DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2023 and 07/02/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The Examiner is unclear about the limitation “a plurality of light reflectors disposed within the light emitting diode and having a refractive index than a refractive index of the emission layer… wherein a first interface between the emission layer and the bank is non-linear, and a first light reflector of the plurality of light reflectors forms a linear interface with the emission layer” as cited in claim 1. For purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted as best understood. Claims 2-9 are rejected due to their dependency upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Yoo et al. (EP: 3232488 A1~ hereinafter “Yoo”) of record.
Regarding claim 23, Yoo discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 4) a light emitting device, comprising: an emission region (RE) disposed on a substrate (111) and configured to emit light in a normal direction; a plurality of light reflectors (i.e. the reflectors are forms of the same material as the bank; see fig. 4) configured to change a direction of light traversing a lateral path (see fig. 4); and a boundary light reflector disposed around the pixel region and configured to reflect the light traversing the lateral path (see fig. 4) towards a color filter ([0098]-[0099]).
Regarding claim 24, Yoo discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 4) at least a portion of a first light reflector of the plurality of light reflectors is disposed in a caustic region along the first interface.
Regarding claim 25, Yoo discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 4) the plurality of light reflectors are configured to redirect light towards the boundary light reflector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sim et al. (US: Pub: 2020/0365776 A1~ hereinafter “Sim”) in view of Yoo et al. (EP: 3232488 A1~ hereinafter “Yoo”) of record.
Regarding claim 1, Sim discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) a light emitting device, comprising: a bank (150) disposed on a substrate (110) and including an opening which corresponds to an emission region of a pixel region (see at least figs. 2 and 3); an inclined reflective portion (i.e. the inclined portion of 141; see fig. 3) below the bank and disposed in the pixel region (see figs. 2 and 3); a light emitting diode (140; [0048]) disposed in the emission region and including an emission layer (142) and a first electrode (141) disposed below the emission layer (142) and a second electrode (143) disposed on the emission layer.
Sim does not expressly disclose a plurality of light reflectors disposed within the light emitting diode and having a refractive index than a refractive index of the emission layer, wherein a first interface between the emission layer and the bank is non-linear, and a first light reflector of the plurality of light reflectors forms a linear interface with the emission layer, and wherein at least a portion of the light reflector is disposed in a caustic region along the first interface.
Yoo in the same field of a display device discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 4) a plurality of reflectors (i.e. the reflectors are formed with the same material as the bank; see fig. 4) disposed within the light emitting diode (250) and having a refractive index less than a refractive index of the emission layer ([0075]), wherein a first interface between the emission layer (252) and bank (BANK) is non-linear (see at least fig. 4), and a first light reflector of the plurality of light reflectors forms a linear interface with the emission layer (see at least fig. 4), and wherein at least a portion of the light reflector is disposed in a caustic region along the first interface (see at least fig. 4) for the benefit of providing a display device which reduces the loss of light emitted from the organic light-emitting device, increases the lifetime of the organic light emitting device, and decreases consumption power of the organic light emitting display device (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Sim with the teachings of Yoo for the benefit of providing a display device which reduces the loss of light emitted from the organic light-emitting device, increases the lifetime of the organic light emitting device, and decreases consumption power of the organic light emitting display device (abstract).
Regarding claims 2, 4-5 and 11-13, Sim as modified by Yoo does not expressly disclose the first light reflector and a second light reflector of the plurality of light reflectors have different normal directions, and the light reflector has a height equal to or greater than that of a portion of the emission layer around the light reflector.
However, Yoo discloses (in at least fig. 4) a first light reflector and a second light reflector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the first reflector and the second reflector of Yoo such that they have different normal directions and the light reflector has a height equal to or greater than that of a portion of the emission layer around the light reflector, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, Sim as modified by Yoo discloses (in at least fig. 4 Yoo) light incident to the first light reflector is configured to be reflected to the inclined reflective portion.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Sim as modified by Yoo does not expressly disclose the height of the light reflector is smaller than that of the bank; and the light reflector includes: a first portion having a height equal to or greater than a height of the portion of the emission layer and having a side surface which has a first inclination angle; and a second portion located on the first portion and having a side surface which has a second inclination angle smaller than the first inclination angle.
However, the combination of Sim and Yoo discloses a light reflector and a bank.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Sim as modified by Yoo such that the height of the light reflector is smaller than the bank; and the light reflector includes: a first portion having a height equal to or greater than a height of the portion of the emission layer and having a side surface which has a first inclination angle; and a second portion located on the first portion and having a side surface which has a second inclination angle smaller than the first inclination angle, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Sim as modified by Yoo discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3 Sim) the inclined reflective portion has a circular or elliptical shape corresponding to a shape of the first interface.
Regarding claim 8, Sim as modified by Yoo discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3 Sim) the inclined reflective portion extends from the first electrode.
Regarding claim 9, Sim as modified by Yoo discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3 Sim) the light emitting diode is configured in a top emission type.
Regarding claim 10, Sim discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) a light emitting device, comprising: a bank (150) on a substrate (110) and including an opening which corresponds to an emission region of a pixel region (see at least fig. 2); an inclined reflective portion (i.e. the inclined reflective portion of item 141) on the bank and disposed in the pixel region (see at least fig. 2); a light emitting diode (140; [0048]) at the emission region and including an emission layer (142) and first and second electrodes (141, 143) which are disposed below and on the emission layer (142), respectively.
Sim does not expressly disclose a plurality of light reflectors inside the light emitting diode and having a lower refractive index than that of the emission layer, wherein a first interface between the emission layer and the bank is circular or elliptical, and the inclined light reflector forming a second interface with the emission layer is linear, and wherein at least a portion of the light reflector is disposed in a caustic region which is a total reflection optical path region made by total reflection along the first interface.
Yoo in the same field of a display device discloses (in at least fig. 4) a plurality of reflectors (i.e. the reflectors are formed with the same material as the bank; see fig. 4) disposed within the light emitting diode (250) and having a lower refractive index than that of the emission layer ([0075]), wherein a first interface between the emission layer (252) and bank (bank) is circular or elliptical (see at least fig. 4), and the inclined light reflector forming a second interface with the emission layer is linear (see fig. 4), and wherein at least a portion of the light reflector is disposed in a caustic region along the first interface (see at least fig. 4) for the benefit of providing a display device which reduces the loss of light emitted from the organic light-emitting device, increases the lifetime of the organic light emitting device, and decreases consumption power of the organic light emitting display device (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Sim with the teachings of Yoo for the benefit of providing a display device which reduces the loss of light emitted from the organic light-emitting device, increases the lifetime of the organic light emitting device, and decreases consumption power of the organic light emitting display device (abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Sim as modified by Yoo does not expressly disclose the height of the light reflector is smaller than that of the bank.
However, the combination of Sim and Yoo discloses a light reflector and a bank.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Sim as modified by Yoo such that the height of the light reflector is smaller than the bank, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, Sim as modified by Yoo discloses (in at least figs. 2-3 Sim; fig. 4 Yoo) an overcoat layer (130) disposed below a first electrode (141), wherein the overcoat layer (130) includes an accommodation groove (see at least fig. 2) into which the light reflector is inserted.
Regarding claim 16, Sim as modified by Yoo discloses (in at least figs. 2-3 Sim) the inclined reflective portion has a circular or elliptical shape corresponding to a shape of the first interface.
Regarding claim 17, Sim as modified by Yoo discloses (in at least figs. 2-3 Sim) the inclined reflective portion is a portion of a second electrode (143).
Regarding claim 18, Sim as modified by Yoo does not expressly disclose the light emitting diode is configured in a bottom emission type.
However, both Sim and Yoo disclose (in at least figs. 2 and 3 Sim; figs. 3 and 4 Yoo) the light emitting diode (140) is configured in a top emission type, and wherein the plurality of light reflectors (see fig. 4 Yoo) extends from the second electrode disposed on the bank.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the light emitting diode of both Sim and Yoo as a bottom emission type, since it has been held rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 19, Sim discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3) a light emitting device, comprising: a bank (150) on a substrate (110) and including an opening which corresponds to an emission region of a pixel region (see at least fig. 2); a light emitting diode (140) at the emission region and including an emission layer (142) and a first electrode (141) is disposed below the emission layer and a second electrode (143) is disposed on the emission layer; an inclined light reflector (i.e. the inclined reflective portion of item 141; see figs. 2 and 3) disposed around the light emitting diode (140).
Sim does not expressly disclose a plurality of light reflectors inside the light emitting diode and having a lower refractive index than a refractive index of the emission layer, wherein a first interface between the emission layer and the bank is non-linear, and the inclined light reflector forms a linear interface with the emission layer, and wherein at least a portion of the light reflector is disposed in a caustic region.
Yoo in the same field of a display device discloses (in at least figs. 3 and 4) a plurality of reflectors (i.e. the reflectors are formed with the same material as the bank; see fig. 4) disposed within the light emitting diode (250) and having a refractive index less than a refractive index of the emission layer ([0075]), wherein a first interface between the emission layer (252) and bank (bank) is non-linear (see at least fig. 4), and a first light reflector of the plurality of light reflectors forms a linear interface with the emission layer (see at least fig. 4), and wherein at least a portion of the light reflector is disposed in a caustic region along the first interface (see at least fig. 4) for the benefit of providing a display device which reduces the loss of light emitted from the organic light-emitting device, increases the lifetime of the organic light emitting device, and decreases consumption power of the organic light emitting display device (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Sim with the teachings of Yoo for the benefit of providing a display device which reduces the loss of light emitted from the organic light-emitting device, increases the lifetime of the organic light emitting device, and decreases consumption power of the organic light emitting display device (abstract).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Sim and Yoo discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3 Sim; fig. 4 Yoo) the light emitting diode (140) is configured in a top emission type, and wherein the plurality of light reflectors (see fig. 4 Yoo) extend from the first electrode and are disposed below the bank.
Regarding claim 21, Sim as modified by Yoo does not expressly disclose the light emitting diode is configured in a bottom emission type, and wherein the plurality of light reflectors extend from the second electrode and are disposed on the bank.
However, both Sim and Yoo disclose (in at least figs. 2 and 3 Sim; figs. 3 and 4 Yoo) the light emitting diode (140) is configured in a top emission type, and wherein the plurality of light reflectors (see fig. 4 Yoo) extends from the second electrode disposed on the bank.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the light emitting diode of both Sim and Yoo as a bottom emission type, since it has been held rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Sim and Yoo discloses (in at least figs. 2 and 3 Sim; fig. 4 Yoo) light entering the caustic region is reflected along an outer boundary of the caustic region that prevents the light from leaving the caustic region, and wherein a portion of the light reflector disposed in the caustic region causes light to exit the caustic region.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875