Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (USPN 2020/0411602)
With regard to claim 1,
Zhao et al. disclose a display device, comprising: a first pixel adapted to emit light of a first color; and a second pixel adapted to emit light of a second color, the second color being different from the first color (see paragraph 5); wherein a profile of the first pixel and a profile of the second pixel meet one of criteria as follows: (1) a ratio of a length of a long axis to a length of a short axis is greater than or equal to 1 but less than 1.25; and (2) a ratio of a length of a longest side to a length of a shortest side is greater than or equal to 1 but less than 1.25 (see paragraph 147, fig. 1).
With regard to claim 2,
Zhao et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the profile of the first pixel is different from the profile of the second pixel (see fig. 1).
With regard to claim 3,
Zhao et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the first pixel has a first pixel unit and a second pixel unit, and a profile of the first pixel unit is different from a profile of the second pixel unit (See fig. 1).
With regard to claim 4,
Zhao et al. disclose the display device of claim 3, wherein the first pixel unit is located at a first row, and the second pixel unit is located at a second row adjacent to the first row (See fig. 1).
With regard to claim 7,
Zhao et al. disclose the display device of claim 4, wherein the second pixel has a fourth pixel unit located at the first row and a fifth pixel unit located at the second row, and a profile of the fourth pixel unit is identical to a profile of the fifth pixel unit (See fig. 1).
With regard to claim 8,
Zhao et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein a size of the first pixel is different from a size of the second pixel (See fig. 1).
With regard to claim 12,
Zhao et al. disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the first pixel comprises a plurality of pixel units, with a constant distance between any two adjacent ones of the pixel units (See paragraph 252, since distance between first and second and first and third are constant, distance between successive first pixel units is constant).
With regard to claim 13,
Zhao et al. disclose a method of manufacturing a display device, comprising the steps of: forming a first pixel adapted to emit light of a first color; and forming a second pixel adapted to emit light of a second color, the second color being different from the first color (See paragraph 5), wherein a profile of the first pixel and a profile of the second pixel meet one of criteria as follows: (1) a ratio of a length of a long axis to a length of a short axis is greater than or equal to 1 but less than 1.25; and (2) a ratio of a length of a longest side to a length of a shortest side is greater than or equal to 1 but less than 1.25 (See fig. 1, paragraph 147).
With regard to claim 17,
Zhao et al. disclose the method of claim 13, wherein the profile of the first pixel is different from the profile of the second pixel (See fig. 1).
With regard to claim 18,
Zhao et al. disclose the method of claim 13, wherein the first pixel has a first pixel unit and a second pixel unit, and a profile of the first pixel unit is different from a profile of the second pixel unit (See fig. 1).
With regard to claim 19,
Zhao et al. disclose the method of claim 18, wherein the first pixel unit is located at a first row, and the second pixel unit is located at a second row adjacent to the first row (See fig. 1).
With regard to claim 20,
Zhao et al. disclose the method of claim 13, wherein a size of the first pixel is different from a size of the second pixel (See fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (as above), in view of Liu et al. (USPN 2021/0384268).
With regard to claim 5,
Zhao et al. disclose the display device of claim 4, wherein the first pixel has a third pixel unit located at a third row adjacent to the second row (See fig. 1). While Zhao et al. do not disclose a first distance between the first pixel unit and the third pixel unit is equal to a second distance between the first pixel unit and the second pixel unit, Liu et al. do disclose such a configuration (see fig. 1, paragraph 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to incorporate this concept of Liu et al. into the device of Zhao et al. in order to try to provide a more compact pixel arrangement.
With regard to claim 6,
Zhao et al. disclose the display device of claim 5, wherein a profile of the third pixel unit is identical to a profile of the first pixel unit (See fig. 1).
Claims 9-11, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (as above).
With regard to claims 9-11, 14-16,
Zhao et al. disclose the display device of claim 1 and method of claim 13. While Zhao do not explicitly disclose the details of the OLED (paragraph 64) display device, providing a pixel definition layer around emission structures as well as filter layers, each corresponding to their respective pixel configuration was well known to and widely used by those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention and would have been obvious to the same to incorporate into the device and method of Zhao et al. in order to realize light emission and color tuning to provide the pixel structures as directed by Zhao et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 2016/0343284, 2020/0357861, 2023/0132240, 2015/0162391, 2013/0002118.
/CHRISTOPHER M RAABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875