DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of application #18/488,242 filed on 10/17/2023 in which claims 1-20 have been presented for prosecution in a first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2023 has been considered and put on record. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dustert et al., (Dustert) EP 4186733 A1 in view of Wolft US 2013/0035819.
Regarding claims 16, 10 and 1: Dustert at least discloses and shows in Figs. 1-3 and 6: A discharge system for a drive system(100)(see Fig. 1), comprising: a discharge circuit(205)(see Fig. 2) connected in parallel to a DC link capacitor(140) of the drive system, the discharge circuit(205) including a discharge resistor(305)(see Fig. 3) and a discharge power switch(310) connected in series with the discharge resistor(305), wherein the discharge power switch(310) is operable in an ON-position to electrically couple(since the switch 310 is closed, the discharge circuit is connected to rails 155 and via step down converter to DC link capacitor) the discharge resistor(305) to the DC link capacitor(140) or an OFF-position to electrically decouple(since the switch 310 is opened) the discharge resistor(305) from the DC link capacitor(140)(see [0022]-[0023],[0025]-[0026]); a sensor(630)(see Fig. 6) arranged in series with the discharge circuit(205) to detect an electrical characteristic(voltage and current; see [0044]) of the discharge circuit(205)([0044],[0047]); and a control system(145/605)(see Fig. 6) configured to: operate(via control and drivers signals 210 and DR1 respectively; see [0025]-[0029]) the discharge power switch(310) to electrically couple or decouple the discharge resistor(305) and the drive system(100), and for a diagnostic check(note-discharge circuitry 205 can be used to confirm proper functioning of step-down power converter 150, e.g., during system checks at vehicle start-up or even periodically during operation of the vehicle, i.e., whether the voltage on either or both of sense lines 610, 615 drops below a threshold level to identify a malfunction in step-down power converter 150 or at a time when step-down power converter 150 supplies control board electronics 605, if the voltage on sense line 615 drops below a threshold level, this too can be used to identify that step-down power converter 150 is malfunctioning, i.e., to identify that step-down power converter 150 is incapable of supplying control board electronics 605 with sufficient current and With the known load provided by discharge circuitry 205 and the voltage difference across sense resistance 630, discharge circuitry 205 can be used to determine whether step-down power converter 150 is capable of supplying sufficient power to control board electronics 605 in the event of battery 110 failing, see [0046]-[0047]), operate the discharge power switch(310) in the ON-position.
Dustert does not expressly disclose the limitations of:
and provide a notification indicating the discharge circuit is deficient in response to the electric characteristic detected being unresponsive to the discharge circuit being in the ON-position.
Wolft discloses factual evidence of, providing a notification(via control device 15; see [0033],[0035] and Figs. 2-3) indicating the discharge circuit(12) is deficient in response to the electric characteristic detected(voltage 23 during time period 22 is within a threshold 24, see Fig. 3) being unresponsive(see Fig. 3, during discharge process 17, during time 22 although the discharge switch 14 is closed, the interval of time 22 shows a constant value 23; see [0035]) to the discharge circuit(12) being in the ON-position(when discharge switch 14 is ON)([0030]-[0034], see also claims 17 and 19 of Wolft).
Dustert and Wolft are vehicle high-voltage discharge systems analogous art. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wolft with Dustert by providing a notification indicating the discharge circuit is deficient in response to the electric characteristic detected being unresponsive, as recited, for the advantages of diagnosing in particular the functionality of the discharge circuit in order to minimize the danger to people since voltages above 60V can cause an electric shock upon contact. Moreover, special protection rules apply regarding protection from contact with such voltages, as per the teachings of Wolft([0003],[0005]).
Accordingly claims 1,10 and 16 would have been obvious.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Dustert in view of Wolft discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claims 1 and 10 respectively. Wolft further discloses, wherein the control system(15), for the diagnostic check, is configured to identify the discharge circuit(12) as being operational(as being withing a threshold range 24; see [0035] and Fig. 3) in response to the electric characteristic detected being responsive to the discharge circuit being in the ON-position.
Regarding claim 17, Dustert in view of Wolft discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 16. Dustert discloses, wherein the sensor includes at least one of an opto-coupler or a resistor(630)(see Dustert [0046]-[0047] and Fig. 6).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Dustert in view of Wolft discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claims 1 and 10 respectively. Dustert discloses, wherein the sensor is an electric current detector(note sense resistor 630 can detect the current; see Dustert [0046]-[0047]) configured to detect, as the electrical characteristic, electric current through the discharge circuit(205).
Regarding claim 6, Dustert in view of Wolft discloses, a drive system(100) including a DC link capacitor(140) adapted to be coupled to positive(115) and negative(120)DC buses between a first DC power source(105) and an inverter(130); and the discharge system(100) of claim 1, wherein the discharge circuit(205) is connected in parallel to the DC link capacitor(140)(see Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Dustert in view of Wolft discloses all the claimed invention as set and discussed above in claim 6. Dustert discloses, wherein: the discharge circuit(205) includes a discharge resistor(305) and a discharge power switch(310) connected in series(see Dustert; Fig. 3) with the discharge resistor(305), and the control system(145/605) is configured to operate the discharge power switch(310) to electrically couple or decouple the DC link capacitor(140) and the discharge resistor(305)(see [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claims 5,13 and 19, Dustert in view of Wolft discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claims 1,10 and 18 respectively. Dustert further discloses, wherein: the discharge circuit(205) includes a discharge resistor(305) and a discharge power switch(310)(see Fig. 3) connected in series with the discharge resistor(305)(see Fig. 3 and [0028]), and the control system(145/605)(see Fig. 6) is configured to: operate(via control and drivers signals 210 and DR1 respectively; see [0025]-[0029]) the discharge power switch(310) to electrically couple or decouple the discharge resistor(305) and the drive system(100), and operate the discharge power switch(310) to electrically couple the discharge resistor(305) and the drive system to adjust the electric power through the discharge circuit(205) for the diagnostic check(see [0028]-[0029],[0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 8, Dustert in view of Wolft discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 7. Dustert discloses, wherein the control system(145/605)(see Fig. 6) is configured to drive the discharge power switch(310) to have the discharge circuit(205) in the ON-position(see [0028]-[0029]).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Dustert in view of Wolft discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claims 7 and 19 respectively. Dustert discloses, wherein the control system(145/605)(see Fig. 6) is configured to: detect that a second DC power source(110) adapted to provide power to the control system(145/605) is not providing power(note- Loading step-down power converter 150 with discharge circuitry 205 will generate a voltage difference between sense lines 610, 615. With the known load provided by discharge circuitry 205 and the voltage difference across sense resistance 630, discharge circuitry 205 can be used to determine whether step-down power converter 150 is capable of supplying sufficient power to control board electronics 605 in the event of battery 110 failing; see [0047]); and operate the discharge power switch(310) to have the discharge circuit(205) in the ON-position to electrically couple the DC link capacitor(140) and the discharge resistor(305) using power from the first DC power source(105)(see [0023],[0028] and [0029]).
Regarding claim 14, Dustert in view of Wolft discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 10. Duster further discloses, wherein: the drive system(100) includes a DC link capacitor(140) adapted to be coupled to positive(115) and negative(120) DC buses between a first DC power source(105) and an inverter(130); and the discharge circuit(205) is connected in parallel to the DC link capacitor(140)(see Figs. 1-2), the discharge circuit(205) includes a discharge resistor(305) and a discharge power switch(310) connected in series(see Fig. 3) with the discharge resistor(305), wherein: the method further comprises operating(via control and drivers signals 210 and DR1 respectively; see [0025]-[0029]), by the control system(145/605), the discharge power switch(310) to electrically couple(when turned ON) or decouple(when turned OFF) the DC link capacitor(140) and the discharge resistor(305).
Regarding claim 15, Dustert in view of Wolft discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 14. Duster discloses, further comprising driving(via control and drivers signals 210 and DR1 respectively; see [0025]-[0029]), by the control system(145/605), the discharge power switch(310) to have the discharge circuit(205) in the ON-position.
Regarding claim 17, Dustert in view of Wolft discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 16. Duster discloses, wherein the sensor includes at least one of an opto-coupler or a resistor(630)(see Fig. 6 and [0044],[0047]).
Regarding claim 18, Dustert in view of Wolft discloses, a drive system(100) including a DC link capacitor(140) adapted to be coupled to positive(115) and negative(120)DC buses between a first DC power source(105) and an inverter(130); and the discharge system(100) of claim 16, the discharge circuit(205) being connected in parallel to the DC link capacitor(140)(see Figs. 1-2).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dustert et al., (Dustert) EP 4186733 A1 in view of Wolft US 2013/0035819 and in further view of Simonazzi et al., (Simonazzi) USPAT 11,999,244 B2
Regarding claim 4, Dustert in view of Wolft discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 3. However the combination of Dustert and Wolft stayed silent regarding the limitations of, wherein the electric current detector includes an opto-coupler.
Simonazzi teaches factual evidence of, wherein the electric current detector(construed as monitoring means (10)) includes an opto-coupler(22,23)(note- the monitoring means 10 comprise at least one receiving branch 20 for receiving the activation signal operatively connected to the signaling means 8 and to the low voltage power source 9, and at least one monitoring branch 21 of the low voltage power source 9 operatively coupled to the receiving branch 20 by means of first optical coupling means 22, 23, e.g., an optocoupler, which keep the receiving branch 20 and the monitoring branch 21 optically coupled, but galvanically decoupled; see col. 4, line 63-col. 5, line 9).
Dustert, Wolft and Simonazzi are motor vehicles active discharge system analogous art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Simonazzi with Dustert as modified by Wolft to have the, wherein the current detector includes an opto-coupler, as recited, in order to keep the receiving branch and the monitoring branch optically coupled, but galvanically decoupled, as per the teachings of Simonazzi (col. 4, lines 63-col. 5 line 4).
Accordingly claim 4 would have been obvious.
Citation of Prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USPAT 9,651,612 to Soell et al., (Soell) discloses the general state of the art regarding a method and device for diagnosing a discharge circuit of an electrical system.
USPAT 8,867,297 to Lin discloses the general state of the art regarding charge/discharge control circuit and charge/discharge method thereof.
USPAT 6,580,219 to Jones, III et al., (Jones) discloses electrical control circuit for a switched load.
JP 2004112929A to Masai et al., (Masai) discloses an AC-DC converter.
EP 2566032 A1 to Yahata et al., (Yahata) discloses a power conversion device.
US 2024/0030854 A1 to Chen et al., (Chen) discloses the general state of the art regarding a motor drive system.
US 2022/0126697 to Brüske discloses a method and a device for the diagnosis of the active discharge of a HV intermediate circuit.
USPAT 10,848,073 to Shikagawa et al., (Shikagawa) discloses a motor drive apparatus equipped with discharge circuit of capacitor of DC link.
USPAT 10,035,422 to Zhou et al., (Zhou) discloses a self-limiting active discharge circuit for electric vehicle inverter.
CA 2670814 C to MCCABE discloses the general state of the art regarding an energy storage module for load leveling in lift truck or other electrical vehicle.
CN 105305917 A to Zhang et al., (Zhang) discloses a phase current sampling value processing method and a three-phase AC motor controller.
USPAT 12,388,279 B2 to Fu et al., (Fu) discloses a circuit for discharging an energy store of a drive system.
RU 2482599C1 to Kono et al, (Kono) discloses the general state of the art regarding an energy conversion device and a method for controlling a voltage across a capacitor of an energy conversion device.
Conclusion
M'BAYE DIAO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/M BAYE DIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 July 10, 2026