DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 14 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: missing preposition “a”.
Claim 6 recites: “…wherein (i) each of the dome-shaped protruding regions of the first subset of dome-shaped protruding regions forms an aligned pair with one of the dome-shaped protruding regions of the second subset of dome-shaped protruding regions and (ii) the dome-shaped protruding regions within each pair extend outward from central region of the electrolyte in opposing directions.” The preposition “a” is missing between the word “from” and the word “central”.
For purposes of examination, examiner will interpret claim 6 as reciting: “…wherein (i) each of the dome-shaped protruding regions of the first subset of dome-shaped protruding regions forms an aligned pair with one of the dome-shaped protruding regions of the second subset of dome-shaped protruding regions and (ii) the dome-shaped protruding regions within each pair extend outward from a central region of the electrolyte in opposing directions.
Claim 14 recites: “…wherein (i) each of the protruding regions extending from the first opposing surface forms an aligned pair with one of the protruding regions extending from the second opposing surface and (ii) the protruding regions within each pair extend outward from central region of the electrolyte in opposing directions.” The preposition “a” is missing between the word “from” and the word “central”.
For purposes of examination, examiner will interpret claim 14 as reciting: “…wherein (i) each of the protruding regions extending from the first opposing surface forms an aligned pair with one of the protruding regions extending from the second opposing surface and (ii) the protruding regions within each pair extend outward from a central region of the electrolyte in opposing directions.”
Claim 20 recites: “…wherein each of the protruding regions extending from the first surface forms an aligned pair with one of the protruding regions extending from the second surface, and the protruding regions within each pair extend outward from central region of the electrolyte in opposing directions.” The preposition “a” is missing between the word “from” and the word “central”.
For purposes of examination, examiner will interpret claim 20 as reciting: “…wherein each of the protruding regions extending from the first surface forms an aligned pair with one of the protruding regions extending from the second surface and the protruding regions within each pair extend outward from a central region of the electrolyte in opposing directions.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, 13-14, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Lu et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0057776, hereinafter Lu).
In regards to Claims 1-2, Lu discloses a battery (#200B) comprising:
a cathode plate (#216) defining a first array of dome-shaped notches (#216”’) (see figure 2B and paragraph [0034]);
an anode plate (#204) defining a second array of dome-shaped notches (#204”’) (see figure 2B and paragraph [0034]),
wherein the first array of dome-shaped notches (#216”’) is positioned opposite of and facing toward the second array of dome-shaped notches (#204”’) (see figure 2B and paragraphs [0034] and [0036]); and
an electrolyte (#212B solid-type electrolyte) (encompasses the limitation of claim 2) (i) disposed between the cathode (#216) and anode (#204) plates and (ii) having dome-shaped protruding regions (curved projections #212”) extending outward therefrom, wherein (a) each dome-shaped protruding region of a first subset of the dome-shaped protruding regions (curved projections #212”) extends into and contacts the cathode (#216) within one of the dome-shaped notches of the first array of dome-shaped notches (#216”’) and (b) each dome-shaped protruding region of a second subset of the dome-shaped protruding regions (curved projections #212”) extends into and contacts the anode (#204) within one of the dome-shaped notches of the second array of dome-shaped notches (#204”’) (see figure 2B and paragraphs [0034] and [0036]).
In regards to Claim 5, Lu discloses wherein each of the dome-shaped protruding regions (#212”) occupies an entirety of a corresponding dome-shaped notch (#216”’) (see figure 2B and paragraphs [0034]-[0036]).
In regards to Claim 6, Lu discloses wherein (i) each of the dome-shaped protruding regions of the first subset of dome-shaped protruding regions (curved projections #212”) forms an aligned pair with one of the dome-shaped protruding regions of the second subset of dome-shaped protruding regions (curved projections #212”) and (ii) the dome-shaped protruding regions within each pair extend outward from a central region of the electrolyte (#212) in opposing directions (see figure 2B).
In regards to Claims 9-10, Lu discloses a battery (#200B) comprising:
a cathode (#216) defining a first set of notches (#216”’) (see figure 2B and paragraph [0034]);
an anode (#204) defining a second set of notches (#204”’), wherein the notches of the first and second sets of notches are partially ellipsoid-shaped and (ii) the first set of notches (#216”’) are positioned opposite of and facing toward the second set of notches (#204”’) (see figure 2B and paragraph [0034]); and
an electrolyte (#212B solid-type electrolyte) (encompasses the limitation of claim 2) (i) disposed between the cathode (#216) and anode (#204) and (ii) having protruding regions (curved projections #212”) extending outward from first and second opposing surfaces, wherein (a) each of the protruding regions extending from the first opposing surface further extends into and contacts the cathode (#216) within one of the notches of the first set of notches (#216”’) and (b) each of the protruding regions extending from the second opposing surface further extends into and contacts the anode (#204) within one of the notches of the second set of notches (#204”’) (see figure 2B and paragraphs [0034] and [0036]).
In regards to Claim 13, Lu discloses wherein each of the protruding regions (#212”) occupies an entirety of a corresponding notch (#216”’) (see figure 2B and paragraphs [0034]-[0036]).
In regards to Claim 14, Lu discloses wherein (i) each of the protruding regions extending from the first opposing surface (curved projections #212”) forms an aligned pair with one of the protruding regions extending from the second opposing surface (curved projections #212”) and (ii) the protruding regions within each pair extend outward from a central region of the electrolyte (#212) in opposing directions (see figure 2B).
In regards to Claim 17, Lu discloses a battery (#200b) comprising:
a positive electrode (#216) defining a first set of notches (#216”’) (see figure 2B and paragraph [0034]);
an negative electrode (#204) defining a second set of notches (#204”’) facing toward the first set of notches (#216”’) (see figure 2B and paragraph [0034]); and
a solid-state electrolyte (#212B solid-type electrolyte) disposed between the positive (#216) and negative (#204) electrodes defining rounded protruding regions (curved projections #212”) extending outward from first and second surfaces and into the first (#216”’) and second (#204”’) sets of notches (see figure 2B and paragraphs [0034] and [0036]).
In regards to Claim 20, Lu discloses wherein each of the protruding regions extending from the first surface (curved projections #212”) forms an aligned pair with one of the protruding regions extending from the second surface (curved projections #212”) and the protruding regions within each pair extend outward from a central region of the electrolyte (#212) in opposing directions (see figure 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 7-8, 11-12, 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu.
In regards to Claim 3, Lu discloses wherein (i) each dome-shaped protruding region has a width and a height and (ii) a ratio of the width to the height ranges between 1 and 10 (see figure 5 below and paragraphs [0053]-[0054]; Lu discloses that the solid electrolyte member has a width, w, based on a predetermined size and a thickness (t) separating two opposing faces. Each face is formed with a uniform pattern of uniformly curved projections and reverse-shaped, interspaced valleys extending along the length (not illustrated) of the solid electrolyte member. As illustrated, the tops of the projections on each side of the solid electrolyte member extend to the same level, but not necessarily the same level on opposing sides. And the depths of the valleys extend to common levels. In accordance with this disclosure, the over-all thickness (t) of the solid electrolyte layer is typically in the range of a few micrometers up to about 1000 micrometers (one millimeter). As illustrated in FIG. 5 this thickness measurement includes the top levels of the formed projections. The overall width (w) of the solid-state electrolyte member depends on the design of each cell. The distance (d), i.e. height of dome-shaped protruding region), between the top of a projection and the depth of the adjacent valley is suitably up to, but no greater than the thickness (t) of the solid electrolyte layer. And the spacing (l) between the centers of the projections is suitably up to about five times the value of d. The value of d and l of each valley may differ from each other or be the same. As stated above in this specification, it is preferred that the minimum dimensions of the projections and recesses be larger than average representative sizes of the particles making up the layer of solid electrolyte material.).
According to Lu, the thickness (t) of the solid electrolyte layer is up to about 1000 micrometers (1 millimeter). The distance (d) is no greater than the thickness (t) (d≤t). The spacing (l) between centers of the projections is up to about 5 times the value of d (l≤5d). Since Lu discloses that each face is formed with a uniform pattern of uniformly curved projections and reverse-shaped, interspaced valleys extending along the length (not illustrated) of the solid electrolyte member, it is considered reasonable, that the value of (l) could be also equal to the width of each projection (equating (l) to the width of the projection). Therefore, taking an exemplary value of (d) less than the thickness of (t), d=0.9mm, and using (l) as representing the width of the projection, such that (I≤5x(0.9)=4.5). When calculating the ratio of width to height (w/h= I/d= 4.5/0.9= 5), which falls inside the claimed range of between 1 and 10, as claimed by the applicant, thereby making the claimed range prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to Claim 4, Lu discloses wherein (i) each dome-shaped protruding region has a width, (ii) adjacent dome-shaped protruding regions are spaced apart from each other by a distance, and (iii) a ratio of the width to the distance ranges between 0.1 and 10 (see figure 5 below and paragraphs [0053]-[0054]; Lu discloses that the solid electrolyte member has a width, w, based on a predetermined size and a thickness (t) separating two opposing faces. Each face is formed with a uniform pattern of uniformly curved projections and reverse-shaped, interspaced valleys extending along the length (not illustrated) of the solid electrolyte member. As illustrated, the tops of the projections on each side of the solid electrolyte member extend to the same level, but not necessarily the same level on opposing sides. And the depths of the valleys extend to common levels. In accordance with this disclosure, the over-all thickness (t) of the solid electrolyte layer is typically in the range of a few micrometers up to about 1000 micrometers (one millimeter). As illustrated in FIG. 5 this thickness measurement includes the top levels of the formed projections. The overall width (w) of the solid-state electrolyte member depends on the design of each cell. The distance (d), i.e. height of dome-shaped protruding region), between the top of a projection and the depth of the adjacent valley is suitably up to, but no greater than the thickness (t) of the solid electrolyte layer. And the spacing (l) between the centers of the projections is suitably up to about five times the value of d. The value of d and l of each valley may differ from each other or be the same. As stated above in this specification, it is preferred that the minimum dimensions of the projections and recesses be larger than average representative sizes of the particles making up the layer of solid electrolyte material.).
Since Lu discloses that each face is formed with a uniform pattern of uniformly curved projections and reverse-shaped, interspaced valleys extending along the length (not illustrated) of the solid electrolyte member, it is considered reasonable, that the value of (l) could be also equal to the width of each projection. Therefore, the ratio of the width to the distance would be equal to 1, which falls inside the claimed range of from 0.1 to 10, as claimed by the applicant, thereby making the claimed range prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to Claim 7, Lu discloses wherein (i) the cathode (#216) has a first height, (ii) the central region has a second height, and (iii) a ratio of the first height to the second height ranges between 1 and 20 (see figure 2B and claim 1; Lu discloses the thickness of the solid electrolyte member being up to about 1000 micrometers, the anode layer having a uniform thickness of up to about 500 micrometers, and the cathode layer having a uniform layer of up to about 500 micrometers, i.e. first height. Since Lu discloses the thickness of the solid electrolyte member being up to about 1000 micrometers, it is reasonably expected, absent evidence to the contrary, that the central region should have an approximate heigh of about half the height of the solid electrolyte member, such as about 500 micrometers. Therefore, ratio of the first height to the second height, would reasonably be (500/500=1), which overlaps the claimed range of between 1 and 20, as claimed by the applicant, thereby making the claimed range prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to Claim 8, Lu discloses wherein (i) the anode (#204) has a first height, (ii) the central region has a second height, and (iii) a ratio of the first height to the second height ranges between 1 and 20 (see figure 2B and claim 1; Lu discloses the thickness of the solid electrolyte member being up to about 1000 micrometers, the anode layer having a uniform thickness of up to about 500 micrometers, i.e. first height, and the cathode layer having a uniform layer of up to about 500 micrometers. Since Lu discloses the thickness of the solid electrolyte member being up to about 1000 micrometers, it is reasonably expected, absent evidence to the contrary, that the central region should have an approximate heigh of about half the height of the solid electrolyte member, such as about 500 micrometers. Therefore, ratio of the first height to the second height, would reasonably be (500/500=1), which overlaps the claimed range of between 1 and 20, as claimed by the applicant, thereby making the claimed range prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to Claim 11, Lu discloses wherein (i) each notch of the first and second sets of notches has a width and a height and (ii) a ratio of the width to the height ranges between 1 and 10 (see figure 5 below and paragraphs [0053]-[0054]; Lu discloses that the solid electrolyte member has a width, w, based on a predetermined size and a thickness (t) separating two opposing faces. Each face is formed with a uniform pattern of uniformly curved projections and reverse-shaped, interspaced valleys extending along the length (not illustrated) of the solid electrolyte member. As illustrated, the tops of the projections on each side of the solid electrolyte member extend to the same level, but not necessarily the same level on opposing sides. And the depths of the valleys extend to common levels. In accordance with this disclosure, the over-all thickness (t) of the solid electrolyte layer is typically in the range of a few micrometers up to about 1000 micrometers (one millimeter). As illustrated in FIG. 5 this thickness measurement includes the top levels of the formed projections. The overall width (w) of the solid-state electrolyte member depends on the design of each cell. The distance (d), i.e. height of dome-shaped protruding region), between the top of a projection and the depth of the adjacent valley is suitably up to, but no greater than the thickness (t) of the solid electrolyte layer. And the spacing (l) between the centers of the projections is suitably up to about five times the value of d. The value of d and l of each valley may differ from each other or be the same. As stated above in this specification, it is preferred that the minimum dimensions of the projections and recesses be larger than average representative sizes of the particles making up the layer of solid electrolyte material.).
According to Lu, the thickness (t) of the solid electrolyte layer is up to about 1000 micrometers (1 millimeter). The distance (d) is no greater than the thickness (t) (d≤t). The spacing (l) between centers of the projections is up to about 5 times the value of d (l≤5d). Since Lu discloses that each face is formed with a uniform pattern of uniformly curved projections and reverse-shaped, interspaced valleys extending along the length (not illustrated) of the solid electrolyte member, it is considered reasonable, that the value of (l) could be also equal to the width of each projection (equating (l) to the width of the projection). Therefore, taking an exemplary value of (d) less than the thickness of (t), d=0.9mm, and using (l) as representing the width of the projection, such that (I≤5x(0.9)=4.5). When calculating the ratio of width to height (w/h= I/d= 4.5/0.9= 5), which falls inside the claimed range of between 1 and 10, as claimed by the applicant, thereby making the claimed range prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to Claim 12, Lu discloses wherein (i) each of the first and second sets of notches has a width, (ii) adjacent notches within the first and second sets of notches are spaced apart from each other by a distance, and (iii) a ratio of the width to the distance ranges between 0.1 and 10 (see figure 5 below and paragraphs [0053]-[0054]; Lu discloses that the solid electrolyte member has a width, w, based on a predetermined size and a thickness (t) separating two opposing faces. Each face is formed with a uniform pattern of uniformly curved projections and reverse-shaped, interspaced valleys extending along the length (not illustrated) of the solid electrolyte member. As illustrated, the tops of the projections on each side of the solid electrolyte member extend to the same level, but not necessarily the same level on opposing sides. And the depths of the valleys extend to common levels. In accordance with this disclosure, the over-all thickness (t) of the solid electrolyte layer is typically in the range of a few micrometers up to about 1000 micrometers (one millimeter). As illustrated in FIG. 5 this thickness measurement includes the top levels of the formed projections. The overall width (w) of the solid-state electrolyte member depends on the design of each cell. The distance (d), i.e. height of dome-shaped protruding region), between the top of a projection and the depth of the adjacent valley is suitably up to, but no greater than the thickness (t) of the solid electrolyte layer. And the spacing (l) between the centers of the projections is suitably up to about five times the value of d. The value of d and l of each valley may differ from each other or be the same. As stated above in this specification, it is preferred that the minimum dimensions of the projections and recesses be larger than average representative sizes of the particles making up the layer of solid electrolyte material.).
Since Lu discloses that each face is formed with a uniform pattern of uniformly curved projections and reverse-shaped, interspaced valleys extending along the length (not illustrated) of the solid electrolyte member, it is considered reasonable, that the value of (l) could be also equal to the width of each projection. Therefore, the ratio of the width to the distance would be equal to 1, which falls inside the claimed range of from 0.1 to 10, as claimed by the applicant, thereby making the claimed range prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to Claim 15, Lu discloses wherein (i) the cathode (#216) has a first height, (ii) the central region has a second height, and (iii) a ratio of the first height to the second height ranges between 1 and 20 (see figure 2B and claim 1; Lu discloses the thickness of the solid electrolyte member being up to about 1000 micrometers, the anode layer having a uniform thickness of up to about 500 micrometers, and the cathode layer having a uniform layer of up to about 500 micrometers, i.e. first height. Since Lu discloses the thickness of the solid electrolyte member being up to about 1000 micrometers, it is reasonably expected, absent evidence to the contrary, that the central region should have an approximate heigh of about half the height of the solid electrolyte member, such as about 500 micrometers. Therefore, ratio of the first height to the second height, would reasonably be (500/500=1), which overlaps the claimed range of between 1 and 20, as claimed by the applicant, thereby making the claimed range prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to Claim 16, Lu discloses wherein (i) the anode (#204) has a first height, (ii) the central region has a second height, and (iii) a ratio of the first height to the second height ranges between 1 and 20 (see figure 2B and claim 1; Lu discloses the thickness of the solid electrolyte member being up to about 1000 micrometers, the anode layer having a uniform thickness of up to about 500 micrometers, i.e. first height, and the cathode layer having a uniform layer of up to about 500 micrometers. Since Lu discloses the thickness of the solid electrolyte member being up to about 1000 micrometers, it is reasonably expected, absent evidence to the contrary, that the central region should have an approximate heigh of about half the height of the solid electrolyte member, such as about 500 micrometers. Therefore, ratio of the first height to the second height, would reasonably be (500/500=1), which overlaps the claimed range of between 1 and 20, as claimed by the applicant, thereby making the claimed range prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to Claim 18, Lu discloses wherein each of the notches of the first and second sets of notches has a width and a height and a ratio of the width to the height ranges between 1 and 10 (see figure 5 below and paragraphs [0053]-[0054]; Lu discloses that the solid electrolyte member has a width, w, based on a predetermined size and a thickness (t) separating two opposing faces. Each face is formed with a uniform pattern of uniformly curved projections and reverse-shaped, interspaced valleys extending along the length (not illustrated) of the solid electrolyte member. As illustrated, the tops of the projections on each side of the solid electrolyte member extend to the same level, but not necessarily the same level on opposing sides. And the depths of the valleys extend to common levels. In accordance with this disclosure, the over-all thickness (t) of the solid electrolyte layer is typically in the range of a few micrometers up to about 1000 micrometers (one millimeter). As illustrated in FIG. 5 this thickness measurement includes the top levels of the formed projections. The overall width (w) of the solid-state electrolyte member depends on the design of each cell. The distance (d), i.e. height of dome-shaped protruding region), between the top of a projection and the depth of the adjacent valley is suitably up to, but no greater than the thickness (t) of the solid electrolyte layer. And the spacing (l) between the centers of the projections is suitably up to about five times the value of d. The value of d and l of each valley may differ from each other or be the same. As stated above in this specification, it is preferred that the minimum dimensions of the projections and recesses be larger than average representative sizes of the particles making up the layer of solid electrolyte material.).
According to Lu, the thickness (t) of the solid electrolyte layer is up to about 1000 micrometers (1 millimeter). The distance (d) is no greater than the thickness (t) (d≤t). The spacing (l) between centers of the projections is up to about 5 times the value of d (l≤5d). Since Lu discloses that each face is formed with a uniform pattern of uniformly curved projections and reverse-shaped, interspaced valleys extending along the length (not illustrated) of the solid electrolyte member, it is considered reasonable, that the value of (l) could be also equal to the width of each projection (equating (l) to the width of the projection). Therefore, taking an exemplary value of (d) less than the thickness of (t), d=0.9mm, and using (l) as representing the width of the projection, such that (I≤5x(0.9)=4.5). When calculating the ratio of width to height (w/h= I/d= 4.5/0.9= 5), which falls inside the claimed range of between 1 and 10, as claimed by the applicant, thereby making the claimed range prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to Claim 19, Lu discloses wherein each of the notches of the first and second sets of notches has a width, adjacent notches within the first and second sets of notches are spaced apart from each other by a distance, and a ratio of the width to the distance ranges between 0.1 and 10 (see figure 5 below and paragraphs [0053]-[0054]; Lu discloses that the solid electrolyte member has a width, w, based on a predetermined size and a thickness (t) separating two opposing faces. Each face is formed with a uniform pattern of uniformly curved projections and reverse-shaped, interspaced valleys extending along the length (not illustrated) of the solid electrolyte member. As illustrated, the tops of the projections on each side of the solid electrolyte member extend to the same level, but not necessarily the same level on opposing sides. And the depths of the valleys extend to common levels. In accordance with this disclosure, the over-all thickness (t) of the solid electrolyte layer is typically in the range of a few micrometers up to about 1000 micrometers (one millimeter). As illustrated in FIG. 5 this thickness measurement includes the top levels of the formed projections. The overall width (w) of the solid-state electrolyte member depends on the design of each cell. The distance (d), i.e. height of dome-shaped protruding region), between the top of a projection and the depth of the adjacent valley is suitably up to, but no greater than the thickness (t) of the solid electrolyte layer. And the spacing (l) between the centers of the projections is suitably up to about five times the value of d. The value of d and l of each valley may differ from each other or be the same. As stated above in this specification, it is preferred that the minimum dimensions of the projections and recesses be larger than average representative sizes of the particles making up the layer of solid electrolyte material.).
Since Lu discloses that each face is formed with a uniform pattern of uniformly curved projections and reverse-shaped, interspaced valleys extending along the length (not illustrated) of the solid electrolyte member, it is considered reasonable, that the value of (l) could be also equal to the width of each projection. Therefore, the ratio of the width to the distance would be equal to 1, which falls inside the claimed range of from 0.1 to 10, as claimed by the applicant, thereby making the claimed range prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/JELITZA M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774