DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-7 and 10 in the reply filed on 8/20/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden if examination of the non-elected claims were required given the overlapping subject matter of the features of the embodiments recited in such claims with those of the elected subject matter. This is not found persuasive because although there is overlapping subject matter between groups, there are nonoverlapping subject matter exclusive from each group. Also, as noted in the previous office action, there would be serious search/examination burden if restriction were not required due to different field of search. Thus, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoshikawa (US 20080203842).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshikawa discloses a rotor 21, in figures 1 and 2, for an externally excited synchronous machine (paragraph 1), comprising: pole shoes 23 having an outer contour (lines between points X, A, B, C and Z) composed of straight line segments (lines XA, AB, BC and CZ), the ends of which are situated on a line corresponding to a sine field pole contour (figure 2, dotted line).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshikawa discloses the outer contour of the pole shoes is mirror symmetrical (figure 2, centerline 27).
Regarding claims 3-5, Yoshikawa discloses the outer contour of the pole shoes comprises 8 line segments (figure 2, 4 lines XA, AB, BC and CZ, mirror symmetrical at centerline 27; thus, total of 8 line segments per pole shoe).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshikawa discloses an externally excited synchronous machine (paragraph 1), comprising: a rotor according to claim 1 (note rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa in view of Shrestha (US 20160211787).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshikawa further discloses the rotor composed of individual sheet metal slats arranged congruently one on top of another (claim 1).
Yoshikawa does not disclose a pole wheel with exciter windings.
Shrestha discloses a rotor 104 (figure 1) with a pole wheel 106 with exciter windings 110, for the purpose of providing flexible, controllable, and robust rotor excitation, thereby improving reliability and adjustability.
Thus, it would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a pole wheel with exciter windings disclosed by Shrestha in the rotor disclosed by Yoshikawa, for the purpose of providing flexible, controllable, and robust rotor excitation, thereby improving reliability and adjustability.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshikawa in view of Shrestha, in further view Hunstable (US 20220045559).
Regarding claim 7, Yoshikawa in view of Shrestha does not disclose the individual sheet metal slats are coated with an insulator.
Hunstable discloses a motor including individual sheet metal slats are coated with an insulator (paragraphs 154 and 157), for the purpose of reducing eddy current and provide resistance to corrosion or rust.
Thus, it would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the individual sheet metal slats are coated with an insulator as disclosed by Hunstable in the device disclosed by Yoshikawa in view of Shrestha, for the purpose of reducing eddy current and provide resistance to corrosion or rust.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schmidt (US 20190020233) and, machine translations of Salzmann (WO 2012/119894), machine translations of Yao (CN 113394936), and machine translations of Merwerth (DE 10 2017 205 021).
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872