DETAILED ACTION
Claims 12-15 of E-J. Choi, et al., US 18/488,148 (10/17/2023) are pending and are under examination on merits.
Withdrawal Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in view of the claim 10 has been cancelled.
Withdrawal Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Rejection of claims 1-9,12-13 and 15 under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Y-J. Yu, et al, US 20220173324A1(published on 06/02/2022)(“Yu”) is withdrawn in view of claim 9 has been cancelled and the instant claim 12 has been amended with a new limitation of the structure of the Formula 2-1, which cannot be met by Yu.
Rejection of claims 12-14 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by J. Shin, et al, US 20190181354A1 (2019)(“Shin”) is withdrawn in view of the instant claim 12 has been amended with a new limitation of the structure of the Formula 2-1, which cannot be met by Shin.
Withdrawal Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Y-J. Yu, et al, US 20220173324A1 (published on 06/02/2022)(“Yu”) is withdrawn in view of the claim 11 has been cancelled.
Rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Y-J. Yu, et al, US 20220173324A1 (published on 06/02/2022)(“Yu”) in view of C-S. Kim, et al, US 20210193932A1 (published on 06/24/2021) (“Kim”) is withdrawn in view of the claim 10 has been cancelled.
Rejection of claims 1-7 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Y-J. Yu, et al, US 20220209131A1 (published on 06/30/2022)(“Yu-1”) is withdrawn in view of the claims 1-7 and 9 have been cancelled.
Withdrawal Claim Rejections - Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Rejection of claims 1-7 and 9 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, of U.S. Patent No. 12391700 B2 is withdrawn in view of the claims 1-7 and 9 have been cancelled.
Provisional rejection of claims 1, 8, 12-13 and 15 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5 and 9 of copending Application No. 19/246,985 in the claim set filed on 09/08/2025 is withdrawn in view of the terminal disclaimer filed by Applicant and approved by the USPTO on 09/03/2026 respectively.
Provisional rejection of claims 1, 8, 12-13 and 15 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5 and 7 of copending Application No. 18/973,260 in the claim set filed on 12/09/2024 is withdrawn in view of the terminal disclaimer filed by Applicant and approved by the USPTO on 09/03/2026 respectively.
Provisional rejection of claims 1, 8, 12-13 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5 and 9 of copending Application No. 19/246,985in the claim set filed on 09/08/2025 is withdrawn in view of the terminal disclaimer filed by Applicant and approved by the USPTO on 09/03/2026 respectively.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
35 USC § 102 Rejection over La
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by H-J. La, et al, US20160380208A1(2016)(“La”).
La teaches compound the Chemical Formmula 1 that can be included into an organic light emitting device.
La at page 1, left col. [0007]-[0008].
La teaches example compounds of the Chemical Formmula 1 such as compound 430 having a chemical structure as indicated below. La at page 99, left second compound.
The La compound 430 maps the Formula 2-1 in claim 12 as:
each of R32-R37 is hydrogen atom,
L11 is an unsubstituted p-phenylene,
L12 is a single bond,
each of T2 and T3 is CRa, wherein, the two Ra groups link to each other forming a ring;
each of T6-T9 is CH, and
Ar22 is hydrogen atom.
Which meets each and every limitation of claim 12, therefore, claim 12 is anticipated.
35 USC § 102 Rejection over Lee
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1) as being anticipated by S. J. Lee, et al, KR20200064423A (2020)(“Lee”). Lee is published in Korean, a copy of machine translation is attached as a second part of the reference, which results in the full reference has a total page of 59, the format for citation of Lee is XX/69.
Lee teaches a pyrene compound represented by the following Chemical Formula 1 or Chemical Formula 2, which can be included into an organic light emitting device. Lee at page 46/59, title and line 1, 3/59 for Formula 1-2.
Lee teaches example compounds of the Chemical Formula 1/2, such as compound 1-64 having a chemical structure as indicated below. Lee at 28/58, compound 1-64.
The Lee compound 1-64 maps the Formula 2-1 in claims 12-13 as:
each of R32-R37 is hydrogen atom,
L11 is a substituted o-phenylene,
L12 is a single bond,
T2 is CH and T3 is N;
each of T6-T9 is CH, and
Ar22 is hydrogen atom.
Which meets each and every limitation of claims 12-13, therefore, claims 12-13 are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over S. J. Lee, et al, KR20200064423A (2020)(“Lee”).
S. J. Lee, et al, KR20200064423A (2020)(“Lee”)
Lee teaches that:
Pyrene (aromatic macrocycle) is an aromatic macrocycle (pi)-improves electron density and serves to hold the main framework of HOMO and LUMO. Therefore, it is possible to\ improve the charge mobility of the N-type charge generation layer and to smoothly transfer electrons from the N-type charge generation layer to the electron transport layer.
Lee at page 51/59, paragraph 3.
Lee teaches a pyrene compound represented by the Chemical Formula 1 or Chemical Formula 2, which can be included into an organic light emitting device. Lee at page 46/59, title and line 1, 3/59 for Formula 1-2. Lee also teaches an organic light emitting device comprising the Chemical Formula 1 or Chemical Formula 2. Lee at page 58/59-59/59, Example 1-6. Lee teaches example compounds of the Chemical Formula 1/2, such as compound 1-64 having a chemical structure as indicated below. Lee at 28/58, compound 1-64. As detail discussed in the above 102 rejection that the Lee compound meets each and every limitation of claim 12.
Difference between Lee and Claim 15
Lee differs from claim 15 in that Lee does not elect the Lee compound 1-64 and include it into an organic electroluminescent device.
Claim 15 is Obvious
One of ordinary skill in the art would have arrive at the claimed invention before the effective filling date of the instant application.
Claim 15 is obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art seeking an organic electroluminescent device is motivated to elect the Lee compound 1-64 and include it into an organic electroluminescent device such as an OLED, thus arrive at product meeting each and every limitation of claim 15, therefore, claim 15 is obvious. One of ordinary skill in the art has a motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Lee teaches that pyrene compounds can improve the charge mobility of the N-type charge generation layer and to smoothly transfer electrons from the N-type charge generation layer to the electron transport layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As mentioned in the above 102 rejections that both Lee and La teach a compound meets each and every limitation of claim 12.
Lee or La differs from the claim 14 in that neither Lee nor La teaches the claimed species in claim 14.
Claim 14 is not obvious because neither Lee nor La provide a guidance to motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prior art compound(s) to arrive the claimed species.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK S. HOU/Examiner, Art Unit 1692
/ALEXANDER R PAGANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692