DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites: “…and an area ratio of the first lithium manganese iron phosphate to the second lithium manganese iron phosphate satisfies S≥(0.4-b)/(a-0.4), wherein S is the area ratio.” This limitation is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what applicant refers to. The term “area ratio” is considered indefinite because it is unclear in the claim as to how this measurement is determined/measured/calculated and/or what it encompasses.
According to paragraph [0020] of instant specification: “In the disclosure, the area ratio refers to the cross-sectional area ratio of the first lithium manganese iron phosphate and the second lithium manganese iron phosphate in the CPSEM.” Therefore, it appears that images obtained by SEM are necessary to determine this “area ratio”. However, measuring via area ratio in CPSEM is merely an analytical method, not a structural limitation.
Claims 2-15 are rejected because they depend on rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoko et al. (JP2022094473A, relied on machine translation, hereinafter Satoko) in view of Cheng et al. (WO2023046048A1, with a publication date of March 3, 2023, rejection relied on US equivalent Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0186490, hereinafter Cheng).
In regards to Claim 1, Satoko discloses a positive electrode active material, comprising a secondary particle, wherein an inner side of the secondary particle comprises a first lithium manganese iron phosphate in a form of a primary particle, and an outer side of the secondary particle comprises a second lithium manganese iron phosphate in the form of the primary particle, a general chemical formula of the first lithium manganese iron phosphate is LixMnaFe1-a-a’M1a’PO4, 0.9≤x≤1.10, 0.4≤a≤0.9, and 0.001≤a'≤0.02, and a general chemical formula of the second lithium manganese iron phosphate in the form of the primary particle is LiyMnbFe1-b-b’M2b’PO4, 0.9≤y≤1.10, 0<b≤0.6, and 0.001≤b’≤0.02, where a>b, M1 and M2 are each one or more of Mg, Ti, V, Ni, Co, and Al, and an area ratio of the first lithium manganese iron phosphate to the second lithium manganese iron phosphate satisfies S≥(0.4-b)/(a-0.4), wherein S is the area ratio (see paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0034]-[0035]; Satoko discloses a positive electrode active material comprising a secondary particle (B) which may be a core-shell structure having a core portion (internal), i.e. inner side of the secondary particles comprising a first lithium manganese iron phosphate in a form of a primary particle, and a shell portion (surface), i.e. outer side of the secondary particle comprising a second lithium manganese iron phosphate in the form of the primary particle. By using particles (B) with this core-shell structure, LMPF particles with an even higher Mn content that are more easily eluted into the electrolyte are placed in the core portion, and LMPF particles with a lower Mn content than the core portion are placed in the shell portion that comes into contact with the electrolyte, thereby suppressing the decrease in rate characteristics caused by particles (B). As a particle (B) formed by creating a core-shell structure with two or more LMPF particles with different compositions, specifically, a particle in which the (core-portion)-(shell portion) consists of, for example (LiMn0.9Fe0.1PO4)-(LiMn0.6Fe0.4PO4). An area ratio of the first lithium manganese iron phosphate to the second lithium manganese iron phosphate satisfies S≥(0.4-b)/(a-0.4), S≥ (0.4-0.6)/(0.9-0.4), S≥-2/5.). Satoko further discloses that the LMPF particles may further contain M2 (LifMngFehM2xPO4) which may be Mg, Ti, Ni, Co and Al in the composition in amounts of 0≤x≤0.3.).
Satoko fails to disclose corresponding elements M1 and M2 in the composition at a ratio 0.001≤a’≤0.02 and 0.001≤b’≤0.02, respectively.
However, Cheng teaches a battery positive electrode material which includes a core and first shell layer arranged on a surface of the core. The core, i.e. inner side of the secondary particles comprising a first lithium manganese iron phosphate in a form of a primary particle, includes LiMnxFe1-xPO4. The first shell layer, i.e. outer side of the secondary particle comprising a second lithium manganese iron phosphate in the form of the primary particle, includes LiMnyFe1-yPO4, where 0<x≤0.4 and 0.6≤y≤0.9 (see paragraph [0004]). In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the battery positive electrode material further includes a dopant element, i.e. M1, M2. The dopant element includes one or more of Ti, V, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Mg, Al, or Ca. The dopant element can improve the ionic and electronic conductivity of the battery positive electrode material. In the present disclosure, both the core and the first shell layer of the battery positive electrode material may be doped with elements to improve the electrical conductivity. A content in percentages by weight of the dopant element in the battery positive electrode material is between 0.1% and 0.5% (0.001≤a’≤0.005) (see paragraph [0030]), which falls inside the claimed value ranges of 0.001≤a’≤0.02, as claimed by the applicant, thereby making the claimed range prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.
Since Satoko clearly discloses that that the LMPF particles may further contain M2 (LifMngFehM2xPO4) which may be Mg, Ti, Ni, Co and Al, and Cheng clearly teaches the importance of including a dopant element such as Ti, V, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Mg, Al, or Ca, i.e. M1, M2, to the battery positive electrode material to improve the ionic and electronic conductivity of the battery positive electrode material, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the positive electrode active material as disclosed by Satoko by further including M1 and M2 in an amount 0.001≤a’≤0.02, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Chen teaches that, the battery positive electrode material further includes a dopant element such as Ti, V, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Mg, Al, or Ca, which can improve the ionic and electronic conductivity of the battery positive electrode material, and both the core and the first shell layer of the battery positive electrode material may be doped with elements to improve the electrical conductivity, and a content in percentages by weight of the dopant element in the battery positive electrode material is between 0.1% and 0.5% (0.001≤a’≤0.005) (see paragraph [0030]).
In regards to Claim 2, Satoko discloses wherein the positive electrode active material satisfies at least one of the following conditions (a) to (b):
(a) in the general chemical formula of the first lithium manganese iron phosphate, a value range of a is: 0.6≤a≤0.8, and
(b) in the general chemical formula of the second lithium manganese iron phosphate, a value range of b is: 0<b<0.4.
(see paragraph [0035]; Satoko discloses a positive electrode active material comprising a secondary particle (B) which may be a core-shell structure having a core portion (internal), i.e. inner side of the secondary particles comprising a first lithium manganese iron phosphate in a form of a primary particle, and a shell portion (surface), i.e. outer side of the secondary particle comprising a second lithium manganese iron phosphate in the form of the primary particle. By using particles (B) with this core-shell structure, LMPF particles with an even higher Mn content that are more easily eluted into the electrolyte are placed in the core portion, and LMPF particles with a lower Mn content than the core portion are placed in the shell portion that comes into contact with the electrolyte, thereby suppressing the decrease in rate characteristics caused by particles (B). As a particle (B) formed by creating a core-shell structure with two or more LMPF particles with different compositions, specifically, a particle in which the (core-portion)-(shell portion) consists of, for example (LiMn0.8Fe0.2PO4)-(Li1.2Mn0.63Fe0.27PO4), which satisfies condition (a), as claimed by the applicant.
In regards to Claim 7, Satoko discloses wherein a surface of the primary particle is coated with carbon, a coating amount of the carbon is 1% to 3%, and a percentage in the coating amount in a percentage of mass of the carbon in a mass of the primary particle (see paragraphs [0040]-[0043]; Satoko disclose particles (B) may be particles on which carbon derived from cellulose nanofibers an/or carbon derived from water-soluble carbon materials are supported on the surface of the particles. Therefore, when such cellulose nanofibers are carbonized into carbon, which is firmly supported on the surface of the particles (B), the particles (B) exhibit properties that make them easily crushed, while also possessing moderate strength that allows them to easily deform and avoid collapse, while also suppressing excessive pulverization. This effectively suppresses the reduction of the electronically conductive path, effectively increases the pressure density, and ensures that the resulting battery exhibits excellent discharge capacity. When carbon derived from cellulose nanofibers and/or carbon derived from a water-soluble carbon material are supported on the surface of particle (B), the total amount of carbon derived from cellulose nanofibers and carbon derived from the water-soluble carbon material, i.e., the total amount of carbon supported from cellulose nanofibers and carbon supported from the water-soluble carbon material, is preferably 1.0% to 2.5% by mass, per 100% by mass of particle (B), which falls inside the claimed range of 1% to 3% by mass of the carbon in a mass of the primary particle, as claimed by the applicant, thereby making the claimed range prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.).
In regards to Claim 8, Satoko discloses an electrochemical device, comprising a positive electrode sheet, a negative electrode sheet, and a separator, wherein the positive electrode sheet comprises the positive electrode active material according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0081], [0087] and [0110]).
In regards to Claim 10, Satoko discloses an electrochemical device, comprising a positive electrode sheet, a negative electrode sheet, and a separator, wherein the positive electrode sheet comprises the positive electrode active material according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0081], [0087] and [0110]).
In regards to Claim 15, Satoko discloses an electrochemical device, comprising a positive electrode sheet, a negative electrode sheet, and a separator, wherein the positive electrode sheet comprises the positive electrode active material according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0081], [0087] and [0110]).
Claims 3-6, 9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoko, in view of Cheng, and further in view of Daisuke et al. (JP2013062082A, relied on machine translation, hereinafter Daisuke).
In regards to Claim 3, Satoko, in view of Cheng, discloses the positive electrode active material as recited in claim 1, but is silent in regards to wherein the area ratio of the first lithium manganese iron phosphate to the second lithium manganese iron phosphate satisfies b/a≤S≤30b/a.
However, Daisuke teaches a secondary battery which includes at least a positive electrode containing a positive electrode active material, a negative electrode having a negative electrode active material layer containing a negative electrode active material and a negative electrode binding agent, and an electrolyte, i.e. electrochemical device. The positive electrode active material contains a lithium transition metal oxide (see paragraph [0014]). The lithium transition metal oxide further contains at least one of manganese (Mn) and iron (Fe) as a transition metal (see paragraph [0058]). The specific surface area of the lithium transition metal oxide is, for example 0.01 to 5m2/g. By setting the specific surface area within this range, the contact area with the electrolyte can be adjusted to an appropriate range. In other words, by increasing the specific surface area, lithium ion insertion and removal becomes smoother, and resistance can be further reduced. Furthermore, by setting the specific surface area to 5m2/g or less, the decomposition of the electrolyte and the elution of constituent elements of the active material can be further suppressed (see paragraph [0079]).
Since Daisuke teaches the importance of setting the specific surface area of the lithium transition metal oxide so that the contact area with the electrolyte can be adjusted to an appropriate range and the decomposition of the electrolyte and the elution of constituent elements of the active material can be further suppressed, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the positive electrode active material as disclosed by Satoko, in view of Cheng, to reduce the surface area of the lithium manganese iron phosphate of the outer side of the secondary particle that is more easily contacted by the electrolyte, to suppress the elution of the constituent elements of the active material, and adjusting the surface area so as to have an optimum size for smoothly inserting and desorbing the lithium ions and reducing resistance, and as a result, obtain a configuration through routine experimentation that satisfies the area ratio, as claimed by the applicant, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to Claim 4, Satoko, in view of Cheng, discloses the positive electrode active material as recited in claim 1, but is silent in regards to wherein the area ratio of the first lithium manganese iron phosphate to the second lithium manganese iron phosphate satisfies the following: when 0<b<0.55 and 0.75<a≤0.9, (0.55-b)/(a-0.55)≤S≤(0.75-b)/(a-0.75).
However, Daisuke teaches a secondary battery which includes at least a positive electrode containing a positive electrode active material, a negative electrode having a negative electrode active material layer containing a negative electrode active material and a negative electrode binding agent, and an electrolyte, i.e. electrochemical device. The positive electrode active material contains a lithium transition metal oxide (see paragraph [0014]). The lithium transition metal oxide further contains at least one of manganese (Mn) and iron (Fe) as a transition metal (see paragraph [0058]). The specific surface area of the lithium transition metal oxide is, for example 0.01 to 5m2/g. By setting the specific surface area within this range, the contact area with the electrolyte can be adjusted to an appropriate range. In other words, by increasing the specific surface area, lithium ion insertion and removal becomes smoother, and resistance can be further reduced. Furthermore, by setting the specific surface area to 5m2/g or less, the decomposition of the electrolyte and the elution of constituent elements of the active material can be further suppressed (see paragraph [0079]).
Since Daisuke teaches the importance of setting the specific surface area of the lithium transition metal oxide so that the contact area with the electrolyte can be adjusted to an appropriate range and the decomposition of the electrolyte and the elution of constituent elements of the active material can be further suppressed, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the positive electrode active material as disclosed by Satoko, in view of Cheng, to reduce the surface area of the lithium manganese iron phosphate of the outer side of the secondary particle that is more easily contacted by the electrolyte, to suppress the elution of the constituent elements of the active material, and adjusting the surface area so as to have an optimum size for smoothly inserting and desorbing the lithium ions and reducing resistance, and as a result, obtain a configuration through routine experimentation that satisfies the area ratio, as claimed by the applicant, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to Claim 5, Satoko, in view of Cheng, discloses the positive electrode active material as recited in claim 1, but in silent in regards to wherein the area ratio of the first lithium manganese iron phosphate to the second lithium manganese iron phosphate satisfies when 0<b<0.5 and 0.5<a≤0.9, S≥(0.5-b)/(a-0.5).
However, Daisuke teaches a secondary battery which includes at least a positive electrode containing a positive electrode active material, a negative electrode having a negative electrode active material layer containing a negative electrode active material and a negative electrode binding agent, and an electrolyte, i.e. electrochemical device. The positive electrode active material contains a lithium transition metal oxide (see paragraph [0014]). The lithium transition metal oxide further contains at least one of manganese (Mn) and iron (Fe) as a transition metal (see paragraph [0058]). The specific surface area of the lithium transition metal oxide is, for example 0.01 to 5m2/g. By setting the specific surface area within this range, the contact area with the electrolyte can be adjusted to an appropriate range. In other words, by increasing the specific surface area, lithium ion insertion and removal becomes smoother, and resistance can be further reduced. Furthermore, by setting the specific surface area to 5m2/g or less, the decomposition of the electrolyte and the elution of constituent elements of the active material can be further suppressed (see paragraph [0079]).
Since Daisuke teaches the importance of setting the specific surface area of the lithium transition metal oxide so that the contact area with the electrolyte can be adjusted to an appropriate range and the decomposition of the electrolyte and the elution of constituent elements of the active material can be further suppressed, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the positive electrode active material as disclosed by Satoko, in view of Cheng, to reduce the surface area of the lithium manganese iron phosphate of the outer side of the secondary particle that is more easily contacted by the electrolyte, to suppress the elution of the constituent elements of the active material, and adjusting the surface area so as to have an optimum size for smoothly inserting and desorbing the lithium ions and reducing resistance, and as a result, obtain a configuration through routine experimentation that satisfies the area ratio, as claimed by the applicant, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to Claim 6, Satoko, in view of Cheng, discloses the positive electrode active material as recited in claim 1, but is silent in regards to wherein the area ratio of the first lithium manganese iron phosphate to the second lithium manganese iron phosphate is: (0.4-b)/(a-0.4)≤S≤(0.7-b)/(a-0.7).
However, Daisuke teaches a secondary battery which includes at least a positive electrode containing a positive electrode active material, a negative electrode having a negative electrode active material layer containing a negative electrode active material and a negative electrode binding agent, and an electrolyte, i.e. electrochemical device. The positive electrode active material contains a lithium transition metal oxide (see paragraph [0014]). The lithium transition metal oxide further contains at least one of manganese (Mn) and iron (Fe) as a transition metal (see paragraph [0058]). The specific surface area of the lithium transition metal oxide is, for example 0.01 to 5m2/g. By setting the specific surface area within this range, the contact area with the electrolyte can be adjusted to an appropriate range. In other words, by increasing the specific surface area, lithium ion insertion and removal becomes smoother, and resistance can be further reduced. Furthermore, by setting the specific surface area to 5m2/g or less, the decomposition of the electrolyte and the elution of constituent elements of the active material can be further suppressed (see paragraph [0079]).
Since Daisuke teaches the importance of setting the specific surface area of the lithium transition metal oxide so that the contact area with the electrolyte can be adjusted to an appropriate range and the decomposition of the electrolyte and the elution of constituent elements of the active material can be further suppressed, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the positive electrode active material as disclosed by Satoko, in view of Cheng, to reduce the surface area of the lithium manganese iron phosphate of the outer side of the secondary particle that is more easily contacted by the electrolyte, to suppress the elution of the constituent elements of the active material, and adjusting the surface area so as to have an optimum size for smoothly inserting and desorbing the lithium ions and reducing resistance, and as a result, obtain a configuration through routine experimentation that satisfies the area ratio, as claimed by the applicant, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to Claim 9, Satoko, in view of Cheng, discloses electrochemical device as recited in claim 8, but fails to disclose an electronic apparatus comprising the electrochemical device according to claim 8.
However, Daisuke teaches a secondary battery which includes at least a positive electrode containing a positive electrode active material, a negative electrode having a negative electrode active material layer containing a negative electrode active material and a negative electrode binding agent, and an electrolyte, i.e. electrochemical device. The positive electrode active material contains a lithium transition metal oxide (see paragraph [0014]). The lithium transition metal oxide further contains at least one of manganese (Mn) and iron (Fe) as a transition metal (see paragraph [0058]). As a lithium manganese composite oxide containing Mn, a lithium manganese composite oxides represented by the following formula (4) can be used:
LiaMbMn2-b-cAcO4, 0.8<a<1.2, 0.4<b<0.6, 0≤c≤0.3.
M=one or more metals selected from Ni and Fe containing at least Ni;
A= at least one element selected from Ti, Mg and Al. (see paragraph [0068]).
The secondary battery which includes at least a positive electrode containing a positive electrode active material, a negative electrode having a negative electrode active material layer containing a negative electrode active material and a negative electrode binding agent, and an electrolyte, i.e. electrochemical device, can be used as a power source for mobile devices, such as cell phones and laptops; a power source for transportation vehicles such as electric vehicles, hybrid cars electric motorcycles and electric-assist bicycles, as well as trains, satellites, and submarines; a backup power source for UPS systems; and energy storage equipment for storing electricity generated by solar power, wind power, etc., i.e. electronic apparatus (see paragraph [0348]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the positive electrode active material as disclosed by Satoko, in view of Cheng, by further using the electrochemical device in an electronic apparatus, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Daisuke teaches a secondary battery which includes at least a positive electrode containing a positive electrode active material, a negative electrode having a negative electrode active material layer containing a negative electrode active material and a negative electrode binding agent, and an electrolyte, i.e. electrochemical device, wherein the positive electrode active material contains a lithium transition metal oxide further containing at least one of manganese (Mn) and iron (Fe) as a transition metal, whereby the lithium manganese composite oxide containing Mn, a lithium manganese composite oxides represented by the following formula (4) can be used: LiaMbMn2-b-cAcO4, 0.8<a<1.2, 0.4<b<0.6, 0≤c≤0.3, M=one or more metals selected from Ni and Fe containing at least Ni; A= at least one element selected from Ti, Mg and Al, and the secondary battery which includes at least a positive electrode containing a positive electrode active material, a negative electrode having a negative electrode active material layer containing a negative electrode active material and a negative electrode binding agent, and an electrolyte, i.e. electrochemical device, can be used as a power source for mobile devices, such as cell phones and laptops; a power source for transportation vehicles such as electric vehicles, hybrid cars electric motorcycles and electric-assist bicycles, as well as trains, satellites, and submarines; a backup power source for UPS systems; and energy storage equipment for storing electricity generated by solar power, wind power, etc., i.e. electronic apparatus (see paragraph [0348]).
In regards to Claim 11, Satoko discloses an electrochemical device, comprising a positive electrode sheet, a negative electrode sheet, and a separator, wherein the positive electrode sheet comprises the positive electrode active material according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0081], [0087] and [0110]).
In regards to Claim 12, Satoko discloses an electrochemical device, comprising a positive electrode sheet, a negative electrode sheet, and a separator, wherein the positive electrode sheet comprises the positive electrode active material according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0081], [0087] and [0110]).
In regards to Claim 13, Satoko discloses an electrochemical device, comprising a positive electrode sheet, a negative electrode sheet, and a separator, wherein the positive electrode sheet comprises the positive electrode active material according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0081], [0087] and [0110]).
In regards to Claim 14, Satoko discloses an electrochemical device, comprising a positive electrode sheet, a negative electrode sheet, and a separator, wherein the positive electrode sheet comprises the positive electrode active material according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0081], [0087] and [0110]).
Conclusion
/JELITZA M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774