DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-18, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Just et al., (US 20130172715; hereinafter Just) in view of Kordis et al., (US 20020198522) and VanDusseldorp et al., (US 20030032953; hereinafter VanDusseldorp).
Regarding claim 1, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) discloses an electrophysiology electrode basket catheter (10), comprising: an elongate, deformable shaft (20) defining a longitudinal axis and comprising a proximal end and a distal end ([0036]); a basket electrode assembly (112) coupled to the distal end of the elongate shaft (20), the basket electrode assembly (112) having a proximal portion, a distal portion, and a plurality of support members (124) extending between the distal portion of the basket electrode assembly (112) and extending proximally to a proximal hub (44), ([0044], [0046]); and a plurality of mapping electrodes (54) spaced along plurality of support members (124), ([0052]), wherein the basket electrode assembly (112) transitions between a first (collapsed) configuration and a second (expanded) configuration during operation, wherein the first configuration is different from the second configuration ([0040]), wherein the basket electrode assembly (112) is configured to provide ablation therapy to a target tissue ([0052]).
Just fails to disclose wherein distal portions of the support members are stacked at a distal tip in an axial direction along the longitudinal axis of the elongate shaft. However, Kordis (Figures 22-23) teaches an electrophysiology electrode basket catheter (10) comprising a basket electrode assembly (20), ([0073]-[0074]), with distal portions of the support members (22) stacked at a distal tip (24) in an axial direction along the longitudinal axis of the elongate shaft (40), ([0130]). It would have been obvious to substitute the distal portion configuration of the support members disclosed by Just with a stacked distal portion configuration of the support members, as taught by Kordis, since both distal portion configurations perform the same function of holding the support members together at the distal end of the device to form the shape of the basket electrode assembly, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Just/Kordis fails to teach a central irrigation structure disposed within the basket electrode assembly and extending from the distal end of the elongate catheter shaft comprising a plurality of irrigation ports spaced along the central irrigation structure and along the longitudinal axis, wherein irrigation fluid is directed from the distal end of the elongate shaft and through the basket electrode assembly via the plurality of irrigation ports, wherein the central irrigation structure extends along the longitudinal axis. However, VanDusseldorp (Figure 8) teaches a basket catheter comprising a central irrigation structure (14) disposed within a basket assembly (110) and extending from the distal end of an elongate catheter shaft (12) comprising a plurality of irrigation ports (16) spaced along the central irrigation structure (14) and along the longitudinal axis, wherein irrigation fluid is directed from the distal end of the elongate shaft (12) and through the basket electrode assembly (110) via the plurality of irrigation ports (16), wherein the central irrigation structure (14) extends along the longitudinal axis ([0020]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Just/Kordis to include a central irrigation structure disposed within the basket electrode assembly and extending from the distal end of the elongate catheter shaft comprising a plurality of irrigation ports spaced along the central irrigation structure and along the longitudinal axis, wherein irrigation fluid is directed from the distal end of the elongate shaft and through the basket electrode assembly via the plurality of irrigation ports, wherein the central irrigation structure extends along the longitudinal axis, as taught by VanDusseldorp, because the modification would provide irrigation ports throughout the length of the central lumen (VanDusseldorp; [0020]) providing an overall distribution of irrigation fluid throughout the basket structure.
Regarding claim 2, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) further discloses an adjusting member (expander) for transitioning the basket electrode assembly (112) between the first configuration and the second configuration, wherein the first configuration is a collapsed arrangement, and the second configuration is an expanded arrangement, wherein the adjusting member (expander) transitions the basket electrode assembly (112) to a third configuration between the first configuration and the second configuration ([0010], [0040]).
Regarding claim 3, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) further discloses in the expanded arrangement, the plurality of electrodes (54) form a radial array of electrodes (54) in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis ([0040], [0052]).
Regarding claim 4, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) further discloses wherein each of the plurality of support members (124) includes a distal portion, a proximal portion, and an intermediate portion disposed between the distal portion and the proximal portion, wherein the plurality of electrodes (54) are disposed along the distal portion of each of the plurality of support members (124), ([0046], [0052]).
Regarding claim 5, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) further discloses wherein the intermediate portion of each of the plurality of support members (124) twists radially rotationally about the longitudinal axis during operation ([0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) further discloses wherein the adjusting member (expander) is selectively and slidably moveable along the longitudinal axis ([0010], [0040]).
Regarding claim 7, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) further discloses wherein the adjusting member (expander) extends into and is slidably received within the elongate shaft (20), ([0010], [0040]).
Regarding claim 9, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) further discloses wherein the plurality of support members (124) are symmetric about the longitudinal axis in the first configuration and in the second configuration ([0040], [0046]).
Regarding claim 10, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) further discloses wherein the basket catheter (10) is an ablation catheter ([0052]).
Regarding claim 11, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) discloses a method for ablating target tissue within a heart of a patient to treat atrial fibrillation ([0004]), the method, comprising: advancing a sheath (delivery sheath) into cardiac vasculature of a body of a patient; advancing an electrophysiology electrode basket catheter (10) through the sheath (delivery sheath) and into the cardiac vasculature proximal to a target tissue ([0006], [0054]), the electrophysiology basket catheter (10) comprising: an elongate, deformable shaft (20) defining a longitudinal axis and comprising a proximal end and a distal end ([0036]); and a basket electrode assembly (112) coupled to the distal end of the elongate shaft (20) and having a proximal portion, a distal portion, and a plurality of support members (124) extending between the distal portion of the basket electrode assembly (112) and extending proximally to a proximal hub (44), ([0044], [0046]); and a plurality of mapping electrodes (54) spaced along the plurality of support members (124), ([0052]); transitioning the basket electrode assembly (112) from a first configuration to a second configuration during operation, wherein the first configuration is different from the second configuration ([0040]); and ablating the target tissue via the basket electrode assembly (112), ([0052]).
Just fails to disclose wherein distal portions of the support members are stacked at a distal tip in an axial direction along the longitudinal axis of the elongate shaft. However, Kordis (Figures 22-23) teaches an electrophysiology electrode basket catheter (10) comprising a basket electrode assembly (20), ([0073]-[0074]), with distal portions of the support members (22) stacked at a distal tip (24) in an axial direction along the longitudinal axis of the elongate shaft (40), ([0130]). It would have been obvious to substitute the distal portion configuration of the support members disclosed by Just with a stacked distal portion configuration of the support members, as taught by Kordis, since both distal portion configurations perform the same function of holding the support members together at the distal end of the device to form the shape of the basket electrode assembly, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Just/Kordis fails to teach a central irrigation structure disposed within the basket electrode assembly and extending from the distal end of the elongate catheter shaft comprising a plurality of irrigation ports spaced along the central irrigation structure and along the longitudinal axis, wherein irrigation fluid is directed from the distal end of the elongate shaft and through the basket electrode assembly via the plurality of irrigation ports, wherein the central irrigation structure extends along the longitudinal axis. However, VanDusseldorp (Figure 8) teaches a basket catheter comprising a central irrigation structure (14) disposed within a basket assembly (110) and extending from the distal end of an elongate catheter shaft (12) comprising a plurality of irrigation ports (16) spaced along the central irrigation structure (14) and along the longitudinal axis, wherein irrigation fluid is directed from the distal end of the elongate shaft (12) and through the basket electrode assembly (110) via the plurality of irrigation ports (16), wherein the central irrigation structure (14) extends along the longitudinal axis ([0020]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Just/Kordis to include a central irrigation structure disposed within the basket electrode assembly and extending from the distal end of the elongate catheter shaft comprising a plurality of irrigation ports spaced along the central irrigation structure and along the longitudinal axis, wherein irrigation fluid is directed from the distal end of the elongate shaft and through the basket electrode assembly via the plurality of irrigation ports, wherein the central irrigation structure extends along the longitudinal axis, as taught by VanDusseldorp, because the modification would provide irrigation ports throughout the length of the central lumen (VanDusseldorp; [0020]) providing an overall distribution of irrigation fluid throughout the basket structure.
Regarding claim 12, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) further discloses actuating an adjusting member (expander) to transition the basket electrode assembly (10) to a third configuration between the first configuration and the second configuration ([0010], [0040]).
Regarding claim 13, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) further discloses in the second configuration, the plurality of electrodes (54) form a radial array of electrodes (54) distributed over a flat surface ([0040], [0052]).
Regarding claim 14, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) further discloses wherein the plurality of electrodes (54) are disposed along a distal portion of each of the plurality of support members (124), ([0046], [0052]).
Regarding claim 15, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) further discloses wherein the adjusting member (expander) extends into and is slidably received within the elongate shaft (20), ([0010], [0040]).
Regarding claim 16, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) further discloses wherein transitioning the basket electrode assembly (10) from the first configuration to the second configuration includes moving intermediate portions of the plurality of support members (124) in an axial direction ([0040], [0046]).
Regarding claim 17, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) further discloses wherein transitioning the basket electrode assembly (112) from the first configuration to the second configuration includes radially rotationally twisting the plurality of support members (214) about the longitudinal axis during operation ([0046]).
Regarding claim 18, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) further discloses wherein the adjusting member (expander) is selectively and slidably moveable along the longitudinal axis ([0010], [0040]).
Regarding claim 20, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) further discloses ablating tissue with the electrophysiology electrode basket catheter (10) to treat atrial fibrillation ([0004], [0052]).
Regarding claim 21, Just (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) discloses an electrophysiology electrode basket catheter (10), comprising: an elongate, deformable shaft (20) defining a longitudinal axis and comprising a proximal end and a distal end ([0036]); a basket electrode assembly (112) coupled to the distal end of the elongate shaft (20), the basket electrode assembly (112) having a proximal portion, a distal portion, and a plurality of support members (124) extending between the distal portion of the basket electrode assembly (112) and extending proximally to a proximal hub (44), ([0044], [0046]); and a plurality of mapping electrodes (54) spaced along the plurality of support members (124), ([0052]), wherein the basket electrode assembly (112) is configured to provide ablation therapy to a target tissue ([0052]).
Just fails to disclose wherein distal portions of the support members are stacked at a distal tip in an axial direction along the longitudinal axis of the elongate shaft. However, Kordis (Figures 22-23) teaches an electrophysiology electrode basket catheter (10) comprising a basket electrode assembly (20), ([0073]-[0074]), with distal portions of the support members (22) stacked at a distal tip (24) in an axial direction along the longitudinal axis of the elongate shaft (40), ([0130]). It would have been obvious to substitute the distal portion configuration of the support members disclosed by Just with a stacked distal portion configuration of the support members, as taught by Kordis, since both distal portion configurations perform the same function of holding the support members together at the distal end of the device to form the shape of the basket electrode assembly, and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Just/Kordis fails to teach a central irrigation structure disposed within the basket electrode assembly and extending from the distal end of the elongate catheter shaft comprising a plurality of irrigation ports spaced along the central irrigation structure and along the longitudinal axis, wherein irrigation fluid is directed from the distal end of the elongate shaft and through the basket electrode assembly via the plurality of irrigation ports, wherein the central irrigation structure extends along the longitudinal axis. However, VanDusseldorp (Figure 8) teaches a basket catheter comprising a central irrigation structure (14) disposed within a basket assembly (110) and extending from the distal end of an elongate catheter shaft (12) comprising a plurality of irrigation ports (16) spaced along the central irrigation structure (14) and along the longitudinal axis, wherein irrigation fluid is directed from the distal end of the elongate shaft (12) and through the basket electrode assembly (110) via the plurality of irrigation ports (16), wherein the central irrigation structure (14) extends along the longitudinal axis ([0020]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Just/Kordis to include a central irrigation structure disposed within the basket electrode assembly and extending from the distal end of the elongate catheter shaft comprising a plurality of irrigation ports spaced along the central irrigation structure and along the longitudinal axis, wherein irrigation fluid is directed from the distal end of the elongate shaft and through the basket electrode assembly via the plurality of irrigation ports, wherein the central irrigation structure extends along the longitudinal axis, as taught by VanDusseldorp, because the modification would provide irrigation ports throughout the length of the central lumen (VanDusseldorp; [0020]) providing an overall distribution of irrigation fluid throughout the basket structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/23/2025, with regard to the newly filed amendments of independent claims 1, 11, and 21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection(s) has/have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is/are made in view of newly found prior art reference VanDusseldorp, which teaches a basket catheter comprising a central irrigation structure disposed within the basket electrode assembly and extending from the distal end of the elongate catheter shaft comprising a plurality of irrigation ports spaced along the central irrigation structure and along the longitudinal axis, wherein irrigation fluid is directed from the distal end of the elongate shaft and through the basket electrode assembly via the plurality of irrigation ports, wherein the central irrigation structure extends along the longitudinal axis. In combination with Just/Kordis, the modified device teaches the invention as recited at least in the amended claims.
Conclusion
/C.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794