DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chang et al. (US 2017/0103946)(hereafter Chang) in view of Tanaka (US 2021/0045242)(hereafter Tanaka) and further in view of Sugiyama et al. (US 2014/0312498)(hereafter Sugiyama).
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses a radio-frequency module comprising:
a mounting board (see, Fig. 1, semiconductor device, 1) having a first major surface (fig. 1, the 101) opposite to a second major surface (Fig. 1, 102);
an electronic component (see, Fig. 1, the 2 and 3 which are capacitor and inductor are interpreted as electronic components) and an external connection terminal that are disposed at the second major surface of the mounting board (see, Fig. 1, the inductor, 3 as shown are disposed on the second major surface, 102);
a layer at least partially covering the electronic component (see, Fig. 1, the insulation layer, 13 as shown covering the electronic component, 3, para [0032]); and an insulating layer (see, Fig. 1, insulating layer, 161 and 162),
wherein the electronic component has a third major surface opposite to a fourth major surface (see, Fig. 1, the inductor 3 with the upper and lower surface interpreted as third and fourth major surface respectively),
But Chang does not explicitly disclose: the third major surface of the electronic component is located between the fourth major surface of the electronic component and the second major surface of the mounting board, and the insulating layer is disposed over the fourth major surface of the electronic component or disposed over both the fourth major surface of the electronic component and the resin layer and a layer covering electronic component is resin layer.
However, in same field of endeavor, Tanaka teaches the laminated structure in which as shown in Fig. 1, the electronic component, 110 has third and fourth surface which are top and bottom surface respectively of the component and third major component is located between the second surface , located between the 130 and 80 and forth surface which is bottom part of the electronic component, 110 and insulating layer , 112 or 30 which is insulating layer disposed over the electronic component, 110. Furthermore, teaches [0039], the insulation layer such as resins. Para [0059].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tanaka with the Chang, to incorporate the electronic device with the configuration as taught by the Tanaka into the semiconductor device of the Chang; to configure the semiconductor device as claimed, the motivation is to determine the non-defective or good quality wiring board.
The combined teachings do not explicitly disclose the insulating layer is harder than the resin layer.
However, in same field of endeavor, Sugiyama teaches in para [0174], When gold (Au) and copper (Cu) are compared, a conductive member made of gold is itself easily deformable (easily flattened) so that the electrodes (bonding leads 2m) of the wiring board 2 are not necessarily supported by a two-layered insulation layer used as an insulation layer that supports the electrodes (bonding leads 2m) of the wiring board 2. In other words, a material (for example, prepreg) harder than the resin layer not containing the glass cloth (glass fibers) 2h can be used as an insulation layer that supports the electrodes (bonding leads 2m) of the wiring board 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sugiyama with the Chang and Tanaka, as a whole, so as to use the insulating material harder than the resin layer, the motivation is to provide semiconductor device with improved reliability.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings of the Chang, Tanaka and Sugiyama as a whole, discloses all the claim limitations of claim 2 (see rationale of rejection for claim 1 above). Chang further discloses a material of the insulating layer includes at least one selected from silicon carbide, silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, and silicon oxynitride (see, Chang, para [0026], a material of the first insulation layer 12 may be, for example, silicon oxide or silicon nitride).
Regarding Claim 3, Chang further discloses the radio-frequency module, wherein a material of the insulating layer includes at least one selected from silicon carbide, silicon dioxide, silicon nitride, and silicon oxynitride. (see, Chang, para [0026], a material of the first insulation layer 12 may be, for example, silicon oxide or silicon nitride).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings further disclose the radio-frequency module, wherein a material of the insulating layer is a resin that is harder than the resin layer (Sugiyama teaches in para [0174], When gold (Au) and copper (Cu) are compared, a conductive member made of gold is itself easily deformable (easily flattened) so that the electrodes (bonding leads 2m) of the wiring board 2 are not necessarily supported by a two-layered insulation layer used as an insulation layer that supports the electrodes (bonding leads 2m) of the wiring board 2. In other words, a material (for example, prepreg) harder than the resin layer not containing the glass cloth (glass fibers) 2h can be used as an insulation layer that supports the electrodes (bonding leads 2m) of the wiring board 2).
Regarding claim 7, Chang further discloses the radio-frequency module, further comprising: a metal bump coupled to the external connection terminal, wherein the insulating layer is in contact with the metal bump (see, para [0018], one end of a conductive through via connects to the RDL, and the other end of the conductive through via connects to a pad (e.g., a bump pad or ball pad) on which an external connective component (e.g., a respective bump or solder ball) is disposed for external connection).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings further disclose the radio-frequency module wherein the insulating layer is disposed over the fourth major surface of the electronic component but is not disposed over the resin layer (Tanaka, see, Fig. 1, the insulating layer, 112 is only disposed o on the bottom surface interpreted as forth surface of the electronic component, 110 and not disposed on resin layer (see, Fig. 1, the 112 is not disposed on the layer, 70))
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings further disclose the radio-frequency module according to Claim 1, wherein the insulating layer is disposed over both the fourth major surface of the electronic component and the resin layer (see, Tanaka, see, fig. 1, the insulating layer, 112 and 30 as shown disposed over the bottom of the electronic component, 110 and resin layer, which is insulating layer, 80).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chang, Tanaka and Sugiyama and further in view of Hamada et al. (US 2020/0098506) (hereafter Hamada).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings do not disclose the radio-frequency module according to Claim 1, wherein when viewed in plan view in a thickness direction of the mounting board, the external connection terminal overlaps the insulating layer, however, Hamada teaches in para [0049], [0049] The insulating film 50 is disposed on a portion of the first principal surface 10a of the element body 10 where the first to fourth external terminals 41 to 44 are not disposed. However, the insulating film 50 may have end portions of the first to fourth external terminals 41 to 44 placed thereon and thereby overlap with the first to fourth external terminals 41 to 44. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hamada with the Chang, Tanaka and Sugiyama, as a whole, so as to configure the insulation and terminal so that it overlaps with each other as claimed ,the motivation is to yield predictable results {KSR:- Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention}.
8. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chang, Tanaka and Sugiyama and further in view of Sugiyama et al. (US2017/0243854 )(hereafter Sugiyama ‘854)
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings do not disclose the radio-frequency module, wherein the insulating layer is higher than the resin layer with respect to thermal electrical conductivity. However, in same field of endeavor, Sugiyama ‘854 teaches in para [0015], The circuit substrate described above may further include a first insulating material filled into the vertical trench or cavity of the reinforcement member, and the first insulating material may have a lower thermal expansion coefficient and higher elasticity than a resin material forming the resin layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sugiyama ‘856 with the Chang, Tanaka and Sugiyama, as a whole, so as to incorporate the insulating material such as insulating layer has higher thermal electrical conductivity than the resin layer, the motivation is to reliability protect the electronic component.
9. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chang, Tanaka and Sugiyama and further in view of Honda (US2020/0035592) (hereafter Honda).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings do not disclose the radio-frequency module, further comprising: a power amplifier disposed at the first major surface of the mounting board, wherein the mounting board includes a through via that connects the power amplifier and the insulating layer. However, in same field of endeavor, Honda teaches [0039] The amplifying circuit 110 includes an amplifying element 111, which as shown in fig. 9, at the first major surface of mounting board. An input matching circuit 112 connected to an input end of the amplifying element 111, and an output matching circuit 113 connected to an output end of the amplifying element 111. [0045] A radio frequency module 100a illustrated in FIG. 2 and FIG. 3 is formed by using a multilayer substrate 600. The multilayer substrate 600 is formed by laminating a plurality of insulator layers 601 to 606. On the multilayer substrate 600, the amplifying circuit 110 and the power supply circuit 120 are provided. Therefore, I would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Honda with the Chang, Tanaka and Sugiyama, as a whole, so as to configure the power amplifier and insulating layer in the radio frequency module, as claimed, the motivation is to yield predictable results {KSR:- Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention}.
10. Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chang, Tanaka and Sugiyama and further in view of Hanaoka et al. (WO2019/054154) (hereafter Hanaoka).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings do not explicitly disclose a communication device comprising: the radio-frequency module according to Claim 1; and a signal processing circuit configured to process a radio-frequency signal transmitted or to be transmitted through the radio-frequency module. However, in same field of endeavor, Hanaoka, abstract, teaches This high frequency module (1) is provided with an antenna terminal (11), a terminal (12) for transmission signals, a terminal (13) for reception signals, a plurality of ground terminals (15), a switch (SW), a transmission filter (TF), a reception filter (RF) and a multilayer substrate (20). The multilayer substrate (20) comprises a ground electrode (25) which is arranged between the transmission filter (TF) and the reception filter (RF). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hanoka with the Chang, Murata and Sugiyama, as a whole, to use the teachings of the Hanaoka to transmit the signal of the radio frequency module of Chang, Tanaka and Sugiyama, as a whole, to transmit the radio frequency signal.
11. Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Chang, Tanaka and Sugiyama and further in view of Wiesbauer et al. (US 2009/0284328) (hereafter Wies).
Regarding claims 14, the combined teachings do not disclose the radio-frequency module wherein the mounting board is a low temperature co-fired ceramics (LTCC) substrate.
However, in same field of endeavor, Weis teaches [0023] The RF configuration is preferably disposed on a multilayer substrate which can be made of a multilayer ceramic, an LTCC (Low Temperature Cofired Ceramic), an HTCC (High Temperature Cofired Ceramic), a glass fiber-reinforced epoxy resin, an organic laminate or a glass laminate. The coupling element and the coupling ground connection are preferably disposed inside the multilayer substrate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wies with the Chang, Tanaka and Sugiyama, as a whole, so as to use the mounting board with the low temperature cofired ceramic, the motivation is to have high reliability in harsh environment.
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings disclose the radio-frequency module wherein the mounting board is a high temperature co-fired ceramics (HTCC) substrate (Wies teaches [0023] The RF configuration is preferably disposed on a multilayer substrate which can be made of a multilayer ceramic, an LTCC (Low Temperature Cofired Ceramic), an HTCC (High Temperature Cofired Ceramic), a glass fiber-reinforced epoxy resin, an organic laminate or a glass laminate. The coupling element and the coupling ground connection are preferably disposed inside the multilayer substrate).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings further disclose the radio-frequency module according to Claim 1, wherein the mounting board is a multilayer substrate (Wies teaches [0023] The RF configuration is preferably disposed on a multilayer substrate which can be made of a multilayer ceramic, an LTCC (Low Temperature Cofired Ceramic), an HTCC (High Temperature Cofired Ceramic), a glass fiber-reinforced epoxy resin, an organic laminate or a glass laminate. The coupling element and the coupling ground connection are preferably disposed inside the multilayer substrate).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings further disclose the radio-frequency module, wherein the multilayer substrate is made of resin. (Wies teaches [0023] The RF configuration is preferably disposed on a multilayer substrate which can be made of a multilayer ceramic, an LTCC (Low Temperature Cofired Ceramic), an HTCC (High Temperature Cofired Ceramic), a glass fiber-reinforced epoxy resin, an organic laminate or a glass laminate. The coupling element and the coupling ground connection are preferably disposed inside the multilayer substrate).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings further disclose the radio-frequency module, wherein the multilayer substrate includes one or more dielectric layers and one or more conductive layers. (Wies teaches [0023] The RF configuration is preferably disposed on a multilayer substrate which can be made of a multilayer ceramic, an LTCC (Low Temperature Cofired Ceramic), an HTCC (High Temperature Cofired Ceramic), a glass fiber-reinforced epoxy resin, an organic laminate or a glass laminate. The coupling element and the coupling ground connection are preferably disposed inside the multilayer substrate, page5, claim 16, wherein the first RF component is disposed on a multilayer substrate and interconnected by way of the multilayer substrate, wherein the multilayer substrate comprises a plurality of dielectric layers ).
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings further disclose the radio-frequency module, wherein the multilayer substrate is a ceramic substrate (Wies, [0023] The RF configuration is preferably disposed on a multilayer substrate which can be made of a multilayer ceramic, an LTCC (Low Temperature Cofired Ceramic), an HTCC (High Temperature Cofired Ceramic), a glass fiber-reinforced epoxy resin, an organic laminate or a glass laminate. The coupling element and the coupling ground connection are preferably disposed inside the multilayer substrate.
Regarding claim 20, Chang further discloses the radio-frequency module, wherein the one or more conductive layers include copper (see, para [0022]).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 5 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hisano et al. (US2020/0373949) discloses multilayer substrate, filter, radio frequency front end circuit.
Tokuda et al. (US2020/0373890) discloses amplification circuit, radio frequency front end circuit.
Bharath et al. (US 12336196) discloses magnetic core inductors on package substrates.
Chen et al. (US 12374611) discloses package core assembly and fabrication methods.
/DHAVAL V PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631