DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 09/17/2026 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 21,34 and 37 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez (US 2002/0178319) in view of McLaren et al (WO 2010/128958 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Sanchez discloses a server system comprising one or more optical devices for use in the server system, ;( serving requests from multiple users may require server computers to rapidly search through large amounts of information within associated databases, see paragraph 4 and figure 1) at least one optical device of the one or more optical devices ;(computer system with an optic bus, see figure 1) comprising: a first processor capable of executing one or more computer-readable instructions; (a central processing unit (CPU) 102 electrically coupled to an bus/CPU interface 104, see paragraph 31 and figure 1) a working storage capable of storing the one or more computer-readable instructions executed by the first processor and optically coupled with the first processor; and an optical bus capable of optically coupling the first processor with the working storage,(the memory modules 120 constitute the working memory of the CPU 102, and are typically implemented using dynamic RAM or other available read-write memory coupled with the CPU 102 through an optical bus 106 and optical bus/CPU interface 104, see paragraph 36 and figure 1), wherein the optical device for use in the server system is capable of: transport of a first optical signal between the first processor and the working storage via the optical bus;( the bus/device interface 110c provides an electro-optic interface which facilitates communication between the optical bus 106 and the memory controller 118 further coupled with memory module 120, see paragraph 36 and figure 1) receipt of the first optical signal, conversion of the first optical signal to the one or more computer-readable instructions ;( the CPU interface 202 provides the logic necessary to connect the internal buses of the CPU 102 to the optical bus elements of the computer system 100, see paragraph 38 and figure 3).
However, Sanchez does not explicitly disclose conversion of the one or more computer-readable instructions to the first optical signal.
In a related field of endeavor, McLaren discloses conversion of the one or more computer-readable instructions to the first optical signal;(the router 112, in this embodiment, includes a transceiver that converts the electronic signals into optical signals encoding the same information and sends the optical signals 124 to the optical bus 104, see page 5, lines 4-6 and figures 1,2).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the processing nodes of McLaren with Sanchez to provide broadcasting of optical signals and the motivation is to provide arrangement of multiple optical buses to create scalable optical interconnect fabrics for computer systems.
Regarding claim 21, Sanchez discloses the server system of claim 16 further comprising an electromagnetic wave source capable of generating the first optical signal;(each electrical to optical converter 706 is responsible for converting one bit of each multi-bit address signal carried by the optical bus 106 and first electrical to optical converter 7060 further includes a bias source 7200 set to pull sufficient current through the VCSEL laser 7140, see paragraph 48 and figure 7a) wherein the optical device further comprises one or more fiber optic strands, wherein the first optical signal is capable of being propagated through the one or more fiber optic strands; (the optical bus 106 comprises a plurality of optical channels that may be implemented, for example, using multiple-mode or single-mode optical fibers, see paragraph 35 and figure 2).
Regarding claim 34, Sanchez discloses the server system of claim 16 wherein the working storage coupled with the first processor comprises Random Access Memory (RAM), ,(the memory modules 120 constitute the working memory of the CPU 102, and are typically implemented using dynamic RAM or other available read-write memory coupled with the CPU 102 through an optical bus 106 and optical bus/CPU interface 104, see paragraph 36 and figure 1) static memory, SD- RAM, DDR-RAM, RAMBUS, working memory, or temporary cache memory. (Only one of the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 37, Sanchez discloses the server system of claim 16 wherein the at least one optical device of the one or more optical devices further comprises a network interface device optically coupled with the first processor via the optical bus, wherein the network interface device is capable of receiving and transmitting signals via a network; (an electro-optic interface system controller 220 is connected to the bus/CPU interface 104 and to the bus/device interface 110c through via a first control bus 230 and a second control bus 232, respectively. The electro-optic interface system controller 220 is configured to control the operation of the bus/CPU interface 104 and to the bus/device interfaces 110, see paragraph 37 and figure 2).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez (US 2002/0178319) in view of McLaren et al (WO 2010/128958 A1) and further in view of Morrow et al; (US 2005/0276604).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Sanchez and McLaren does not explicitly disclose the server system of claim 16 wherein the first optical signal and signal has a transmission characteristic, the transmission characteristic including one or more of the following: a particular frequency, a particular frequency different than a frequency for a second optical signal capable of being transported between the first processor and the working storage via the optical bus, transmission of binary code using analog non-binary signals, transmission of two or more different frequencies, transmission of a first
frequency representing first data and a second frequency representing second data different than the first data, transmission of the first optical signal at the first frequency, transmission of the second optical signal at the second frequency, optical transmission of the one or more computer-readable instructions, a frequency hopping method, a transmission speed, a transmission grouping, a transmission on/off pattern, a reflective property, and a transmission sequence.
In a related field of endeavor, Morrow discloses the server system of claim 16 wherein the first optical signal and signal has a transmission characteristic ;(optical transceiver 700 with optical source 740for generating continuous wave (CW), see paragraph 45) the transmission characteristic including one or more of the following: a particular frequency, a particular frequency different than a frequency for a second optical signal capable of being transported between the first processor and the working storage via the optical bus, transmission of binary code using analog non-binary signals, transmission of two or more different frequencies, transmission of a first frequency representing first data and a second frequency representing second data different than the first data, transmission of the first optical signal at the first frequency, transmission of the second optical signal at the second frequency, optical transmission of the one or more computer-readable instructions, a frequency hopping method, a transmission speed, a transmission grouping, a transmission on/off pattern ;(a first portion of the CW optical input is provided to E-O transmitter 725 as a carrier wave on which electrical data, received from one of processors 205 via electrical input port 730, is modulated with encoded data as (0101010), see paragraph 46) a reflective property, and a transmission sequence. (Only one of the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the encoding of Morrow with Sanchez and McLaren to encode the optical signal with data and the motivation is to provide data transmission.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez (US 2002/0178319) in view of McLaren et al (WO 2010/128958 A1) and further in view of Tsaur et al; (US 8510271).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Sanchez and McLaren does not explicitly disclose the server system of claim 16 wherein the one or more computer-readable instructions include one or more of an encryption method, a decryption method, an algorithm, a bytecode, a computer program, a java applet, HTML code, a graphics code, a routine, a key, a formula, an indicator, a pointer, or an index.
In a related field of endeavor, Tsaur discloses the server system of claim 16 wherein the one or more computer-readable instructions include one or more of an encryption method;(computer system processor 610 coupled with the memory 620 with encryption software, column 16, line 21) a decryption method, an algorithm, a bytecode, a computer program, a java applet, HTML code, a graphics code, a routine, a key, a formula, an indicator, a pointer, or an index. (Only one of the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the encryption software and/or hashing software of Tsaur with Sanchez and McLaren to scramble the data into an unreadable code and the motivation is to provide increased security for transmitted data.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Sanchez and McLaren does not explicitly disclose the server system of claim 19, wherein the encryption and the decryption method include one or more of the following: hashing, symmetric cryptography, and asymmetric cryptography.
In a related field of endeavor, Tsaur discloses the server system of claim 16 wherein the encryption and the decryption method include one or more of the following: hashing, ;(computer system processor 610 coupled with the memory 620 with hashing software, column 16, line 21) symmetric cryptography, and asymmetric cryptography. Motivation same as claim 19.
Claims 22 and 39 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez (US 2002/0178319) in view of Aron (US 2006/0251421).
Regarding claim 22, Sanchez discloses a subsystem for use in a server system, ;( serving requests from multiple users may require server computers to rapidly search through large amounts of information within associated databases, see paragraph 4 and figure 1) the subsystem comprising: a processor capable of executing one or more computer-readable instructions; (a central processing unit (CPU) 102 electrically coupled to an bus/CPU interface 104, see paragraph 31 and figure 1) a video card optically coupled with and associated with the processor; and an optical bus optically coupling the processor with the video card, (video display controller 114 coupled with central processing unit (CPU) 102 through an optical bus, see figure 1) wherein the optical bus comprises: a first optical component coupled with the processor,( the bus/CPU interface 104 is in optical communication with an optical bus 106, see paragraph 31 and figure 1) and a second optical component coupled with the video card ;(the bus/device interface 110a is connected to a video display controller 114 , see paragraph 31 and figure 1) wherein the first optical component is configured to receive a first optical signal from the video card via the optical bus ;( the bus/CPU interface 104 and bus/device interfaces 110 provide electro-optic interfaces between the optical bus 106 and video display controller 114, see paragraph 32 and figure 1) and to convert the first optical signal to data,( the data receive circuitry 612 is comprised of an array optical to electrical converters 748 operative to convert the data received from the optical bus 106 into electrical signal energy, see paragraph 50 and figure 7C) wherein the second optical component is configured to convert the data to the first optical signal;( the address drive circuitry 604 is comprised of an array of electrical to optical converters 706 operative to convert the address signals from the differential line drivers 342 into optical signals disposed to carry address information via the an optical bus 106, see paragraph 48 and figure 7A).
However, Sanchez does not explicitly disclose binary data.
In a related field of endeavor, Aron discloses binary data; (the individual pulsed transmissions are received by the opto-electronic converters 93, and are passed to analog-to-digital converters 94, to generate an equivalent digital representation for processing, see paragraph 88 and figure 9).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the binary data of Aron with Sanchez to convert the received analog electrical signal into digital (binary) signal and the motivation is increased speed signal processing of the received data.
Regarding claim 39, Sanchez discloses the subsystem of claim 22, wherein the optical bus further comprises one or more fiber optic strands, wherein the subsystem further comprises an electromagnetic wave source capable of generating the first optical signal, ;(each electrical to optical converter 706 is responsible for converting one bit of each multi-bit address signal carried by the optical bus 106 and first electrical to optical converter 7060 further includes a bias source 7200 set to pull sufficient current through the VCSEL laser 7140, see paragraph 48 and figure 7a) and wherein the first optical signal is capable of being propagated through the one or more fiber optic strands ; (the optical bus 106 comprises a plurality of optical channels that may be implemented, for example, using multiple-mode or single-mode optical fibers, see paragraph 35 and figure 2).
However, Sanchez does not explicitly disclose wherein the first processor is configured to process the one or more computer-readable instructions by one or more of the following: sequentially or in synchronized series.
In a related field of endeavor, Aron discloses wherein the first processor is configured to process the one or more computer-readable instructions by one or more of the following: sequentially or in synchronized series ;( weighting factors are derived by transmitting a signal onto said bus sequentially from each of said transmitters and measuring the received signals at all of said receivers from each sequentially transmitted signal; see claim 15).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the sequential processing of data of Aron with Sanchez to provide processing of the data signal and the motivation is increased speed signal processing of the received data.
Claims 26 and 33 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez (US 2002/0178319) view of McLaren et al (WO 2010/128958 A1).
Regarding claim 26, Sanchez disclose server system comprising a subsystem for use in the server system ;( serving requests from multiple users may require server computers to rapidly search through large amounts of information within associated databases, see paragraph 4 and figure 1) the subsystem comprising: a processor capable of executing configured to process one or more computer-readable instructions; (a central processing unit (CPU) 102 electrically coupled to an bus/CPU interface 104, see paragraph 31 and figure 1) a video card optically coupled with the processor; and an optical bus positioned between and optically coupling the processor with the video card, (video display controller 114 coupled with central processing unit (CPU) 102 through an optical bus, see figure 1) wherein the optical bus is capable of facilitating transmission of a first optical signal, ( optical bus 106, see figure 1) wherein the optical bus comprises one or more optical components, the one or more optical components being configured to do one or more of the following: convert the first optical signal to first computer-readable instructions of the one or more computer-readable instructions, ;( the CPU interface 202 provides the logic necessary to connect the internal buses of the CPU 102 to the optical bus elements of the computer system 100, see paragraph 38 and figure 3); and
However, Sanchez does not explicitly disclose convert the one or more computer-readable instructions to the first optical signal.
In a related field of endeavor, McLaren discloses convert the one or more computer-readable instructions to the first optical signal;(the router 112, in this embodiment, includes a transceiver that converts the electronic signals into optical signals encoding the same information and sends the optical signals 124 to the optical bus 104, see page 5, lines 4-6 and figures 1,2).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the processing nodes of Sanchez with Morrow to provide broadcasting of optical signals and the motivation is to provide arrangement of multiple optical buses to create scalable optical interconnect fabrics for computer systems.
Regarding claim 33, Sanchez discloses the server system optical device of claim 26 further comprising an electromagnetic wave source capable of generating the first optical signal ;(each electrical to optical converter 706 is responsible for converting one bit of each multi-bit address signal carried by the optical bus 106 and first electrical to optical converter 7060 further includes a bias source 7200 set to pull sufficient current through the VCSEL laser 7140, see paragraph 48 and figure 7a) wherein the optical bus comprises one or more fiber optic strands, wherein the first optical signal is capable of being propagated through the one or more fiber optic strands ; (the optical bus 106 comprises a plurality of optical channels that may be implemented, for example, using multiple-mode or single-mode optical fibers, see paragraph 35 and figure 2).
Claims 27,28 and 30 rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez (US 2002/0178319) in view of McLaren et al (WO 2010/128958 A1) and further in view of Morrow et al; (US 2005/0276604).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Sanchez and McLaren does not explicitly disclose the server system of claim 26 wherein the first optical signal has a transmission characteristic, the transmission characteristic including one or more of the following: a particular frequency, a particular frequency different than a frequency for a second
optical signal capable of being transported between the first processor and the working storage via the optical bus, transmission of binary code using analog non-binary signals, transmission of two or more different frequencies, transmission of a first frequency representing first data and a second frequency representing second data different than the first data, transmission of the first optical signal at the first frequency, transmission of the second optical signal at the second frequency, optical transmission of the one or more computer-readable instructions, transmission of the first frequency of the first optical signal as data that is different than the first computer-readable instructions of the one or more computer-readable instructions from the converted first optical signal, a frequency hopping method, a transmission speed, a transmission grouping, a transmission on/off pattern, a reflective property, and a transmission sequence.
In a related field of endeavor, Morrow discloses the server system of claim 26 wherein the first optical signal ;(optical transceiver 700 with optical source 740for generating continuous wave (CW), see paragraph 45) has a transmission characteristic, the transmission characteristic including one or more of the following: a particular frequency, a particular frequency different than a frequency for a second optical signal capable of being transported between the first processor and the working storage via the optical bus, transmission of binary code using analog non-binary signals, transmission of two or more different frequencies, transmission of a first frequency representing first data and a second frequency representing second data different than the first data, transmission of the first optical signal at the first frequency, transmission of the second optical signal at the second frequency, optical transmission of the one or more computer-readable instructions, transmission of the first frequency of the first optical signal as data that is different than the first computer-readable instructions of the one or more computer-readable instructions from the converted first optical signal, a frequency hopping method, a transmission speed, a transmission grouping, a transmission on/off pattern;(a first portion of the CW optical input is provided to E-O transmitter 725 as a carrier wave on which electrical data, received from one of processors 205 via electrical input port 730, is modulated with encoded data as (0101010), see paragraph 46) a reflective property, and a transmission sequence. (Only one of the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the encoding of Morrow with Sanchez and McLaren to encode the optical signal with data and the motivation is to provide data transmission.
Regarding claim 28, the combination the combination of Sanchez and McLaren does not explicitly disclose the server system optical of claim 26, wherein the first optical signal represents a first data, wherein a second optical signal, capable of being transmitted via the optical bus, represents a second data different from the first data.
In a related field of endeavor, Morrow discloses the server system optical of claim 26, wherein the first optical signal represents a first data, wherein a second optical signal, capable of being transmitted via the optical bus, represents a second data different from the first data ;(if optical bus 210 supports a WDMA protocols, then multiple O-E receivers 735 may be coupled to optical bus 210 for each wavelength and modulated with electrical data, received from one of processors 205 via electrical input port 730, is modulated (first and second optical signal corresponding to different wavelengths), see paragraphs 46 and 49 and figures 8 and 9).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the wavelength multiplexing protocol of Morrow with Sanchez and McLaren to provide use plurality of wavelengths (frequency) for data transmission and/or reception of optical signals and the motivation is increased transmission and/or reception capacity.
Regarding claim 30, the combination the combination of Sanchez and McLaren does not explicitly disclose the server system optical of claim 26 wherein the optical bus is capable of transmitting more frequencies, wherein the two or more frequencies are capable of transmitting non-binary analog data, wherein one or more optical components are capable of identifying the two or more frequencies and capable of converting the non-binary analog data to binary data.
In a related field of endeavor, Morrow discloses the server system optical of claim 26 wherein the optical bus is capable of transmitting more frequencies, wherein the two or more frequencies are capable of transmitting non-binary analog data, wherein one or more optical components are capable of identifying the two or more frequencies and capable of converting the non-binary analog data to binary data; (if optical bus 210 supports a WDMA protocols, then multiple O-E receivers 735 may be coupled to optical bus 210 for each wavelength (frequency) and modulated with electrical data, (analog data) received from one of processors 205 via electrical input port 730, is modulated see paragraphs 46 and 49 and figures 8 and 9). Motivation same claim 28.
Claims 29 and 32 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable Sanchez (US 2002/0178319) in view of McLaren et al (WO 2010/128958 A1) and further in view of Tsaur et al; (US 8510271).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Sanchez and McLaren does not explicitly disclose the server system of claim 26 wherein the one or more computer-readable instructions include one or more of an encryption method, a decryption method, an algorithm, a bytecode, a computer program, a java applet, HTML code, a graphics code, a routine, a key, a formula, an indicator, a pointer, or an index.
In a related field of endeavor, Tsaur discloses the server system of claim 26 wherein the one or more computer-readable instructions include one or more of an encryption method ;(computer system processor 610 coupled with the memory 620 with encryption software, column 16, line 21) a decryption method, an algorithm, a bytecode, a computer program, a java applet, HTML code, a graphics code, a routine, a key, a formula, an indicator, a pointer, or an index. (Only one of the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the encryption software and/or hashing software of Tsaur with Morrow and McLaren to scramble the data into an unreadable code and the motivation is to provide increased security for transmitted data.
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Sanchez and McLaren does not explicitly disclose the server system of claim 26 wherein the subsystem is capable of encrypting or decrypting optical signals, wherein the encryption and the decryption includes one or more of the following: hashing, symmetric cryptography, and asymmetric cryptography, wherein the first processor is configured to process the one or more computer-readable instructions by one or more of the following: sequentially or in synchronized series.
In a related field of endeavor, Tsaur discloses the server system of claim 26 wherein the subsystem is capable of encrypting or decrypting optical signals, wherein the encryption;(computer system processor 610 coupled with the memory 620 with encryption software, column 16, line 21) and the decryption includes one or more of the following: hashing;(computer system processor 610 coupled with the memory 620 with encryption software, column 16, line 21) and symmetric cryptography, and asymmetric cryptography, wherein the first processor is configured to process the one or more computer-readable instructions by one or more of the following: sequentially or in synchronized series. (Only one of the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the encryption software and/or hashing software of Tsaur with Morrow and McLaren to scramble the data into an unreadable code and the motivation is to provide increased security for transmitted data.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18,24, 37,40,41 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is reproduced below.
a. Levy et al; (US 7366423) discloses a memory apparatus also includes an optical interface, and an optical-to-electrical signal converter is coupled to receive optical signals from the optical interface and provide electrical signals to the electrical device, see figure 6a.
b. Steckl et al; (US 7087281) discloses DTF optical memory making use of the property of dielectric thin film interference to create multi-color pixels and serve as a multi-level optical memory device, see figure 1.
c. Hino et al; (EP1467505 A1) discloses an illumination light source to apply light and an information-transmitting unit to transmit optical information, see figure 1.
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634