DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOSHI et al. (EP 3 974 994 to INTEL) and LUNA (WO 2011/037982 to ALIP-COM).
Regarding claim 1, DOSHI et al. discloses a method for monitoring a component in a container orchestration system [Abstract: method of application monitoring in virtualized computing system including host cluster of having virtualization layer directly executing on hardware platforms of hosts, the virtualization layer supporting execution of virtual machines (VMs) and integrated with an orchestration control plane includes], the method comprising: obtaining, monitoring data associated with the component while the component is connected to a network [Abstract, par. 34: depending on the type of the request probe pod VM agent will execute a raw process within the application, performs a network requests against applications IP and port, or performs a network open port, check against the applications IP and port], configured to continuously monitor at least the component [Abstract: executing in the pod VM by the pod VM agent at least one probe of an application executing in one or more of the containers and returning from the pod VM agent to the pod VM controller, application health status obtained from the at least one probe].
LUNA on the other hand discloses an abstraction layer, wherein the abstraction layer comprises at least one proxy component acting as a proxy for the component in the container orchestration system [par. 0023-0024: an abstraction layer that intercept access to any API that is presented by wireless or network communications stack, the event or data is passed by the proxy to the device’s API manager]; intercepting, by the abstraction layer, a query intended for the component, wherein the query originated from one or more monitoring agents [par. 0023-0024: an abstraction layer that intercept access to any API that is presented by wireless or network communications stack, the event or data is passed by the proxy to the device’s API manager]; and responding to the query based on the monitoring data obtained by the abstraction layer for the component [par. 0023-0024: an abstraction layer that intercept access to any API that is presented by wireless or network communications stack, the event or data is passed by the proxy to the device’s API manager, an update manager element receiving and installing new or revised rules in the rule base where the new or revised rules may enable new functions , services, or features of the base device, or an external device in communication with the base device].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have an abstraction layer, intercepting a query, and responding to the query in order to change or expand the capabilities of a device to enable support for new applications or functions (par. 22).
Regarding claim 2, LUNA discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: intercepting, by the abstraction layer, a query intended for the component, wherein the query originated from a node controller configured to determine a responsiveness of the component [par. 0023-0024: an abstraction layer that intercept access to any API that is presented by wireless or network communications stack, the event or data is passed by the proxy to the device’s API manager]; and responding, by the abstraction layer, to the query on behalf of the component [par. 0023-0024: an update manager element receiving and installing new or revised rules in the rule base where the new or revised rules may enable new functions, services, or features of the base device, or an external device in communication with the base device].
Regarding claim 3, LUNA discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the query intended for the component is intercepted by the abstraction layer when the component is disconnected from the network [par. 0023-0024: an abstraction layer that intercept access to any API that is presented by wireless or network communications stack, the event or data is passed by the proxy to the device’s API manager].
Regarding claim 4, LUNA discloses the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining, by the abstraction layer, the monitoring data associated with the component comprises reading data from application programming interfaces (APIs) published by the component while connected to the network [par. 22: API].
Regarding claim 5, LUNA discloses the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining, by the abstraction layer, the monitoring data associated with the component comprises: monitoring a storage for one or more updates to monitoring data stored in the storage for the component [FIG. 6: update manager]; based on the monitoring, detecting the one or more updates to the monitoring data stored in the storage for the component [FIG. 6], discloses reading the monitoring data updated in the storage for the component [FIG. 6].
Regarding claim 6, DOSHI et al. discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the storage comprises a network-attached storage [FIG. 5B, 7, 12, 14, 16].
Regarding claim 7, LUNA discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the one or more updates to the monitoring data stored in the storage are caused by the component or monitoring agents deployed on the component [FIG. 4, 6].
Regarding claim 8, DOSHI et al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the component comprises an edge node [FIG. 17].
Regarding claim 9, LUNA discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the monitoring data associated with the component comprises application logs for one or more applications running on the component [FIG. 4, 6].
Regarding claims 10-18, the rationale in the rejection of claims 1-9, respectively, is herein incorporated.
Regarding claim 19, the rationale in the rejection of claim 1 is herein incorporated.
Regarding claim 20, the rationale in the rejection of claim 2 is herein incorporated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mueller (US 2022/0326994) discloses containers, container management platform, proxy systems; WO 2022/037268 discloses a container management method.
/MARDOCHEE CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133