DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2023 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“vehicle specifying unit”, “parking time calculation unit”, and “left vehicle determination unit” in claim 1
“failed vehicle determination unit” in claim 2
“license plate specifying unit”, “number acquisition unit”, and “vehicle information acquisition unit” in claim 3
The corresponding structure for each of the units is given in paragraph [0061] of the published application as being a processor running a program.
NOTE: The “satellite image acquisition unit” of claim 1 and the “signal transmitting unit” of claim 2 will not be considered to invoke 112(f) because they have well-known structural definitions in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by High et al, U.S. Publication No. 2017/0124378.
Regarding claim 1, High teaches a vehicle monitoring system comprising:
a satellite image acquisition unit that acquires a satellite image captured by an artificial satellite (see High Figure 1, satellite 122 to satellite image database 120 and paragraph [0023]);
a vehicle specifying unit (see Figure 1, control circuit 110 and paragraph [0022]) that specifies a vehicle based on the satellite image (see paragraph [0032]);
a parking time calculation unit (see Figure 1, control circuit 110 and paragraph [0022]) that calculates a parking time of the specified vehicle based on the satellite image over time (see paragraph [0039]); and
a left vehicle determination unit (see Figure 1, control circuit 110 and paragraph [0022]) that determines that the vehicle is a left vehicle when the parking time exceeds a predetermined threshold value (see paragraph [0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over High et al, U.S. Publication No. 2017/0124378 in view of Liu et al, CN109801486A (see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 3, High teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressively teach a license plate specifying unit that specifies a license plate based on the satellite image; a number acquisition unit that acquires the number of the specified license plate; and a vehicle information acquisition unit that acquires information about the vehicle based on the acquired number.
However, Liu in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches a vehicle monitoring system (see Liu paragraph [0006]) comprising satellite image acquisition unit that acquires a satellite image captured by an artificial satellite (see paragraph [0050]) as taught in High further comprising
a license plate specifying unit (see paragraph [0022]) that specifies a license plate based on the satellite image (see paragraphs [0073]-[0074]);
a number acquisition unit that acquires the number of the specified license plate; and a vehicle information acquisition unit that acquires information about the vehicle based on the acquired number (see paragraph [0092]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to combine the teaching of identifying a vehicle in a satellite image based on license plate number as taught in Liu with the system taught in High, the motivation being to allow owners of left vehicles to be identified and contacted directly via said license plate number.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tanaka et al, U.S. Publication No. 2024/0169772 generally teaches a system (see Tanaka Figure 1, device 3) for checking a status of a vehicle that has been left for a certain amount of time (see Figure 2A, fault diagnosis S30 and paragraph [0022]). However, this is done by comparing diagnostic signals withing to car to those of a faulty vehicle
Choi et al, U.S. Publication No. 2019/0047537 generally teaches a system (see Choi Figure 2) for sending an ON signal to a parked vehicle to determine if it has failed (see Figure 6). However, this is not due to a parking time exceeding a threshold
/CASEY L KRETZER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635