After reviewing the IDS, filed April 27, 2026, the following rejections are being made:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-11 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For claims 1, 11 and 21, It is unclear why the unit is described as a “cabinet” when the disclosed invention is a shipping container for batteries which is inherently a larger storage unit. Also, the limitation that the fitting pieces are an extrusion is indefinite. In fact, it could be interpreted that the wall units are extruded panels, e.g. extruded concrete, and have been extruded together with their side surfaces and their fitting pieces. Furthermore, the term “fitting piece” is indefinite and vague. A fitting piece can be interpreted as a piece that fits something that includes side faces that fit together. Finally, the term “compatible” is indefinite and vague, i.e. it is unclear what shape is considered compatible with another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beighton (GB2,346,626) in view of Shi (CN113321462). Beighton teaches a cabinet unit (Fig. 6), comprising: at least one side wall (2,15,16; Fig. 6), having a first side wall unit (e.g. unit type “2” in Fig. 5) and a second side wall unit (e.g. another unit of the three unit of the type “2” in the upper portion of Fig. 5 or another unit of the type “15” or “16” in the lower portion of Fig. 5) adjacent to the first side wall unit (Fig. 5); wherein the first side wall unit and the second side wall unit are made of fiber or glass-reinforced concrete (page 3, lines 3-7); wherein a first side surface (e.g. upper part of Fig. 5, unit 2 on the left hand side, side surface located on the right hand side of the unit 2) of the first side wall unit defined by a first fitting piece/extrusion (8; see page 3, line 2 aluminum frame. Given the space of the aluminum element 8 in Figs. 3,4 the aluminum profile has implicitly been extruded); a second side surface of the second side wall unit corresponding to the first side surface of the first side wall unit .
Morgan in view of Shi further teaches that the side wall units each have a protruding rib (13 of Morgan).
Claims 1, 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgan (5,573,348) in view of in view of Shi (CN113321462). Morgan teaches a cabinet unit (Fig. 4), comprising: at least one side wall, having a first side wall unit (12) and a second side wall unit (12) adjacent to the first side wall unit (edge to edge in column 13, lines 10-14); wherein the first side wall unit and the second side wall unit are made of steel fiber-reinforced concrete (Materials of Construction portion of patent); wherein a first side surface of the first side wall unit defined by a first fitting piece/extrusion (30); a second side surface of the second side wall unit corresponding to the first side surface of the first side wall unit .
Morgan in view of Shi further teaches that a number of the at least one side wall is two (edge to edge in column 13, lines 10-14 of Morgan), each of other side surfaces of the first side wall unit and the second side wall unit of each side wall has a fitting piece (30); and the cabinet unit further comprises: a bottom plate (10), having fitting pieces (30) on two opposite peripheral sides of an upper surface thereof (Fig. 4), and a top plate (13), having fitting pieces (30) on two opposite peripheral sides of a lower surface thereof (Fig. 4); wherein the two side walls respectively correspond to the two opposite peripheral sides of the bottom plate and the top plate, and fitting pieces at tops and bottoms of the first side wall unit and the second side wall unit of each of the two side walls are fixedly connected to the corresponding fitting pieces on the peripheral sides of the bottom plate and the top plate. The bottom plate and the top plate (made the same as side walls) are made of ultra-high performance concrete (UHPC). Wherein there is a sealing piece (welds) at an interface between the first fitting piece and the second fitting piece and at an interface between any two corresponding fitting pieces.
Claims 3, 4 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beighton (GB2,346,626) in view of Shi (CN113321462) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Wittler (5,305,567). As stated above, Beighton in view of Shi teaches first and second fittings on UHPC side wall units. For claims 3, 4 and 21, Beighton in view of Shi fails to teach side wall units having fitting pieces with snap-fit features. Wittler teaches side wall units (12) having fitting pieces (20) with snap-fit features (34,42). The first fitting piece has a male shape (42) and the second fitting pieces has a female shape (34), the shapes compatible with each other. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use alternate fittings on the side wall units of Beighton, i.e. using the fittings of Wittler in place of the fittings presently used, to provides readily attachable and detachable side wall units.
Claims 3, 4 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgan (5,573,348) in view of in view of Shi (CN113321462) as applied to claims 1, 6-7 and 9 above, and further in view of Wittler (5,305,567). As stated above, Morgan in view of Shi teaches first and second fittings on UHPC side wall units. For claims 3, 4 and 21, Morgan in view of Shi fails to teach side wall units having fitting pieces with snap-fit features. Wittler teaches side wall units (12) having fitting pieces (20) with snap-fit features (34,42). The first fitting piece has a male shape (42) and the second fitting pieces has a female shape (34), the shapes compatible with each other. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use alternate fittings on the side wall units of Morgan, i.e. using the fittings of Wittler in place of the fittings presently used, to provides readily attachable and detachable side wall units.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wittler (5,305,567) in view of Shi (CN113321462). Wittler teaches a “cabinet” unit (Figs. 3a-3c; structure in body of the claim makes up the cabinet, as best understood), comprising: a first member (12) having a first side surface, the first side surface is defined by a first fitting piece (20); and a second member (12) having a second side surface, the second side surface is defined by a second fitting piece (20); wherein the first fitting piece and the second fitting piece are an extrusion; and the first fitting piece and the second fitting piece are configured to form a snap fit with one another (via 34,42). For claim 21, Wittler fails to teach that the members are made of UHPC. Rather the members are made of foam. Shi teaches a cabinet with members made of UHPC material (see English translation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cabinet of Wittler by using UHPC concrete, such as is taught by Shi, in place of the foam for the wall units, for stronger walls/structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 8, 10, and 13-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Wilkens
June 4, 2026
/JANET M WILKENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637