DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 10/6/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-9, and 13-20 remain pending in the application. Claim 21 is new.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: item 48 and 52. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 9 recites “wherein the pump comprising a peristaltic pump”. Examiner suggests replacing “wherein the pump comprising a peristaltic pump” in line 9 of claim 1 with “wherein the pump comprises a peristaltic pump” to put the claim in clearer grammatical form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-9, 13-17, and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1,
Line 13 recites “the light being emitted through the tubing by the light source”. Line 12 recites “a light source disposed in the pump and configured to emit a light”. The light is not positively required in line 12. It is unclear if line 13 is attempting to positively require the light and the method step of the light being emitted through the tubing by the light source. For examination purposes Examiner construes “the light being emitted through the tubing by the light source” to be “the light configured to be emitted through the tubing by the light source”. Examiner suggests replacing “the light being emitted through the tubing by the light source” in line 13 of claim 1 with “the light configured to be emitted through the tubing by the light source”.
Examiner notes claims 3-9, 13-17, and 21 are similarly rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
In regard to claim 5,
Line 1-2 recites “wherein the fiber optic filament extends from the pump to the patient access tip”. Claim 5 depends on claim 3. Claim 3 recites “the light is configured to be transmitted via a fiber optic filament”. The fiber optic filament is not positively required in claim 3. It is unclear due to the language in claim 5 if the fiber optic filament is positively required in claim 5. For examination purposes Examiner construes the fiber optic filament to not be positively required. Examiner suggests replacing “wherein the fiber optic filament extends from the pump to the patient access tip” in line 1-2 of claim 5 with “wherein the fiber optic filament is configured to extend from the pump to the patient access tip”.
In regard to claim 6,
Line 1-2 recites “wherein the fiber optic filament extends partially between the pump and the patient access tip”. Claim 6 depends on claim 3. Claim 3 recites “the light is configured to be transmitted via a fiber optic filament”. The fiber optic filament is not positively required in claim 3. It is unclear due to the language in claim 6 if the fiber optic filament is positively required in claim 6. For examination purposes Examiner construes the fiber optic filament to not be positively required. Examiner suggests replacing “wherein the fiber optic filament extends partially between the pump and the patient access tip” in line 1-2 of claim 6 with “wherein the fiber optic filament is configured to extend partially between the pump and the patient access tip”.
In regard to claim 21,
Line 1-5 recites “wherein the optical connection is disposed between the fluid container and the patient access tip and comprises a body having an import and an export, the import receiving a proximal end of a first segment of the tubing and the export receiving a distal end of a second segment of the tubing to allow the medicament to flow therethrough”. Claim 21 depends on claim 7. Claim 7 recites “wherein the light is configured to be emitted via an optical connection”. Claim 7 does not positively require the optical connection. Claim 21 further defines the optical connection and appears to positively require “the import receiving a proximal end of a first segment of the tubing and the export receiving a distal end of a second segment of the tubing to allow the medicament to flow therethrough”. It is unclear based on the language of claim 21 if the optical connection is positively required in claim 21. For examination purposes Examiner construes the optical connection to not be positively required in claim 21. Examiner suggests replacing “wherein the optical connection is disposed between the fluid container and the patient access tip and comprises a body having an import and an export, the import receiving a proximal end of a first segment of the tubing and the export receiving a distal end of a second segment of the tubing to allow the medicament to flow therethrough” in line 1-5 of claim 21 with “wherein the optical connection is configured to be disposed between the fluid container and the patient access tip and comprises a body having an import and an export, the import configured to receive a proximal end of a first segment of the tubing and the export configured to receive a distal end of a second segment of the tubing to allow the medicament to flow therethrough”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, and 13-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a first embodiment of Utz (U.S. PG publication 20170258983) further in view of a second embodiment of Utz (U.S. PG publication 20170258983) further in view of Eltorai (U.S. PG publication 20190168023).
In regard to claim 1,
The first embodiment of Utz discloses an intravenous administration set (see figure 1; paragraph [0020]) comprising:
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Tubing )][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Fluid container)][AltContent: rect]
a fluid container (see figure 1 above) containing a medicament (paragraph [0024]) and having an outlet on a proximal end of the fluid container (see figure 1 wherein the outlet on the proximal end is connected to tubing);
a patient access tip (see tip which is inserted into the patient 106; paragraph [0003]: needle or port) having an inlet on a distal end and a proximal end configured to be inserted into a patient (see figure 1; paragraph [0003]);
a tubing (see figure 1 above, item 108c) having a distal end coupled to the outlet of the fluid container (see figure 1 above) and a proximal end coupled to the distal end of the patient access tip (see figure 1 above; paragraph [0003]);
a pump (figure 1, item 102) coupled to the tubing between the fluid container and the patient access tip (see figure 1 above), wherein the pump comprising a peristaltic pump (peristaltic pump as disclosed in paragraph [0021]; see also paragraph [0024]: The infusion pumps (102) and the rack of infusion pumps (104) may be implemented as any of the pumps described above or other type of infusion pump as will occur to those of skill in the art) and the tubing extends through the pump such that the pump directly engages the tubing to modulate flow of the medicament through the tubing (paragraph [0022]); and
a light source (source of illumination described in paragraph [0025] and [0030]) configured to emit a light along the tubing to the patient access tip (paragraph [0025]-[0026], [0030], and [0032]; Examiner notes figure 1 shows item 108 illuminated. Item 108c functions similarly to item 108 as discussed in paragraph [0025]; Examiner notes “configured to emit a light along the tubing to the patient access tip” is a functional limitation. The light source is fully capable of the recited function due to its structure. It is noted that the light is not positively required by the claim), the light being emitted through the tubing by the light source (paragraph [0025]-[0026], [0030], [0032] and [0037]; see figure 1; As noted above, the light is not positively required by the claim) and configured to travel in a proximal direction from the light source toward the patient access tip (paragraph [0030] and [0032]).
The first embodiment of Utz is silent as to a light source disposed in the pump, and wherein the light has antimicrobial properties. Accordingly, Utz also is silent as to and the light configured to travel in a proximal direction from the pump toward the patient access tip.
The second embodiment of Utz teaches a light source is disposed in the pump (figure 13, item 972 wherein a light source is disposed within the pump; paragraph [0060]) and configured to emit a light along the tubing to the patient access tip (paragraph [0060]; Examiner notes “configured to emit a light along the tubing to the patient access tip” is a functional limitation. The light source is fully capable of the recited function due to its structure. It is noted that the light is not positively required by the claim; see also paragraph [0025]-[0026], [0030], and [0032]), the light being emitted through the tubing by the light source (paragraph [0060]; see figure 13) and configured to travel in a proximal direction from the pump toward the patient access tip (paragraph [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Utz to modify the location of the light source to be disposed in the pump, as taught by the second embodiment of Utz, for the purpose of enabling the entirety of the line to be illuminated (paragraph [0032] of Utz). Examiner notes modifying the location of the light source to be disposed in the pump would result in the light configured to travel in a proximal direction from the pump toward the patient access tip.
Additionally, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the first embodiment of Utz to include a light source disposed in the pump since applicant has not disclosed that having a light source specifically disposed in the pump solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to the criticality of the light source specifically disposed in the pump, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Utz to include the light source disposed in the pump since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. As detailed above, the second embodiment of Utz teaches the light source disposed in the pump. Utz further supports in paragraph [0032] that other sources of illumination may originate within or on the manifold, infusion pump, or any other infusion component and work synchronously with other sources of illumination in order to illuminate the entirety of the line.
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz is silent as to wherein the light has antimicrobial properties.
Eltorai teaches wherein the light has antimicrobial properties (paragraph [0018]; Examiner notes the light is construed as a violet-blue light of 405 nm; paragraph [0078] supports fiber optics are used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz to include wherein the light has antimicrobial properties, as taught by Eltorai, for the purpose of providing antimicrobial effects while being safe to expose to human tissue (paragraph [0018] of Eltorai).
In regard to claim 3,
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai teaches the intravenous administration set of claim 1, wherein the light is configured to be transmitted via a fiber optic filament (paragraph [0037], [0026], and [0055] of Utz; Examiner notes “configured to be transmitted via a fiber optic filament” is a functional limitation. The fiber optic filament is not positively required by the claim. The light is fully capable of being transmitted via a fiber optic filament as supported by paragraph [0037], [0026], and [0055] of Utz).
In regard to claim 4,
It is noted that the fiber optic filament is not positively required in claim 4. A fiber optic filament comprising polystyrene is fully capable of use in the intravenous administration set due to the structure of the intravenous administration set. In order to promote compact prosecution, claim 4 has been rejected in view of Eltorai which teaches a fiber optic filament comprising polystyrene.
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai teaches the intravenous administration set of claim 3.
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai is silent as to wherein the fiber optic filament comprises polystyrene.
Eltorai teaches wherein the fiber optic filament comprises polystyrene (paragraph [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai to substitute a fiber optic filament comprising polystyrene in place of the fiber optic filament of Utz, as taught by Eltorai, because the substitution is a simple substitution that would yield the same predictable result of enabling illumination of a tube (paragraph [0081] of Eltorai and paragraph [0030] of Utz). Furthermore, Utz discloses modifications can be made to the optical fiber (paragraph [0038], [0046], and [0064] of Utz).
In regard to claim 5,
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai teaches the intravenous administration set of claim 3, wherein the fiber optic filament extends from the pump to the patient access tip (A fiber optic filament is within the light transmission channel as supported by paragraph [0026] and [0037]-[0038] of Utz and extends from the pump to the patient access tip as the portion of the tube from the pump to the patient access tip can be illuminated as supported by paragraph [0032] of Utz: wherein the entire length of the illuminating infusion line is allowed to illuminate, paragraph [0025]-[0026] and [0030] of Utz; As noted above, the fiber optic filament is not positively required by claim 5).
In regard to claim 6,
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai teaches the intravenous administration set of claim 3, wherein the fiber optic filament extends partially between the pump and the patient access tip (A fiber optic filament is within the light transmission channel as supported by paragraph [0026] and [0037]-[0038] of Utz and extends partially between the pump and the patient access tip as that portion of the tube can be illuminated but broken up by the filter as supported by paragraph [0032] of Utz, see also paragraph [0025]-[0026] and [0030] of Utz; As noted above, the fiber optic filament is not positively required by claim 6).
In regard to claim 7,
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai teaches the intravenous administration set of claim 1, wherein the light is configured to be emitted via an optical connection (paragraph [0025]-[0026] and [0030] of Utz; Examiner notes “configured to be emitted via an optical connection” is a functional limitation. The optical connection is not positively required by claim 7. The light is fully capable of being emitted via an optical connection as supported by paragraph [0025]-[0026] and [0030] of Utz).
In regard to claim 8,
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai teaches the intravenous administration set of claim 1, wherein the light is configured to be transmitted via a lumen of the tubing (paragraph [0025] and [0037] of Utz; see figure 3, item 302 and 304 of Utz which show example lumens; Examiner notes the light is transmitted via a lumen of the tubing as the light is visible through both lumens).
In regard to claim 9,
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai teaches the intravenous administration set of claim 1, wherein the light is configured to be transmitted through a wall of the tubing (paragraph [0025] and [0037] of Utz, see figure 1 and analysis of claim 1 above).
In regard to claim 13,
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai teaches the intravenous administration set of claim 1, wherein the light is an indigo light (see analysis of claim 1 above and paragraph [0018] of Eltorai).
In regard to claim 14,
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai teaches the intravenous administration set of claim 13, wherein the indigo light has a wavelength from a visible light spectrum of approximately 405 nm (see analysis of claim 1 above and paragraph [0018] of Eltorai).
In regard to claim 15,
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai teaches the intravenous administration set of claim 1, wherein the light source is configured to constantly emit the light (paragraph [0025]-[0026], [0030], and [0037] of Utz, Examiner notes the light source is configured to constantly emit the light when turned on).
In regard to claim 16,
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai teaches the intravenous administration set of claim 1, wherein the fluid container and the patient access tip are in fluid communication through the tubing (see figure 1 of Utz and analysis of claim 1 above; paragraph [0024]-[0025] of Utz).
In regard to claim 17,
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai teaches the intravenous administration set of claim 1, wherein the pump is coupled to the tubing closer to the fluid container than the patient access tip (see figure 1 of Utz).
In regard to claim 18,
The first embodiment of Utz discloses an intravenous administration set (see figure 1; paragraph [0020]) comprising:
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Tubing )][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Fluid container)][AltContent: rect]
a fluid container (see figure 1 above) containing a medicament (paragraph [0024]) and having an outlet on a proximal end of the fluid container (see figure 1 wherein the outlet on the proximal end is connected to tubing);
a patient access tip (see tip which is inserted into the patient 106; paragraph [0003]: needle or port) having an inlet on a distal end and a proximal end configured to be inserted into a patient (see figure 1; paragraph [0003]);
a tubing (see figure 1 above, item 108c) having a distal end coupled to the outlet of the fluid container (see figure 1 above) and a proximal end coupled to the distal end of the patient access tip (see figure 1 above; paragraph [0003]);
a pump (figure 1, item 102) coupled to the tubing between the fluid container and the patient access tip (see figure 1 above), wherein the pump is a peristaltic pump (peristaltic pump as disclosed in paragraph [0021]; see also paragraph [0024]: The infusion pumps (102) and the rack of infusion pumps (104) may be implemented as any of the pumps described above or other type of infusion pump as will occur to those of skill in the art) and the tubing extends through the pump such that the pump directly engages the tubing to modulate flow of the medicament through the tubing (paragraph [0022]); and
a light source (source of illumination described in paragraph [0025] and [0030]) configured to emit a light along the tubing toward the patient access tip (paragraph [0025]-[0026], [0030], and [0032]; Examiner notes figure 1 shows item 108 illuminated. Item 108c functions similarly to item 108 as discussed in paragraph [0025]; Examiner notes “configured to emit a light along the tubing toward the patient access tip” is a functional limitation. The light source is fully capable of the recited function due to its structure. It is noted that the light is not positively required by the claim); and
a fiber optic filament (paragraph [0037]-[0038], [0026], and [0055] of Utz) configured to transmit the light (paragraph [0037]-[0038], [0026], and [0055] of Utz), the fiber optic filament extending from the light source to the patient access tip (a fiber optic filament is within the light transmission channel as supported by paragraph [0026] and [0037]-[0038] and extends from the light source to the patient access tip as the portion of the tube between the light source and patient access tip can be illuminated as supported by paragraph [0032]: wherein the entire length of the illuminating infusion line is allowed to illuminate, paragraph [0025]-[0026] and [0030]),
wherein the light is configured to be emitted through the tubing (paragraph [0025]-[0026], [0030], and [0032]; Examiner notes figure 1 shows item 108 illuminated. Item 108c functions similarly to item 108 as discussed in paragraph [0025]; Examiner notes “configured to be emitted through the tubing” is a functional limitation. The light is fully capable of being emitted through the tubing due to the structure of the tubing as supported by paragraph [0025]-[0026], [0030], and [0032]).
The first embodiment of Utz is silent as to a light source disposed in the pump and wherein the light has antimicrobial properties. As a result, the first embodiment of Utz also fails to disclose the fiber optic filament extending from the light source in the pump to the patient access tip.
The second embodiment of Utz teaches a light source disposed in the pump (figure 13, item 972 wherein a light source is disclosed within the pump; paragraph [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the light source in the first embodiment of Utz to be disposed in the pump, as taught by the second embodiment of Utz, for the purpose of enabling the entirety of the line to be illuminated (paragraph [0060] and [0032] of Utz). Examiner notes modifying the location of the light source to be in the pump would result in the fiber optic filament extending from the light source in the pump to the patient access tip.
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz is silent as to wherein the light has antimicrobial properties.
Eltorai teaches wherein the light has antimicrobial properties (paragraph [0018]; Examiner notes the light is construed as a violet-blue light of 405 nm; paragraph [0078] supports fiber optics are used).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz to include wherein the light has antimicrobial properties, as taught by Eltorai, for the purpose of providing antimicrobial effects while being safe to expose to human tissue (paragraph [0018] of Eltorai).
In regard to claim 19,
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai teaches the intravenous administration set of claim 18.
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai is silent as to wherein the fiber optic filament comprises polystyrene.
Eltorai teaches wherein the fiber optic filament comprises polystyrene (paragraph [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai to substitute a fiber optic filament comprising polystyrene in place of the fiber optic filament of Utz, as taught by Eltorai, because the substitution is a simple substitution that would yield the same predictable result of enabling illumination of a tube (paragraph [0081] of Eltorai and paragraph [0030] of Utz). Furthermore, Utz discloses modifications can be made to the optical fiber (paragraph [0038], [0046], and [0064] of Utz).
In regard to claim 20,
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai teaches the intravenous administration set of claim 18, wherein the light is an indigo light (see analysis of claim 18 above and paragraph [0018] of Eltorai).
In regard to claim 21,
The first embodiment of Utz in view of the second embodiment of Utz in view of Eltorai teaches the intravenous administration set of claim 7, wherein the optical connection is disposed between the fluid container and the patient access tip and comprises a body having an import and an export, the import receiving a proximal end of a first segment of the tubing and the export receiving a distal end of a second segment of the tubing to allow the medicament to flow therethrough (As noted in regard to claim 7 above, the optical connection is not positively required by the claim. An optical connection disposed between the fluid container and the patient access tip and comprises a body having an import and an export, the import receiving a proximal end of a first segment of the tubing and the export receiving a distal end of a second segment of the tubing to allow the medicament to flow therethrough is fully capable of use with the intravenous administration set due to the structure of the intravenous administration set and as supported by paragraph [0025]-[0026] and [0030] of Utz. See also figure 9 of Utz which supports a first segment and a second segment of tubing can be utilized).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/6/2026 with respect to Barneck (U.S. Patent no 11229728) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, and 13-16 over Barneck have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/6/2026 in regard to Utz (U.S. PG publication 20170258983) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in regard to claim 1 that Utz fails to disclose a peristaltic pump, the tubing extends through the pump such that the pump directly engages the tubing to modulate flow of the medicament through the tubing, and a light source disposed in the pump. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed above, Utz does disclose a peristaltic pump (peristaltic pump as disclosed in paragraph [0021]; see also paragraph [0024]: The infusion pumps (102) and the rack of infusion pumps (104) may be implemented as any of the pumps described above or other type of infusion pump as will occur to those of skill in the art) and the tubing extends through the pump such that the pump directly engages the tubing to modulate flow of the medicament through the tubing (paragraph [0022]). Additionally, the second embodiment of Utz teaches a light source (figure 13, item 972) disclosed in the pump (see figure 13) that emits the light through the tubing to travel in a proximal direction from the pump toward the patient access tip (paragraph [0060]; see figure 13). No arguments have been presented in regard to the second embodiment of Utz.
Applicant argues in regard to claim 18, that the cited portions do not disclose the pump as claimed or a fiber optic filament configured to transmit light, the fiber optic filament extending from the light source in the pump to the patient access tip. See response to arguments above regarding the pump being a peristaltic pump. No specific arguments regarding why Utz fails to disclose a fiber optic filament configured to transmit light, the fiber optic filament extending from the light source in the pump to the patient access tip have been included. As detailed above, Utz does disclose the fiber optic filament as claimed in claim 18.
Applicant’s arguments in regard to the dependent claims are not found to be persuasive. See response to arguments in regard to independent claim 1 and 18 above.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRA LALONDE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KAMI A BOSWORTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783