DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 3-4 in the reply filed on March 2, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 2018/0296343) in view of Ulrich, et al. (US 2012/0312778) and Sameoto (US 2014/0363610).
In reference to Claim 3, Wei discloses creating a porous implant ([0010]) (a spinal implant device or orthopedic device or bone implant device) by 3-D printing ([0012]) (produced through a 3D printing additive process) creating porous structures out of biocompatible material ([0072]) the porosity more than about 80% and 90% ([0181]) (in a biocompatible material or materials wherein at least a portion of the device comprises a lattice structure of an open framework having openings or passages extending through the structure) a tool to etch after it is removed from the printing surface ([0169]) for nanopores ([0010]) creating pores on the nano scale ([293]) for attachment ([0118]) (that is further processed through a subtractive laser modificiation or etching process that results in a surface or surfaces with nanometer scale features or structural elements).
Ulrich discloses laser etching an implant ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the porous implant creation method of Wei using the laser etching of Ulrich because the subtractive process can be used to shape the implant to promote bone healing and fusion ([0051]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the laser etching of Ulrich to promote bone healing and fusion. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the laser etching to ensure proper adhesion of the implant and success for implantation.
Sameoto discloses a creation of microfluidic channels through direct printing ([0151]) using a laser ([0151]) (with a laser etching technology).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the porous implant creation method of Wei using the structure and laser etching of Sameoto because the subtractive process can be used to shape the implant to promote bone healing and fusion ([0051]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the laser etching of Sameoto to promote bone healing and fusion. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the laser etching to ensure proper adhesion of the implant and success for implantation.
In reference to Claim 4, modified Wei discloses the method of Claim 1, as described above.
Wei discloses 3-D printing ([0012]) to create a porous implant to mimic trabecular bone ([0304]) (the 3D printing additive process results in a lattice structure that mimics trabecular bone structure).
Conclusion
KELSEY C. GRACE
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742