DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/488,429, dated on 10/17/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-12, 14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated or alternatively unpatentable over Pathak et al. (US 2018/0160422 A1).
Claim 1, Pathak discloses a discontinuous transmission (DTX) information transmission (transmission of a connection suspend indication (Fig. 1A) indicating DSDS device entering a connection suspend mode/a DTX/DRX mode; Perform implicit Discontinuous Transmission/Discontinuous Reception (DTX/DRX) during the RF blackout; ¶69) method, comprising:
determining, by a processor (Fig. 8, el. 808) of an apparatus (DSDS devices (e.g., DSDS device 100); Fig. 8), whether to enter a DTX mode (entering a connection suspended mode/a DTX/DRX mode); and transmitting, by a transceiver (Fig. 8, el. 816) of the apparatus (DSDS devices; Fig. 8), DTX information to a network node (network entity; Figs. 1A,2A,3A, el. 200) in response to determining to enter the DTX mode (DSDS device transmitting a connection suspend indication (Fig. 1A) indicating DSDS device entering the DTX/DRX mode; Example embodiments herein provide methods and Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) devices including a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) and a second SIM for managing data communication. The methods include establishing, by the DSDS device, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection over the first SIM and performing data communication with a network entity. Further, the methods include detecting, by the DSDS device, an activity upcoming over the second SIM. Further, the methods include transmitting, by the DSDS device, a connection suspend indication to the network entity to suspend the data communication over the first SIM, wherein the connection suspend indication is transmitted on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel; abstract; Example embodiments relate to methods and DSDS device for transmitting a connection suspend indication to a network entity to suspend the data communication over the first SIM, where the connection suspend indication is transmitted on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel; ¶9; ¶14; ¶37; ¶39; When a tune away event occurs, the DSDS device may adopt one of the following schemes or an alteration/combination of them to send a suspend message providing an indication of the event to a network entity: [0061] a. Explicit signaling via a new Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) or a new Radio Link Control (RLC) Control Protocol Data Unit (PDU) [0062] b. Explicit signaling via a new RRC Message (Signaling message) [0063] c. Explicit signaling via a new Layer-1 Message (Control channel message); ¶60-63).
Claims 2, 10, 18, Pathak discloses wherein the apparatus supports a dual Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) function (method and dual SIM dual standby (DSDS) devices for managing data communication; title; Figs. 1A,2A,3A, el. 100), and the method further comprises:
performing, by the processor (Fig. 8, el. 808), a first service corresponding to a first SIM (first SIM; Figs. 1A,2A,3A,, el. 100a); determining, by the processor (Fig. 8, el. 808), that a second service corresponding to a second SIM (second SIM Figs. 1A,2A,3A, el. 100b) will be performed, wherein the second service is more critical than the first service; and transmitting, by the transceiver (Fig. 8, el. 816), the DTX information corresponding to the first SIM to the network node to indicate that the first SIM will enter the DTX mode (DSDS device determining the second SIM higher priority service and transmitting a connection suspend indication (Fig. 1A) indicating DSDS device first SIM entering the connection suspended mode/the DTX/DRX mode; abstract; While handling a priority operation on the second SIM of a DSDS device, operation of a Radio Frequency (RF) resource is paused in the first SIM of the DSDS device to grant the RF resource to the second SIM. This mechanism of tuning the RF resource from the first SIM to the second SIM is called RF tune away. An RF resume mechanism is employed to resume operation again on the first SIM and the intervening period of inactivity in the first SIM is called ‘RF blackout’. The DSDS device may tune away the RF resource to attend to a high priority signaling procedure on the second SIM. For example, in a DSDS design, a Packet Switched (PS) data operation on the first SIM is considered a low priority whereas, signaling, paging, system information reading, and measurements on the second SIM are considered high priority operations. While handling a higher priority operation on the second SIM, operation of the RF resource is paused in the first SIM to grant the RF resource to the second SIM. Further, there are several other events which may come up based on different protocol and system improvement related scenarios under which operation of the RF resource may be paused in the first SIM to grant the RF resource to the second SIM; ¶4; Example embodiments herein provide methods for managing data communication at a DSDS device including a first SIM and a second SIM. The methods include establishing a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection over a first SIM and performing data communication with a network entity via the RRC connection. Further, the methods include detecting an activity upcoming over a second SIM. Further, the methods include transmitting a connection suspend indication to the network entity to suspend the data communication over the first SIM, wherein the connection suspend indication is transmitted on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel; ¶14; In example embodiments, the connection suspend indication is transmitted on the Layer-1 control signaling channel when at least one of the following conditions is present: an activity on the second SIM is time critical, the activity on the second SIM is periodic, the activity on the second SIM is shorter in duration, and a bit indication to be sent in the connection suspend message with lower latency; ¶23; An active DSDS device may tune away to attend to high priority signaling procedures on another network. In a DSDS design, Packet Switched (PS) data operation on one SIM is considered a low priority whereas, signaling, paging, system information reading and measurements on the other SIM are considered high priority operations. While handling a higher priority operation on the second SIM, operation of the RF resource is paused in the first SIM to grant the RF resource to the second SIM. The RF resume mechanism is employed to resume operation again. There are several other events which may come up based on different protocol and system improvement related scenarios under which the operation of the RF resource may be paused in the first SIM to grant the RF to a stack corresponding to the second SIM; ¶59).
Claims 3, 11, Pathak discloses performing, by the processor (Fig. 8, el. 808), the second service corresponding to the second SIM (second SIM Figs. 1A,2A,3A, el. 100b) in response to the first SIM (first SIM; Figs. 1A,2A,3A,, el. 100a) entering the DTX mode (first SIM entering the connection suspended mode/the DTX/DRX mode); and
transmitting, by the transceiver (Fig. 8, el. 816), the DTX information corresponding to the second SIM (second SIM Figs. 1A,2A,3A, el. 100b) to the network node (network entity; Figs. 1A,2A,3A, el. 200) to indicate that the second SIM will enter the DTX mode in an event that the second service will be terminated (transmission of connection resume message to network entity to indicate the second SIM activity completed and the second SIM entering DTX mode; Fig. 1A, el. 120a; Example embodiments relate to methods and DSDS devices for detecting that an activity is completed over the second SIM. Example embodiments relate to methods and DSDS devices for transmitting a connection resume indication to the network entity to resume the data communication over the first SIM; ¶12-¶13; In example embodiments, the methods further include detecting that an activity is completed over the second SIM. Further, the methods include transmitting a connection resume indication to the network entity to resume the data communication over the first SIM; ¶27; In example embodiments, the connection resume indication is one of an implicit resume indication and an explicit resume indication. In example embodiments, one of a Scheduling Request (SR) and a Buffer Status Report (BSR) request is considered as an implicit resume indication when no information is to be shared with the network entity; ¶28-¶29; In example embodiments, one of a SR and a BSR request is considered as an explicit resume indication with RRC signaling when information is to be shared with the network entity; ¶30; In example embodiments, the methods further include detecting that an activity is completed over the second SIM. Further, the methods include transmitting one of the data and the BSR indication to the network entity over a common resource channel; ¶33; After the end of RF blackout period, the DSDS device may send a resume message; after sending the resume message, the DSDS device may perform the following operations; ¶84; ¶89; At operation 120a, DSDS device 100 may be configured to detect that the activity is completed over the second SIM 100b; ¶126; At operation 126a, in example embodiments, DSDS device 100 may be configured to transmit a connection resume indication to network entity 200 to resume data communication over first SIM 100a. In example embodiments, the connection resume indication is one of an implicit resume indication and an explicit resume indication. In an example, a SR or a BSR request is considered an implicit resume indication when no information is to be shared with network entity 200. In example embodiments, a SR or a BSR request is considered an explicit resume indication with RRC signaling when information is to be shared with network entity 200; ¶130).
Claims 4, 12, Pathak discloses transmitting, by the transceiver (Fig. 8, el. 816), a scheduling request to the network node (network entity; Figs. 1A,2A,3A, el. 200) for the first service in an event that the second SIM (second SIM Figs. 1A,2A,3A, el. 100b) will enter the DTX mode; and performing, by the processor, the first service again in response to the second SIM (second SIM Figs. 1A,2A,3A, el. 100b) entering the DTX mode (transmitting by the DSDS device a SR to the network entity when the second SIM communication is completed and entering the DTX mode; Fig. 1A, el. 120a; In example embodiments, the connection resume indication is one of an implicit resume indication and an explicit resume indication. In example embodiments, one of a Scheduling Request (SR) and a Buffer Status Report (BSR) request is considered as an implicit resume indication when no information is to be shared with the network entity; ¶28-¶29; In example embodiments, the methods further include detecting that an activity is completed over the second SIM. Further, the methods include transmitting one of the data and the BSR indication to the network entity over a common resource channel; ¶33; ¶88; At operation 126a, in example embodiments, DSDS device 100 may be configured to transmit a connection resume indication to network entity 200 to resume data communication over first SIM 100a. In example embodiments, the connection resume indication is one of an implicit resume indication and an explicit resume indication. In an example, a SR or a BSR request is considered an implicit resume indication when no information is to be shared with network entity 200. In example embodiments, a SR or a BSR request is considered an explicit resume indication with RRC signaling when information is to be shared with network entity 200; ¶130).
Claims 6, 14, Pathak discloses transmitting, by the transceiver (Fig. 8, el. 816), a scheduling request to the network node (network entity; Figs. 1A,2A,3A, el. 200) to acquire a resource for a service, in response to leaving the DTX mode (transmitting by the DSDS device a SR to the network entity to acquire a resource for a service by the first SIM communication resuming data communication with the network entity and leaving the connection suspended mode/the DTX/DRX mode; In example embodiments, the connection resume indication is one of an implicit resume indication and an explicit resume indication. In example embodiments, one of a Scheduling Request (SR) and a Buffer Status Report (BSR) request is considered as an implicit resume indication when no information is to be shared with the network entity; ¶28-¶29; In example embodiments, the methods further include detecting that an activity is completed over the second SIM. Further, the methods include transmitting one of the data and the BSR indication to the network entity over a common resource channel; ¶33; ¶88; At operation 126a, in example embodiments, DSDS device 100 may be configured to transmit a connection resume indication to network entity 200 to resume data communication over first SIM 100a. In example embodiments, the connection resume indication is one of an implicit resume indication and an explicit resume indication. In an example, a SR or a BSR request is considered an implicit resume indication when no information is to be shared with network entity 200. In example embodiments, a SR or a BSR request is considered an explicit resume indication with RRC signaling when information is to be shared with network entity 200; ¶130).
Claims 8, 16, Pathak discloses transmitting, by the transceiver, the DTX information to the network node through medium access control (MAC) layer signaling or physical layer signaling (Example embodiments herein provide methods and Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) devices including a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) and a second SIM for managing data communication. The methods include establishing, by the DSDS device, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection over the first SIM and performing data communication with a network entity. Further, the methods include detecting, by the DSDS device, an activity upcoming over the second SIM. Further, the methods include transmitting, by the DSDS device, a connection suspend indication to the network entity to suspend the data communication over the first SIM, wherein the connection suspend indication is transmitted on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel; abstract; Example embodiments relate to methods and DSDS device for transmitting a connection suspend indication to a network entity to suspend the data communication over the first SIM, where the connection suspend indication is transmitted on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel; ¶9; ¶14; ¶16; ¶19;-¶20; When a tune away event occurs, the DSDS device may adopt one of the following schemes or an alteration/combination of them to send a suspend message providing an indication of the event to a network entity: [0061] a. Explicit signaling via a new Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) or a new Radio Link Control (RLC) Control Protocol Data Unit (PDU) [0062] b. Explicit signaling via a new RRC Message (Signaling message) [0063] c. Explicit signaling via a new Layer-1 Message (Control channel message); ¶60-¶63).
Claim 9, analyzed with respect to claim 1, the further limitation of claim 9 disclosed by Pathak, an apparatus (Fig. 8, el. 802) comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 8, el. 816); and a processor (Fig. 8, 808), coupled to the transceiver (Fig. 8, el. 816) (FIG. 8 illustrates a computing environment for implementing methods and DSDS devices (e.g., DSDS device 100) including a first SIM (e.g., first SIM 100a) and a second SIM (e.g., second SIM 100b) for managing data communication, according to example embodiments as disclosed herein. As depicted in FIG. 8, a computing environment 802 includes at least one processing unit 808 that is equipped with a control unit 804 and an Arithmetic Logic Unit (ALU) 806, a memory 810, a storage unit 812, plurality of networking devices 816 and a plurality of Input/Output (I/O) devices 814. Processing unit 808 is responsible for processing stored instructions. Processing unit 808 receives commands from the control unit in order to perform its processing. Further, any logical and arithmetic operations involved in the execution of the instructions are computed with the help of ALU 806; ¶236).
Claim 17, Pathak discloses a discontinuous transmission (DTX) information transmission (transmission of a connection suspend indication (Fig. 1A) indicating DSDS device entering a connection suspend mode/a DTX/DRX mode; Perform implicit Discontinuous Transmission/Discontinuous Reception (DTX/DRX) during the RF blackout; ¶69) method, comprising:
receiving, by a transceiver (Fig. 6, el. 606) of a network node (network entity; Figs. 1A,2A,3A, el. 200), DTX information from a user equipment (UE) ((DSDS devices (e.g., DSDS device 100); Fig. 8)), wherein the DTX information indicates that the UE will enter a DTX mode; and determine, by a processor of the network node (network entity; Figs. 1A,2A,3A, el. 200), a resource allocation based on the DTX information (allocation of resources to the DSDS device first and second SIM based on the DSDS first and second SIM activity and when they enter the connection suspension /the DTX/DRX mode; Example embodiments herein provide network entity devices having a processor and a memory communicably connected to the processor. The memory stores one or more software modules including a scheduler. The scheduler, when executed by the processor, is configured to receive a connection suspend indication from a Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) device, wherein the connection suspend indication is received on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel. The scheduler is further configured to suspend at least one of scheduling physical resources and enabling Carrier Aggregation (CA) for the DSDS device, in response to receiving the connection suspend indication. Furthermore, the scheduler is configured to send a connection suspend acknowledgement indication to the DSDS device; ¶38; FIG. 4 is a flow chart illustrating various operations performed by a network entity (e.g., network entity 200) for managing data communication, according to example embodiments as disclosed herein. At operation 402, the method includes receiving a connection suspend indication from a DSDS device (e.g., DSDS device 100). The method allows a scheduler of the network entity to receive the connection suspend indication from the DSDS device. The connection suspend indication is received on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel. ; ¶180; At operation 404, the method includes avoiding at least one of scheduling physical resources and enabling Carrier Aggregation (CA) for the DSDS device. The method allows the scheduler to avoid at least one of scheduling the physical resources and enabling the CA for the DSDS device. At operation 406, the method includes sending a connection suspend acknowledgement indication to DSDS device 100. The method allows the scheduler to send the connection suspend acknowledgement indication to the DSDS device; ¶181; FIG. 6 illustrates various components of network entity 200, according to example embodiments as disclosed herein. In example embodiments, network entity 200 includes a scheduler 602, a memory 604, and a communication interface 606. Scheduler 602 is configured to receive a connection suspend indication from a DSDS device (e.g., DSDS device 100), where the connection suspend indication is received on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel. Further, scheduler 602 is configured to avoid scheduling physical resources and enabling a CA for the DSDS device. Further, scheduler 602 is configured to send a connection suspend acknowledgement indication to the DSDS device. In example embodiments, scheduler 602 may correspond to a programming module stored in memory 604 and executed by a processor. In example embodiments, Scheduler 602 may be implemented in hardware, or in a combination of hardware and software; ¶194-¶195).
Claim 19, analyzed with respect to claims 3 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, 13, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pathak et al. (US 2018/0160422 A1) in view of Chauhan et al. (US 2021/0006963 A1).
Claims 5, 13, 20, Pathak discloses determining, by the processor (Fig. 8, el. 808), whether the apparatus (DSDS devices (e.g., DSDS device 100); Fig. 8) will enter at least one radio condition; determining, by the processor (Fig. 8, el. 808), to enter the DTX mode in an event that the apparatus will enter the at least one radio condition (determining by the processor of the DSDS device that the DSDS device enters a connection suspend mode/a DTX/DRX mode; Perform implicit Discontinuous Transmission/Discontinuous Reception (DTX/DRX) during the RF blackout; ¶69); and transmitting, by the transceiver, the DTX information to the network node in response to determining to enter the DTX mode (DSDS device transmitting a connection suspend indication (Fig. 1A) indicating the DSDS device entering the DTX/DRX mode; Example embodiments herein provide methods and Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) devices including a first Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) and a second SIM for managing data communication. The methods include establishing, by the DSDS device, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection over the first SIM and performing data communication with a network entity. Further, the methods include detecting, by the DSDS device, an activity upcoming over the second SIM. Further, the methods include transmitting, by the DSDS device, a connection suspend indication to the network entity to suspend the data communication over the first SIM, wherein the connection suspend indication is transmitted on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel; abstract; Example embodiments relate to methods and DSDS device for transmitting a connection suspend indication to a network entity to suspend the data communication over the first SIM, where the connection suspend indication is transmitted on one of a Layer-1 control signaling channel, a Layer-2 control signaling channel, and a Layer-3 control signaling channel; ¶9; ¶14; ¶37; ¶39; When a tune away event occurs, the DSDS device may adopt one of the following schemes or an alteration/combination of them to send a suspend message providing an indication of the event to a network entity: [0061] a. Explicit signaling via a new Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) or a new Radio Link Control (RLC) Control Protocol Data Unit (PDU) [0062] b. Explicit signaling via a new RRC Message (Signaling message) [0063] c. Explicit signaling via a new Layer-1 Message (Control channel message); ¶60-63).
Pathak does not explicitly disclose “whether the apparatus will enter an environment with at least one poor radio condition; determining, by the processor, to enter the DTX mode in an event that the apparatus will enter the environment with the at least one poor radio condition”.
Chauhan in the same filed of endeavor, a system and method to provide identification of the Tune Away in DSDS device (abstract) discloses whether the apparatus will enter an environment with at least one poor radio condition; determining, by the processor, to enter the DTX mode in an event that the apparatus will enter the environment with the at least one poor radio condition (Furthermore, once the at least one discontinuous transmission (DTX) event associated with the second SIM is identified, the detector unit [304] is then configured to compare at least one uplink SINR value of the second SIM with a pre-determined decision-making threshold value (Th_Valid_DTX), in order to filter-out poor RF scenario from DSDS scenarios and to detect the at least one tune away gap. For example, the detector unit [304] may be configured to use RF channel information available at an associated network entity (for instance at the eNodeB), like channel quality indicator (CQI) feedback and PUCCH/PUSCH SINR acquired/computed in previous UL TTIs for the DSDS UE, to ascertain the cause of DTX instance. Also, the decision making threshold value (Th_Valid_DTX), may be based on field-tests performed to obtain minimum RF quality beyond which the UE shall be considered as situated in poor RF conditions and thereby DTX instances corresponding to such UEs may be mapped to poor RF. Therefore, verifying DTX event occurrence with already available RF information with the network entity, serves as a reliable method of differentiating DTX events caused due to DSDS tune away events from genuine DTX events resulting due to poor RF conditions; ¶78).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to determine whether the apparatus will enter an environment with at least one poor radio condition and to determine, by the processor, to enter the DTX mode in an event that the apparatus will enter the environment with the at least one poor radio condition as taught by Chauhan to modify Pathak’s method and system in order to provide identification of the Tune Away in DSDS device (abstract).
Claims 7, 15, Pathak in view of Chauhan discloses wherein the at least one poor radio condition comprises that a reception is bad in the environment or a signal is weak in the environment (Chauhan; bad reception or a signal is weak (channel quality indicator (CQI) feedback and SINR); Furthermore, once the at least one discontinuous transmission (DTX) event associated with the second SIM is identified, the detector unit [304] is then configured to compare at least one uplink SINR value of the second SIM with a pre-determined decision-making threshold value (Th_Valid_DTX), in order to filter-out poor RF scenario from DSDS scenarios and to detect the at least one tune away gap. For example, the detector unit [304] may be configured to use RF channel information available at an associated network entity (for instance at the eNodeB), like channel quality indicator (CQI) feedback and PUCCH/PUSCH SINR acquired/computed in previous UL TTIs for the DSDS UE, to ascertain the cause of DTX instance. Also, the decision making threshold value (Th_Valid_DTX), may be based on field-tests performed to obtain minimum RF quality beyond which the UE shall be considered as situated in poor RF conditions and thereby DTX instances corresponding to such UEs may be mapped to poor RF. Therefore, verifying DTX event occurrence with already available RF information with the network entity, serves as a reliable method of differentiating DTX events caused due to DSDS tune away events from genuine DTX events resulting due to poor RF conditions; ¶78).
Conclusion
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471