DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2023 was filed after the mailing date. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a linear beam shaping optical system configured to shape the pulsed laser light into linear beam” in claims 1, 11, and 14. In particular, the claim limitation “a linear beam shaping optical system” is a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language “configured to shape the pulsed laser light into linear beam” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder “a linear beam shaping optical system” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
“a projection optical system configured to project the linear beam” in claims 1, 11, and 14.
In particular, the claim limitation “a projection optical system” is a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language “configured to project the linear beam” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder “a projection optical system” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Regarding “a linear beam shaping optical system”, in para 0073, the specification states: the linear beam shaping optical system 130 includes a high-reflectance mirror 133, a fly-eye lens 134, and a condenser lens 136. therefore, the linear beam shaping optical system encompasses a mirror, a fly-eye lens, and a condenser lens or any other structures in the disclosure which positively perform the function, and functional equivalents thereof.
Regarding “a projection optical system configured to project the linear beam” in para 0078, the specification states: the projection optical system 142 may be a unit lens therefore the projection optical system encompasses a lens unit or any other structures in the disclosure which positively perform the function, and functional equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 3, 9, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi (US8598050B2), referred to as Kawaguchi ‘050, in view of Qi (US20130284347) and further in view of Kakizaki (JP6878459B2) with citations made to (US11465233B2).
Regarding claim 1, Kawaguchi ‘050 teaches a laser processing apparatus processing a processing receiving object by irradiating a mask (10) with pulsed laser light (Col. 5 lines 45-55 pulsed laser light) and projecting an image of the mask (10) on a surface of the processing receiving object (7), the apparatus comprising:
a linear beam shaping optical system (4, mirror 5, condensing lens 6) configured to shape the pulsed laser light into linear beam (2) to irradiate the mask (10) with the linear beam (Col. 4 lines 50-60 linear beam on the surface of the workpiece 7, Fig. 2);
a projection optical system (14, Col. 6 lines 1-5 a lens) configured to project the linear beam (2) having passed through the mask (10) on the surface of the processing receiving object (7); but is silent on a first mover configured to move the linear beam shaping optical system so that a position irradiated with the linear beam moves on the mask, and a fly-eye lens as part of the linear beam shaping optical system.
Qi teaches a first mover (64) configured to move the linear beam shaping optical system (12, 66, 68) so that a position irradiated with the linear beam moves on the mask (62, [0056]).
Kawaguchi ‘050 and Qi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser processing. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050 to incorporate the teachings of Qi to have a mover that moves the position of the linear beam on the mask in order to be able to adjust the position of the beam in X, Y, and Z directions and in the rotational or angular positions, to move the beam to accurately (Qi [0055-0056]).
Kawaguchi ‘050 and Qi are silent on a fly-eye lens as part of the linear beam shaping optical system.
Kakizaki teaches a fly-eye lens (Col. 29 lines 30-40 fly-eye lens 74 a, Fig. 29, as part of the interpretation of the linear beam shaping optical system).
Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kakizaki are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser processing. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050 and Qi to incorporate the teachings of Kakizaki to have a fly-eye lens in order to be able to homogenize the beam (Kakizaki Col. 29 lines 30-40).
Regarding claim 2 Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kakizaki teach the laser processing apparatus according to claim 1, and Kawaguchi ‘050 teaches wherein the linear beam is a rectangularly shaped beam (Fig. 6A the linear beam (an irradiation portion B thereof), shown to be rectangular).
Regarding claim 3, Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kakizaki teach the laser processing apparatus according to claim 1, and Kawaguchi ‘050 teaches wherein the linear beam shaping optical system (4, 5, 6) illuminates the mask (10) with the linear beam (2), but is silent on in a form of Koehler illumination.
Kakizaki teaches the linear beam shaping optical system (73, 74) illuminates the mask (75)with the linear beam in a form of Koehler illumination (Col. 29 lines 30-40 homogenizer 74 is disposed to perform Koehler illumination, Fig. 29).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050 and Qi to incorporate the teachings of Kakizaki to form a Koehler illumination in order to produce a homogenized pulsed laser beam (Kakizaki Col. 29 lines 30-40).
Regarding claim 9, Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kakizaki teach the laser processing apparatus according to claim 1, and Kawaguchi ‘050 teaches wherein the linear beam shaping optical system (4, 5, 6) includes a mirror (Col. 4 lines 40-50 reflecting mirror 5) and a condenser lens (Col. 4 lines 40-50 condensing lens 6), but is silent on a fly-eye lens.
Kakizaki teaches a fly-eye lens (Col. 29 lines 30-40 fly-eye lens 74 a, Fig. 29).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050 and Qi to incorporate the teachings of Kakizaki to have a fly-eye lens in order to be able to homogenize the beam (Kakizaki Col. 29 lines 30-40).
Regarding claim 11, Kawaguchi ‘050 teaches a laser processing system processing a processing receiving object (7) by irradiating a mask (10) with pulsed laser light (Col. 5 lines 45-55 pulsed laser light) and projecting an image of the mask (10) on a surface of the processing receiving object (7), the system comprising:
a laser apparatus (3) configured to output the pulsed laser light (Col. 5 lines 45-55 pulsed laser 2);
a linear beam shaping optical system (4, 5, 6) configured to shape the pulsed laser light (2) into linear beam to irradiate the mask (10) with the linear beam (Col. 4 lines 50-60 linear beam on the surface of the workpiece 7, Fig. 2);
a projection optical system (14, Col. 6 lines 1-5) configured to project the linear beam (2) having passed through the mask (10) on the surface of the processing receiving object (7); but is silent on a mover configured to move the linear beam shaping optical system so that a position irradiated with the linear beam moves on the mask, and a fly-eye lens as part of the linear beam shaping optical system.
Qi teaches a mover (64) configured to move the linear beam shaping optical system (12, 66, 68) so that a position irradiated with the linear beam moves on the mask (62).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050 to incorporate the teachings of Qi to have a mover that moves the position of the linear beam on the mask in order to be able to adjust the position of the beam in X, Y, and Z direction s and in the rotational or angular positions, to move the beam to accurately (Qi [0055-0056]).
Kawaguchi ‘050 and Qi are silent on a fly-eye lens as part of the linear beam shaping optical system.
Kakizaki teaches a fly-eye lens (Col. 29 lines 30-40 fly-eye lens 74 a, Fig. 29, as part of the interpretation of the linear beam shaping optical system).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050 and Qi to incorporate the teachings of Kakizaki to have a fly-eye lens in order to be able to homogenize the beam (Kakizaki Col. 29 lines 30-40).
Regarding claim 12, Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kakizaki teach the laser processing system according to claim 11, but Kawaguchi ‘050 and Qi are silent on further comprising: an attenuator configured to attenuate the pulsed laser light incident on the linear beam shaping optical system; and a controller configured to adjust at least one of a transmittance provided by the attenuator and a pulse energy of the pulsed laser light output from the laser apparatus so that a fluence of the pulsed laser light on the processing receiving object approaches a target value.
Kakizaki teaches an attenuator (52) configured to attenuate the pulsed laser light incident (Col. 14 lines 1-10 pulse laser beam passes through the attenuator 52) on the linear beam shaping optical system (74, Fig. 29) and
a controller configured to adjust at least one of a transmittance provided by the attenuator (transmittance of the attenuator 52) and a pulse energy of the pulsed laser light output from the laser apparatus so that a fluence of the pulsed laser light on the processing receiving object approaches a target value (Col. 13 line 65- Col. 14 line 5 the laser processing control unit 32A controls the transmittance T of the attenuator 52 to achieve the fluence Fm necessary for the laser processing).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050 and Qi to incorporate the teachings of Kakizaki to have an attenuator in order to reduce an energy of the pulse laser beam to a desired pulse energy (Kakizaki Col. 13 lines 65-67) and to control the transmittance of the attenuator to achieve a desired fluence so that to be able to adjust the fluence of the laser to be at a desired amount for different applications of the beam (Kakizaki Col. 15 lines 25-40).
Regarding claim 13, Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kakizaki teach the laser processing system according to claim 12, but Kawaguchi ‘050 and Qi are silent on wherein the pulse energy is a pulse energy of the pulsed laser light incident on the attenuator.
Kakizaki teaches wherein the pulse energy (Em) is a pulse energy of the pulsed laser light incident on the attenuator (52).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050 and Qi to incorporate the teachings of Kakizaki to have pulse energy incident on the attenuator in order to reduce an energy of the pulse laser beam to a desired pulse energy (Kakizaki Col. 13 lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 14, Kawaguchi ‘050 teaches a laser processing method of processing a processing receiving object by irradiating a mask (10) with pulsed laser light (Col. 5 lines 45-55 pulsed laser light) and projecting an image of the mask (10) on a surface of the processing receiving object (7), the method comprising:
shaping the pulsed laser light into linear beam (2) by a linear beam shaping optical system (4, 5, 6) to irradiate the mask (10) with the linear beam (Col. 4 lines 50-60 linear beam on the surface of the workpiece 7, Fig. 2);
projecting the linear beam having passed through the mask (10) on the surface of the processing receiving object (7) by a projection optical system (14, Col. 6 lines 1-5); but is silent on moving a position irradiated with the linear beam on the mask by moving the linear beam shaping optical system by a first mover, and a fly-eye lens as part of the linear beam shaping optical system.
Qi teaches moving a position irradiated with the linear beam (12, 66, 68) on the mask (62) by moving the linear beam shaping optical system by a first mover (64).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050 to incorporate the teachings of Qi to have a mover that moves the position of the linear beam on the mask in order to be able to adjust the position of the beam in X, Y, and Z direction s and in the rotational or angular positions, to move the beam to accurately (Qi [0055-0056]).
Kawaguchi ‘050 and Qi are silent on a fly-eye lens as part of the linear beam shaping optical system.
Kakizaki teaches a fly-eye lens (Col. 29 lines 30-40 fly-eye lens 74 a, Fig. 29, as part of the interpretation of the linear beam shaping optical system).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050 and Qi to incorporate the teachings of Kakizaki to have a fly-eye lens in order to be able to homogenize the beam (Kakizaki Col. 29 lines 30-40).
Claims 4-8, 10, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi (US8598050B2), referred to as Kawaguchi ‘050, in view of Qi (US20130284347) and Kakizaki (JP6878459B2) with citations made to (US11465233B2) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Kawaguchi (US8170072B2), referred to as Kawaguchi ‘072.
Regarding claim 4, Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kakizaki teach the laser processing apparatus according to claim 1, but are silent on wherein the first mover causes the position irradiated with the linear beam on the mask to make reciprocal motion in a minor axis direction of the linear beam.
Kawaguchi ‘072 teaches wherein the first mover causes (32) the position irradiated with the linear beam on the mask to make reciprocal motion in a minor axis direction of the linear beam (Col. 8 lines 20-30 a long-axis lens array moving apparatus 32 that reciprocates the long- axis lens arrays 20 a and 20 b in a direction corresponding to the long axial direction of the linear beam (X-direction in FIG. 1A) during the laser irradiation).
Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, Kakizaki, and Kawaguchi ‘072 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of laser processing. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kakizaki to incorporate the teachings of Kawaguchi ‘072 to have the mover make a reciprocal motion in a minor axis so that it is possible to obtain an effect of dispersing vertical stripes on the surface to be irradiated that are caused by scattered light generated on the Surface of the lens and vertical stripes are visually significantly reduced (Kawaguchi '072 Col. 8 lines 25-45).
Regarding claim 5, Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, Kakizaki, and Kawaguchi ‘072 teach the laser processing apparatus according to claim 4, and Kawaguchi ‘050 teaches further comprising a second mover (9) configured to move the processing receiving object (7) in the minor axis direction and/or a major axis direction of the linear beam (2, Col. 4 lines 60-67 movable stage 9 is configured to be movable in the direction indicated by arrow A in the Fig, 1).
Regarding claim 6, Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, Kakizaki, and Kawaguchi ‘072 teach the laser processing apparatus according to claim 5, but Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kawaguchi ‘072 are silent on further comprising a controller configured to control the first mover and the second mover so that the linear beam shaping optical system moves when a movement of the processing receiving object is stopped; and the processing receiving object moves when a movement of the linear beam shaping optical system is stopped.
Kakizaki teaches further comprising a controller (32) configured to control the first mover (72) and the second mover (34) so that the linear beam shaping optical system moves when a movement of the processing receiving object is stopped (S100, workpiece 41 is set on the table 33 of the XYZ stage 34, taken to be the workpiece 41 is not moving)
and the processing receiving object moves when a movement of the linear beam shaping optical system is stopped (S120, Col. 21 lines 15-35 the laser irradiation may be performed in such a step-by-step manner that the workpiece 41 is stopped at rest, and after the laser irradiation has ended at one position, the workpiece 41 is moved by a predetermined amount and the laser irradiation is performed while the workpiece 41 is stopped at the next position).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kawaguchi ‘072 to incorporate the teachings of Kakizaki to have a controller that controls the movers so that processing starts when the object is stopped in order to perform laser applications in predetermined intervals (Kakizaki Col. 21 lines 20-30).
Regarding claim 7, Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, Kakizaki, and Kawaguchi ‘072 teach the laser processing apparatus according to claim 6, but Kawaguchi ‘050 and Qi are silent on wherein the controller moves the processing receiving object toward a first position at which the linear beam can be projected thereon, then moves the linear beam shaping optical system in the minor axis direction, then moves the processing receiving object toward a second position at which the linear beam can be projected thereon, then moves the linear beam shaping optical system oppositely in the minor axis direction, and then moves the processing receiving object toward a third position at which the linear beam can be projected thereon.
Kakizaki teaches wherein the controller (32) moves the processing receiving object (41) toward a first position (S120) at which the linear beam can be projected thereon (Fig. 2 move workpiece to processing position by using XYZ stage), then moves the processing receiving object toward a second position at which the linear beam can be projected thereon (S150, S1560A2 control unit 32A controls the XYZ stage 34 to move the workpiece 41 in the XY plane), and then moves the processing receiving object toward a third position at which the linear beam can be projected thereon (S150, S1560A2 control unit 32A controls the XYZ stage 34 to move the workpiece 41 in the XY plane).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050 and Qi to incorporate the teachings of Kakizaki to have the controller move toward a first, second, and third position to be able to affect the workpiece with a laser at all desired positions (Kakizaki Col. 19 lines 1-30).
Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kakizaki are silent on then moves the linear beam shaping optical system in the minor axis direction, and then moves the linear beam shaping optical system oppositely in the minor axis direction.
Kawaguchi ‘072 teaches then moves the linear beam shaping optical system in the minor axis direction (Col. 8 lines 20-30 a long-axis lens array moving apparatus 32 that reciprocates the long- axis lens arrays 20 a and 20 b in a direction corresponding to the long axial direction of the linear beam (X-direction in FIG. 1A) during the laser irradiation, taken to occur at any time during laser processing including after the position of the processing object is moved), then moves the linear beam shaping optical system oppositely in the minor axis direction (Col. 8 lines 20-30 a long-axis lens array moving apparatus 32 that reciprocates the long- axis lens arrays 20 a and 20 b in a direction corresponding to the long axial direction of the linear beam (X-direction in FIG. 1A) during the laser irradiation, taken to occur at any time during laser processing including after the position of the processing object is moved).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kakizaki to incorporate the teachings of Kawaguchi '072 to include steps of moving the beam in a minor direction so that it is possible to obtain an effect of dispersing vertical stripes on the surface to be irradiated that are caused by scattered light generated on the Surface of the lens and vertical stripes are visually significantly reduced (Kawaguchi '072 Col. 8 lines 25-45).
Regarding claim 8, Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, Kakizaki, and Kawaguchi ‘072 teach the laser processing apparatus according to claim 6, but Kawaguchi ‘050, Kawaguchi ‘072, and Kakizaki are silent on wherein the controller controls the first mover so that an absolute value Vxmi of a moving speed of the linear beam shaping optical system approaches a value expressed by Vxmi=(1/M)·fi·Bx/Ni,
where M is a magnification factor of the projection optical system, fi is a repetitive frequency of the pulsed laser light, Bx is a beam width of the linear beam in the minor axis direction on the surface of the processing receiving object, and Ni is a number of pulses by which the pulsed laser light is radiated to a single position.
Qi teaches wherein the controller ([0056] controller 58) controls the first mover (64), where M is a magnification factor of the projection optical system ([0057] lenses, understood to have a magnification factor), fi is a repetitive frequency of the pulsed laser light ([0067] pulsed laser light, having a frequency), Bx is a beam width of the linear beam in the minor axis direction on the surface of the processing receiving object ([0067] width of the spot), and Ni is a number of pulses by which the pulsed laser light is radiated to a single position ([0067] pulsed laser light, having a number of pulses).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050 to incorporate the teachings of Qi to have controller to control the mover in order to be able to adjust the position of the beam in X, Y, and Z direction s and in the rotational or angular positions, to move the beam to accurately (Qi [0055-0056]).
Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, Kakizaki, and Kawaguchi ‘072 do not teach controls the first mover so that an absolute value Vxmi of a moving speed of the linear beam shaping optical system approaches a value expressed by Vxmi=(1/M)·fi·Bx/Ni. However, applicant has not stated that moving at the absolute value of a moving speed as defined by the equation above provides any unexpected or synergetic results. Qi teaches that the speed of the beam should be optimized so that the laser spot may be adjusted with respect to the surface the processed object ([0076]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to have the speed of the mover be in the range of the equation above, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 10, Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, Kawaguchi ‘072, and Kakizaki teach the laser processing apparatus according to claim 7, but Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kawaguchi ‘072 are silent on further comprising an attenuator configured to attenuate the pulsed laser light incident on the linear beam shaping optical system.
Kakizaki teaches further comprising an attenuator (52) configured to attenuate the pulsed laser light (Col. 14 lines 1-10 pulse laser beam passes through the attenuator 52) incident on the linear beam shaping optical system (74, Fig. 29).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050 and Qi to incorporate the teachings of Kakizaki to have an attenuator in order to reduce an energy of the pulse laser beam to a desired pulse energy (Kakizaki Col. 13 lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 15, Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kakizaki teach the laser processing apparatus according to claim 14, but are silent on comprising moving the position irradiated with the linear beam by causing the linear beam shaping optical system to make reciprocal motion in a minor axis direction of the linear beam by the first mover.
Kawaguchi ‘072 teaches comprising moving the position irradiated with the linear beam by causing the linear beam shaping optical system to make reciprocal motion in a minor axis direction of the linear beam by the first mover (32, Col. 8 lines 20-30 a long-axis lens array moving apparatus 32 that reciprocates the long- axis lens arrays 20 a and 20 b in a direction corresponding to the long axial direction of the linear beam (X-direction in FIG. 1A) during the laser irradiation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kakizaki to incorporate the teachings of Kawaguchi ‘072 to have the mover make a reciprocal motion in a minor axis so that it is possible to obtain an effect of dispersing vertical stripes on the surface to be irradiated that are caused by scattered light generated on the Surface of the lens and vertical stripes are visually significantly reduced (Kawaguchi '072 Col. 8 lines 25-45).
Regarding claim 16, Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, Kakizaki, and Kawaguchi ‘072 teach the laser processing apparatus according to claim 15, and Kawaguchi ‘050 teaches comprising moving the processing receiving object (7) in the minor axis direction and/or a major axis direction of the linear beam by a second mover (2, Col. 4 lines 60-67 movable stage 9 is configured to be movable in the direction indicated by arrow A in the Fig, 1).
Regarding claim 17, Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, Kakizaki, and Kawaguchi ‘072 teach the laser processing apparatus according to claim 16, but Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kawaguchi ‘072 are silent on moving the position irradiated with the linear beam by the first mover when a movement of the processing receiving object is stopped; and moving the processing receiving object by the second mover when an illumination of the pulsed laser light on the mask is stopped.
Kakizaki teaches moving the position irradiated with the linear beam by the first mover (72) when a movement of the processing receiving object is stopped (S100, workpiece 41 is set on the table 33 of the XYZ stage 34, taken to be the workpiece 41 is not moving); and
moving the processing receiving object by the second mover when an illumination of the pulsed laser light on the mask is stopped (S120, Col. 21 lines 15-35 the laser irradiation may be performed in such a step-by-step manner that the workpiece 41 is stopped at rest, and after the laser irradiation has ended at one position, the workpiece 41 is moved by a predetermined amount and the laser irradiation is performed while the workpiece 41 is stopped at the next position).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kawaguchi ‘072 to incorporate the teachings of Kakizaki to have a controller that controls the movers so that processing starts when the object is stopped in order to perform laser applications in predetermined intervals (Kakizaki Col. 21 lines 20-30).
Regarding claim 18, Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, Kakizaki, and Kawaguchi ‘072 teach the laser processing method according to claim 17, but Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kawaguchi ‘072 are silent on comprising attenuating the pulsed laser light incident on the linear beam shaping optical system by an attenuator.
Kakizaki teaches comprising attenuating the pulsed laser light incident (Col. 14 lines 1-10 pulse laser beam passes through the attenuator 52) on the linear beam shaping optical system (74, Fig. 29) by an attenuator (52).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kawaguchi ‘072 to incorporate the teachings of Kakizaki to have an attenuator in order to reduce an energy of the pulse laser beam to a desired pulse energy (Kakizaki Col. 13 lines 65-67).
Regarding claim 19, Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, Kakizaki, and Kawaguchi ‘072 teach the laser processing method according to claim 18, and Kawaguchi ‘050 teaches comprising outputting the pulsed laser light (Col. 5 lines 45-55 pulsed laser light) from a laser apparatus (3) to be incident on the linear beam shaping optical system (4, 5, 6).
Regarding claim 20, Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, Kakizaki, and Kawaguchi ‘072 teach the laser processing method according to claim 19, but Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kawaguchi ‘072 are silent on comprising adjusting at least one of a transmittance provided by the attenuator and a pulse energy of the pulsed laser light output from the laser apparatus so that a fluence of the pulsed laser light on the processing receiving object approaches a target value.
Kakizaki teaches comprising adjusting at least one of a transmittance provided by the attenuator (Col. 13 line 65- Col. 14 line 5 transmittance of the attenuator 52) and a pulse energy of the pulsed laser light output from the laser apparatus so that a fluence of the pulsed laser light on the processing receiving object approaches a target value (Col. 13 line 65- Col. 14 line 5 the laser processing control unit 32A controls the transmittance T of the attenuator 52 to achieve the fluence Fm necessary for the laser processing).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kawaguchi ‘050, Qi, and Kawaguchi ‘072 to incorporate the teachings of Kakizaki to control the transmittance of the attenuator to achieve a desired fluence so that to be able to adjust the fluence of the laser to be at a desired amount for different applications of the beam (Kakizaki Col. 15 lines 25-40).
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 6/29/2026