal 620 moves from the cell coverage of the first base station 610-1 to the cell coverage of the second base station 610-2, the terminal 620 may perform communications with the second base station 610-2 by using the common information (e.g., broadcast information) acquired from the first base station (i.e., second interpretation associated with system information of the second base station 610-1) …Alternatively, the terminal 620 may communicate with the second base station 610-2 after acquiring partial system information e.g., remaining system information, other system information) from the second base station 610-2 (i.e., second interpretation associated with system information of the second base station 610-1) & [0189] i.e., system information may be indicated by SIB).
The combination of Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani does not disclose wherein the system information included within the broadcast system information message comprises one or more bit fields associated with a system information block configuration, wherein the one or more bit fields are associated with an interpretation for the system information block configuration if the system information block configuration is applied to the serving cell. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Shi et al. US (2023/0080717).
Shi wherein the system information included within the broadcast system information message comprises one or more bit fields associated with a system information block configuration, (see Para’s [0059-0061] i.e., the network equipment may indicate the system information blocks to which a system information related index corresponds to the UE via an SIB-Mappinginfo field included in a broadcast message, [0064-0065] i.e., the network equipment may indicate the system information blocks to which the system information related index corresponds to the UE in a bitmap manner, [0066-0067] i.e., For example, the network equipment may configure a bitmap field for each area related ID or system information related index in a broadcast message transmitted by a network side, and indicates all system information blocks to which the system information related index corresponds via the bitmap field & [0109]).
wherein the one or more bit fields are associated with an interpretation for the system information block configuration if the system information block configuration is applied to the serving cell (see Para’s [0059], [0064-0065] i.e., the network equipment may notify the UE of the system information via the SIB-MappingInfofield (i.e., UE will interpret the one or more bit fields for the SIB configuration applied to the current cell) & [0066-0067] i.e., For example, the network equipment may configure a bitmap field for each area related ID or system information related index in a broadcast message transmitted by a network side, and indicates all system information blocks to which the area related ID or the system information related index corresponds via the bitmap field)
(Shi suggests the SIB-mappinginfo field in a broadcast message is transmitted by the network side for indicating by using a bitmap field, whether a system information block corresponding to the system information related index corresponding to the UE is present in order for the UE to receive configuration of one or more pieces of system information broadcast by the current cell, (see Para’s [0059-0068]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the system information included within the broadcast system information message associated with a SIB configuration which is associated with a first interpretation if the system information block configuration is applied to the first serving cell or a second interpretation if the system information block configuration is applied to the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani to comprise one or more bitfields associated with the SIB configuration such as the SIB-Mappinginfo field included in the broadcast message sent to the UE as disclosed in Shi, which results in the one or more bit fields associated with the first interpretation or second interpretation based on whether the SIB configuration is applied to the first serving cell or the second serving cell, because the motivation lies in Shi that the SIB-mappinginfo field in the broadcast message is transmitted by the network side for indicating to the UE by using a bitmap field, whether a system information block corresponding to the system information related index corresponding to the UE is present in order for the UE to receive configuration of one or more pieces of system information broadcast by the current cell.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2019/0215828) in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880), and further in view of Hathiramani US (2026/0025868), as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Mukherjee et al. US (2023/0254903).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani discloses the network entity of claim 15 including the network entity to, via the first serving cell, relay a random access channel message to the donor base station 30 including the second serving cell that the UE may connect to (Ohara, see Fig. 4 & Para [0050] i.e., when the donor base station 30 receives a RA preamble from the relay base station 20) and further discloses the donor base station 30 comprises one or more cells (i.e., additional cells including the second serving cell), (Ohara, see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0023] i.e., the donor base station 30 is a communication device that provides one or more cells…Here, the relay base station 20 may be provided to extend the coverage of the cells of the donor base station 30), but does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of wherein, to relay the random access channel message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to, via the first serving cell: relay the random access channel message to the plurality of additional serving cells including the second serving cell. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Mukherjee et al. US (2023/0254903).
Mukherjee discloses connecting a user device to a wireless network having a plurality of access nodes in which at least one random access preamble is transmitted to the plurality of access nodes (see Para [0025-0026] & [0107-0109])
(Mukherjee suggests based on the multi-cell RA protocol, the UE ultimately selects one of the random access responses (RAR) received from each of the base stations in response to the transmitted preamble, for establishing connection with the most optimal base station which provides the lowest latency or other desired performance attributes for achieving the most optimal communication performance (see Para’s [0025-0026] & [0107-0109])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the network entity which relays the RA preamble of the UE to the donor base station comprises one or more cells (i.e., “additional cells”) including the second serving cell for establishing a connection as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani to further relay of forward the RA preamble to the plurality of one or more cells (i.e., “additional cells”) of the donor base station based on the teachings of Mukherjee who discloses a UE transmits a random access preamble destined to and received by a plurality of access nodes (i.e., “cells”), because the motivation lies in Mukherjee that based on the multi-cell RA protocol, the UE ultimately selects one of the random access responses (RAR) received from each of the base stations in response to the transmitted preamble, for establishing connection with the most optimal base station which provides the lowest latency or other desired performance attributes for achieving the most optimal communication performance.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2019/0215828) in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880), further in view of Hathiramani US (2026/0025868), and further in view of Qiang et al. US (2022/0353771) as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Satpathy et al. USP (11,838,813).
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Kim in view of Ohara, further in view of Hathiramani, and further in view of Qiang discloses the network entity of claim 23, but does not disclose wherein the first radio access technology comprises a Fifth Generation radio access technology, a New Radio access technology, or both, and wherein the second radio access technology comprises a Sixth Generation radio access technology. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Satpathy et al. USP (11,838,813).
Satpathy discloses wherein a UE can move or handover between a first radio access technology comprising a Fifth Generation radio access technology, a New Radio access technology, or both, and a second radio access technology comprising a Sixth Generation radio access technology (see Col. 9 lines 19-30 i.e., transmitting from the node of a wireless network, a second message instructing the UE to move to the cell of the second wireless technology generation; performing a handover of the UE from the serving cell to the cell of the second wireless technology generation; the first wireless technology generation comprises 6G and the second wireless access technology generation comprises 5G)
(Satpathy suggests the UE may move or handover between the 5G and 6G radio access technologies based on a received signal strength measurement for the serving cell meeting a threshold level for handover in order to connect to a cell with better communication quality, (see Col. 8 line 56 – Col. 9 lines 1-30)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first radio access technology of the first serving cell and the second radio access technology of the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, further in view of Hathiramani, and further in view of Qiang to comprise a 5G cell and a 6G cell as disclosed in the teachings of Satpathy who discloses wherein a UE can move or handover between a first radio access technology comprising a Fifth Generation radio access technology cell and a second radio access technology comprising a Sixth Generation radio access technology cell, because the motivation lies in Satpathy that the UE may move or handover between the 5G and 6G radio access technologies based on a received signal strength measurement for the serving cell meeting a threshold level for handover in order to connect to a cell with better communication quality.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US (2019/0215828) in view of Ohara et al. US (2021/0168880), and further in view of Hathiramani US (2026/0025868) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bienas et al. US (2014/0126460).
Regarding Claim 31, the combination of Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani discloses the UE of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the random access channel message comprises a request for the first serving cell to relay the random access channel message to the second serving cell. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Bienas et al. US (2014/0126460).
Bienas discloses wherein a random access channel message comprises a request for a serving cell to relay the random access channel message (see Fig. 6 & Para’s [0144-0147] i.e., The RACH resource request 602 (e.g., dedicated preamble request) may include a C-RNTI of the terminal 404…The RACH resource request 602 may include a forwarding flag (i.e., “request”). The forwarding flag (i.e., “request”) of the RACH resource request 602 may be configured to indicate to the relay device 402 that the RACH resource request 602 is to be forwarded (i.e., “relay”) to the cellular network indicated in the RACH resource request 602)
(Bienas suggests the RACH resource request includes the forwarding flag (i.e., “request”) to indicate to the relay device 402 that the RACH resource request 602 is to be forwarded (i.e., “relay”) to the cellular network in order for the UE to properly establish a cellular connection with the cellular base station according to a random access procedure, (see Fig. 6 & Para’s [0144-0147] & [0151-0152])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the random access channel message which is relayed from the first serving cell to the second serving cell as disclosed in Kim in view of Ohara, and further in view of Hathiramani to comprises a request for a serving cell to relay the random access channel message such as the random access channel message disclosed in the teachings of Bienas, because the motivation lies in Bienas that the RACH resource request message includes a forwarding flag to indicate to a relay device that the RACH resource request message is to be forwarded to the cellular network in order for the UE to properly establish a cellular connection with the cellular base station according to a random access procedure.
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461