DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species D (FIG 4) in the reply filed on 2/3/2026 is acknowledged.
Accordingly, non-elected claims 11 and 13 are withdrawn from consideration. However, other claims are also found to be withdrawn, contrary to the applicant’s noted claims:
Claim 18 recites “a bypass line, the bypass line connecting the first hydraulic port and/or the second hydraulic port to the collector channel, in particular to the return channel, via the spool and bypassing the outlet pressure compensator”, disclosed in paragraph 65 and as 62 in FIG 2. As it is absent in elected species FIG 4, claim 18 is withdrawn.
Claim 19 recites “a first pilot-operated check valve opening in the direction of flow to the spool is disposed between the spool and the first hydraulic port, and a second pilot-operated check valve opening in the direction of flow to the spool is disposed between the spool and the second hydraulic port, wherein a pressure applied to the second hydraulic port unlocks the first check valve and a pressure applied to the first hydraulic port unlocks the second check valve” disclosed in paragraph 84 and as 66/68 in FIG 6. As it is absent in elected species FIG 4, claim 19 is withdrawn.
Claim 22 recites “further comprising an intermediate section, the intermediate section comprising a filling line with a filling valve, the filling line connecting the pressure channel to the collector channel, wherein the intermediate section comprises a drain line with a drain valve, the drain line connecting the collector channel to the return channel”, disclosed in paragraph 67 and as 114,116,118,120 in FIG 2. As it is absent in elected species FIG 4, claim 22 is withdrawn.
Claim 23 recites “a first connecting line for connecting the at least one hydraulic consumer to the first pressure port and a second connecting line for connecting the at least one hydraulic consumer to the second pressure port, wherein a first flow control valve or a first line break protection device is disposed in the first connecting line and wherein a second flow control valve or a second line break protection device is disposed in the second connection line, wherein the first flow control valve is preferably a first lowering brake valve, and wherein the second flow control valve is preferably a second lowering brake valve”, disclosed in paragraphs 83-84 and as 128, 130, 132, 134 in FIG 6. As it is absent in elected species FIG 4, claim 23 is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the return channel”. Interpreted for examination as –the collector channel--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 14-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by applicant’s cited DE 2015116761 A1, hereinafter Linde.
Regarding claim 1, Linde (FIG 4) discloses “A valve section for a hydraulic system, the valve section comprising:
at least a first hydraulic port (13) and a second hydraulic port (14) for supplying hydraulic fluid to at least one hydraulic consumer (15);
a spool (10);
a pressure channel (P1-P3);
a collector channel (TL);
an inlet pressure compensator (ZDW) disposed between the pressure channel and the spool (see FIG 4); and
an outlet pressure compensator (ADW) disposed between the spool and the collector channel (see FIG 4),
wherein the pressure channel is connectable to a pump (PUM; see FIG 1) of the hydraulic system,
wherein the spool selectively connects the first hydraulic port to the pressure channel and the second hydraulic port to the collector channel (via 10b) or connects the first hydraulic port to the collector channel and the second hydraulic port to the pressure channel (via 10c),
wherein the inlet pressure compensator (ZDW) and the outlet pressure compensator (ADW) are controllable via a signal pressure device (60, including dashed lines directly extending therefrom), and
wherein an external additional force component dependent on an operating condition of the hydraulic system (pressures from 17, 19) acts on the signal pressure device at the first hydraulic port or at the second hydraulic port such that the inlet pressure compensator blocks the pressure channel (when pressure is higher from 19 than 17 [of which is connected to hydraulic ports 13/14 in various positions of 10], 60 moves to 60c, lowering the pressure that acts on the right side of ZDW, enabling ZDW to move to the right and close communication between P1-3 and 10).”
Regarding claim 9, Linde (FIG 4) discloses “further comprising a return channel (37) connectable to a tank (TV) of the hydraulic system.”
Regarding claim 14, Linde (FIG 4) discloses “wherein the collector channel (TL) is a return channel connectable to the tank (TV) of the hydraulic system (see FIG 1), wherein the valve section further comprises a suction arrangement (35/36, seen as “suction arrangement” as there is an incorporated check valve that opens to negative pressure relative to the consumer [i.e. pressure at 37/38 is higher than flow at 13/14]), the suction arrangement connecting the return channel to the first hydraulic port and the second hydraulic port (see FIG 4).”
Regarding claim 15, Linde (FIG 4) discloses “further comprising a suction arrangement (35/36, seen as “suction arrangement” as there is an incorporated check valve that opens to negative pressure relative to the consumer [i.e. pressure at 37/38 is higher than flow at 13/14]), the suction arrangement connecting the collector channel (TL) to the first hydraulic port and the second hydraulic port (13, 14).”
Regarding claim 16, Linde (FIG 4) discloses “wherein the suction arrangement comprises a first suction line (line to right of 35) with a first suction valve (35) and a second suction line (line to left of 36) with a second suction valve (36), wherein the first suction line opens between the spool and the first hydraulic port and wherein the second suction line opens between the spool and the second hydraulic port (see FIG 4).”
Regarding claim 20, Linde (FIG 4) discloses “A hydraulic system comprising at least one valve section according to claim 1 (set forth above), a pump (PUM) and a tank (TV), wherein the pressure channel is connected to the pump, and wherein the return channel is connected to the tank (see FIG 1).”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 10, 12, 17, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Linde (FIG 4) discloses “wherein the signal pressure device comprises a first signal pressure line (17), wherein the first signal pressure line is connected to the first hydraulic port when the first hydraulic port (13) is connected to the collector channel (TL) via the spool (10c), and wherein the first signal pressure line (17) is connected to the second hydraulic port (14) when the second hydraulic port is connected to the collector channel via the spool (10b), and the signal pressure device comprises a second signal pressure line (19), wherein the second signal pressure line is connected to the first hydraulic port (13) when the second hydraulic port (14) is connected to the collector channel (TL) via the spool (10b), and wherein the second signal pressure line (19) is connected to the second hydraulic port (14) when the first hydraulic port is connected to the collector channel via the spool (10c)…”
Linde is silent regarding “and the signal pressure device has a third signal pressure line, the third signal pressure line branching off between the inlet pressure compensator the spool, and the signal pressure device has a fourth signal pressure line, the fourth signal pressure line branching off between the spool and the outlet pressure compensator.”
Modifying Linde in this manner is seen to be nonobvious as it would dramatically alter Linde’s intended operation.
Claims 3-6 and 8 are allowable by virtue of their dependency on claim 2.
Regarding claim 7, Linde is silent regarding “wherein the inlet pressure compensator (ZDW) has a first biasing element acting on the open-control side, and/or the outlet pressure compensator has a second biasing element acting on the open-control side.” Linde has springs in other embodiments, but FIG 4 instead uses line pressure feedback to balance the compensators ADW, ZDW. This is not seen to read on a “biasing element”,
Modifying Linde in this manner is seen to be nonobvious as it would dramatically alter Linde’s intended operation.
Regarding claim 10, Linde is silent regarding “further comprising a feed line, wherein the outlet pressure compensator is configured as a 3/3-way pressure compensator and is connected on the inlet side to the spool and on the outlet side to the feed line and the return channel, the feed line opening into the collector channel.” In Linde the outlet compensator ADW has 4 positions.
Modifying Linde in this manner is seen to be nonobvious as it would dramatically alter Linde’s intended operation.
Claim 12 is allowable by virtue of its dependency on claim 10. Non-elected claim 13 would also be allowable by rejoinder as it depends on an allowable generic claim.
Regarding claim 17, Linde is silent regarding “further comprising a suction arrangement, the suction arrangement having a third suction line with a third suction valve, the third suction line branching off between the inlet pressure compensator and the spool and opening into the collector channel.”
Modifying Linde in this manner is seen to be nonobvious as it would dramatically alter Linde’s intended operation.
Regarding claim 21, Linde (FIG 4) discloses “wherein the hydraulic system comprises an intermediate section, the intermediate section comprising a preloading valve, wherein the preloading valve preloads the collector channel formed as a return channel to a predetermined pressure.”
Modifying Linde in this manner is seen to be nonobvious as it would dramatically alter Linde’s intended operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Devices similar to the application are disclosed by Knoll(US 6516614) and Paul (US 3979907) (US 3866419).
/PATRICK C WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753