Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on October 17, 2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. The non-patent literature document citation copies (“KR OA dated January 10, 2023”; “KR NOA dated May 17, 2023”) do not include a concise explanation of the relevance in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The phrasing “for vehicle” in line 9 and throughout the specification is unclear. For purposes of further examination, this exact phrase language will be interpreted as --for a vehicle--, in all instances throughout the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 150 and 160 (Fig. 2). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference characters in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “rotation shaft of the rotation connection portion” (claim 3) must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 1-11, line 1, “for vehicle” seems to be directed to state --for a vehicle--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strasdat et al. US 20160152163 A1, in view of Fouet et al. EP 4292879 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Strasdat et al. disclose:
A console device (14/15; Fig. 8) [for a vehicle] (3) comprising:
a main body (see annotated Fig. 8) provided to one side of a seat (4) (Fig. 1A);
an accommodating groove depressed from the main body (see annotated Fig. 6B) in an up-down direction (see annotated Fig. 6B), wherein an upper portion of the accommodating groove opens (31; paragraph 0046); and
a convenient module (see annotated Fig. 6B) configured to be liftable (30) from the accommodating groove (paragraph 0046),
wherein the convenient module comprises:
a partition (26) configured to partition a space where the seat is positioned (see annotated Fig. 7A);
at least one table (24/25) connected to a front end of the partition (see annotated Fig. 5);
a display provided on the table (paragraph 0050); and
a hinge connection portion (33) rotatably supporting the table and the display with respect to the partition (Fig. 5).
Strasdat et al. disclose a display on the table, but do not disclose that this display is provided on a rear surface of the table.
However, Fouet et al. disclose a turntable with one side configured for receiving equipment as a conventional table (3; Fouet et al. Fig. 2), and a second side comprising a display surface (5; Fouet et al. Fig. 2) (Fouet et al. paragraph 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the console device of Strasdat et al. with the turntable as taught by Fouet et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of a passenger being able to engage in different activities such as taking meals, completing paperwork, as well as viewing media content and video sequences using a single integrated table assembly (Fouet et al. paragraphs 0002 and 0006).
Regarding claim 2, Strasdat et al. disclose that the convenient module further includes a rotation connection portion (28) rotatably supporting the table and the display with respect to the hinge connection portion (paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 6, Strasdat et al. disclose a convenient module that further includes a module box accommodating a component therein (see annotated Fig. 6B), wherein an upper portion of the module box includes an opening (31; paragraph 0046), the module box being configured to be put in or taken out of the accommodating groove (paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 10, Strasdat et al. disclose that a pair of tables (24/25) and a pair of displays are provided (paragraph 0050), and a pair of hinge connection portions are provided to rotatably support the pair of tables and the pair of displays independently with respect to the partition (28; see annotated Fig. 5; paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 11, Strasdat et al. disclose that the accommodating groove is formed in the main body and extends in a front-rear direction (see annotated Fig. 8).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strasdat et al. US 20160152163 A1 and Fouet et al. EP 4292879 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Cauldham (Amazon.com product), and further in view of Uxcell (Amazon.com product).
Regarding claim 3, Strasdat et al. disclose that the hinge connection portion and rotation connection portion are configured by a pivot axis and a swivel joint (Strasdat et al. paragraphs 0045-0046). Strasdat et al., in view of Fouet et al., do not disclose these connection portions having rotation shafts.
Regarding claim 4, Strasdat et al., in view of Fouet et al., do not disclose that the rotation connection portion includes a ball joint.
However, Cauldham discloses a hinge connection with a rotation shaft that extends in the up-down direction (see annotated Cauldham Fig. A).
Additionally, Uxcell discloses a ball joint with a rotation shaft that extends in a horizontal direction (see annotated Uxcell Fig. B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the console device of Strasdat et al., in view of Fouet et al., with the hinge and rotation connection portion features as taught by Cauldham, and further in view of Uxcell, with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of providing greater stability for supporting the table and the display. The hinge connection portion as taught by Cauldham includes a removeable rotation shaft for quick assembly or disassembly of the table (Cauldham Product Description). The rotation connection portion as taught by Uxcell includes a rotation shaft for ease of connectivity from the hinge connection portion to the table, and includes a ball joint for a greater range of motion than a swivel joint, as known by one of ordinary skill in the art, with the benefit of providing additional configurations for a passenger to orient the table.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strasdat et al. US 20160152163 A1 and Fouet et al. EP 4292879 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Gou et al. CN 212098687 U.
Regarding claim 5, Strasdat et al., in view of Fouet et al., disclose a partition with the table and display folded within. Strasdat et al., in view of Fouet et al., do not disclose that a pocket portion depressed from the partition with the table and the display are on the pocket portion when being folded.
However, Gou et al. disclose a pocket portion (Gou et al. 1f) depressed from the partition (Gou et al. 3) with the table (Gou et al. 2) on the pocket portion when folded (Gou et al. Fig. 1; Gou et al. paragraph 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the console device of Strasdat et al., in view of Fouet et al., with the pocket portion as taught by Gou et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of making the console structure more compact and retractable when the table and display are not in use (Gou et al. paragraph 0039).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strasdat et al. US 20160152163 A1 and Fouet et al. EP 4292879 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Botta et al. US 20250010782 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Strasdat et al., in view of Fouet et al., disclose a convenient module, but do not disclose that the convenient module further includes a door configured to open or close the opening.
However, Botta et al. disclose a console device that includes a door (Botta et al. 30) configured to open or close an opening (Botta et al. paragraph 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the convenient module of Strasdat et al., in view of Fouet et al., with the door as taught by Botta et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of preventing damage to the convenient module when the door is closed and the table and display are not in use (Botta et al. 0069).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strasdat et al. US 20160152163 A1 and Fouet et al. EP 4292879 A1, in view of Botta et al. US 20250010782 A1, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Wang et al. CN 206174842 U.
Regarding claim 8, Strasdat et al., in view of Fouet et al., and further in view of Botta et al., disclose that the door is rotatable with respect to the module box (Botta et al. 16; Botta et al. paragraph 0056) and the door extends in a front-rear direction (Botta et al. 28; Botta et al. Fig. 6), but do not disclose a rotation shaft of the door.
Regarding claim 9, Strasdat et al., in view of Fouet et al., and further in view of Botta et al., do not disclose that the rotation shaft of the door is elastically supported in a direction of closing the opening.
However, Wang et al. disclose an elastic hinge that includes a rotation shaft that supports a door in the direction of closing (Wang et al. 4/5; Wang et al. paragraph 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the door of Strasdat et al., in view of Fouet et al., and further in view of Botta et al., with the elastic hinge as taught by Wang et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for the advantage of providing a more controlled swing mechanism without the need for manual pushing, as the door can close automatically (see annotated Wang et al. Fig. 6; Wang et al. paragraph 0009).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Strasdat et al. US 20160152163 A1 disclose an arrangement for a motor vehicle interior. See annotated Strasdat et al. Figs. 5, 6B, 7A, 8.
Fouet et al. EP 4292879 A1 disclose a table assembly for a truck.
Cauldham discloses an interior door hinge. See annotated Cauldham Fig. A.
Uxcell discloses a rod end ball bearing with stud. See annotated Uxcell Fig. B.
Gou et al. CN 212098687 U disclose a multifunctional box suitable for an automobile intelligent cabin.
Botta et al. US 20250010782 A1 disclose a folding table system for a vehicle seat.
Wang et al. CN 206174842 U disclose a folding screen door. See annotated Wang et al. Fig. 6.
/Anayansi Santiago/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612