DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following Office Action is in response to the RCE filed 09/03/2026. Claims 1-26 are pending in the application. Claims 1-15 and 23-26 have previously been withdrawn. Claims 16-22 have been examined as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “and” in line 5, needs to be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 16 recites: “a base unit comprising…a handle comprising a grip sized and shaped to be gripped by a user during operation of the system; and a cord extending from the handle to the base unit and configured to wrap around the spool during operation of the system”. However, nowhere in the original specification, support has been provided for the base unit comprising a handle and a cord. In other words, the original specification does not provide support for a handle and a cord being part of the base unit. As such, the above cited limitations are considered New Matter. Further clarification, appropriate corrections and specific citations where support for such limitations are provided, are respectfully requested. Claims 17-22 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, by virtue of dependency upon claim 16.
Claims 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 16 recites: “a base unit comprising…a handle comprising a grip sized and shaped to be gripped by a user during operation of the system; and a cord extending from the handle to the base unit and configured to wrap around the spool during operation of the system”. However, it is unclear how a cord (that is part) of the base unit, extends from the handle (of the base unit) to itself. For the purposes of examination, claim 16 has been examined “as best understood”. Further clarification and appropriate corrections are respectfully requested. Claims 17-22 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, by virtue of dependency upon claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0131381 A1) in view of Mehtala (US 2025/0161735 A1) and Beeding (US 3,929,331).
Regarding claim 16, (claim 16 “as best understood”) Zhang teaches a system comprising:
a base unit comprising:
a spool (reel 241b) configured to rotate about an axis (Fig. 3, ¶ [35]);
a cord (pull rope 3) extending from a grip ring (31) to the base unit and configured to wrap around the spool during operation of the system (Figs. 1-3, ¶ [35]);
a motor (2) connected to the spool and configured to provide a torque to the spool (Fig. 2, ¶ [29]-[35]);
a controller (41) configured to operate the motor to regulate the torque provided to the spool (Fig. 8, abstract, ¶ [36]);
a housing (1) comprising opposite end walls (A and B as shown in Fig. 2 below) and a side wall extending therebetween (darked portion shown in Figs. 1-2), the opposite end walls and the side wall collectively defining a shell having an inner cavity sized to enclose the motor (2), the controller (41), the spool (reel 241b), and a portion of the cord (rope 3) wound on the spool (Figs. 1-3), the side wall of the housing defining an outlet through which the cord extends from the spool to the grip ring (as shown in Fig. 2 below); and
a power source (42) connected to the motor (via driving circuit) and configured to provide power to the motor during operation of the system (Fig. 8, ¶ [27] and [37]) ;
wherein the system is portable and is sized to be carried by a single person (Fig. 1), and
wherein the motor forms a direct drive system, and the controller is configured to regulate the torque of the motor to provide a simulated weight resistance (abstract, ¶ [27], [37]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Side Wall
(shown in the darkened area))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (outlet)][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: textbox (Side Wall
(shown in the darkened area))]
Zhang is silent about the side wall of the housing being a curved side wall, wherein the opposite end walls and the curved side wall collectively defining a rounded shell, and the base unit comprising a support attached to the housing to facilitate mounting the base unit, wherein the support comprises a U-shaped yoke that extends between the side walls.
Regarding claim 16, (claim 16 “as best understood”) Mehtala teaches a system comprising:
a base unit comprising: a spool (rotating body 7) configured to rotate about an axis (Fig. 7); a cord (cable 4, Figs. 6-7) extending from a connection element (20) to the base unit and configured to wrap around the spool during operation of the system (Fig. 6); a motor (6) connected to the spool and configured to provide a torque to the spool (Fig. 7); a controller (control unit 16) configured to operate the motor to regulate the torque provided to the spool (¶ [54], [80]-[81]); a housing (1) comprising opposite end walls (12 and 13) and a curved side wall (2) extending therebetween (Figs. 1-4), the opposite end walls and the curved side wall collectively defining a rounded shell having an inner cavity sized to enclose the motor, the controller, the spool, and a portion of the cord wound on the spool (Figs. 1-7), the curved side wall of the housing defining an outlet (3) through which the cord extends from the spool to the connection element (20, Figs. 1-4); a support (18) attached to the housing to facilitate mounting the base unit (Figs. 3-7), wherein the support comprises a U-shaped yoke that extends between the side walls (Figs. 3-7); and a power source connected to the motor and configured to provide power to the motor during operation of the system (¶ [27]); wherein the system is portable and is sized to be carried by a single person (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s invention such that the side wall of the housing is a curved side wall, wherein the opposite end walls and the curved side wall collectively defining a rounded shell, and the base unit comprising a support attached to the housing to facilitate mounting the base unit, wherein the support comprises a U-shaped yoke that extends between the side walls, as taught by Mehtala in order to provide for wider range of designs to attract different users and to enable having the device attached to various structures to perform exercises targeting different muscles.
Zhang in view of Mehtala is silent about the base unit comprising a handle comprising a grip sized and shaped to be gripped by a user during operation of the system, wherein the cord extends from the handle to the base unit.
Regarding claim 16, (claim 16 “as best understood”) Beeding teaches a system comprising: a base unit (10) comprising: a handle (13) comprising a grip sized and shaped to be gripped by a user during operation of the system; and a cord (14) extending from the handle to the base unit and configured to wrap around a spool (18) during operation of the system (Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s invention in view of Mehtala with a handle comprising a grip sized and shaped to be gripped by a user during operation of the system, wherein the cord extends from the handle to the base unit, as taught by Beeding in order to enable a user perform exercises with each hand separately and both hands simultaneously.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang in view of Mehtala and Beeding teaches wherein the motor includes a shaft (Zhang: 232/23) operatively connected to the spool to form the direct drive system (Zhang: ¶ [34]-[35]).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang in view of Mehtala and Beeding teaches wherein the housing of the base unit includes a frame supporting the motor and the spool (Beeding: supporting posts 15 and 16, Figs. 3-4, the supporting posts 15 and 16 that support the spool 18, define a frame. Upon modification of Zhang in view of Mehtala with the frame of Beeding, the motor of Zhang would also be supported by the frame).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang in view of Mehtala and Beeding teaches wherein the housing completely encloses the spool and the motor to prevent a user from contacting moving parts of the spool and the motor during operation (Zhang: Figs. 1-3; Mehtala: Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang in view of Mehtala and Beeding teaches wherein the controller is configured to regulate the torque of the motor to provide a simulated weight resistance of 100 lbs. or less (Mehtala: ¶ [19]).
Zhang in view of Mehtala and Beeding teaches the invention as substantially claimed. Although, Zhang in view of Mehtala and Beeding does not specifically teach wherein the base unit, the handle, and the cord cumulatively weigh 16 lbs. or less, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s invention in view of Mehtala and Beeding wherein the base unit, the handle, and the cord cumulatively weigh 16 lbs. or less in order to enable use of the device by elderly users and provide for easier transportation of the device between various locations, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05) (Claim 21).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Mehtala and Beeding as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Garsdean (US 2019/0168053 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang in view of Mehtala and Beeding teaches wherein the power source is a rechargeable battery (Mehtala: ¶ [27]).
Zhang in view of Mehtala and Beeding is silent about the rechargeable battery being removably attached to the housing.
Regarding claim 19, Garsdean teaches a system comprising a power source (140), wherein the power source is a rechargeable battery (142) that is removably attached to a housing (30, Fig. 3, ¶ [62]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang’s invention in view of Mehtala and Beeding such that the rechargeable battery is removably attached to the housing as taught by Garsdean in order to enable placement and use of the device at a location where a plug is unavailable or out of access/reach and to enable easy access to and easy replacement of such battery when needed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 12,377,302 B2 to Wang (pertinent to claims 16-22).
/SHILA JALALZADEH ABYANEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784