DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2023, 11/1/2024 and 4/24/2026 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and a copy with initials is attached herewith.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 10/16/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-8 and 14-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen et al (CN 110176630 A) in view of Kim et al. (US 20190198924 A1) and Ren et al (US 20230007900 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3, Wen discloses an electrolyte suitable for use in a lithium ion battery comprising an electrolyte. Wen teaches that electrolyte comprises a non-aqueous organic solvent, a lithium salt, and an additive [Abstract; paragraph 0046-0047, 0050, 0068, 0091, 0096, 0112-0115, 0184]. Wen remains silent about the additive formula as claimed and an Ag salt in the electrolyte. However, Kim discloses an electrolyte solution for a rechargeable lithium battery comprising a non-aqueous organic solvent, a lithium salt, and an additive, wherein the additive comprises (which discloses the Cs+ cation):
which reads on the recited Chemical Formula 1 [paragraph 0023-0024, 0026, 0036]. It is known in the art to utilize Ag salt such as AgF in order to inhibit the reaction of positive electrode active substances and electrolytes, suppress the phenomenon of sudden reduction in battery capacity and the added amount of the metal fluoride accounts for 0-30%, preferably 0.8-15% of the total weight of the additive [paragraph 0121]. Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches that the first compound is present in an amount of about 0.1 wt% to about 3.0 wt% based on a total weight of the electrolyte for a rechargeable lithium battery [paragraph 0032].
Regarding claim 5, Wen teaches that the Ag salt comprises AgF [paragraph 0121].
Regarding claim 6, Wen teaches that the Ag salt is present in an amount of about 0.1 wt% to about 10.0 wt% based on a total weight of the electrolyte for a rechargeable lithium battery [paragraph 0121].
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches that the first compound is present in an amount of about 0.1 wt% to about 3.0 wt% based on a total weight of the electrolyte for a rechargeable lithium battery [paragraph 0032]. And Wen teaches that the Ag salt is present in an amount of about 0.1 wt% to about 10.0 wt% based on a total weight of the electrolyte for a rechargeable lithium battery [paragraph 0121].
Regarding claims 8 and 14-16, Wen teaches that the electrolyte comprises a fluorinated ketone is represented by Chemical Formula
wherein R10 and R11 are each independently selected from C1 to C20 fluoroalkyl [paragraph 0088-0092].
Regarding claim 17, Wen teaches that the fluorinated ketone is represented by Chemical Formula
[paragraph 0177].
Regarding claim 18, Wen teaches that the fluorinated ketone is about 1.0 wt% to about 10.0 wt% in amount based on a total weight of the electrolyte [paragraph 0093].
Regarding claims 19-20, Wen teaches that the fluorinated ketone is about 1.0 wt% to about 10.0 wt% in amount based on a total weight of the electrolyte [paragraph 0093]. And Ren teaches that the Ag salt is about 0-30%, preferably 0.8-15% of the total weight of the additive [paragraph 0121].
Regarding claim 21, Wen teaches that the electrolyte further comprises one or more other additives, and the one or more other additives comprise at least one selected from the group consisting of vinylene carbonate (VC), fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC), lithium tetrafluoroborate (LiBF4) [paragraph 0043].
Regarding claims 22-23, Wen teaches a rechargeable lithium battery comprising a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode active material; a negative electrode comprising a negative electrode active material; a separator between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; and the electrolyte of claim 1 [paragraph 0113 -0158]. Since the battery of Wen is similar to the claimed battery, it is expected that
the negative electrode would have a density of greater than or equal to about 1.6 g/cc.
9. Claim(s) 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen et al (CN 110176630 A) in view of Kim et al. (US 20190198924 A1) and Ren et al (US 20230007900 A1) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Segawa et al (US 20060068283 A1).
Regarding claims 9-13, Wen remains silent about the fluorinated ketone represented by a formula as claimed. However, Segawa teaches a non-aqueous electrolytic solution comprising a fluorinated ketone represented by a formula
wherein Rf1 and Rf2 each independently represents a fluorinated aliphatic group, or Rf1 and Rf2 together form a cyclic group, Q represents a fluorinated or non-fluorinated alkylene group or a bond, and n represents 0 or 1.
Segawa teaches that the fluorinated ketone exhibits effective properties of flame resistance, non-combustibility, and self-extinguishing fire characteristics. In addition, it provides an effective electrolytic solutions for electrochemical energy devices [Abstract; paragraph 0003-0011, 0019-0023; claim 1-3].
It is within the technical grasp of a skilled artisan to provide R values with different fluoroalkylene groups and atoms and would have been obvious.
Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
11. Claims 1-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 13-22 of copending Application No. 18304217 (reference application). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter in the instant patent application encompasses the claimed subject matter as recited in the ‘986 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/MUHAMMAD S SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723