DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8, 10 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoki et al. (US 2013/0002942 A1) in view of Wu (US 2022/0070788 A1).
As to claim 1, Motoki et al. discloses an electronic apparatus (Figs. 6 and 7: accessory 400) comprising:
a battery for supplying power (Fig. 7: first power source section 450-1 and second power source section 450-2);
a lock unit attachable to a first electronic apparatus (Fig.5: the connector 420, including a locking claw 422 and a switch 466, corresponds to the claimed lock unit; [0068]: “the connector 420 is configured such that the locking claw 422 is locked to the inner circumferential surface of the locking hole 27 of the shoe seat 15, and the movement of the shoe seat 15 is regulated in the sliding direction (Y-axis direction)”); and
a processor (Figs.6 and 7: accessory control section 440) configured to output, after the electronic apparatus is attached to the first electronic apparatus, a connection signal to the first electronic apparatus indicating that the electronic apparatus has been attached to the first electronic apparatus ([0259]: “the startup state providing terminal Ts7 of the accessory 400 can stably output the startup detection level DET in a state where the accessory 400 is mounted on the camera body 100”. The startup detection level DET corresponds to the claimed connection signal),
wherein the processor is configured to:
determine whether the lock unit is in a lock state for locking a connection of the electronic apparatus to the first electronic apparatus or in an unlock state for unlocking the connection (Figs. 9 and 11; [0238]: “When the connector 420 is inserted up to a predetermined position of the shoe seat 15, the locking claw 422 of the connector 420 protrudes inside the locking hole 27 of the shoe seat 15, and thus the switch 466 of the first switch section 465 closes a circuit of FIG. 9B.” [0243]: “The startup state providing terminal Ts7 of the accessory 400 is connected to the reference potential line 480 through the switch 466 and the switch 472, in a state where the switch 466 closes a circuit and in a state (position of "on") where the switch 472 closes a circuit.” That is, when both switch 466 and switch 472 are closed, the accessory 400 is connected to the camera body 100, and is in startup state. Thus, determining whether both switches are closed equivalent to determining whether the lock unit is in a lock state), and
output the connection signal in a case where the electronic apparatus can receive the communication with the first electronic apparatus and the lock unit is in the lock state ([0278]: “When the accessory 400 is mounted on the camera 10 and the second switch section 470 closes a circuit (position of "on"), the signal level of the startup detection level DET output by the level switching section 475 (see FIG. 9B) is changed to an L (low) level (step S101)”).
Motoki et al. fails to disclose the processor is configured to: determine, based on information about a state of the battery, whether the electronic apparatus can receive communication with the first electronic apparatus.
However, Wu teaches determining, based on information about a state of the battery, whether the electronic apparatus can receive communication with the first electronic apparatus (Fig.3; [0058]: at block 302, the UE 102 determines whether a low-power condition of the battery 103 (e.g., the remaining power level is below a first threshold level) has occurred. If the UE 102 does not detect a low-power condition, the UE 102 at block 304 enables DC (dual-mode connectivity) capability; if the UE 102 detects a low-power condition, the UE 102 at block 208 disables DC capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Motoki et al. with the teaching of Wu to determining, based on information about a state of the battery, whether the electronic apparatus can receive communication with the first electronic apparatus, so as to improve system reliability and power efficiency by avoiding unsuccessful communication attempts when battery level is insufficient.
As to claim 2, Motoki et al. in view of Wu discloses the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to:
detect a state of a power switch of the battery (Motoki et al.: Fig.9B: second switch section 470 corresponds to the claimed power switch of the battery. [0243]: in a state where switch 472 closes a circuit (the “on” operation), accessory is electrically connected. This corresponds to detecting a state of a power switch) and a state of a battery level of the battery (Wu: Fig.2; [0054]: detect the power level of the battery), and
determine that the electronic apparatus can receive the communication with the first electronic apparatus in a case where the power switch is in a state other than a turning-off position (Motoki et al.: [0278]: “When the accessory 400 is mounted on the camera 10 and the second switch section 470 closes a circuit (position of "on"), the signal level of the startup detection level DET output by the level switching section 475 (see FIG. 9B) is changed to an L (low) level (step S101)”) and the battery level is in a state that can operate the electronic apparatus (Wu: Fig.3; [0058]: when low-power condition of a battery is not detected, the dual-mode connectivity capability is enabled).
As to claim 4, Motoki et al. in view of Wu discloses the electronic apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the state that can operate the electronic apparatus includes a state in which in a case where the electronic apparatus can receive the battery level from the battery, the battery level received from the battery is equal to or higher than level that can operate the electronic apparatus (Wu: Fig.3; [0058]: at block 302, the UE 102 determines whether a low-power condition of the battery 103 (e.g., the remaining power level is below a first threshold level) has occurred. The first threshold level corresponds the claimed level that can operate the electronic apparatus).
As to claim 8, Motoki et al. in view of Wu discloses the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to stop outputting the connection signal in a case where the processor determines at least one of that the electronic apparatus cannot receive the communication with the first electronic apparatus, and that the lock unit is in the unlock state (Motoki et al.: [0244]; [0278]; Fig.11: only when both first switch section 465 and second switch section 470 are closed, the accessory is connected to the camera body, and the startup detection level DET is changed to L level and output to the camera body. Therefore, when any one of the switches is open, the startup detection level DET would be at H level and would not output to the camera body).
As to claim 10, Motoki et al. in view of Wu discloses the electronic apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the processor is configured to stop outputting the connection signal in a case where the processor determines at least one of that the electronic apparatus cannot receive the communication with the first electronic apparatus even in a case where the electronic apparatus is in a low power consumption mode that consumes less power than an operating mode and that the lock unit is in the unlock state (Motoki et al.: [0244]; [0278]; Fig.11: only when both first switch section 465 and second switch section 470 are closed, the accessory is connected to the camera body, and the startup detection level DET is changed to L level and output to the camera body. Therefore, when any one of the switches is open, the startup detection level DET would be at H level and would not output to the camera body).
Method claim 14 recites substantially similar subject matter as disclosed in claim 1; therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons.
As to claim 15, Motoki et al. in view of Wu discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Motoki et al.: [0087]: nonvolatile memory 160) storing a program ([0087]: a series of computer-readable instructions) that causes a computer to execute the connection detecting method according to claim 14.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoki et al. (US 2013/0002942 A1) in view of Wu (US 2022/0070788 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sato (US 2009/0040058 A1).
As to claim 6, Motoki et al. in view of Wu discloses the electronic apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to:
determine that the electronic apparatus can receive the communication with the first electronic apparatus in a case where the power switch is in the state other than the turning-off position (Motoki et al.: [0278]: “When the accessory 400 is mounted on the camera 10 and the second switch section 470 closes a circuit (position of "on"), the signal level of the startup detection level DET output by the level switching section 475 (see FIG. 9B) is changed to an L (low) level (step S101)”), the battery level is in the state that can operate the electronic apparatus (Wu: Fig.3; [0058]: when low-power condition of a battery is not detected, the dual-mode connectivity capability is enabled).
The combination of Motoki et al. and Wu fails to disclose
a battery lid to be opened in replacing the battery; and
a battery lid detector configured to detect opening and closing of the battery lid,
detect a state of the battery lid detector, and
wherein the processor is configured to: determine that the electronic apparatus can receive the communication with the first electronic apparatus in a case where the battery lid detector detects that the battery lid is closed.
However, Sato teaches a battery lid to be opened in replacing the battery (Fig. 15: battery lid 410); and
a battery lid detector configured to detect opening and closing of the battery lid (Fig.15: battery lid opening/closing detection switch 413),
detect a state of the battery lid detector (Fig.4; [0126]: “The system control circuit 50 repeatedly detects whether or not the battery lid 410 changes from the open state to the closed state by using the battery lid opening/closing detection switch 413 (step S400)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Motoki et al., Wu and Sato to have a battery lid to be opened in replacing the battery; and a battery lid detector configured to detect opening and closing of the battery lid, detect a state of the battery lid detector, and wherein the processor is configured to: determine that the electronic apparatus can receive the communication with the first electronic apparatus in a case where the battery lid detector detects that the battery lid is closed, so as to prevent unstable power supply and operation interruption, thereby ensuring reliable operation of the device.
As to claim 7, Motoki et al. in view of Wu and Sato discloses the electronic apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the battery lid detector is a switch provided near the battery lid (Sato: Fig. 15; [0083]: battery lid opening/closing detection switch 413 is located under the battery lid as shown in Fig.15).
Claim(s) 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoki et al. (US 2013/0002942 A1) in view of Wu (US 2022/0070788 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sugiyama (US 2020/0007739 A1).
As to claim 9, Motoki et al. in view of Wu discloses the electronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to output the connection signal in a case where the electronic apparatus can receive the communication with the first electronic apparatus, and the lock unit is in the lock state (Motoki et al.: [0278]: “When the accessory 400 is mounted on the camera 10 and the second switch section 470 closes a circuit (position of "on"), the signal level of the startup detection level DET output by the level switching section 475 (see FIG. 9B) is changed to an L (low) level (step S101)”).
The above combination fails to disclose the processor is configured to output the connection signal in a case where the electronic apparatus can receive the communication with the first electronic apparatus even in a case where the electronic apparatus is in a low power consumption mode that consumes less power than an operating mode.
However, Sugiyama teaches the processor is configured to output the connection signal in a case where the electronic apparatus can receive the communication with the first electronic apparatus even in a case where the electronic apparatus is in a low power consumption mode that consumes less power than an operating mode (Fig.4; [0074]: The lens controller 113 shifts to the sleep state in S315. [0076]: “The lens controller 113 in the sleep state maintains the sleep state until the operation of the specific operation member is detected in S316 or the wake-up instruction is received from the camera controller 205 in S317”. That is, the lens controller 113 can receive communication with the camera even in a case wherein the lens is in a sleep state. The sleep state corresponds to the claimed low power consumption mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Motoki et al. and Wu with the teaching of Sugiyama such that the processor is configured to output the connection signal in a case where the electronic apparatus can receive the communication with the first electronic apparatus even in a case where the electronic apparatus is in a low power consumption mode that consumes less power than an operating mode, so as to maintain communication readiness while reducing power consumption, thereby improving battery efficiency.
As to claim 11, Motoki et al. in view of Wu and Sugiyama discloses the electronic apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the processor is configured to continue to output the connection signal even in a case where the electronic apparatus shifts from the operating mode to the low power consumption mode, or the electronic apparatus shifts from the low power consumption mode to the operating mode (Motoki et al. discloses outputting a connection signal during normal operation. Sugiyama teaches the lens controller maintaining communication capability in low power consumption mode/sleep mode. The combination of Motoki et al. and Sugiyama would teach that the connection signal would continue to be output when transitioning between operating mode and low power consumption mode, so as to prevent interruption of connection and ensure seamless operation).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoki et al. (US 2013/0002942 A1) in view of Wu (US 2022/0070788 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nishimoto et al. (US 2005/0094180 A1).
As to claim 12, Motoki et al. in view of Wu discloses the electronic apparatus according to claim 1. The combination also discloses the processor outputs the connection signal (Motoki et al.: [0278]: “the signal level of the startup detection level DET output by the level switching section 475 (see FIG. 9B) is changed to an L (low) level (step S101)”), but fails to disclose a power supply detector configured to detect whether voltage supplied from the first electronic apparatus is equal to or higher than a predetermined voltage,
wherein after the processor outputs the connection signal, the processor is configured to transmit a communication request signal requesting initial communication to the first electronic apparatus in a case where voltage detected by the power supply detector is equal to or higher than a predetermined voltage.
However, Nishimoto et al. teaches a power supply detector configured to detect whether voltage supplied from the first electronic apparatus is equal to or higher than a predetermined voltage ([0079]: “the main power supply control section 30 uses the power detection circuit 37 to detect whether a voltage of 3.5 V or higher is supplied from the main power supply circuit 60 to the main control circuit 10”),
wherein the processor is configured to enable normal operation mode in a case where voltage detected by the power supply detector is equal to or higher than a predetermined voltage ([0030]: “If the amount of power is greater than the predetermined value, the main power supply control section 30 stops an operation according to the power-save request and starts an operation according to the start-up request”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Motoki et al. and Wu with the teaching of Nishimoto et al. to have a power supply detector configured to detect whether voltage supplied from the first electronic apparatus is equal to or higher than a predetermined voltage, wherein after the processor outputs the connection signal, the processor is configured to transmit a communication request signal requesting initial communication to the first electronic apparatus in a case where voltage detected by the power supply detector is equal to or higher than a predetermined voltage, so as to ensure that communication operations are performed only when the supply voltage is sufficient, thereby ensuring reliable operation and preventing malfunction under insufficient voltage conditions.
As to claim 13, Motoki et al. in view of Wu and Nishimoto et al. discloses the electronic apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the power supply detector includes a reset IC or an AD port of the processor (Nishimoto et al.: [0079]: when the output voltage of the main power supply circuit 60 is equal to or higher than a threshold, the main power supply control section 30 outputs a high-level Vck signal to the main control circuit 10. [0085]: if a Vck signal is high-level, the main power supply control section 30 outputs an MPS-ON signal to the main power supply circuit 60 to turn on the power supply circuit 60. In other words, the power supply control section 30, which includes a power detection circuit 37, detects the power supply voltage and reset the power supply (switch ON/OFF) based on the detected power supply voltage; therefore, it is a reset IC).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZHENZHEN WU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2637
/SINH TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2637