DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "40" and "42" have both been used to designate a bus bar and a sensing portion in Fig. 5 and Fig. 6. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0006, line 5, “copoer foil” should read “copper foil”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: At line 15 (as numbered by Applicant), “the copper foil comprises a nickel” should read “the copper foil further comprises a nickel”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by KWON et al. (US 2022/0173484) in view of Dawley (US 2020/0275555).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon teaches a rechargeable battery module comprising:
Secondary battery can be discharged and charged and provided in a module [0003].
a plurality of battery cells (100) stacked in a first direction,
A battery pack …may include a plurality of battery cells arranged in one direction ([0034], Figure 1)
a bus bar holder covering the battery cells and exposing electrode terminals of the battery cells in a third direction crossing a second direction wherein the electrode terminals are exposed at both sides of the bus bar holder along the second direction crossing the first direction;
The busbar (210) with a bus bar assembly (200) completed by the two insulation film (230, 240 - Fig 1 and 3) performing a function of a holder having terminal holes (231, 241) which expose parts to connect to terminal holes (124 and 134) connected to a battery cell (100).
a bus bar connecting the electrode terminals to a bus bar support portion of the bus bar holder;
the busbar (210) with a bus bar assembly (200) and coupled to the electrode terminal (120 and 130) (Fig. 1)
a flexible printed circuit (FPC) on the bus bar … having one surface exposed in the third direction,
Referring to FIG. 1, the busbar assembly (200) may include a busbar (210), and a flexible substrate (220) [0042].
Kwon further teaches that the flexible substrate may be referred to as a flexible printed circuit assembly (FPCA) or a flexible printed circuit board (FCPB) [0046] and the use of combinations of copper foil and aluminum for electrode plates [0037] but does not specifically teach using them as materials for a flexible printed circuit.
In the same field of endeavor, battery modules with flexible printed circuits, Dawley teaches…that in various embodiments the flexible printed circuit can be construct of a thin substrate (18S) of a conductive material, e.g. metal foil [0036] and another alternative of IBC assembly in which the component surface (16C) is positioned adjacent the flex circuit (18) with the collecting components (20) protruding through a window (45) [0055-0056]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combinate the embodiments of both disclosures to create one module that can have instead of different part increasing cost and increasing time of manufacture to create only one part that can incorporate all function in one.
Regarding the claimed aluminum tab on another surface of the copper foil opposite the one surface;
Kwon is silent about the aluminum tab. Dawley further teaches if copper is used for the substrate 18S, for instance, a material other than copper may be deposited or plated onto the copper substrate [0038]. Also, estipulate that dissimilar materials may be used in other embodiments, such as aluminum busbars 30 and copper flying leads 22, or vice versa [0043]. It would be obvious also to form a joint of a copper foil who have excellent electrical conduction, and an aluminum tab who reduces cost and mass, these combinations were well known battery conductive materials. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding the claimed welding portion comprising a laser welded portion of each of the bus bar, the copper foil and the aluminum tab,
Kwon does not teach using laser welding but Dawley further teaches joining the bus bar and the FPC using laser welding, ultrasonic welding, or resistance welding, as shown in FIG. 1 [0034]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the knowledge that the laser welding method can be used in the manufacturing process of a module.
With respect to claims 4 to 8,
A battery pack having a flexible substrate (FPC, 220), the first and second electrode formed by coating a metal foil (111), a sensor (221) and a connector (227) coupled to one end of the flexible substrate [0037, 0043 and 0047]. Distinctive holes are present to expose different parts, for a portion of the sensing plate (332 and 333) and for the terminals (231,241, 331 and 341) that can may expose the connection part (211) [0050, 0065].
Kwon is in silent about the actual extension of the connectors and if the type of connection is through a signal line and presence of a coating layer. In Figure 3 shows the bus bar assembly with coupled sensing plates all over the module and the connector at the end of the assembly. Figure 5 shows the positioning of every part together to expose the parts of interest. Copper foil presence as previously established, see claim 1 for explanation. Dawley further teaches joining of the PCB and the flex circuit (18S) coated with insulating layer (38) [0037] and the use of electrically-conductive adhesive materials [0006] or non-limiting commercially-available ECA materials [0080]. A window in the FPC (18) to allow electronic component(s) to protrude partially through the window [0040]. It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify that the window or hole is for create a connection between parts. Form a bus bar holder that have a slot hole in the periphery of the copper foil instead of multiple holes around the bus bar can made an improvement of the connection, would simplify the structure of the battery module and the maintains or replacement of a part of the module, reduce the manufacturing complexity and cost. Stipulate a communication with a sensing area around the union using a signal line make a more precise reading through these parts that can have a change in temperature. Using a coating layer for covering the signal line also make an electrical insulation, protection against corrosion and heat resistance. Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the shape of the small holes and the window since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. Further, one would have been motivated to select the shape of a neck portion for the purpose of create the slot hole with the select signal line due to the design convenience.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kwon and Dawley as applied to claim 4 teaches electrode terminals and copper foils. Kwon further teaches the busbar (210) has a terminal connection portion (120 and 130) connected to adjacent battery cells (100) as well as a sensing portion protruding from the connection portion and connected to the FPC (320).
Regarding claim 10, The rechargeable battery module as claimed in claim 9, wherein the sensing portion has an area (L1*L2) of a first length (L1) in the first direction and a second length (L2) in the second direction, and the area of the sensing portion overlaps an entire area of each of the copper foil, the slot hole, and the connection line, and a part of the signal line.
Kwon further teaches a sensing plate is present for measuring the voltage of the battery cell [0008] and first insulation film (230) may include a second hole exposing a portion of the sensing plate and Dawley further teaches
joining of the PCB and the flex circuit with electrically-conductive adhesive materials [0006, ln 3-4]. While neither of the references teaches the specific claimed area overlapping an entire area, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that every sensing portion has an area which can be defined by lengths in two directions and to apply the sensing portion over all of the parts that could experience a change in temperature for the purpose of making sure all changes are recorded.
11. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON et al. (US 2022/0173484) and Dawley (US 2020/0275555) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshide et al (US 6362434).
Regarding claim 2, the rechargeable battery module as claimed in claim 1, wherein the copper foil has a thickness of 35 μm.
The combination as applied to claim 1 above teaches the use of copper foil (Kwon, [0037]), but is silent as to the specific thickness of said material.
In the same field of endeavor, wiring materials, Yoshide suggest a manufacturing method for wiring board where the copper foil (24) each have a thickness of, for example, about 0.035 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time to choose a copper foil with the claimed thickness, since it has been held to be within the ordinary skill of worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). The use of 35 microns or 1 oz per square foot is standardized in manufacturing as disclosed by Yoshide.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON et al. (US 2022/0173484) and Dawley (US 2020/0275555) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nichol et al (US 9690032).
Regarding claim 3, the rechargeable battery module as claimed in claim 1, wherein the aluminum tab has a thickness of 0.1 mm to 0.2 mm.
The combination as applied to claim 1 about the material selection (aluminum) for the second electrode plate (Kwon, [0037]), but is silent as to the specific thickness of said material.
In the same field of endeavor, lightguide including a film with one or more bends, Nichol suggests the lightguides based in thickness range going through 0.2 mm or less for an aluminum [Col. 19 / ln 20-24]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to interpretant the amplitude of the range of 0.2 mm or less. Values can be 0.2, 0.15, 0.1 or 0.01. The use of aluminum tab as a current collector is a standard selection not only for the efficiency of the material, also for the practical side when the method for joint the metals is a welding.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON et al. (US 2022/0173484) and Dawley (US 2020/0275555) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of “Dissimilar metal welding with laser beam” by Berndt (May 20, 2020).
Regarding claim 11, the combination as applied to claim 1 above teaches the use of aluminum, copper and welding but does not specify that the welding portion comprises a mixture of aluminum of the bus bar, copper of the copper foil, and aluminum of the aluminum tab.
In the same field of endeavor, welding, BERNDT teaches that "When laser welding identical or similar materials, a true metallurgical bond is formed at the weld seam. That is, the fusion zone has the same composition and, ideally, the same mechanical characteristics as the base material(s)." (paragraph 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to understand that by having these materials together and using the laser welding method to join the parts would result in a weld comprising all of the metals present.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON et al. (US 2022/0173484), Dawley (US 2020/0275555) “Dissimilar metal welding with laser beam” by Berndt (May 20, 2020) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of " How Choose Board Plating and Thickness for PCB" by Peterson (Dec 5 2021).
Regarding claim 12, the combination as applied to claim 11 above is silent as to the copper foil comprises a nickel (Ni) plating section and a gold (Au) plating section.
In the same field of endeavor, PCB edge plating guidelines, Peterson teaches that nickel acts as a barrier layer between copper and the thin gold surface layer where components will be soldered." (paragraph 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the components of nickel and gold due to predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, BERNDT further teaches that adding layers of nickel (Ni) or gold/nickel (Au/Ni) in the welding process can significantly improve the quality and strength of the joint. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to know that the laser welding of copper to aluminum has presented challenges in the manufacturing industry because the thermal conductivity of materials with high conductivity, such as copper and aluminum, draws heat away from the welded area quickly, thereby requiring high output power. Adding these two components to the mixture favors the joint in several ways for example it increases ductility and fatigue resistance.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON et al. (US 2022/0173484), Dawley (US 2020/0275555), “Dissimilar metal welding with laser” by Berndt (May 20, 2020) and " How Choose Board Plating and Thickness for PCB" by Peterson (Dec 5 2021) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Delano et al. (US 2018/0157297).
Regarding claim 14, the combination as applied to claim 13 above is silent about the output used by the laser welding.
In the same field of endeavor, thermal management in electronics with metallurgic bonded devices, Delano suggests the average power of each beam may be 1W-1kW, 1-100 W, 1-10 W, less than 1 kW, less than 100 W, or less than 10 W [0066]. The heat spreader comprises copper metal, copper alloy, aluminum metal, aluminum alloy, or a combination thereof [0083]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to establish a range output based in the material composition and thickness of the material. Bus bar, foils and terminals are typically thin conductive members, this required a careful control of energy input.
Claim 15 to 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over KWON et al. (US 2022/0173484), Dawley (US 2020/0275555), “Dissimilar metal welding with laser” by Berndt (May 20, 2020), “How Choose Board Plating and Thickness for PCB" by Peterson (Dec 5 2021) and Delano et al. (US 2018/0157297) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of “Characterization of Dissimilar Al-Cu Material Joining by Controlled Dual Laser Beam” (Dec 1, 2021) by Joon Ho Cha and Hae Woon Choi, herein after referred to as “Choi”
With respect to claims 15 to 17,
The combination as applied to claim 14 above teaches the thickness of the copper foil and the aluminum tab, also explain the range selection for the output of 1kW or less. Doesn’t teach the specific laser outputs or final compositions. In the same field of endeavor, welding laser of metals, Choi teaches the steps that were followed to joining dissimilar materials and the different challenges presented. One of the chemical properties to consider when working with dissimilar materials to be welded is the melting point of each of the materials. “The melting temperature of aluminum is 660 °C; the melting temperature of copper is 1085 °C. When aluminum melts, the copper remains solid” (Paragraph 4). This indicate that laser output is an optimizable parameter and seems to link higher copper composition with a need for higher laser output.
Authors varied the output and welding speeds of the laser core and ring beams to establish appropriate penetration conditions. The preliminary data that guided the simulations acquired is by observing the bead shape and cross-section of the Al surface by laser power and welding speed (Paragraph 28).
Figure 1 (a)
Figure 2 (b)
BOP experiments for (a) aluminum and (b) copper material. In this BOP welding the thickness is 0.4 mm Those conditions reveal that welding conditions #1–1 to #2–1 was associated with high heat inputs causing excessive surface and backside beading, as well as melting (Paragraph 29). Within their article, they continue giving details of different tests they performed during their experiments, providing details such as thickness (mm), power (kW), speed (mm/sec), and the results obtained. They also indicate which simulator can be used to effectively track weld heat distribution and deformation based on the temperature distribution. When welding dissimilar materials, the optimal heat input can be predicted by simulation to explore how intermetallic compounds (IMCs) with various physical properties affect weld strength and soundness (Paragraph 25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify values base in the information and results given by the authors of the article depending on the thickness, the material selection, and the mixture used for the welding and made same experimentation.
Regarding claim 18, Choi teaches that the module of COMSOL Multiphysics can be used for numerical analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use this module to obtain the values of the welding portion or at least have a close replica of the real values to obtain.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Nicolas Rosa/
Art Unit 1741
6/2/2026
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741