DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the lead line pointing to the right blocking wall 2138 of the restricting portion 2133 is pointing to the adjusting member 218, and lead line for adjustment member 218 is pointing to the blocking wall Fig. 10 1-O’clock.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, first and second slope extending obliquely from a bottom of the respective first and second restricting groove, claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the replaceable driver bit includes a driver and a socket" in line 5, rendering the scope of claim unascertainable. It is not clear if Applicant is reciting for a kit or a hand tool in combination with a driver and a socket. Claims are directed to a rotable hand tool and while one driver (either bit 211A or socket 211B) may be considered and recited as part of the claimed hand tool a supplemental driver, which cannot be used at the same with the original driver, can be considered as part of the handle tool if recited in a combination or a kit including the hand tool and extra drivers. Alternatively said feature (both bits 212A, B) may be recited to be stored in a bit storage unit, as recited in claim 10.
It is also noted that “arc-shaped protruding portions”, should be changed to, --curved protruding portions--, as earlier recited in line 4, or vice versa, for consistency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner (4,170,909) in view of McGrath (8,898,962).
Wagner meets all of the limitations of claim 1, i.e., a rotatable hand tool 1, comprising:
a grip 2, extending in an axial direction, one end of the grip having a first pivot portion 9, the first pivot portion having a recess defined by clevis 7 and a first tooth groove seat 18, Fig. 2, the recess extending in a radial direction perpendicular to the axial direction, the first tooth groove communicating with the recess Fig. 3;
a tool head 4, having a tool part at one end thereof 3 in the axial direction and a second pivot portion at another end thereof buckle 8, the second pivot portion having a through hole 9 in the radial direction
a pivoting unit pin 9, connecting the first pivot portion of the grip and the second pivot portion of the tool head so that the tool head is pivotally connected to the grip Fig. 1,
except for the particulars of the pivoting unit.
McGrath teaches push button locking assembly comprising a pivoting unit 10 pivotally coupling a first pivot portion 100 to a second pivot portion 102, wherein the first pivot portion 100 has a recess 42 of base 30 assembled in 100, Figs. 2, 4, and a first tooth groove 48, the recess extending in a radial direction perpendicular to the axial direction, the first tooth groove 48 communicating with the recess 42; the second pivot portion 102 has a through hole 68
in the radial direction and a second tooth groove 76 communicating with the through hole Fig. 4; a pivoting unit pin 9, connecting the first pivot portion of the grip and the second pivot portion of the tool head so that the tool head is pivotally connected to the grip Fig. 1, the pivoting unit 10 including an elastic member 92, a positioning gear 32 and a button assembly 14, the elastic member 92 being placed into the recess 42, the positioning gear 32 leaning against the elastic member interior cavity 24, Fig. 9 and being engaged with the first tooth groove 48, Fig. 11 and the second tooth groove
76 so that the second pivoting portion is retained at an initial angle relative to the first pivoting portion, the button assembly being inserted in a through hole 68 and corresponding to the positioning gear 22, the button assembly being movable in the radial direction when being pressed Figs. 10 and 11;
wherein when the button assembly @14 is pressed, the button assembly pushes against the positioning gear 22 for controlling the positioning gear to disengage from the second tooth groove 76 and compress the elastic member, such that the second pivot can be operated to pivot to a working angle relative to the first pivot Fig. 9, after that, the button assembly is released to return the elastic member and control the positioning gear 22 to be engaged with the second tooth groove 76 again so that the second pivot is retained at the working angle relative to the first pivot Fig. 10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the pivoting arrangement of Wagner with the arrangement as taught by McGrath for ease of operation such that the adjustment is accomplished with a push of a button instead of removing the cap 11 and adjusting the screw 16.
Regarding claim 2, PA (prior art, Wagner modified by McGrath) meets the limitations, i.e., the rotatable hand tool as claimed in claim 1, wherein the button assembly includes a retaining base 30 McGrath, a retaining pin 56 and a button 14, the retaining base 30 has a perforation inner cavity, the button 14 has a pressing piece annular wall annotated here facing the perforation cavity (same direction), the grip 2 Wagner has a retaining portion 7, the retaining portion has a retaining hole accommodating pivoting arrangement of McGrath, the retaining base 30 passes through the retaining hole and is inserted in the through hole to lean against the positioning gear 22, Figs. 8-11, the retaining pin 56 passes through the retaining base 30 to lock the retaining base on the grip, the button 14 is disposed on the retaining base, and the pressing piece passes through the perforation to push against the positioning gear integral formation Figs. 10, 11.
Regarding claim 3, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the rotatable hand tool as claimed in claim 1, wherein the tool part 3 of the tool head 4 includes a connector socket, except for a replaceable driver bit, that is detachably connected to the connector. However as described, the socket 3 is configured to detachable receiver a driving bit, accordingly, providing a bit for the tool of PA, e.g., for fastening a screw meets the claim as recited.
Claim 4, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PA as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Lai (6,966,239).
PA (prior art, Wagner modified by McGrath) as applied to claim 3 above, meets all of the limitations of claim 4, as best understood, except for the particulars of the connector.
Lai teaches driving shaft for a ratchet spinner comprising a connector 11, wherein the connector has a receiving groove 112, a U-shaped elastic plate 12 and a magnetic member magnetized retaining member 12, 03:18-20, a sidewall of the receiving groove have a 114, the U-shaped elastic plate includes two elastic legs 112 one having a curved protruding portion 122, the U-shaped elastic plate is inserted into the receiving groove and the arc-shaped protruding portion114, the magnetic member is placed in the receiving groove member 12; the replaceable driver bit includes a driver Fig. 6 and a socket Fig. 5, the driver is inserted in the receiving groove Fig. 6 and attracted and secured by the magnetic member 112, and the socket is sleeved on the connector Fig. 5 and elastically secured by the curved protruding portion
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to further modify the modified invention of PA with connector as taught by Lai to adapt the tool head for securely retaining and driving both a socket and a driving bit.
The combination meets claim 4, except for disclosing two holes 114 and two curved protrusions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention, to form a hole for a corresponding protrusion on each leg for a more secure retention, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a devise involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PA as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Hu (10,525,571) and Peng (12,370,655).
PA (prior art, Wagner modified by McGrath) as applied to claim 3 above, meets all of the limitations of claim 5, except for the particulars of the ratcheting mechanism.
Hu teaches screwdriver with a ratchet mechanism comprising a ratchet body seat 1, a ratchet elastic plate 2, two detents 3, a pinion 4, a positioning elastic plate 5 and a ratchet direction adjustment member 7; the ratchet body seat 1 has an accommodating space 11, a first restricting portion 121, a second restricting portion 131 and two spaced blocking portions 14
are provided on an inner wall of the accommodating space Fig. 3; the ratchet elastic plate 2 is disposed on the first restricting portion Fig. 3 of the accommodating space, the ratchet elastic plate 2 has two holding portions 21 corresponding to the two blocking portions 14, Fig. 3; the two detents 3 are disposed in the accommodating space, one side of each detent is blocked by a corresponding one of the blocking portions 14, Fig. 3, and another side of each detent is held by a corresponding one of the holding portions 21 of the ratchet elastic plate 2, so that each detent 3 is positioned between the corresponding blocking portion and the corresponding holding portion Fig. 3; one end of the pinion 4 is connected to the connector Fig. 2, another end of the pinion is inserted into the accommodating space 11, a first toothed portion 41 of the pinion is located between the two detents Fig. 3, the first toothed portion is detachably engaged with a second toothed portion engaging corner of each detent 3; the positioning elastic plate 5 is disposed on the second restricting portion 131 of the accommodating space, the positioning elastic plate 5 has an operating portion 51; the ratchet direction adjustment member defined by interior of rotary cap 7(similar to instant application 218, 219, Fig. 7) has two contact portions 61 corresponding to the respective detents 5, Fig. 3, the ratchet direction adjustment member 7 has an operated portion 62 corresponding to the
operating portion 51 of the positioning elastic plate Fig. 3; the operating portion 51 is configured to operate the operated portion 62 for one of the contact portions 61 to push against a corresponding one of the detents 5, so that the second toothed portion engaging corner detent 3 of the corresponding detent is disengaged from the first toothed portion of the pinion Fig. 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to further modify the modified invention of PA with connector as taught by Lai to adapt the tool head for securely retaining and driving both a socket and a driving bit.
It is noted that “second toothed portion” is not considered by the Examienr to require a plurality of teeth, since the engaging corner defines a toothed portion. However, in the alternative and in order to expedite the prosecution, Peng is utilized.
Peng teaches a ratcheting mechanism, wherein the toothed portion engaging corners of a pair of detents 31 comprises at least one latching tooth or a plurality of teeth 311, 03:39-41. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to further modify the modified invention with detents engaging corners having a plurality of teeth as taught by Peng for better transfer of torque and better operation, since such arrangement generates a stable deflecting rotation, thus malfunctioning situations of being jammed, loosened or not being recovered due to each of the latching teeth being overly displaced are prevented 04:20-24.
Regarding claim 6, PA (prior art, Wagner modified by McGrath, Hu and Peng) meets the limitations, i.e., the rotatable hand tool as claimed in claim 5, wherein the first restricting portion 121 includes a first concave space Fig. 3 and two engaging blocks 122 adjacent to two side walls of the first concave space Fig. 3, and the ratchet elastic plate 2 has two engaging grooves 22 corresponding to the two engaging blocks 122, thereby retaining the ratchet elastic plate on the first restricting portion Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 7, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the rotatable hand tool as claimed in claim 5, wherein the second restricting portion 131 includes a second concave space Fig. 3 and two blocking walls 132 adjacent to the second concave space Fig. 3, the positioning elastic plate 5 is placed in the second concave space, and two ends of the positioning elastic plate are held by the two blocking walls 132, Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 8, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the rotatable hand tool as claimed in claim 5, wherein the operating portion 51 of the positioning elastic plate 5 is in the form of a protrusion Fig. 3, and the operated portion 62 of the ratchet direction adjustment member is in the form of three notches indents that are arranged side by side 03:58-61.
Regarding claim 9, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the rotatable hand tool as claimed in claim 5, wherein a rotary cap 7 is provided to cover the ratchet body seat 1, the pinion passes 4 through the rotary cap, and the ratchet direction adjustment member is coupled to the rotary cap Figs. 1-3.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PA as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kao (11,541,527).
PA (prior art, Wagner modified by McGrath) as applied to claim 1 above, meets all of the limitations of claim 10, i.e., the rotatable hand tool as claimed in claim 1, wherein another end proximal end at 11 of the grip 2 is recessed to form an accommodating groove 10, a driver bit storage unit is accommodated in the accommodating groove 05:25-29, except for the particulars of the bit storage unit.
Kao teaches a screwdriver with a handle comprising a storage container unit, the bit storage unit 5 includes a slide rod 4 and a storage rod 511, the slide rod 4 is secured in the accommodating groove interior 511, the storage rod 511 has a plurality of grooves 521 formed on a peripheral wall thereof Fig. 2 partially shown here, a plurality of replaceable driver bits 900 are received in the respective grooves, the storage rod 511 is sleeved on the slide rod 4, Fig. 4 and is slidable along the slide rod Fig. 5, thereby allowing the storage rod to slide into or out of the accommodating groove.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to further modify the modified invention of PA with container as taught by Kao for ease of access and to prevent misplacing and loosing accessories such as small driver bits by properly organizing the bits.
Regarding claim 11, PA (prior art, Wagner modified by McGrath and Kao) meets the limitations, i.e., the rotatable hand tool as claimed in claim 10, wherein the slide rod 4 has an annular first restricting groove 42 and an annular second restricting groove 42 on two opposite ends thereof e.g., Fig. 5, the first restricting groove 42 LF is adjacent to an inner edge of the accommodating groove, the second restricting groove 42 RT is adjacent to an opening of the accommodating groove proximal end of the handle, the first restricting groove 42 has a first slope extending obliquely from a bottom of the first restricting groove toward the second restricting groove defined by surface 422, Fig. 2, the second restricting groove 42 RT has a second slope extending obliquely from a bottom of the second restricting groove toward the first restricting groove Fig. 2, the storage rod 5 has an arc-shaped slot 512, a fastener 53 is inserted in the arc-shaped slot from an outside of the storage rod Figs. 2 and 6, when the storage rod slides on the slide rod into or out Fig. 5 of the accommodating groove, the fastener is selectively restricted in the first restricting groove Fig. 4 or in the second restricting groove Fig. 5.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon at this time, are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Hillinger and Sheu are cited to show related inventions.
/Hadi Shakeri/
November 29, 2025 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723